Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 09/02/2026. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see attached USPTO form.
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendment filed on 09/16/2026.
The rejection of claims 6, 7, 9, and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite are withdrawn because of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foley (US6239093B1) are maintained for the reasons of record in the previous Office Action.
The rejection of claims 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foley (US6239093B1) in view of Antonelli are maintained for the reasons of record in the previous Office Action.
The nonstatuatory double patenting rejection of claims 1-14 as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of US Patent No. 12,497,576B2 are maintained for the reasons of record in the previous Office Action.
The nonstatuatory double patenting rejection of claims 1-14 as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of US Patent No. 12,448,587B2 are maintained for the reasons of record in the previous Office Action.
The nonstatuatory double patenting rejection of claims 1-14 as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending US Application 18/866,578 are maintained for the reasons of record in the previous Office Action.
The nonstatuatory double patenting rejection of claims 1-10, 12-14 as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending US Application 18/866,584 are maintained for the reasons of record in the previous Office Action.
Claims 1-14, and 16 are pending. Claim 15 is canceled, claim 16 is new, and claims 6-7, 11, 9 are currently amended.
The previous grounds of rejection as well as new grounds of rejection for claim 16 are included below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foley et. al (US6239093B1) hereinafter Foley, as evidenced by Polyox WSR ® N3000 CHEMPOINT and Polyox WSR ® N3000 SDS 2023.
Foley teaches a liquid cleaning composition comprising of a dianionic surfactant system (see Abstract). With regards to claim 1, 3, 5, and 7, Foley teaches the use of 0.1-50 wt% of alkyl alkoxylated sulfate surfactants of the formula RO(A)mSO3M (where R is preferably a C12-C15 alkyl, A is an ethoxy or propoxy unit, m is preferably between 0.5-3, and M is an metal cation such as sodium, potassium, magnesium, etc or ammonium) and alkyl sulfate surfactants of the formula ROSO3M (where R is preferably a C12-C15 alkyl and M is an metal cation such as sodium, potassium, magnesium, etc or ammonium) which overlap with formula I and II respectively (see Column 13, line 65; see also Column 14, lines 18-52). Foley also teaches the use of betaine amphoteric surfactants in the surfactant system (see Column 13, lines 47-48). The use of polyethylene glycol polymers (cleaning polymers) is taught in preferably 0.1-0.5 wt% and the use of sodium chloride at 1 wt% in the silicone premix and as needed to adjust viscosity (see Column 47, lines 55-57; see also Column 52, line 33-64). Foley additionally teaches the optional use of enzymes in the detergent composition (see column 22, line 67). Example 14 comprises of 8 wt% ammonium laureth 2 sulfate, 8 wt% ammonium lauryl sulfate, 1.5 wt% cocoamidopropylbetaine (CAPB), and water to balance among other (see column 53). Since the lower limit of silicone in the instant claim is 0, it need not be present in the final composition
Foley fails to explicitly disclose the weight ratio of surfactant A to surfactant B to be between 2:1 to 1:2.5 as recited in claim 1 and be in the range 1.5:1 to 1:2 as recited in claim 3. However, the weight ratio of the ammonium laureth 2 sulfate (functionally equivalent to surfactant A, formula I since the ammonium ion would dissociate in aqueous solution) to ammonium lauryl sulfate (functionally equivalent to surfactant B, formula II since the ammonium ion would dissociate in aqueous solution) is 1 which falls within the ranges recited in the instant claims (see Example 14, column 53).
Foley does not explicitly disclose the ratio of the primary to secondary surfactant to be in the range of 4:1 to 13:1 as recited in claim 1 and 6:1 to 12:1 as recited in 6. However, the ratio of the ammonium sulfate surfactants to CAPB is 8+8:1.5 (10.67:1) which falls within the ranges recited in the instant claims (see Example 14).
Although all the claim limitations are not presented in a single embodiment to the point of anticipation, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date based on the general teachings of Foley. The combination of 0.1-50 wt% alkyl alkoxylated sulfate surfactants of formula I and alkyl sulfate surfactants of formula II, 1.5 wt% CAPB, 0.1 wt% polyethylene glycol cleaning polymers, 1 wt% sodium chloride into a single embodiment would have the added benefit of improved cleaning performance due to the combination surfactant system (see Column 1, line 63).
With regards to claim 2, Foley teaches the use of sodium laureth sulphate (SLES) as a preferred anionic surfactant (see Column 36, lines 45). Based on Foley’s general teaching of surfactants of the formula RO(A)mSO3M (where R is preferably a C12-C15 alkyl, A is an ethoxy or propoxy unit, m is preferably between 0.5-3, and M is a metal cation such as sodium, potassium, magnesium, etc or ammonium), it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to reasonably expect the SLES to have 1-2 ethylene oxide units (R is C12-C15 alkyl, A is an ethoxy unit, m is 1-2, and M is sodium).
With regards to claim 4, Foley teaches the use of betaine surfactants such as alkylbetaines, sulfobetaines, amidobetaines, arnidosulfobetaines among others (see Column 39, lines 17-42). Examples 10-11 specify the use of CAPB as the secondary surfactant.
With regards to claim 6, Foley generally teaches the use of 0.1-50 wt% of alkyl alkoxylated sulfate surfactants of the formula RO(A)mSO3M (where R is preferably a C12-C15 alkyl, A is an ethoxy or propoxy unit, m is preferably between 0.5-3, and M is an metal cation such as sodium, potassium, magnesium, etc or ammonium) and alkyl sulfate surfactants of the formula ROSO3M (where R is preferably a C12-C15 alkyl and M is an metal cation such as sodium, potassium, magnesium, etc or ammonium) (see Column 13, line 65).
With regards to claim 8, Foley teaches preferred embodiments of the composition comprise of amylase enzymes at pH from about 8 to about 11 (see Column 23, lines 63-64). A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect Foley’s composition to have a pH between 8-11. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
With regards to claim 9, Foley does not explicitly disclose the viscosity of the composition in cps. However, Foley generally teaches the viscosity of the composition to range between 20-2,000,000 centistokes (see Column 42, lines 2-3). A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the viscosity of Foley’s composition to overlap with the viscosity of the range in the instant claim.
With regards to claim 10, Foley teaches the use of PEG 14-M (also known as Polyox WSR® N-3000) in Examples 10-13 (see Colum 48, lines 25-26). It is known in the art that Polyox WSR® N-3000 is a polyethylene oxide thickener with a molecular weight of 400,000 g/mol (see CHEMPOINT; see also SDS 2023).
With regards to claim 11, Foley does not explicitly disclose the RCI of the surfactant system. However, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to reasonably expect the RCI to fall within the claimed range of at least 0.85 because the surfactant system taught in Example 14 is functionally equivalent to the instant claim. Therefore the RCI is inherent and necessarily at least 0.85 absent of evidence to the contrary.
With regards to claim 12, Foley teaches enzymes are normally incorporated in the detergent composition at levels from 0.0001% to 2% of active enzyme by weight of the detergent composition (see Column 25, lines 46-47).
With regards to claim 16, Foley does not require the presence of silicone in the inventive composition. Hence, the formulation can be formulated without silicone. In Example 1, the silicone antifoam weight range is taught to be 0-0.3 wt% of the composition. In Example 2, there is no silicone.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foley as applied to claims 1-12 above, in view of Antonelli et. al (EP3670639A1) hereinafter Antonelli.
The general teachings of Foley are recited above. Foley teaches a cleaning composition comprising of alkyl alkoxylated sulfate surfactants, alkyl sulfate surfactants, betaine amphoteric surfactants, and polyethylene glycol cleaning polymers, and sodium chloride (see Column 13, lines 47-48 and 65; Column 14, lines 18-52; Column 47, lines 55-57; Column 52, line 33-64). A hand dishwashing liquid composition is taught in Example 2. However, Foley fails to explicitly disclose a method of cleaning a hard surface using the composition.
Antonelli teaches a liquid detergent composition comprising of 8-30 wt% of primary sulfate surfactant of the formula R1(OR')nOSO3M+ (where R1 is saturated or unsaturated C8-C16 alkyl chain, R' is ethylene, n is from 1 to 18, and M+ is a suitable cation selected from sodium, calcium, potassium and magnesium), a secondary betaine surfactant, 0.001-0.2 wt% of polyethylene oxide, 0.1-5 wt% inorganic salt among others (see [0008]).
With regards to claim 13, Antonelli teaches a method of cleaning a hard surface comprising the steps of contacting the hard surface, optionally in diluted form, with the liquid detergent composition taught above, and removing the detergent composition from the hard surface, optionally by rinsing with water (see claim 12; see also [0050]). With regards to claim 14, Antonelli teaches the use of using the cleaning composition for handwashing hard surfaces, preferably dishware, typically meaning utensils or kitchenware (see claim 15; see also [0052]-[0053]). Although not explicitly stated, it is known in the art that kitchenware and utensils are made of stainless steel. Antonelli liquid composition is substantially similar to Foley’s. As such, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Foley’s composition in the method of handwashing taught by Antonelli. A person of ordinary skill would reasonably expect success in doing so along with the added benefit of improved flash foaming during the wash step by adopting Antonelli’s method (see [0007]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of US Patent No. 12, 497, 576B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 576’ is drawn to a similar liquid detergent comprising of a 8-30 wt% surfactant system, 0.1-5 wt% inorganic salt, 0.0001-0.2 wt% polyethylene cleaning polymer, 0.00001-4 wt% enzymes with a pH range of 4-8, a viscosity range of 1000-2700 cps, and a RCI of 0.85 at least along with a method of cleaning a hard surface that is preferably stainless dishware. The surfactant system further comprises of primary surfactant A of identical formula I and surfactant B of identical formula II in overlapping ratios with the instant claims, and a secondary betaine surfactant, specifically CAPB, in overlapping ratios with the instant claims. The liquid composition and method in the instant claims are functionally equivalent to the composition and method of US Patent No. 12, 497, 576B2.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of US Patent No. 12,448,587B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 587’ is drawn to a similar liquid detergent comprising of a 8-30 wt% surfactant system, 0.1-5 wt% inorganic salt, 0.0001-0.2 wt% polyethylene cleaning polymer, 0.00001-4 wt% enzymes with a pH range of 4-8, a viscosity range of 1000-2700 cps, and a RCI of 0.85 at least along with a method of cleaning a hard surface that is preferably stainless dishware. The surfactant system further comprises of primary surfactant A of identical formula I and surfactant B of identical formula II in overlapping ratios with the instant claims, and a secondary betaine surfactant, specifically CAPB, in overlapping ratios with the instant claims. The liquid composition and method in the instant claims are functionally equivalent to the composition and method of US Patent No. 12,448,587B2.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending U.S. Application 18,866,578. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 578’ is drawn to a similar liquid detergent comprising of a 8-30 wt% surfactant system, 0.1-5 wt% inorganic salt, 0.0001-0.2 wt% polyethylene cleaning polymer, 0.00001-4 wt% enzymes with a pH range of 4-8 and a viscosity range of 1000-2700 cps, and a method of cleaning a hard surface. The surfactant system further comprises of primary surfactant A of identical formula I and surfactant B of identical formula II in overlapping ratios with the instant claims, and a secondary betaine surfactant, specifically CAPB, in overlapping ratios with the instant claims. The liquid composition and method in the instant claims are functionally equivalent to the composition and method of U.S. Application 18,866,578.
Claims 1-10, 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending U.S. Application 18,866,584. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 584’ is drawn to a similar liquid detergent comprising of a 8-30 wt% surfactant system, 0.1-5 wt% inorganic salt, 0.0001-0.2 wt% polyethylene cleaning polymer, 0.00001-4 wt% enzymes with a pH range of 4-8 and a viscosity range of 1000-2700 cps, and a method of cleaning a hard surface. The surfactant system further comprises of primary surfactant A of identical formula I and surfactant B of identical formula II in overlapping ratios with the instant claims, and a secondary betaine surfactant, specifically CAPB, in overlapping ratios with the instant claims. The liquid composition and method in the instant claims are functionally equivalent to the composition and method of U.S. Application 18,866,584.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed September 16, 2026 (see Remarks, pages 5-8) have fully been considered but have not been found persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Foley fails to teach 0.1-5 wt% of an inorganic salt because 1 wt% of sodium chloride is taught in the silicone premix, not in the overall composition (see Remarks, page 6). However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Foley teaches the use of 1 wt% sodium chloride inorganic salt in the silicone premix and the additional use of sodium chloride salt as needed in the composition to adjust viscosity (see Column 52, line 33-64). Hence, a person of ordinary skill could reasonably optimize the inorganic salt to the 0.1-5 wt% limitation as recited in the instant claim because sodium chloride can be added to the composition, independently of the silicone premix, to adjust viscosity.
The Applicant also argues that the Examples provided by Foley comprise silicone in amounts exceeding 1 wt%. The examiner asserts the general teachings of Foley are not limited to the inventive examples. Silicone is not required in the inventive composition taught by Foley and is taught as an optional component of the hair washing compositions. The dishwashing liquid composition of Example 2 is substantially free of silicone. Therefore, the general teachings of Foley suggest the inventive composition of the instant claims.
The Applicant also argues the teachings of Foley fail to teach a surfactant system with an RCI value of at least 0.85 and RCI is not an inherent property since Example 14 comprises other carbon containing components of unknown RCI value (see Remarks, page 7). The examiner respectfully disagrees. According to instant claim 11, “the surfactant system” of claim 1 should have a RCI value of at least 0.85. In Example 14, Foley teaches a composition comprising of only two surfactants: ammonium laureth-2 sulfate (functionally equivalent to surfactant A, formula I since the ammonium ion dissociates in aqueous solution) and ammonium lauryl sulfate (functionally equivalent to surfactant B, formula II since the ammonium ion dissociates in aqueous solution) and cocoamidopropylbetaine. There is no cocamide MEA or PEG14M in the composition. Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the RCI of the surfactant system in Example 14 to be at least 0.85 because it is identical to the surfactant system of the inventive composition.
The examiner notes that applicant has requested that the obviousness-type double patenting rejection over US Patent No. 12,448,587B2, US Patent No. 12,497,576B2, and copending Applications No. 18/866,578 and 18/866,578 be held in abeyance until an indication of allowable subject matter in the instant application is identified.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SP/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/BRIAN P MRUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761