Status of the claims
No claims are amended. Currently claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sako et al (WO 2007013143 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Sako, Fig. 1, 3a, 4, 5, discloses a gas-flow adjustment device 6 for a gas burner appliance C, comprising: a housing 4 providing an inlet 2 for a gas-flow and an outlet for the gas-flow, a throttle 6 being configured to adjust the amount of the gas-flow from the inlet to the outlet, wherein the throttle has a static element 8 and a moving element 9 that can move relative to static element in a linear direction, wherein the relative position of the moving element relative to the static element defines the amount of the gas-flow from the inlet to the outlet, an actuator 11,12 being configured to move the moving element relative to static element in a linear direction, wherein the moving element and the static element of the throttle define a flow opening confined by side walls (inner side walls of holes 10,20) of the same, the side walls 10, 20 of the moving element 8 and the static element 20 being arc shaped and being configured to provide a gas-flow between a minimum amount (no flow at misaligned holes) of the gas-flow and a maximum amount of the gas-flow.
As to claim 14, wherein the moving element of the throttle comprises a circular opening 10 configured to define the minimum amount of the gas-flow (zero flow at misaligned holes position).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (CN 103711924 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a fluid adjustment device, comprising: a housing 2,1,9 providing an inlet (at top) for a fluid and an outlet for the fluid, a throttle 3,5 being configured to adjust the amount of the gas-flow from the inlet to the outlet, wherein the throttle has a static element 3 and a moving element 5, the moving element being configured to move relative to static element in a linear direction, wherein the relative position of the moving element relative to the static element defines the amount of the fluid from the inlet to the outlet, an actuator 8 having a motor 8-1 and a threaded spindle 8-5,8-6, wherein the motor is configured to rotate the threaded spindle, wherein the threaded spindle is configured to move the moving element 5 relative to static element 3 in a linear direction upon rotation of the threaded spindle by the motor, wherein: the moving element 5 of the throttle comprise at least one alignment feature (side edges received in slot guides shown in Fig 5 and also portion sandwiched between 3 and 6) being configured to provide an accurate relative position of the moving element 3 relative to the static element 3.
The recitation “adjustment device for a gas burner appliance” is considered to be a name given the claimed device relative to its intended use. From M.P.E.P. §2111.02 (II): If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir.1999). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed.Cir. 1997). As evidenced by the explanation given above, the claimed structure finds their equivalents in the reference(s) applied. As such the device of Lin is readable as a “adjustment device for a gas burner appliance”.
Regarding the recitation of gas-flow, it is noted that “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, “[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963))
Lin fails to disclose moving element of throttle made from plastics. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made moving element of throttle in the device disclosed by Lin using plastics since it has been held that selecting a particular known material is within the general skill of a worker in the art on the basis of its suitability for the intended as a material of obvious design choice use based upon particular application requirements. In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416.
As to claim 8, the moving element 5 of the throttle 3,5 comprises as alignment feature a rigid stop member (end surface of 5 at 9) providing an alignment of the moving element to the static element when the throttle is in a minimum opening position (at zero flow when 5 abuts 9)
As to claim 9, the moving element 5 and the rigid stop member (end surface of 5 at 9) are integrally formed providing one monolithic element.
As to claim 12, the housing comprises a top housing part (top most portion in Fig 2) providing the inlet and a bottom housing part (portion from 4 and below) providing the outlet, the static element 3 of the throttle is integrally formed with the bottom housing part.
Claim(s) 1, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sako et al (WO 2007013143 A1) in view of Orino et al (20110083747).
Sako, Fig 1,4, discloses a gas burner appliance 2-C having a gas-flow adjustment device comprising: a housing 4 providing an inlet 2 for a gas-flow and an outlet for the gas-flow, a throttle 8,9 being configured to adjust the amount of the gas-flow from the inlet to the outlet, wherein the throttle has a static element 8 and a moving element 9, the moving element being configured to move relative to static element in a linear direction, wherein the relative position of the moving element relative to the static element defines the amount of the gas-flow from the inlet to the outlet, an actuator having a motor 11 configured to move the moving element 9 relative to static element 8 in a linear direction, the moving element 9 of the throttle comprise at least one alignment feature (side portions inside 14, see Fig 5) being configured to provide an accurate relative position of the moving element relative to the static element.
Sako fails to disclose motor having a threaded spindle gas-flow from the inlet to the outlet, an actuator having a motor 11 configured to move the moving element 9 relative to static element 8 in a linear direction. Orino teaches a motor (para 46) and a threaded spindle 70, wherein the motor is configured to rotate the threaded spindle, wherein the threaded spindle is configured to move the moving element 54 relative to static element (seat) in a linear direction upon rotation of the threaded spindle by the motor.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Sako with a motor/screw/spindle linear actuator as taught by Orino in order to provide an automated actuation.
Sako fails to disclose moving element of throttle made from plastics. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made moving element of throttle in the device disclosed by Sako using plastics since it has been held that selecting a particular known material is within the general skill of a worker in the art on the basis of its suitability for the intended as a material of obvious design choice use based upon particular application requirements. In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-7, 10, 11, 16-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Sako that “Sako's structure is not the claimed arrangement of "a "static element and a moving element" that "define a flow opening confined by side walls ..., the side walls of the moving element and the static element being are shaped and being configured to provide a gas-flow between a minimum amount of the gas-flow and a maximum amount of the gas-flow." The Action therefore treats Sako's ordinary through-hole misalignment as if it were the claimed circular opening defining the minimum gas-flow, but Sako's cited disclosure instead depends on relative overlap between holes in separate plates” are not persuasive since the circular openings in statis element 9 of Sako define the flow opening from minimum (zero) flow to a maximum flow depending on the position of the plate 8.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Lin that “Lin discloses a gate assembly having two position states: in one state … valve is "in a through state"; in the other state, … passage … blocked … discloses a gate valve that opens or blocks …not … throttle … to adjust the amount of the gas-flow” are not persuasive since Lin is linearly moving valve which moves progressively between completely closed and open positions and thus adjusts flow according to degree of travel between extreme positions.
In response to applicant's argument that Orino is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both Sako and Orino are related to valve actuation with linear valve movement.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753