DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 15 be found allowable, claim 18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, and 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linsky et al. (US 20190007153) in view of Hogberg et al. (US 20220007201).
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Linsky et al. discloses a method for and a transceiver comprising: a plurality of receivers; a transmitter (wireless communication device 102 uses Bluetooth and includes two concurrent radio transceivers thus two receivers and transmitters, Paragraph 35); and a controller (processor 106) operable to control: reception of a first reception signal on a first one of the receivers and a second reception signal on a second one of the receivers (two Bluetooth transceivers interpreted to be the same as the claims first and second receiver, used to receive audio signals through a wireless connection, Paragraph 38); and a timing of transmission of a transmission signal by the transmitter according to both reception at the first one of the receivers and reception at the second one of the receivers (processor schedules transmission to not overlap with first or second received packet, Paragraph 45), however Linsky et al. fails to explicitly disclose a simultaneous reception of a first reception signal on a first one of the receivers and a second reception signal on a second one of the receivers.
In an analogous art, Hogberg et al. discloses simultaneous reception of a first reception signal on a first one of the receivers and a second reception signal on a second one of the receivers (Fig. 1, Paragraph 32, 42).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simultaneously received signals from a first and second source to provide the user with additional content for an improved communication device (Hogberg et al., Paragraph 7).
Regarding Claim 2, Linsky et al. further discloses the transmission signal is transmitted only at a time or times when no signals are received by the receivers (Fig. 3, Paragraphs 74-77).
Regarding Claim 3, Linsky et al. further discloses rein the transceiver is housed in a personal listening device (wireless device 102 includes headphones, Paragraph 30).
Regarding Claim 4, Linsky et al. further discloses headphones however Linsky et al. fails to explicitly disclose the personal listening device is an earbud.
In an analogous art, Hogberg et al. discloses the device includes an earbud (communication device is a earbud, Paragraph 30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an earbud as a headset for increased portability of the device with the smaller size.
Regarding Claim 5, Linsky et al. further discloses the transmission signal is responsive to at least one of the first reception signal or the second reception signal (retransmission based on NACK response, Paragraph 12).
Regarding Claim 6, Linsky et al. further discloses the transmission signal is responsive to the first reception signal and the second reception signal (both responses received may include NACK causing retransmission of corresponding transmitted packet, Paragraph 11 and 12).
Regarding Claim 7, Linsky et al. further discloses two Bluetooth transceivers used to receive audio signals through a wireless connection (Paragraph 38); and the transmission signal is for communication with the first source and the second source (retransmission of packets based on NACK for either received signal, Paragraph 12 and 61), however Linsky et al. fails to explicitly disclose the first reception signal is transmitted by a first source; the second reception signal is transmitted by a second source.
In an analogous art, Hogberg et al. discloses the first reception signal is transmitted by a first source; the second reception signal is transmitted by a second source (a hearing instrument communicating with an accessory device thus a first source and receiving audio data transmitted from a second source as a mobile phone, Paragraph 32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first and second source to provide the user with increased media and device content without disconnecting and connecting manually each device.
Regarding Claim 8, Linsky et al. further discloses the first source is a BLUETOOTH source (Paragraph 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Linsky et al. further discloses the first reception signal, the second reception signal, and the transmission signal are BLUETOOTH signals (Paragraph 30, 32).
Regarding Claim 11, Linsky et al. further discloses an antenna (Paragraph 29).
Regarding Claim 13, Linsky et al. further discloses the transmission signal is transmitted only at a time or times when no signals are received by the receivers (Fig. 3, Paragraphs 74-77).
Regarding Claim 14, Linsky et al. further discloses the transceiver is housed in a personal listening device (wireless device 102 includes headphones, Paragraph 30).
Regarding Claim 15, Linsky et al. further discloses two Bluetooth transceivers used to receive audio signals through a wireless connection (Paragraph 38); and the transmission signal is for communication with the first source and the second source (retransmission of packets based on NACK for either received signal, Paragraph 12 and 61), however Linsky et al. fails to explicitly disclose the first reception signal is transmitted by a first source; the second reception signal is transmitted by a second source.
In an analogous art, Hogberg et al. discloses the first reception signal is transmitted by a first source; the second reception signal is transmitted by a second source (a hearing instrument communicating with an accessory device thus a first source and receiving audio data transmitted from a second source as a mobile phone, Paragraph 32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first and second source to provide the user with increased media and device content without disconnecting and connecting manually each device.
Regarding Claim 16, Linsky et al. further discloses the transmission signal is responsive to at least one of the first reception signal or the second reception signal (retransmission based on NACK response, Paragraph 12).
Regarding Claim 17, Linsky et al. further discloses the first reception signal, the second reception signal, and the transmission signal are BLUETOOTH signals (Paragraphs 30 and 32).
Regarding Claim 18, Linsky et al. further discloses two Bluetooth transceivers used to receive audio signals through a wireless connection (Paragraph 38); and the transmission signal is for communication with the first source and the second source (retransmission of packets based on NACK for either received signal, Paragraph 12 and 61), however Linsky et al. fails to explicitly disclose the first reception signal is transmitted by a first source; the second reception signal is transmitted by a second source.
In an analogous art, Hogberg et al. discloses the first reception signal is transmitted by a first source; the second reception signal is transmitted by a second source (a hearing instrument communicating with an accessory device thus a first source and receiving audio data transmitted from a second source as a mobile phone, Paragraph 32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first and second source to provide the user with increased media and device content without disconnecting and connecting manually each device.
Regarding Claim 19, Linsky et al. further discloses the first source is a BLUETOOTH source (Paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linsky et al. (US 20190007153) in view of Hogberg et al. (US 20220007201) as applied to claims 7 and 12 above and further in view of Verger et al. (US 20200351747).
Regarding Claim 9, Linsky et al. further discloses the transceiver is housed in a personal listening device (Paragraph 30, headphones, headset), however Linsky et al. fails to disclose the first source is a mobile phone; and the second source is a watch.
In an analogous art, Verger et al. discloses earbuds in communication with a first source which is a mobile phone and a second source which is a watch (Paragraphs 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have communicate between a mobile phone, watch, and earbuds allows for sounds to be transmitted from worn and carried devices for immediate notification and to maintain privacy in audio playback.
Regarding Claim 20 Linsky et al. further discloses the transceiver is housed in a personal listening device (Paragraph 30, headphones, headset), however Linsky et al. fails to disclose the first source is a mobile phone; and the second source is a watch.
In an analogous art, Verger et al. discloses earbuds in communication with a first source which is a mobile phone and a second source which is a watch (Paragraphs 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have communicate between a mobile phone, watch, and earbuds allows for sounds to be transmitted from worn and carried devices for immediate notification and to maintain privacy in audio playback.
Conclusion
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688