DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17 in the reply filed on March 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 12, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahfouz et al. (US 2013/0144135, From IDS filed on November 15, 2024, hereinafter Mahfouz ‘135).
In re claim 1, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches a method for localizing a target in an individual, comprising: transmitting an ultrasonic signal from a transducer array (0122); generating radiofrequency (RF) signal data based on a reflected signal received at the transducer array (0123), the reflected signal resulting from the transmitted ultrasonic signal (0123), wherein at least a portion of the reflected signal includes a signal reflected from the target (0122, 0125, 0127); determining a location of the target relative to the transducer array based on the RF signal data (fig. 8, 60, 0091, scanning dept is relative; fig. 10, 162, 162a, 0122-0127, figs. 20-27); and providing a location indicator to an operator, the location indicator being based on the determined location of the target (fig. 10, 162, 162a, fig.17s, 196, 200, fig. 27, 0122-0144).
In re claim 2, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches wherein the target is a fiducial marker (fig. 16-17, 196).
Note Applicant defines that: the disclosure is described with reference to “targets” and/or “fiducial markers,” which should be broadly interpreted to describe a marker (e.g., an implantable marker, etc.), a region of interest (e.g., a tissue mass or any other anatomical target), an implant (e.g., orthopedic implant, etc.), or any other target. See 0015.
In re claim 3, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches wherein the location of the target includes a distance from the target to the transducer array and/or a direction of the target relative to the transducer array (fig. 10, 142 vs 162 and 162a).
In re claim 4, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches wherein determining a location of the target includes distinguishing the target from other artifacts in the RF signal data (fig.10, 162 vs 162a; 0081-0083, bone and soft-tissue-bone, 0089).
In re claim 5, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches wherein the location of the target is determined by feature extraction using a machine learning classifier on the RF signal data (0084-0088, 0121, note neural network, svm with training are machine learning).
In re claim 6, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches further comprising preprocessing (which is done before transformation of 3D contour, hence, preprocessing, 0097) the RF signal data to increase a signal-to-noise ratio of the RF signal data (0080-0083, 0089-0091, note that when removing noise, SNR is improved/increase).
In re claim 7, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches wherein the preprocessing comprises: transforming the RF signal data into frequency domain signal data; and applying one or more filters to the frequency domain signal data (0080-0083, 0089-0091, 0129).
In re claim 8, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches wherein the location of the target is determined using image processing of a B-mode image reconstructed from the RF signal data (0071, 0072, 0098).
In re claim 9, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches wherein the image processing comprises: analyzing the B-mode image to identify the target; and determining a distance from the target to the transducer array based on the identified target (0071, 0072, 0097, 0098, 0100).
In re claim 11, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches wherein analyzing the B-mode image comprises image segmentation and/or classification (0093-0095; 0107).
In reclaim 12, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches wherein the location indicator is an audible tone and/or a visual display (fig. 10, 13, 14, 16, 17, 27; 0098).
In re claim 14, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches wherein the visual display provides a visual representation of the distance from the target to the transducer array and/or the direction of the target relative to the transducer array (figs. 8, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17, 27; 0070-0073; 0098).
In re claim 15, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches wherein the steps of transmitting an ultrasound signal and generating RF signal data are repeated (0072, 0100).
In re claim 16, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches further comprising updating the location of the target (0072, 0125, 0134, 0141).
In re claim 17, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches further comprising: transmitting an additional ultrasonic signal from a transducer array; generating RF signal data based on a reflected signal received at the transducer array, the reflected signal resulting from the transmitted additional ultrasonic signal, wherein no portion of the reflected signal includes a signal reflected from the target; and identifying that no target is present in the reflected signal (0072).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahfouz ‘135 in view of Patil et al. (US 2017/0333006, hereinafter Patil ‘006).
In re claim 6, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches further comprising preprocessing (which is done before transformation of 3D contour, hence, preprocessing, 0097) the RF signal data to increase a signal-to-noise ratio of the RF signal data (0080-0083, 0089-0091, note that when removing noise, SNR is improved/increase).
In re claim 7, Mahfouz ‘135 teaches wherein the preprocessing comprises: transforming the RF signal data into frequency domain signal data; and applying one or more filters to the frequency domain signal data (0080-0083, 0089-0091, 0129).
Even if Mahfouz ‘135 fails to clearly teach the word “preprocessing” and “increase SNR Patil ‘006 teaches raw RF echo signals are pre-processed to improve SNR, and the transients are removed by using matched filter followed by band pass filter (0029).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Mahfouz ‘135 to include the features of Patil ‘006 in order to reduce noise and increase SNR.
Claim(s) 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahfouz ‘135 in view of Tsushima (US 2018/0199918, hereinafter Tsushima ‘918).
In re claim 10, Mahfouz ‘135 fails to teach wherein the image processing further comprises determining a direction of the target relative to the transducer array based on the identified target.
Tsushima ‘918 teaches wherein the image processing further comprises determining a direction of the target relative to the transducer array based on the identified target (figs. 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 20; 0089-0093, 0142-0143, 0155-0161, 0170, 0186, 0196, 0199, 0217).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Mahfouz ‘135 to include the features of Tsushima ‘503 in order to ensure delay in transmission is correctly obtain so that high quality images with high resolution and low noise can be obtained.
In re claim 13, Tsushima ‘918 teaches wherein a pitch and/or volume of the audible tone varies according to the location of the target (0055, 0067, 0155, 0177, 0207).
Conclusion
/BO JOSEPH PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797