DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nagao et al. (2007/0146140).
Regarding claim 1, Nagao discloses an RFID label for a medical device to be attached to the medical device, the RFID label comprising: a label body (1, Fig. 10) having a first surface (1a, Fig. 10) on which printing is possible and a second surface (1b, Fig. 10) on an opposite side of the first surface; a first adhesive layer (2, Fig. 10) provided on the second surface of the label body; an RFID inlay including a base film (33, Fig. 10) having a first surface attached to the second surface of the label body through the first adhesive layer and a second surface on an opposite side of the first surface, and having an area smaller than that of the label body, an antenna (32, Fig. 13), and an IC chip (31, Fig. 13); and a second adhesive layer (4, Fig. 10) provided on the second surface of the base film, wherein the first adhesive layer has an intermediate portion arranged between the label body and the base film, and an outer peripheral portion surrounding an outer periphery of the base film (Fig. 10), and a label attachment surface is formed by a surface of the outer peripheral portion of the first adhesive layer on an opposite side of the label body and a surface of the second adhesive layer on the opposite side of the label body.
Regarding claim 2, the antenna and the IC chip disclosed by Nagao are provided on the second surface of the base film (33, Fig. 10), and the second adhesive layer (4, Fig. 10) is provided on the second surface of the base film and covers the IC chip and the antenna.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao et al. (2007/0146140).
Nagao discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, it is not specifically disclosed that the area of the first adhesive layer in plan view is 1.5 to 3 times an area of the second adhesive layer. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the area of the first adhesive layer in plan view 1.5 to 3 times an area of the second adhesive layer because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao et al. (2007/0146140) in view of Ambartsoumian (2023/0177303).
Nagao discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Nagao does not disclose a release paper. Ambartsoumian teaches providing a release paper (paragraph 0055) in order to protect the adhesive prior to use. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the RFID label disclosed by Nagao with a release paper, as taught by Ambartsoumian, in order to protect the adhesive prior to use.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao et al. (2007/0146140) in view of Nitta (2024/0028861).
Nagao discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Nagao does not disclose using thermal paper. Nitta teaches using thermal paper as a label substrate. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use thermal paper as the label substrate in the RFID label disclosed by Nagao, as taught by Nitta, in order to print indicia on the label substrate.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao et al. (2007/0146140) in view of Katarya et al. (2014/0170341).
Nagao discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Nagao does not disclose making the label resistant to alcohol. Katarya teaches making a label resistant to alcohol (paragraph 0003). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the label disclosed by Nagao resistant to alcohol, as taught by Katarya, in order to protect it from accidental exposure to alcohol.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631