DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-9, 12-20, 43, and 44 have been examined and are pending.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/15/2024 and 9/11/2025 have been found to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawings were received on 11/15/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
6. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a) Claim 1 recites “determining one or more target random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) with a quantity equal to the number of times from one or more candidate ROs”. It is unclear how a quantity is equal to a number of times from one or more candidate ROs, as the “number of times” has no context with respect to the one or more candidate ROs. The “number of times” may refer to the number of times the candidate ROs are transmitted, received, processed, generated, selected, etc., but it is unclear how the target RO quantity is equal to the number of times from one or more candidate ROs.
b) Claims 2-9, dependent upon claim 1, do not satisfy the deficiencies of the rejected base claim and are therefore also rejected.
c) Claim 5 recites “a group of ROs corresponding to the number of times”. It is unclear as to what the number of times is referring (see above claim 1 rejection).
d) Claims 6-8, dependent upon claim 5, do not satisfy the deficiencies of the rejected base claim and are therefore also rejected.
e) Claim 9 recites “the configuration/indication signaling indicates the number of times”. It is unclear as to what the number of times is referring (see above claim 1 rejection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-9, 12-20, 43, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0260093 A1 to Gu et al. (hereinafter “Gu”).
Regarding Claim 1, Gu discloses a random access method, executed by a terminal, wherein the terminal supports a physical random access channel (PRACH) repetition (Gu: [0005-0006] – a terminal is operable to perform a random access processing method including the transmission of a preamble with repetition. See also [0080].), and the random access method comprises:
determining a number of times for sending a first random access message (Gu: [0089-0090] – a number of times for sending a random access message (MsgA or a Msg1 in a two or four step random access procedure, respectively) corresponds to the transmission of a PRACH repetition described by Gu – “When the method is applied to the 2-step random access process, the transmission of the preamble with repetitions by the terminal may be understood as the sending of message A (MSGA) with repetitions by the terminal. When the method is applied to the 4-step random access process, the transmission of the preamble with repetitions by the terminal may be understood as the sending of MSG1 with repetitions by the terminal. It should be noted that the transmission of the preamble with repetitions may also be understood as transmission of a PRACH with repetitions.” Therefore, a random access message corresponds to a PRACH (preamble) repetition. [0080] – the number of repetitions is determined based on the number of RACH/PRACH (RO) occasions.);
determining one or more target random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) with a quantity equal to the number of times from one or more candidate ROs (Interpreted to correspond to target and candidate ROs are equal to one another and therefore may be synonymous with one another. Gu discloses that a plurality of ROs (target ROs) includes a number of potential (candidate) ROs in [0090]. Gu further discloses in [0125-0132] that the target ROs or valid ROs and the number of repetitions are determined based on one another.); and
sending the first random access message to a network device at the one or more target ROs (Gu: [0169], [0236-0238] – the number of repetitions that are received (therefore, also transmitted) is based on the target ROs.).
Regarding Claim 2, Gu discloses the random access method of claim 1, wherein, in response to the number of times being one, the one or more candidate ROs comprise at least one of:
a first RO, wherein the first RO is used for the terminal supporting the PRACH repetition to send the first random access message once (Gu: [0114], [0126-0127], [0159] – corresponds to a valid RO of the plurality of ROs to send the PRACH repetition, wherein the number of PARCH repetitions is based on the number of valid ROs, suggesting either one or more ROs that transmit/receive one or more PRACH repetitions.);
a second RO, wherein the second RO is used for the terminal not supporting the PRACH repetition to send the first random access message (Gu: [0115], [0160-0173], [0196] – the target RO may be determined to be prohibited from transmitting the one or more PRACH repetitions.); or
at least one RO in repetition ROs, wherein the repetition ROs comprise a plurality of ROs, and the plurality of ROs are used to send a PRACH repeatedly (Gu: [0090], [0094-0095], [0187] – corresponds to a plurality of ROs (comprising one or more ROs) that may be used for PRACH repetitions.).
Regarding Claim 3, Gu discloses the random access method of claim 2, wherein the one or more candidate ROs comprise the at least one RO in the repetition ROs (Gu: [0114], [0126-0127], [0159] – corresponds to a valid RO of the plurality of ROs to send the PRACH repetition, wherein the number of PARCH repetitions is based on the number of valid ROs, suggesting either one or more ROs that transmit/receive one or more PRACH repetitions.), and the method further comprises:
starting a random access response (RAR) window after the repetition ROs end (Gu: [0008-0011] – “The RAR window satisfies at least one of the following:…the RAR window is at least one symbol following a last symbol of a first RO occupied by the preamble with repetitions;…the RAR window is at least one symbol following a last symbol of a last RO occupied by the preamble with repetitions;…the RAR window is at least one symbol following a last symbol of each RO occupied by the preamble with repetitions.”.); and
monitoring an RAR sent by the network device within the RAR window (Gu: [0037], [0139] for monitoring the RAR window.).
Regarding Claim 4, Gu discloses the random access method of claim 2, wherein the one or more candidate ROs comprise the at least one RO in the repetition ROs, and the method further comprises:
monitoring an RAR sent by the network device within a random access response (RAR) window, the RAR window being after the one or more target ROs (Gu: [0008-0011] – “The RAR window satisfies at least one of the following:…the RAR window is at least one symbol following a last symbol of a first RO occupied by the preamble with repetitions;…the RAR window is at least one symbol following a last symbol of a last RO occupied by the preamble with repetitions;…the RAR window is at least one symbol following a last symbol of each RO occupied by the preamble with repetitions.”.); and
stopping monitoring the RAR sent by the network device in response to receiving the RAR for the terminal (Gu: [0102] – “Further, in a case that the RAR information is detected within the RAR window, the terminal may stop running the RAR window and monitoring the PDCCH scrambled by the RA-RNTI.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Gu discloses the random access method of claim 1, wherein, in response to the number of times being more than one, the one or more candidate ROs comprise at least one of:
a group of ROs corresponding to the number of times (Interpreted to correspond to target and candidate ROs are equal to one another and therefore may be synonymous with one another. Gu discloses that a plurality of ROs (target ROs) includes a number of potential (candidate) ROs in [0090]. Gu further discloses in [0125-0132] that the target ROs or valid ROs and the number of repetitions are determined based on one another.);
a plurality of ROs corresponding to a maximum repetition number (Gu: [0125-0127] – the number of preambles with repetitions is based on a number of valid or target ROs, which suggests a maximum repetition number.); or
a specified RO in a plurality of ROs corresponding to a maximum repetition number (Gu: [0125-0127] – corresponds to the number of preambles with repetitions is based on a number of target (specified) ROs, which suggests a maximum repetition number.).
Regarding Claim 6, Gu discloses the random access method of claim 5, wherein the one or more candidate ROs comprise the specified RO in the plurality of ROs corresponding to the maximum repetition number (Interpreted to correspond to target and candidate ROs are equal to one another and therefore may be synonymous with one another. Gu discloses that a plurality of ROs (target ROs) includes a number of potential (candidate) ROs in [0090]. Gu further discloses in [0125-0132] that the target ROs or valid ROs and the number of repetitions are determined based on one another. See also [0125-0127].), and the specified RO is determined based on an indication of the network device (Gu: [0080] – “…the network-side device may pre-configure a plurality of ROs for PRACH repetition sending for the terminal.” [0159] – “In a case that a target RO among the plurality of ROs satisfies a preset condition, the network-side device determines that the target RO is a valid RO.”).
Regarding Claim 7, Gu discloses the random access method of claim 5, wherein the one or more candidate ROs comprise the plurality of ROs corresponding to the maximum repetition number (Gu: [0114], [0126-0127], [0159] – corresponds to a valid RO of the plurality of ROs to send the PRACH repetition, wherein the number of PARCH repetitions is based on the number of valid ROs, suggesting either one or more ROs that transmit/receive one or more PRACH repetitions. See also [0125-0127] – corresponds to the number of preambles with repetitions is based on a number of target (specified) ROs, which suggests a maximum repetition number.), and the method further comprises:
monitoring an RAR sent by the network device within a random access response (RAR) window, the RAR window being after the one or more target ROs (Gu: [0008-0011] – “The RAR window satisfies at least one of the following:…the RAR window is at least one symbol following a last symbol of a first RO occupied by the preamble with repetitions;…the RAR window is at least one symbol following a last symbol of a last RO occupied by the preamble with repetitions;…the RAR window is at least one symbol following a last symbol of each RO occupied by the preamble with repetitions.”.).
Regarding Claim 8, Gu discloses the random access method of claim 5, wherein the one or more candidate ROs comprise the specified RO in the plurality of ROs corresponding to the maximum repetition number, and the method further comprises:
monitoring an RAR sent by the network device within a random access response (RAR) window, the RAR window being after the one or more target ROs (Gu: [0008-0011] – “The RAR window satisfies at least one of the following:…the RAR window is at least one symbol following a last symbol of a first RO occupied by the preamble with repetitions;…the RAR window is at least one symbol following a last symbol of a last RO occupied by the preamble with repetitions;…the RAR window is at least one symbol following a last symbol of each RO occupied by the preamble with repetitions.”.); and
stopping monitoring the RAR sent by the network device in response to receiving the RAR for the terminal (Gu: [0102] – “Further, in a case that the RAR information is detected within the RAR window, the terminal may stop running the RAR window and monitoring the PDCCH scrambled by the RA-RNTI.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Gu discloses the random access method of claim 1, wherein determining the number of times for sending the first random access message comprises:
receiving configuration/indication signaling sent by the network device, wherein the configuration/indication signaling indicates the number of times (Gu: [0080] – “…the network-side device may pre-configure a plurality of ROs for PRACH repetition sending for the terminal…”. See also [0090].), or
wherein determining the number of times for sending the first random access message comprises:
measuring a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) of a reference signal sent by the network device; and
determining the number of times by comparing the RSRP with at least one preset threshold, wherein the at least one preset threshold and the number of times corresponding to each preset threshold are determined based on a provision of a protocol, or a configuration/indication of the network device (alternative language not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record.).
Regarding Claim 12, Gu discloses a random access method, executed by a network device, and comprising:
receiving a first random access message sent by a terminal at one or more target random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) (Gu: [0089-0090] – a number of times for sending a random access message (MsgA or a Msg1 in a two or four step random access procedure, respectively) corresponds to the transmission of a PRACH repetition described by Gu – “When the method is applied to the 2-step random access process, the transmission of the preamble with repetitions by the terminal may be understood as the sending of message A (MSGA) with repetitions by the terminal. When the method is applied to the 4-step random access process, the transmission of the preamble with repetitions by the terminal may be understood as the sending of MSG1 with repetitions by the terminal. It should be noted that the transmission of the preamble with repetitions may also be understood as transmission of a PRACH with repetitions.” Therefore, a random access message corresponds to a PRACH (preamble) repetition. [0080] – the number of repetitions is determined based on the number of RACH/PRACH (RO) occasions.), wherein the one or more target ROs are comprised in one or more candidate ROs (Gu: [0114], [0126-0127], [0159] – corresponds to a valid RO of the plurality of ROs to send the PRACH repetition, wherein the number of PARCH repetitions is based on the number of valid ROs, suggesting either one or more ROs that transmit/receive one or more PRACH repetitions.), a quantity of the one or more target ROs is equal to a number of times for sending the first random access message by the terminal (Interpreted to correspond to target and candidate ROs are equal to one another and therefore may be synonymous with one another. Gu discloses that a plurality of ROs (target ROs) includes a number of potential (candidate) ROs in [0090]. Gu further discloses in [0125-0132] that the target ROs or valid ROs and the number of repetitions are determined based on one another.), and the terminal supports a physical random access channel (PRACH) repetition (Gu: [0005-0006] – a terminal is operable to perform a random access processing method including the transmission of a preamble with repetition. See also [0080].).
Claims 13-20, dependent upon claim 12, recite similar features as claims 2-9, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 2-9. Please see above rejections of claims 2-9
Claim 43, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 1, recites similar features as claim 1 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 1. Gu discloses the apparatus as a user equipment/terminal comprising a processor and memory in at least Figure 11.
Claim 44, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 12, recites similar features as claim 12, and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 12. Please see above rejection of claim 12. Gu discloses the apparatus as a network device in at least Figure 12.
Conclusion
12. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 August 27, 2026