DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first acquisition module”, “second acquisition module” and “lens focus module” in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 18 – 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng (CN 113014790A translation provided by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng discloses a lens focus method comprising: obtaining a target phase difference of a preview image captured by a main camera lens in a macro shooting mode (p.15, 39: obtaining the phase difference of the picture when the motor is located at the current position); obtaining a calibration data set corresponding to the macro shooting mode, where the calibration data set includes calibration phase differences and calibration currents for reference calibrated macro distances (p.15, 39: inputting the phase difference into the calibration library; using the calibration library and DCC data to calculate to obtain the defocusing distance); determining a target current based on a calibration current corresponding to a calibration phase difference that matches the target phase difference (p.15, 39: inputting the phase difference into the calibration library; using the calibration library and DCC data to calculate to obtain the defocusing distance); and driving the main camera lens to focus according to the target current (p.15, 39: finishing focusing according to the action instruction corresponding to the motor from the defocusing distance).
Regarding claim 2, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 1. Zheng also teaches wherein driving the main camera lens to focus according to the target current comprises: driving the main camera lens to move to a candidate position according to the target current; and adjusting the main camera lens based on the candidate position until the main camera lens reaches a target focus position (p.15, 39: finishing focusing according to the action instruction corresponding to the motor from the defocusing distance).
Regarding claim 18, Zheng discloses a lens focus apparatus comprising: a first acquisition module configured to obtain a target phase difference of a preview image captured by a main camera lens in a macro shooting mode (p.15, 39: obtaining the phase difference of the picture when the motor is located at the current position); a second acquisition module configured to obtain a calibration data set corresponding to the macro shooting mode, wherein the calibration data set includes calibration phase differences and calibration currents for reference calibrated macro distances (p.15, 39: inputting the phase difference into the calibration library; using the calibration library and DCC data to calculate to obtain the defocusing distance); a current determination module configured to determine a target current based on a calibration current corresponding to a calibration phase difference that matches the target phase difference (p.15, 39: inputting the phase difference into the calibration library; using the calibration library and DCC data to calculate to obtain the defocusing distance); and a lens focus module configured to drive the main camera lens to focus according to the target current (p.15, 39: finishing focusing according to the action instruction corresponding to the motor from the defocusing distance).
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 18. Zheng also teaches a processor (p.22) and memory (needed to store calibration library).
Claim 20 rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Galor (US 2018/0349378).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 2. Zheng fails to explicitly disclose wherein adjusting the main camera lens based on the candidate position until the main camera lens reaches the target focus position comprises: obtaining a candidate phase difference of preview image captured by the main camera lens at the candidate position; if the candidate phase difference meets a preset phase threshold, determining that the candidate position is the target focus position, and stopping movement of the main camera lens; if the candidate phase difference does not meet the preset phase threshold, determining that the candidate position is not the target focus position, and using a preset focusing strategy to move the main camera lens to the target focus position.
In the same field of endeavor, Galor teaches calibration for PDAF cameras wherein the processor 205 may determine that the image is out of focus in response to the phase difference being greater than zero. If it is out of focus (not meeting preset phase threshold), an AF process is performed. If it is not out of focus (meets preset threshold), the lens does not move (fig. 4; ¶54). In light of the teaching of Galor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to use Galor’s teaching in Zheng’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in reducing processing load during a single AF process and increase AF accuracy during continuous AF.
Regarding claim 4, Zheng in view of Galor disclose the limitations of claim 3. Galor also teaches wherein using the preset focusing strategy to move the main camera lens to the target focus position comprises: obtaining a contrast difference value of preview image captured by the main camera lens at the candidate position based on the preset focusing strategy; and moving the main camera lens to the target focus position based on the contrast difference value (fig. 4; ¶48, 56: main AF process may include the processor 205 performing a contrast AF process including determining a final lens position at which a captured image is in focus).
Claim(s) 12 – 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Lin (CN 113572956 machine translation provided).
Regarding claim 12, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 1. Zheng fails to explicitly disclose wherein obtaining the target phase difference of the preview image captured by the main camera lens in the macro shooting mode comprises: determining multiple initial phase differences of the preview image captured by the main camera lens in the macro shooting mode; and using a maximum initial phase difference among the multiple initial phase differences as the target phase difference of the preview image.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches a focusing method where the target phase difference data may also be calculated according to the phase difference in the plurality of focusing frames, such as target phase difference data is a maximum difference of the plurality of focusing frames (p.24; ¶2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zheng with the teachings of Lin. Zheng discloses using phase detection auto focusing based on a target image. Lin teaches determining the target phase difference based on the maximum of multiple detections. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using the maximum of multiple phase differences to obtain a target phase difference, as taught by Lin, with the invention of Zheng would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system.
Regarding claim 13, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 1. Zheng fails to explicitly disclose wherein obtaining the target phase difference of the preview image captured by the main camera lens in the macro shooting mode comprises: determining multiple initial phase differences of the preview image captured by the main camera lens in the macro shooting mode; and using an average value of the multiple initial phase differences as the target phase difference of the preview image.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches a focusing method where the electronic device determines that the average value of the phase differences in multiple focus frames is the target phase difference data (p.24; ¶2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zheng with the teachings of Lin. Zheng discloses using phase detection auto focusing based on a target image. Lin teaches determining the target phase difference based on the average of multiple detections. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using the average of multiple phase differences to obtain a target phase difference, as taught by Lin, with the invention of Zheng would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system.
Claim(s) 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Shiohara (US 2016/0044221)
Regarding claim 17, Zheng discloses the limitations of claim 1. Zheng fails to explicitly disclose further comprising before obtaining the target phase difference of the preview image captured by the main camera lens in the macro shooting mode: determining the device type of the main camera lens; and determining the calibration data set corresponding to the macro shooting mode based on the device type.
In the same field of endeavor, Shiohara teaches an imaging device that includes phase difference table TBL stored in a non-volatile memory 61 to specify the phase difference TD, wherein the type of the lens unit and focal length indicated by the identifying data described above and the phase difference TD are associated and stored (fig. 11; ¶112, 116). In light of the teaching of Shiohara, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to use Shiohara’s teaching in Zheng’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in the ability to perform accurate AF regardless of the type of device detected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 11 and 14 – 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639