DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/17/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Examination notes
The references used today were provided in the ids of the applicant with machine translations
A translation of the first office action (Chinese) was used as a references for these IDS
References (copy is provided)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by He et al. (CN114253011A, machine translation, IDS) (He, hereafter)
Regarding claims 1 and 15,He discloses a dimming device and a display device (see description, paragraphs[0004]-[0063], and figures 1-7): the display device 100 comprises a display module 10, a dimming device 20 and a backlight module 30, the display module 10 being located between the dimming device 20 and the backlight module 30. The dimming device 20 comprises a first substrate 201, a second substrate 202, a first electrode layer 204, a second electrode layer 205, a dimming layer 203, a first alignment layer 206, a second alignment layer 207, and a second polarizer 208. The second polarizer 208 is located on the side of the second substrate 202 away from the first substrate 201. The light-transmitting axis of the second polarizer 208 is parallel is parallel to the light-transmitting axis of the first polarizer 101. The dimming layer 203 comprises a first polymer network liquid crystal and a second polymer network liquid crystal, the first polymer network liquid crystal being arranged in a first region 203al of the dimming layer 203, and the second polymer network liquid crystal being arranged in a second region 203a2 of the dimming layer 203. The first electrode layer 204 comprises a plurality of first electrodes 2041 arranged at intervals and arranged in a first direction, and a gap 204a is provided between two adjacent first electrodes 2041
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (CN 215895162U, machine translation, IDS) (H162, hereafter) in view of He et al. (CN 113031348A, machine translation) (H348,hereafter).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, H162 discloses a privacy film, a display panel and a display device, and specifically discloses (see specification paragraphs 0055-0085,Figure 12) that a display panel comprises a panel body 30, a first polarizer 11, a dimming liquid crystal layer 20 and a second polarizer 12. A dimming liquid crystal layer 20 is disposed between the first polarizer 11 and the second polarizer 12, the dimming liquid crystal layer 20 comprising a polymer network 21 arranged along a first direction w that is inclined with respect to a normal to the first polarizer 11 and liquid crystal molecules 22 distributed between the polymer network 21 . The display panel further comprises oppositely disposed first and second substra1es 41, 42, a first electrode layer 43 provided on a s ide of the first substrate 41 adjacent to the second substrate 42, a second electrode layer 44 disposed on a side of the second substrate 42 proximate to the first substrate 41, a first alignment layer 45 disposed on a side of the first electrode layer 43 proximate to the second electrode layer' 44, a second alignment layer 46 disposed on ,, side of the second electrode layer 44 proximate to the first electrode layer 43, and a dimming liquid crystal layer 20 disposed between the first alignment layer 45 and the second alignment layer 46. FIG. 12 includes a privacy film provided by an embodiment of the present invention and a test backlight module 70 disposed on one side of the privacy film.
From the above, H162 discloses display device of claim 15, the light emitting module of claim 1, including a light emitting panel (backlight module 70) and a first light modulating plate (dimming assembly including a dimming liquid c1ystal layer 20), the first light modulating plate being positioned on a light-emitting s ide of the light emitting panel; the first dimming plate includes a first polymer liquid crystal layer (dimming liquid crystal layer 20) including a polymer network (polymer network 21) and liquid crystal molecules (liquid crystal molecules 22) dispersed in the polymer,· network; a first electrode layer (first electrode layer 43) and a second electrode layer (second electrode layer 44) disposed on opposite sides of the first polymer liquid crystal layer. H162 fails to explicitly disclose the first electrode layer comprises at least two first electrodes spaced apart. The technical issue needing to be resolved is how to implement zoning regulation.
H348 discloses a backlight module and a liquid crystal display device, and specifically discloses (see paragraph 0031, Figures 1-3) that a side of a first substrate 101 near a second substrate
102 is further provided with a first electrode layer comprising a number of spaced apart first electrodes 301 arranged in one-to-one correspondence with a number of dye liquid crystal cells; a side of the second substrate 102 next to the first substrate 101 is further provided with a second electrode layer comprising a number of spaced apart second electrodes 302 arranged in one-to-one correspondence with a number of dye liquid crystal cells. That is, the first electrode 301 and the second electrode 302 may form a vertical electric field, thereby driving liquid crystal molecules and dye molecules within the dye liquid crystal cell to rotate.
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date would modify the lighting module/Display device of H162 as disclosed by H348 wherein the first electrode layer comprises at least two first electrodes spaced apart, since the described role of setting upper and lower electrode spacings in H348 is the same as what is in the present application; H348 gives indication of setting the two-sided control electrode spacings to achieve zone management,
Regarding claims 2 and 16, H162 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second electrode layer comprises at least two second electrodes spaced apart, the at least two second electrodes and the at least two first electrodes are arranged in one-to-one correspondence, and each of the at least two second electrodes is disposed oppositely to a corresponding one of the at least two first electrodes.
H348 discloses a backlight module and a liquid crystal display device, and specifically discloses (see paragraph 0031, Figures 1-3) that a side of a first substrate 101 near a second substrate
102 is further provided with a first electrode layer comprising a number of spaced apart first electrodes 301 arranged in one-to-one correspondence with a number of dye liquid crystal cells; a side of the second substrate 102 next to the first substrate 101 is further provided with a second electrode layer comprising a number of spaced apart second electrodes 302 arranged in one-to-one correspondence with a number of dye liquid crystal cells. That is, the first electrode 301 and the second electrode 302 may form a vertical electric field, thereby driving liquid crystal molecules and dye molecules within the dye liquid crystal cell to rotate.
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date would modify the lighting module/Display device of H162 as disclosed by H348 wherein the second electrode layer comprises at least two second electrodes spaced apart, the at least two second electrodes and the at least two first electrodes are arranged in one-to-one correspondence, and each of the at least two second electrodes is disposed oppositely to a corresponding one of the at least two first electrodes, since the described role of setting upper and lower electrode spacings in H348 is the same as what is in the present application H348 gives indication of setting the two-sided control electrode spacings to achieve zone management,
Regarding claims 3 and 17, H162 discloses at the first dimming plate further comprises oppositely disposed first polarizers (first polarizers 11) and second polarizers (second polarizers 12), the first polarize,· is disposed on a side of the first electrode layer facing away from the first polymer liquid crystal layer and the second polarizer is disposed on a side of the second electrode layer facing away from the first polymer liquid crystal layer; an optical axis direction of the first polarizer is parallel to an optical axis direction of the second polarizer; the polymer network is arranged along a first direction that is oblique to a normal of the first polarizer.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, H162 discloses that said first dimming plate further comprises a first alignment layer (first alignment layer 45) and a second alignment layer (second alignment layer 46).
disposed on opposite sides of said first polymeric liquid crystal layer, the first alignment layer is disposed between the first electrode layer and the first polymeric liquid crystal layer, and the second alignment layer is disposed between the second electrode layer and the first polymeric liquid crystal layer; the first alignment layer and the second alignment layer both form a tilted orientation with a pre-tilt direction parallel to the first direction.
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable He et al. (CN 215895162U, machine translation) (H162, hereafter) in view of He et al. (CN 113031348A, machine translation) (H348,hereafter) and in further view of Guo et al. (CN 107422531, machine translation) (Guo, hereafter).
Regarding claim 5 and 19, H162 as modified H348 disclosed the lighting module/display device set forth above 9see rejection claim 4). H162 as modified H348 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light-emitting module further comprises a light-intensifying plate provided between the light-emitting plate and the first light-adjusting plate, and the light-intensifying plate comprises a sidewise light guide plate and a light-intensifying source located on a side wall of the sidewise light guide plate.
Guo discloses a hybrid-in backlight module and a liquid crystal display device, and it is specifically disclosed (see specification paragraphs 0048-0056, Fig. 1) that the density and number of LED lights of the bottom back light 30, the number of side backlights 40, and the density and number of LED lights of each side backlight 40 c,111 be adjusted according to actual needs, the more LED lights, the greater the maximum threshold of brightness of the hybrid-in backlight module 100. T11e light emitted by the s ide backlight 40 is totally reflected within the light guide plate 20, breaks the total reflection at dot 23, a portion of the light is refracted upward out of the light guide plate 20 and another portion of the light is refracted downward inside the bottom plate 11 or first bend segment 21 , and then re-enters the light guide plate 20 after being reflected on the reflective sheet 50.
One if ordinary skill would be motivated before the effective filing date to further modify the lighting module/display device of H162 as disclosed by Guo, wherein the light-emitting module further comprises a light-intensifying plate provided between the light-emitting plate and the first light-adjusting plate, and the light-intensifying plate comprises a sidewise light guide plate and a light-intensifying source located on a side wall of the sidewise light guide plate, since the role of the plurality of light sources described by Guo is the same as the role of the light sources in the present application, which is to say that Guo suggests that a plurality of light sources are provided in combination with a combination of light sources to increase the light output brightness, i.e. A side-entry light source comprising a light source and a light guide plate in combination with a bottom light source to increase the light output brightness.
Claims 7-9, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable He et al. (CN 215895162U, machine translation) (H162, hereafter) in view of He et al. (CN 113031348A, machine translation) (H348,hereafter) in view Guo et al. (CN 107422531, machine translation) (Guo, hereafter) and in further view of Liu et al.( CN 214174773, machine translation ).
Regarding claim 7-8 and 20, H162 as modified by H348 and Guo discloses the lighting module/display device set forth (above see rejection claim 4 and 18). H162 as modified by H348 and Guo fail to explicitly disclose wherein the light-emitting module further comprises an anti-peeping film provided between the light-emitting plate and the first light-adjusting plate, and the light-intensifying plate is provided between the anti-peeping film and the first light-adjusting plate (claims 7 and 20);wherein an anti-peeping angle of the anti-peeping film is from 40 degrees to 60 degrees (claim 8).
Liu discloses display device and specifically discloses (see paragraphs 0040-0042, Figure 1) that when the polymeric liquid crystal Jaye, is transparent, the polymeric liquid crystal layer does not break up light. the small angle light passes through the polymeric liquid crystal layer and still the small angle light, thereby causing the display device to be in a narrow viewing angle mode; when the polymer liquid crystal layer is in a misted state, the polymer liquid crystal layer has an effect of dispersing light, and light at a small angle can be changed to light at a large angle, so that the display device is in a wide viewing angle mode. The display device includes a liquid crystal display panel 20 and a backlight module 10; a privacy film 30 on a side of the liquid crystal display panel 20 facing away from the backlight module 10 and a viewing angle switching film 40 on a side of the viewing angle switching film 40 facing toward the backlight module 10; the viewing angle switching film 40 includes a first electrode 41 and a second electrode 42 oppositely disposed, the first electrode 41 being positioned on a s ide of the second electrode 42 facing the liquid crystal display panel 20; wherein the number of the first electrodes 41 and/or the second electrodes 42 is a plurality; a polymer liquid crystal layer 43 located between the first electrode 41 and the second electrode 42.
Onen of ordinary skill would be motivated before the effective filing date to further modify the lighting module/display device of H162 as disclosed by Liu wherein the light-emitting module further comprises an anti-peeping film provided between the light-emitting plate and the first light-adjusting plate, and the light-intensifying plate is provided between the anti-peeping film and the first light-adjusting plate ;wherein an anti-peeping angle of the anti-peeping film is from 40 degrees to 60 degrees, since the role of then privacy film described above in Liu is the same as that in the present application in order to achieve privacy light adjustment, that is to say Liu gives an indication to arrange the privacy film to achieve privacy, the privacy angle of the privacy film is only set as desired. At the same time. It is also contemplated
by those skilled in the art that multiple privacy devices enhance privacy effects.
Regarding claim 9, H162 as modified by H348 and Guo discloses the lighting module/display device set forth (above see rejection claim 4 ). H162 as modified by H348 and Guo fail to explicitly disclose wherein the light-emitting module further comprises an anti-peeping film provided between the light-emitting plate and the first light-adjusting plate.
Liu discloses a structure for providing a privacy film and a polymeric liquid crystal layer to achieve viewing angle modulation(see rejection ( claim 5 above).
Onen if ordinary skill would be motivated before the effective filing date to further modify the lighting module/display device of H162 as disclosed by Liu wherein the light-emitting module further comprises an anti-peeping film provided between the light-emitting plate and the first light-adjusting plate.
Regarding claims 13-14, the limitations, wherein the anti-peeping film and the first light-adjusting plate are adhered by a first optical adhesive layer having a refractive index lower than a refractive index of the first light-adjusting plate(claim 13), wherein the refractive index of the first optical adhesive layer is less than 1.2(Claim 14) do not appear to contain any additional features which define more than slight constructional changes which come within the scope of the customary (design) practice followed by persons skilled in the art, especially as the advantages thus achieved can be readily contemplated in advance. Alternatively, these limitations are not deemed patentable since the applicant’s disclosure fails to show such limitations to solve any problems or to yield any unobvious advantage that is not within the scope of the teachings applied. Therefore, such limitations would be a matter of design alternative.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the light emitting module along with the teaching of H162,H348,Guo and Liu to derive wherein the anti-peeping film and the first light-adjusting plate are adhered by a first optical adhesive layer having a refractive index lower than a refractive index of the first light-adjusting plate, wherein the refractive index of the first optical adhesive layer is less than 1.2 the motivation to aid in resolving switching between wide and narrow viewing angles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 11-12 are objected to due to their dependency upon claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210080779 A1-General State of the Art-backlight module, a liquid crystal dimming layer, and a liquid crystal display layer
CN 111208666 A-General State of the Arta liquid crystal display panel having a display surface and a back surface opposite
US 20190302345 A1-General State of the Art-a liquid crystal light-adjusting film
US 20100271571 A1.-General State of the Art-A polymer dispersed liquid crystal light shutter device
TRACIE Y. GREEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875