DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 1/866,495 filed on 11/15/2024 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haegermarck (US10874274B2) in view of Romanov et al. (US9744670B2), hereinafter referred to as Haegermarck and Romanov respectively.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Haegermarck discloses A robotic cleaning device configured to navigate over a surface to be cleaned (“The robotic cleaning device 10 is hence configured to learn about its environment or surroundings by operating/cleaning.” [Abstract and Col. 8, lines 4–6]).
a propulsion system configured to move the robotic cleaning device over the surface to be cleaned (“The robotic cleaning device 10 comprises a main body 11 housing components such as a propulsion system comprising driving means in the form of two electric wheel motors 15, 16 for enabling movement of the driving wheels 12, 13 such that the cleaning device can be moved over a surface to be cleaned.” Col. 4-5, lines 61–67 & 1-2).
a camera configured to capture images of surroundings of the robotic cleaning device (“The controller 22 is operatively coupled to the camera 23 for recording images of a vicinity of the robotic cleaning device 10.” Col. 7, lines 17–19]).
at least one light source configured to illuminate objects in front of the camera (“a 3D sensor system comprising at least a camera 23 and a first and a second line laser 27, 28… configured to illuminate a height and a width that is greater than the height and width of the robotic cleaning device 10.” Col. 7, lines 12–20).
a heading sensor configured to measure heading of the robotic cleaning device “The robotic cleaning device 10 may further be equipped with an inertia measurement unit (IMU) 24, such as e.g. a gyroscope and/or an accelerometer and/or a magnetometer or any other appropriate device for measuring displacement of the robotic cleaning device 10 with respect to a reference position, in the form of e.g. orientation, rotational velocity, gravitational forces, etc. ” Col. 5, lines 57–67).
and a controller configured to: detect a luminous section in each captured image caused by the at least one light source illuminating an object, the luminous section representing detected object data (“The first and second line lasers 27, 28 are configured to send out laser beams, which illuminate furniture, walls and other objects of e.g. a room to be cleaned. The camera 23 is controlled by the controller 22 to capture and record images from which the controller 22 creates a representation or layout of the surroundings that the robotic cleaning device 10 is operating in, by extracting features from the images and by measuring the distance covered by the robotic cleaning device 10, while the robotic cleaning device 10 is moving across the surface to be cleaned. ” Col. 7, lines 38–55).
determine location of the detected object data in each captured image with respect to a reference position using the measured position and heading of the robotic cleaning device “By combining wheel speed readings with gyroscope information, the controller 22 can perform so called dead reckoning to determine position and heading of the cleaning device 10. ” Col. 6, lines 8–14).
create a 3D representation of the illuminated object by aggregating the detected object data of captured images taking into account the determined location of the detected object data for the captured images, the created 3D representation being utilized by the robotic cleaning device for navigating the surface to be cleaned (“the controller 22 derives positional data of the robotic cleaning device 10 with respect to the surface to be cleaned from the recorded images, generates a 3D representation of the surroundings from the derived positional data and controls the driving motors 15, 16 to move the robotic cleaning device across the surface to be cleaned in accordance with the generated 3D representation and navigation information supplied to the robotic cleaning device 10 such that the surface to be cleaned can be navigated by taking into account the generated 3D representation. Since the derived positional data will serve as a foundation for the navigation of the robotic cleaning device, ” Col. 7, lines 50–65).
Haegermarck does not explicitly teach an optical odometry sensor arranged to be directed towards the surface and configured to measure position of the robotic cleaning device.
However, Romanov teaches an optical odometry sensor arranged to be directed towards the surface and configured to measure position of the robotic cleaning device (“The mobile robot 100 is illustrated in FIGS. 1-2. In particular, FIG. 1 illustrates a front perspective view of the mobile robot 100 and FIG. 2 illustrates a bottom view of the mobile robot 100 in which the recessed structure 210 containing the optical odometry sensor system 205 is visible.” Col. 7, lines 20–25), (“the optical odometry sensor system also outputs a quality measure, where the quality measure indicates the reliability of optical odometry data; and the navigation application directs the processor to estimate a distance travelled using the captured optical odometry data, when a quality measure satisfies a threshold.” Col. 20-21, lines 65-67 & 1-5). Both Haegermarck and Romanov teach methods for navigating a mobile cleaning device. However, Romanov explicitly teaches an optical odometry sensor arranged to be directed towards the surface and configured to measure position of the robotic cleaning device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device navigation method of Haegermarck to also include an optical odometry sensor arranged to be directed towards the surface and configured to measure position of the robotic cleaning device, as taught by Romanov, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves methods of operating mobile cleaning devices (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Romanov, Col. 7, lines 20–25 and Col. 20-21, lines 65-67 & 1-5]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Haegermarck discloses The robotic cleaning device of claim 1, the at least one light source comprising: a first and second line laser configured to illuminate objects in front of the camera (“the first and second vertical line lasers 27 , 28…” Col. 8, lines 8–9).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Haegermarck discloses The robotic cleaning device of claim 2, the first and second line laser being vertically oriented line lasers (“the first and second vertical line lasers 27 , 28…” Col. 8, lines 8–9).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Haegermarck discloses The robotic cleaning device of claim 2, the at least one light source further comprising a horizontally oriented line laser (“which may be horizontally or vertically oriented line lasers.” Col. 7, lines 13–14).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Haegermarck discloses The robotic cleaning device of claim 2, the first and second line laser being symmetrically arranged on opposite sides of the camera (“arranged lateral of the camera 23…” Col. 7, lines 20–21).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Haegermarck discloses The robotic cleaning device of claim 1, further comprising: an inertial measurement unit configured to measure the heading of the robotic cleaning device (“The robotic cleaning device 10 may further be equipped with an inertia measurement unit (IMU) 24, such as e.g. a gyroscope and/or an accelerometer and/or a magnetometer or any other appropriate device for measuring displacement of the robotic cleaning device 10 with respect to a reference position, in the form of e.g. orientation, rotational velocity, gravitational forces, etc. ” Col. 5, lines 57–67).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Haegermarck discloses The robotic cleaning device of claim 1, further comprising: an odometry encoder arranged on each drive wheel of the propulsion system for measuring the position and heading of the robotic cleaning device “The robotic cleaning device 10 may further be equipped with an inertia measurement unit (IMU) 24, such as e.g. a gyroscope and/or an accelerometer and/or a magnetometer or any other appropriate device for measuring displacement of the robotic cleaning device 10 with respect to a reference position, in the form of e.g. orientation, rotational velocity, gravitational forces, etc. ………The robotic cleaning device 10 further comprises encoders (not shown in FIG. 1) on each drive wheel 12, 13 which generate pulses when the wheels turn. ……By combining wheel speed readings with gyroscope information, the controller 22 can perform so called dead reckoning to determine position and heading of the cleaning device 10. ” Col. 5-6 Lines 57-67 & 1-10).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Haegermarck discloses The robotic cleaning device of claim 6,
Haegermarck does not explicitly teach the heading sensor being one of the optical odometry sensor, the inertial measurement unit, the odometry encoder or a combination thereof.
However, Romanov does teach the heading sensor being one of the optical odometry sensor, the inertial measurement unit, the odometry encoder or a combination thereof (“the navigation application directs the processor to actuate the drive mechanism and capture optical odometry data from the optical odometry sensor system and gyroscope measurement data from the gyroscope sensor system; estimate a distance travelled using the captured optical odometry data; estimate a direction travelled using the gyroscope measurement data; and update a pose estimate using the estimated distance travelled and direction travelled.” Col. 2, lines 4–13). Both Haegermarck and Romanov teach methods for navigating a mobile cleaning device. However, Romanov explicitly teaches the heading sensor being one of the optical odometry sensor, the inertial measurement unit, the odometry encoder or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device navigation method of Haegermarck to also include the heading sensor being one of the optical odometry sensor, the inertial measurement unit, the odometry encoder or a combination thereof, as taught by Romanov, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves methods of operating mobile cleaning devices (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Romanov, Col. 2, lines 4–13]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Haegermarck discloses The robotic cleaning device of claim 1,
Haegermarck does not explicitly teach the optical odometry sensor being arranged in a recess on an underside of a main body of the robotic cleaning device.
However, Romanov does teach the optical odometry sensor being arranged in a recess on an underside of a main body of the robotic cleaning device (“The optical odometry sensor system is positioned within a recessed structure on an underside of the mobile robot body and configured to output optical odometry data” Abstract). Both Haegermarck and Romanov teach methods for navigating a mobile cleaning device. However, Romanov explicitly teaches the optical odometry sensor being arranged in a recess on an underside of a main body of the robotic cleaning device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device navigation method of Haegermarck to also include the optical odometry sensor being arranged in a recess on an underside of a main body of the robotic cleaning device as taught by Romanov, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves methods of operating mobile cleaning devices (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Romanov, Abstract]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Haegermarck discloses The robotic cleaning device of claim 1, the optical odometry sensor being arranged behind an opening of a main body of the robotic cleaning device, via which opening dust and debris is collected (“The robotic cleaning device 10 comprises… a cleaning member arranged to remove debris from a surface to be cleaned…” Col. 1, lines 48–51).
Conclusion
/AA/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668