DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “space state” should read “sparse state”. Appropriate correction is required. However please not the below 112(b) rejection related to this limitation in claim 1 that may necessitate claiming is as a “sparser state”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “communicates with the leakage space” in line 4 and “communicates with the sealed fluid space in line 6 and line 8. These limitations are indefinite as the sealed fluid and leakage spaces are only previously recited in the intended use of the preamble and this it is unclear if Applicant is not claiming a sliding component installed in a certain manner (e.g. a seal assembly) that requires the arrangement and communication with the spaces for infringement/anticipation to occur, or if this is merely a further limiting of the prior claimed intended use. Appropriate clarification and correction is required. For examination purposes Examiner assumes Applicant intended to claim “is configured to communicate with the leakage space” in line 4 and “is configured to communicate with the sealed fluid space” in line 6 and line 8.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “disposed in a sparse state with respect to the backward fluid inlet/outlet groove than with respect to the forward fluid inlet/outlet groove” in lines 9-11. This limitation is indefinite as the “than” renders the “sparse state” unclear as such refers to a comparative but a single state is not a comparative. Thus it is unclear if Applicant intended to claim something like a “sparser state” or if Applicant intended to also claim something like a denser/non-sparse state with respect to the forward fluid inlet/outlet groove. Appropriate clarification and correction is required. For examination purposes Examiner assumes Applicant intended to claim a “sparser state”.
Additionally Examiner notes that following references to such would also need to be corrected (e.g. see Claims 3-5).
Claim 2 recites the limitation “disposed in a sparse state with respect to a terminating end of the backward fluid inlet/outlet groove than with respect to a terminating end of the forward fluid inlet/outlet groove”. This limitation is indefinite as the “than” renders the “sparse state” unclear as such refers to a comparative but a single state is not a comparative. Thus it is unclear if Applicant intended to claim something like a “sparser state” or if Applicant intended to also claim something like a denser/non-sparse state with respect to the forward fluid inlet/outlet groove. Appropriate clarification and correction is required. For examination purposes Examiner assumes Applicant intended to claim a “sparser state”.
Claim 6, 9, 11, 13, and 15 each recite the limitations “communicating with the sealed fluid space” in lines 7 and 10. These limitations are indefinite as the sealed fluid space is only previously recited in the intended use of the preamble and this it is unclear if Applicant is not claiming a sliding component installed in a certain manner (e.g. a seal assembly) that requires the arrangement and communication with the space for infringement/anticipation to occur, or if this is merely a further limiting of the prior claimed intended use. Appropriate clarification and correction is required. For examination purposes Examiner assumes Applicant intended to claim “is configured to communicate with the sealed fluid space” in line 7 and line 10.
Claims 2-20 are indefinite at least by virtue of depending on an indefinite claim as described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5- as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Negishi et al. (WO2021246372).
With regard to claim 1, Negishi discloses a sliding component (as seen in Fig. 1) comprising a pair of sliding rings (10/20 and the later various embodiments thereof such as 1010 in Fig. 17) having sliding surfaces (i.e. the surfaces thereof that face each other) rotatable relative to each other (as seen in Figs. 1, described in English language equivalent US 2023/0228292 para. [0001], etc.) to partition a sealed fluid space (S2) and a leakage space (S1, shown as partitioned in Fig. 1), wherein at least one of the sliding surfaces (i.e. of 1010 shown in Fig. 17) is provided with a plurality of forward dynamic pressure generation grooves (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 17 below) each of which communicates with the leakage space (as seen in Fig. 17 as it is open thereto. Additionally as interpreted in light of the above 112(b) rejection this is a capability that the sliding ring/component/surface has depending on how it is installed), a forward fluid inlet/outlet groove (at and including 1018) which is separated from the forward dynamic pressure generation grooves by a first land portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 17 below) and communicates with the sealed fluid space (as seen in Fig. 17 as it is open to S2 via 1017. Additionally as interpreted in light of the above 112(b) rejection this is a capability that the sliding ring/component/surface has depending on how it is installed), and a backward fluid inlet/outlet groove (at and including 1018’) which is separated from the forward dynamic pressure generation grooves by a second land portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 17 below) and communicates with the sealed fluid space (as seen in Fig. 17 as it is open to S2 via 1017. Additionally as interpreted in light of the above 112(b) rejection this is a capability that the sliding ring/component/surface has depending on how it is installed), and wherein the forward dynamic pressure generation grooves are disposed in a sparse state with respect to the backward fluid inlet/outlet groove than with respect to the forward fluid inlet/outlet groove (as seen in Fig. 17 as there are there are 3 total dynamic pressure generation grooves proximate the forward fluid inlet/outlet groove and 2 total dynamic pressure generation grooves proximate the backward fluid inlet/outlet groove).
With regard to claim 2, Negishi discloses terminating ends (i.e. the radially outer ends thereof) of the forward dynamic pressure generation grooves (as seen in Fig. 17) are disposed in a sparse state with respect to a terminating end (e.g. the radially inner end of 1018’) of the backward fluid inlet/outlet groove (as seen in Fig. 17) than with respect to a terminating end (e.g. the radially inner end of 1018’) of the forward fluid inlet/outlet groove (as seen in Fig. 17 as there are there are 3 total dynamic pressure generation grooves (and thus terminating ends) proximate the terminating end of forward fluid inlet/outlet groove and 2 total dynamic pressure generation grooves (and thus terminating ends) proximate the terminating end of the backward fluid inlet/outlet groove).
With regard to claim 3, Negishi discloses that the sparse state is configured such that part of the forward dynamic pressure generation grooves close to the backward fluid inlet/outlet groove have a smaller total volume than a total volume of part of the forward dynamic pressure generation grooves close to the forward fluid inlet/outlet groove (as seen in Fig. 17 as there are there are 3 total dynamic pressure generation grooves proximate the forward fluid inlet/outlet groove and 2 total dynamic pressure generation grooves proximate the backward fluid inlet/outlet groove and as they are the same size).
With regard to claim 5, Negishi discloses that a plurality of sparse areas showing the space state are arranged in a circumferential direction of the one of the sliding surfaces (as seen in Fig. 2 and described in the abstract, etc. (see the above listed English language equivalent) as there are plural of the fluid introduction grooves spaced circumferentially there are thus a a plurality of sparse areas showing the sparser state).
With regard to claims 6, 9, 11, and 15, Negishi discloses that each of the forward dynamic pressure generation grooves is a spiral groove extending from a starting end in an arc shape with an inclination with respect to a radial direction (as seen in Fig. 17), the forward fluid inlet/outlet groove includes a fluid guide groove portion (i.e. at least a part of 1017) communicating with the sealed fluid space (as seen in Fig. 17 and in light of the above 112(b) rejection) and a Rayleigh step (1018) extending in a relative forward rotation direction (as seen in Fig. 17), and the backward fluid inlet/outlet groove includes a fluid guide groove portion (i.e. at least a part of 1017) communicating with the sealed fluid space (as seen in Fig. 17 and in light of the above 112(b) rejection) and a reverse Rayleigh step (1018’) extending in a relative backward rotation direction (as seen in Fig. 17.
With regard to claims 7, 10, 12, 14, and 16, Negishi discloses that the forward fluid inlet/outlet groove and the backward fluid inlet/outlet groove as a whole have a substantially T shape and share a groove as the fluid guide groove portions thereof (as seen in Fig. 17).
With regard to claims 8, 17, 18, and 20, Negishi discloses that the forward fluid inlet/outlet groove is disposed on a relative backward rotation direction side of the backward fluid inlet/outlet groove (i.e. as seen in Fig. 17).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 13, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable (i.e. primarily due to the subject matter of claim 4) if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides additional examples of similar sliding components with various similar grooves and Rayleigh steps.
/NICHOLAS L FOSTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675