DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs), submitted on 15 November 2024 and 21 July 2026, were filed after the mailing date of the patent application on 15 November 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, received on 15 November 2024, are acceptable for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 20240314590 A1 using the filing date of 26 November 2021 corresponding to PCT/CN2021/133731; hereinafter referred to as “Zhou”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1.
Zhou further discloses wherein:
the at least one subfield of the first sensing measurement parameter field and the at least one subfield of the second sensing measurement parameter field include at least one of
a subfield indicating a role of the first STA (¶121 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the second sensing measurement setup frame includes a Session Measurement Setup Field that further includes a Session Responder Role subfield. Examiner correlates the Session Responder Role subfield to “a subfield indicating a role of the first STA”),
a subfield related to sensing measurement (¶121 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the second sensing measurement setup frame includes a Session Measurement Setup Field that further includes a Sensing Measurement Type subfield, Sensing Measurement Timing subfield, Measurement Threshold Setup subfield, and other subfields related to sensing measurement. Examiner correlates the Sensing Measurement Type subfield to “a subfield related to sensing measurement”), or
a subfield related to sensing measurement reporting (¶121 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that each sensing measurement setup frame includes a Session Measurement Setup Field that further includes a Measurement Result Reporting Limitation Present subfield, a Reporting Date Type Present subfield, Reporting Date Coding Present subfield, and other subfields corresponding to reporting. Examiner correlates the Measurement Result Reporting Limitation Present subfield to “a subfield related to sending measurement reporting”).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhou discloses the method of claim 2.
Zhou further disclose wherein:
based on the specific field value being set to 1, the information corresponding to at least one subfield of the first sensing measurement parameter field is updated with the information corresponding to at least one subfield of the second sensing measurement parameter field, as requested by the specific field (¶121 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the responder, based on the Sensing Measurement Setup Termination from Responder subfield of the first session measurement setup request frame having a value of 1, may send a Sensing Measurement Setup Termination frame to terminate the first setup session and initiate a second setup session where the roles of the responder and the initiator are switched).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhou discloses the method of claim 3.
Zhou further disclose wherein:
based on an update of the role of the first STA being requested through the subfield indicating the role of the first STA in the second sensing measurement parameter field, the first sensing measurement setup response frame including a status code field indicating whether to accept a request for the update of the role of the first STA is transmitted to the second STA (¶121 & Fig. 4A & ¶185 & Fig. 10B, Zhou discloses that the responder, based on the Sensing Measurement Setup Termination from Responder subfield of the first session measurement setup request frame having a value of 1, may send a Sensing Measurement Setup Termination frame. ¶201-206 & Fig. 12A, Zhou discloses that the Sensing Measurement Setup Termination frame may include a Reason Code. Examiner correlates the Reason Code subfield to the “status code field”).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhou discloses the method of claim 4.
Zhou further disclose wherein:
based on the status code indicating that the request for the update of the role of the first STA being accepted, sensing measurement is performed according to the request for the update of the role of the first STA (¶201-207 & Fig. 12A, Zhou discloses that, based on the reason code of the Sensing Measurement Setup Termination frame, sensing measurement may be performed according to the first session setup or according to the second session setup).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhou discloses the method of claim 4.
Zhou further disclose wherein:
based on the status code rejecting the request for the update of the role of the first STA, the first sensing measurement setup response frame includes information about a role proposed by the first STA (¶201-207 & Fig. 12A, Zhou discloses that, based on the reason code of the Sensing Measurement Setup Termination frame, sensing measurement may be performed according to the first session setup or according to the second session setup).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1.
Zhou further discloses wherein:
the second sensing measurement setup request frame is transmitted to the first STA before a sensing measurement setup by the first sensing measurement setup request frame is terminated (¶89 & ¶93-98 & Fig. 3B & ¶313 & ¶105, Zhou discloses that the second sensing measurement setup frame is transmitted to the sending responder prior to a measurement scheduled by the first sensing measurement setup request frame).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1.
Zhou further discloses wherein:
the second sensing measurement setup request frame is transmitted to the first STA before or after a sensing measurement instance based on the first sensing measurement setup request frame (¶89 & ¶93-98 & Fig. 3B & ¶313 & ¶105, Zhou discloses that the second sensing measurement setup frame is transmitted to the sending responder prior to a measurement scheduled by the first sensing measurement setup request frame).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1.
Zhou further discloses wherein:
the information corresponding to at least one subfield of the first sensing measurement parameter field is mapped to the specific measurement setup ID (¶119 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the first sensing measurement setup frame of the first sensing setup includes a measurement setup identity (ID) subfield where the measurement setup ID subfield indicates the measurement setup ID), and
the information corresponding to at least one subfield of the second sensing measurement parameter field is mapped to the specific measurement setup ID (¶119 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the second sensing measurement setup frame of the second sensing setup includes a measurement setup identity (ID) subfield where the measurement setup ID subfield indicates the measurement setup ID).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1.
Zhou further discloses wherein:
the first STA is a sensing responder (¶89 & ¶93-98 & Fig. 3B & ¶313 & ¶105, Zhou discloses that a station may act as a sensing responder), and
the second STA is a sensing initiator (¶89 & ¶93-98 & Fig. 3B & ¶313 & ¶105, Zhou discloses that a station may act as a sensing initiator).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhou discloses a first station (STA) comprising:
at least one transceiver (¶426-429 & Fig. 23, Zhou discloses a communication device including a transceiver 730); and
at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver (¶426-429 & Fig. 23, Zhou discloses the communication device further includes a processor 710 connected to the transceiver 730), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from a second STA through the at least one transceiver, a first sensing measurement setup request frame (¶89 & ¶93-98 & Fig. 3B & ¶313 & ¶105, Zhou discloses receiving, by a sensing responder from a sensing initiator, a first sensing measurement setup frame during a first sensing setup. Examiner notes that the first sensing setup is a sensing setup where an access point (AP) is indicated as the sensing initiator in the first sensing setup; however, there is no requirement that the sensing initiator be an access point) including a first sensing measurement parameter field (¶119 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the first sensing measurement setup frame of the first sensing setup includes a sensing measurement setup field) and a specific measurement setup identity (ID) (¶119 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the first sensing measurement setup frame of the first sensing setup includes a measurement setup identity (ID) subfield where the measurement setup ID subfield indicates the measurement setup ID);
receive, from the second STA through the at least one transceiver, a second sensing measurement setup request frame (¶89 & ¶93-98 & Fig. 3B & ¶313 & ¶105, Zhou discloses receiving, by a sensing responder from a sensing initiator, a second sensing measurement setup frame during a second sensing setup. Examiner notes that the second sensing setup is a sensing setup where a first station (STA) is indicated as the sensing initiator in the first sensing setup) including a second sensing measurement parameter field (¶119 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the second sensing measurement setup frame of the second sensing setup includes a sensing measurement setup field) and the specific measurement setup ID (¶119 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the second sensing measurement setup frame of the second sensing setup includes a measurement setup identity (ID) subfield where the measurement setup ID subfield indicates the measurement setup ID); and
transmit, to the second STA through the at least one transceiver, a first sensing measurement setup response frame to the second sensing measurement setup request frame (¶71-72, Zhou discloses transmitting, by the session responder to the session initiator, a sensing measurement response frame depending upon a determined role of each device in the session setup),
wherein the second sensing measurement setup request frame includes a specific field requesting that information corresponding to at least one subfield of the first sensing measurement parameter field be updated with information corresponding to at least one subfield of the second sensing measurement parameter field (¶90 & ¶92-93 & Fig. 3B & ¶121 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the second session setup frame includes a subfield, or Responder Subfield, that indicates whether the sensing responder is allowed to terminate the first session setup by transmitting a session measurement termination frame and initiate the second session setup by transmitting, to the initiator device, a second sensing measurement setup frame).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhou discloses a second station (STA) comprising:
at least one transceiver (¶426-429 & Fig. 23, Zhou discloses a communication device including a transceiver 730); and
at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver (¶426-429 & Fig. 23, Zhou discloses the communication device further includes a processor 710 connected to the transceiver 730), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit, to a first STA through the at least one transceiver, a first sensing measurement setup request frame (¶89 & ¶93-98 & Fig. 3B & ¶313 & ¶105, Zhou discloses transmitting, by a sensing initiator to a sensing responder, a first sensing measurement setup frame during a first sensing setup. Examiner notes that the first sensing setup is a sensing setup where an access point (AP) is indicated as the sensing initiator in the first sensing setup; however, there is no requirement that the sensing initiator be an access point) including a first sensing measurement parameter field (¶119 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the first sensing measurement setup frame of the first sensing setup includes a sensing measurement setup field) and a specific measurement setup identity (ID) (¶119 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the first sensing measurement setup frame of the first sensing setup includes a measurement setup identity (ID) subfield where the measurement setup ID subfield indicates the measurement setup ID);
transmit, to the first STA through the at least one transceiver, a second sensing measurement setup request frame (¶89 & ¶93-98 & Fig. 3B & ¶313 & ¶105, Zhou discloses transmitting, by a sensing initiator to a sensing responder, a second sensing measurement setup frame during a second sensing setup. Examiner notes that the second sensing setup is a sensing setup where a first station (STA) is indicated as the sensing initiator in the first sensing setup) including a second sensing measurement parameter field (¶119 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the second sensing measurement setup frame of the second sensing setup includes a sensing measurement setup field) and the specific measurement setup ID (¶119 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the second sensing measurement setup frame of the second sensing setup includes a measurement setup identity (ID) subfield where the measurement setup ID subfield indicates the measurement setup ID); and
receive, from the first STA through the at least one transceiver, a first sensing measurement setup response frame to the second sensing measurement setup request frame (¶71-72, Zhou discloses transmitting, by the session responder to the session initiator, a sensing measurement response frame depending upon a determined role of each device in the session setup),
wherein the second sensing measurement setup request frame includes a specific field requesting that information corresponding to at least one subfield of the first sensing measurement parameter field be updated with information corresponding to at least one subfield of the second sensing measurement parameter field (¶90 & ¶92-93 & Fig. 3B & ¶121 & Fig. 4A, Zhou discloses that the second session setup frame includes a subfield, or Responder Subfield, that indicates whether the sensing responder is allowed to terminate the first session setup by transmitting a session measurement termination frame and initiate the second session setup by transmitting, to the initiator device, a second sensing measurement setup frame).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474