DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 has been amended to require “injecting methane into the subterranean formation as food for the methantrophic bacteria in the formation due to injecting the anaerobic methanotrophic bacteria bearing fluid.” The use of the phrase “due to injecting” renders the scope of the claim unclear as it is unclear if Applicant is indeed injecting methane as methane, or if methane is injected into the formation due to the injection of the anaerobic methantrophic bacteria bearing fluid. Clarification is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the methanotrophic bacteria" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Throughout the claims, Applicant refers to “an anaerobic methantrophic bacteria” but never “a methantrophic bacteria.” It is unclear if “the methanotrophic bacteria” is intended to refer to the previously claimed anaerobic methantrophic bacteria or a separate methantrophic bacteria.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kincaid et al. (GB 2611124 A).
With respect to independent claim 7, Kincaid et al. discloses a method of reducing methane or methane production in a subterranean formation having a wellbore extending therethrough, the method comprising:
injecting an anerobic methanotrophic bacteria bearing fluid (p. 3, l. 23-30; p. 3, l. 31-p. 4, l. 6) into the subterranean formation through the wellbore (p. 3, l. 4; p. 5, l. 10-13); and
eliminating a portion of the methane present in the subterranean formation using the anaerobic methanotrophic bacteria bearing fluid (p. 3, l. 23-30, by virtue of the use of the anaerobic Methanotrophic archaea disclosed by Kincaid et al.).
With respect to dependent claim 8, Kincaid et al. discloses injecting an organic waste bearing fluid into the subterranean formation through the wellbore, the organic waste bearing fluid including a methane producing bacteria (p. 3, l. 23- p. 4, l. 6, wherein a methane producing bacteria such as Methanothermobacter is introduced in combination with the anaerobic methantrophic bacteria); and producing methane in the subterranean formation using the methane producing bacteria (p. 3, l. 23-p. 4, l. 6, by virtue of the inclusion thereof in the injected fluid).
With respect to dependent claim 9, Kincaid et al. discloses injecting methane into the subterranean formation as food for the methanotrophic bacteria in the formation due to injecting the anaerobic methanotropic bacteria bearing fluid (since the injecting of methane is due to injecting the anaerobic methanotrophic bacteria bearing fluid and Kincaid provides for injecting the anaerobic methantrophic bacteria bearing fluid, Kincaid provides for such).
With respect to dependent claim 10, Kincaid et al. discloses injecting a complex chemical and a reduction agent into the subterranean formation, the reduction agent for reducing the complex carbon chemical into a single carbon chemical consumable by the methantrophic bacteria (p. 5, l. 10-33).
With respect to depending claim 12, Kincaid et al. discloses injecting the anaerobic methanotrophic bacteria bearing fluid into a formation leaking methane (p. 5, l. 10-14, by virtue of the formation being a methane-bearing formation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) as set forth in the previous office action have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of Applicant’s amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further consideration of Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2011/0250582 discloses wherein organisms that may result in lower methane yields in a reservoir such as anaerobic methane oxidizing archaea (methanotrophs), referred to as ANME-1 and ANME-2, can be identified, and, if present, the activity of such organisms can be controlled to prevent reduction in methane production.
US 2026/0077310 discloses methods for consuming methane using a consortium of bacteria; the method, however, is not conducted in a subterranean formation having a wellbore as claimed.
/Angela M DiTrani Leff/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
ADL
10/29/26