DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 1 and 4 “separately formed” is unclear. This is because it’s unclear what the retention component is separately formed from. For the purposes of examination, the retention component is assumed to be separately formed from the body.
Claims 2-3 and 5-8 are rejected due to their dependency on the rejected claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiscocks et al. US 20150114059 A1 (hereinafter Hiscocks).
In regards to claim 1, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Hiscocks teaches a lock core for a pin tumbler lock, including a body (119), one or more side bars (at least one of 126), a keyway (164), and tumbler pins (some of 122) located in bores (120) in the body, the or each side bar being adapted in a projecting position to project from the outside of the lock core (such as in fig 4), and in a released position to be received into the core when a correctly coded key is inserted into the keyway and engages the tumbler pins (para 34), wherein the body includes a retention component (see reference image 1), separately formed and including engagement features to retain the or each side bar when it is/they are in the projecting position (at least as they retain 128, note fig 1) and wherein the retention component includes one or more of said bores and corresponding additional tumbler pins (see reference image 1).
Reference image 1
In regards to claim 4, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Hiscocks teaches a pin tumbler lock, including a lock core adapted to rotate inside a shell, the lock core including a body (119), one or more side bars (at least one of 126), a keyway (164), and tumbler pins (some of 122) located in bores in the body, the or each side bar being adapted in a projecting position to project from the outside of the lock core into a corresponding recess in the lock shell (such as in fig 4), and in a released position to be received into the core when a correctly coded key is inserted into the keyway and engages the tumbler pins (para 34), so that operatively the lock core can be rotated relative to the shell when the correctly coded key is inserted (paras 16-18), wherein the body includes a retention component (see reference image 1), separately formed and including engagement features (see reference image 1) to retain the or each side bar when it is/they are in the projecting position (at least as they retain 128, note fig 1) and wherein the retention component further includes one or more of said bores and corresponding additional tumbler pins (see reference image 1).
In regards to claim 6, Hiscocks teaches a pin tumbler lock according to claim 4 wherein the retention component is located within the body so that the bores in the retention component and the bores in the body are correctly aligned in line to permit operation of the tumbler pins by the correctly coded key (para 16).
In regards to claim 7, Hiscocks teaches a retention component adapted for use in a lock core according to any one of claim 1 (see reference image 1).
In regards to claim 8, Hiscocks teaches a retention component adapted for use in a pin tumbler lock according to claim 4 (see reference image 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiscocks as applied to claim 1, 4, and 6-8 above, and further in view of McCarthy GB 2439781 A (hereinafter McCarthy).
In regards to claim 2, Hiscocks teaches a lock core according to claim 1.
However, Hiscocks does not teach wherein the retention component is formed from a hardened material relative to the body of the lock core.
McCarthy teaches an insert (8A-9B) made of a material harder than the body (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the retention component is formed from a hardened material relative to the body of the lock core in Hiscocks in order to make attacking the lock more difficult (McCarthy: page 2 lines 1-2).
In regards to claim 3, Hiscocks in view of McCarthy teaches lock core according to claim 2, wherein the retention component is located within the body so that the bores in the retention component and the bores in the body are correctly aligned in line to permit operation of the tumbler pins by a key (Hiscocks para 16).
In regards to claim 5, Hiscocks teaches a lock core according to claim 4.
However, Hiscocks does not teach wherein the retention component is formed from a hardened material relative to the body of the lock core.
McCarthy teaches an insert (8A-9B) made of a material harder than the body (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the retention component is formed from a hardened material relative to the body of the lock core in Hiscocks in order to make attacking the lock more difficult (McCarthy: page 2 lines 1-2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AU 2013204530 B1 – teaches a similar lock core.
AU 2013248267 B1 – teaches a similar device.
US 5826451 A – teaches a similar retention device.
US 20150247344 A1 – teaches a similar device.
US 5209087 A – teaches a similar retention device.
US 5540071 A -teaches a similar retention device.
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675