DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/15/2024, 11/26/2024, 2/13/2025, 6/14/2026, and 7/22/2026 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 157-163 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s):
157. A method of determining the location of at least one solar device using a machine comprising a GPS system, an inspection camera, and a distance sensor or range finder, comprising:
determining a location of said machine using said GPS system;
determining an angle at which an inspection camera is inspecting said solar device;
determining a distance from said machine to said solar device using said distance sensor or range finder; and
calculating a location of said solar device using said location of said machine, said angle at which said inspection camera is inspecting said solar device, and said distance from said machine to said solar device.
Step 1: The claim recites a method for determining location of at least one solar device. Thus, the claim is to a process, which is a statutory category of invention
Step 2A, Prong One: The limitations of “determining a location of said machine…”, “determining an angle at which an inspection camera is inspect…”, and “determining a distance from said machine…” each fall into the “mental process” group of abstract ideas, because the determining could practically be performed in the human mind. Further, the limitation of “calculating a location of said solar device…” falls into the “mental process” group of abstract ideas, because the calculating could practically be performed in the human mind. Note that even if most humans would use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or calculator) to help them complete the recited calculation, the use of such physical aid does not negate the mental nature of the limitations.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Besides the abstract ideas, the claim recites additional elements of a GPS system, an inspection camera, and a distance sensor or a range finder. Each of these are additional elements which are configured to carry out the above limitations, i.e., they are tools that are used to perform the determinations and calculations. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2B: The claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited exceptions. The additional elements are extra-solution activity, which for purposes of Step 2A Prong Two were considered insignificant. The limitations therefore remain insignificant extra solution activity even upon reconsideration. Thus, the limitations do not amount to significantly more. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere tools for applying an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which does not provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible.
Note: Dependent claims 158-163 do not provide additional elements which would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea and therefore are not eligible.
Double Patenting
Claims 144-156 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-11, and 13 of copending Application No. 19/391,634 (reference application). Please see chart below for comparison between independent claim 144 of the instant patent application and independent claim 1 of the US Patent Application No. 19/391,634.
Instant Patent Application
US Patent Application No 19/391,634
Notes
144. (new) A method of inspecting one or more solar modules, comprising:
1. (original) A method of inspecting one or more solar modules using an airborne machine, comprising:
The instant application does not specifically state using an airborne machine but “flying and/or hovering” from the body of the claim makes it clear that the machine is airborne
by a machine that is flying and/or hovering, inspecting
respective backsides of a first plurality of solar modules visually and/or thermally.
by a machine that is flying and/or hovering, inspecting
respective backsides of a first plurality of solar modules visually and/or thermally.
same
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and application 19/391,634 teach inspecting backsides of solar modules using a flying and/or hovering machine; however, the instant patent application failing to specifically use an airborne machine does not make the instant patent application patentably distinct from the application 19/319,634.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 157-163 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong (US PGPub 2022/0077820).
As to claim 157
Jeong discloses a method of determining the location of at least one solar device (solar photovoltaic panels; see paragraph 0096, lines 4-5) using a machine (unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 400, see Fig. 3) comprising a GPS system (GPS unit 420, see Fig. 3), an inspection camera (camera unit 410, see Fig. 3), and a distance sensor or range finder (sensor system 260, see Fig. 2), comprising:
determining a location of said machine using said GPS system (see paragraph 0104, lines 1-3);
determining an angle at which an inspection camera is inspecting said solar device (see paragraph 0233, lines 1-3);
determining a distance from said machine to said solar device using said distance sensor or range finder (see paragraph 0059, lines 1-4); and
calculating a location of said solar device using said location of said machine, said angle at which said inspection camera is inspecting said solar device, and said distance from said machine to said solar device (see paragraph 0098, lines 1-8 and paragraph 0099, lines 1-11).
As to claim 158
Jeong discloses the method of claim 157, wherein said solar device is a solar module (see paragraph 0096, lines 4-5).
As to claim 159
Jeong discloses the method of claim 157, wherein said distance sensor or range finder comprises a LiDAR sensor (see paragraph 0059, lines 1-3).
As to claim 160
Jeong discloses the method of claim 157, wherein said distance sensor or range finder comprises an AI range finder (see paragraph 0059, lines 1-3).
As to claim 161
Jeong discloses the method of claim 157, wherein said at least one solar device comprises a plurality of solar devices, and wherein while said machine is at said location, said method is performed on each of said plurality of solar devices (see paragraph 0098, lines 1-8).
As to claim 162
Jeong discloses the method of claim 161, wherein said location is a first location, and further comprising performing said method on each of said plurality of solar devices while said machine is at a second location different than said first location (see paragraph 0286, lines 1-9).
As to claim 163
Jeong discloses the method of claim 157, wherein said method is performed while said machine flies close to the ground and/or hovers (see paragraph 0198, lines 2-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 144-156 are allowable over the prior art and would be allowed with resolution to the above Double Patenting rejection.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Jeong discloses a method of inspecting one or more solar modules (solar photovoltaic panels; see paragraph 0096, lines 4-5), comprising:
by a machine (unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 400, see Fig. 3) that is flying and/or hovering (see paragraph 0198, lines 2-5), inspecting a first plurality of solar modules visually and/or thermally (see paragraph 0005, lines 1-5).
However, Jeong fails to specifically disclose the machine flying and/hovering, inspecting respective backsides of the plurality of solar modules. Accordingly, independent claims 144, 153, and the claims which depend upon them are allowable over the prior art and would be in condition for allowance with a time filed Terminal Disclaimer to obviate the Double Patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/Michael J Brown/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115