DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/866,540 filed on 17 November 2024. This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/020589 filed on 17 May 2022. The preliminary amendments filed 17 November 2024 amends claim 5 and adds claims 6-12. Claims 1-12 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an identification unit in claim 1 and a determination unit in claim 1, and a notification unit in claim 3.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. For instance, FIG. 11 of Applicant’s Drawings discloses a communication device 10a comprising the identification unit 12, the determination unit 14, and the notification unit 15. Paragraph 0195 discloses that the hardware configuration of the communication devices comprises a processor 21 and ROM 21, RAM 23, and Storage 24.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2018/0205452 A1 to Stephens et al and in view of US PGPUB 2022/0095153 A1 to Ha et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Stephens discloses a communication device that performs time synchronization by transmission and reception of a time synchronization signal in accordance with a single profile among a plurality of profiles, to and from an opposing device that is an opposing communication device (FIG. 2, 0005, and 0036 provides for device 201 performs time synchronization using PTP packets in accordance with a measurement profile of a plurality of measurement profiles), the communication device comprising: an identification unit configured to continuously identify a profile used by the opposing device, on the basis of information regarding the transmission and the reception of the time synchronization signal in accordance with the single profile among the plurality of profiles and a method of the time synchronization included in the time synchronization signal acquired from the opposing device (FIG. 2 and 0036 provides for identifying measurement profiles received using the received signals). Stephens doesn’t explicitly disclose a determination unit configured to determine whether or not the profile used by the opposing device changes, on the basis of a past profile identified by the identification unit and a current profile identified by the identification unit. Ha, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a determination unit configured to determine whether or not the profile used by the opposing device changes, on the basis of a past profile identified by the identification unit and a current profile identified by the identification unit (FIG. 17, 0126, and 0154 provides for determining whether or not the PTP profile of the UE is lower compared to the existing PTP profile). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filed date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Ha for comparing the PTP profiles based on their requirements. The PTP profile comparison of Ha, when implemented with the GMC of the Stephens system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to compare PTP profiles in order to determine a change between PTP profiles for a device. Therefore, the examiner concludes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to utilize the PTP profile comparison of Ha with the GMC of the Stephens system for the desirable purpose of synchronizing the devices in a system.
Regarding Claim 2, the Stephens/Ha system discloses the communication device according to claim 1, wherein the identification unit transmits a first time synchronization signal to the opposing device, receives a second time synchronization signal transmitted from the opposing device in response to the first time synchronization signal, and identifies the profile used by the opposing device, on the basis of information included in the received second time synchronization signal (Stephens, FIG. 2 and 0033-0036 provides for sending signals and receiving transmissions from the signal).
Regarding Claim 3, the Stephens/Ha system discloses the communication device according to claim 1, further comprising: a notification unit configured to, when it is determined by the determination unit that the profile used by the opposing device changes, notify outside of occurrence of the change in the profile used by the opposing device (Ha, 0128 provides for after determining the QoS flow, transmitting that information to the UPF). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, the Stephens/Ha system discloses the communication device according to claim 1, wherein when it is determined by the determination unit that the profile used by the opposing device changes, the identification unit performs setting in accordance with the current profile to the communication device (Ha, 0154 provides for when the QoS flow has lower requirement, then the QoS flow is set based on the PTP profile). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, similar rejection where the communication device of claim 1 teaches the communication method of claim 5.
Regarding Claim 6, similar rejection where the communication device of claim 2 teaches the communication method of claim 6.
Regarding Claim 7, similar rejection where the communication device of claim 3 teaches the communication method of claim 7.
Regarding Claim 8, similar rejection where the communication device of claim 4 teaches the communication method of claim 8.
Regarding Claim 9, similar rejection where the communication device of claim 1 teaches the computer-readable non-transitory recording medium of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10, similar rejection where the communication device of claim 2 teaches the computer-readable non-transitory recording medium of claim 10.
Regarding Claim 11, similar rejection where the communication device of claim 3 teaches the computer-readable non-transitory recording medium of claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, similar rejection where the communication device of claim 4 teaches the computer-readable non-transitory recording medium of claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2021/0211786 A1 to Loprieno et al discloses synchronizing a PTP packet exchange between two clocks.
/SCHQUITA D GOODWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459