Claim Rejection
Claims 1-5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 USC 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Bologna et al USPGPUB 2020/0215415. Cited on IDS filed 11/18/2024.
Regarding Claim 1, Riddell discloses a process for designing a helmet for an individual (abstract), comprising: generating a model of anthropometric aspects of a head of the individual using a scanning technique (Para. 0151: steps 110, 210 describe the acquisition of information about the shape of a player's body part (e.g., head). An exemplary method of collecting this shape information is described within FIGS. 6A-6B. This method commences in step 110.2, 210.2 by opening a software application 110.4.4, 210.4.4 (exemplary embodiment shown in FIG. 9) in step 110.4, 210.4 on, or in communication with, a scanning apparatus 110.4.2 [scanning shape information], 210.4.2 (exemplary embodiment shown in FIGS. 7, 9 and 11); Para. 0171:The shape information [anthropometric aspects of a head of the individual] for a specific player may be used to create a complete body part model 120.70.99, 220.70.99 by the process described in FIG. 12; Fig. 12: step 120.50/220.50 gets it shape information from processes 110/210); editing the model to generate a refined model of the anthropometric aspects of the head (Para. 0198: the designer inputs a predetermined distance 170.60.2.4.2 in step 170.60.2.4, which is utilized to modify [editing] an outer surface 120.70.99.2 of the complete head model 120.70.99; Para. 0171:The shape information for a specific player may be used to create a complete body part model 120.70.99, 220.70.99 by the process described in FIG. 12); and designing a mesostructure based on the refined model (Para. 0106: An "energy attenuation assembly" is an internal assembly of energy attenuating members that are designed to collectively interact to enable the protective sports equipment [mesostructure]; Paras. 0220-0223: Instead of modifying a pre-selected energy attenuation assembly, as discussed above, to form the CS helmet model 280.50, the CS helmet model 280.50 may be developed from scratch, the MCS 170.20.2, 270.2 0.2 for a first helmet shell can be compared against this complete head model 120.70.99. The CS helmet model 280.50 is finalized by providing the desired energy attenuation specification for each energy attenuation member within the energy attenuation assembly 170.40 in step 180.15.16, 280.15.16).
Regarding Claim 2, Riddell discloses the process for designing a helmet according to claim 1, wherein the scanning technique comprises a photogrammetry or a three-dimensional scanning technique (Para. 0155: Referring to FIG. 6A, after the player P and/or the operator determines that the scanning hood 502 is properly positioned on the player's head H in step 110.8, 210.8... The scanning apparatus 110.4.2, 210.4.2 or a separate device will be used to process the acquired shape information using photogrammetry techniques and/or algorithms. It should be understood that the shape information may be stored, manipulated, altered, and displayed in multiple formats, including numerical values contained within a table, points arranged in 3D space, partial surfaces, or complete surfaces).
Regarding Claim 3, Riddell discloses the process for designing a helmet according to claim 1, wherein editing the model comprises removing at least one of an excess feature (Para. 0178: Referring back to FIG. 12, in step 120.62, 220.62, the head model 120.99, 220.99 is registered or aligned in a specific location using the computerized system; Para. 0182: After the head models 120.99, 220.99 are aligned or registered in step 120.66, 220.66 and the surfaces of the head models 120.99, 220.99 have been adjusted, surface data that is not relevant to the fitting of the helmet or non-fitting surface 120.68.2, 220.68.2 may be removed from the head model 120.99, 220.99 in step 120.68, 220.68) or an artifact from the model.
Regarding Claim 4, Riddell discloses the process for designing a helmet according to claim 1, wherein editing the model comprises isolating a region of the model, the region corresponding to an area of the head that is to be protected (Para. 0181: If the system or designer determines that the head model 120.58.99, 220.58.99 is too incomplete to only use a smoothing algorithm, the head model 120.58.99, 220.58.99 may be overlaid on a generic model in step 120.66, 220.66. For example, utilizing this generic model fitting in: comparison to attempting to use a smoothing algorithm is desirable when the head model 120.58.99, 220.58.99 is missing a large part of the crown region of the player's head [isolated protection region] After the head model 120.99, 220.99 and the generic model are aligned, the computerized modeling system creates gap fillers [editing] that are based upon the generic model).
Regarding Claim 5, Riddell discloses the process for designing a helmet according to claim 1, wherein editing the model comprises adjusting the model to account for one or more anatomical features of at least one of the head or the individual (Paras. 0181-0182: To accomplish this generic model fitting, anthropometric landmarks 120.60.2, 220.60.2 that were placed on the head model 120.99, 220.99 are then aligned with the anthropometric landmarks 120.60.2, 220.60.2 [anatomical features] of the generic model using any of the alignment methods that are disclosed above After the head model 120.99, 220.99 and the generic model are aligned, the computerized modeling system creates gap fillers that are based upon the generic model).
Regarding Claim 7, Riddell discloses the process for designing a helmet according to claim 1, wherein designing the mesostructure comprises designing an inner periphery of the mesostructure to conform to an outer periphery of the refined model (Paras, 0218-0219: The inner surface170.40.2,270.40.2of the energy attenuation assembly170.40,270.40 is not aligned with the outer surface120.70.99.2,220.70.99.20f the player's head/complete head model 170.99,270.99 because this would not create an interference fit between the player's head and the energy attenuation assembly3000, when the helmet1000 was worn by the player. A graphical representation of aligning these surfaces is shown in FIG. 31. Once the inner surface170.40.2,270.40.2 of the energy attenuation assembly 170.40,270.40 is modified to match the modified surface 120.70.99.4,220.70.99.4o the player's complete head model 120.70.99,220.70.99 in step 180.10.6,280,10,6, the system checks to ensure that the changes to the selected complete stock helmet model170.99,270.99 or selected stock helmet components have not negatively affected the performance of the selected complete stock helmet model170.99,270.99or selected stock helmet components in step180.10.8,280.10.8). Regarding Claim 9, Riddell discloses the process for designing a helmet according to claim 1, further comprising: creating a surface model based on the refined model, the surface model being representative of an outer periphery of the refined model; and designing an inner periphery of the mesostructure to conform to the outer periphery of the surface model (Para. 0171: The shape information for a specific player may be used to create a complete body part model 120.70.99, 220.70.99; Paras. 0218-0219: The inner surface170.40.2,270.40.2of the energy attenuation assembly170.40,270.40 [mesostructure] is not aligned with the outer surface120.70.99.2,220.70.99.2of the player's head/complete head model170.99,270.99[surface model] because this would not create an interference fit between the player's head and the energy attenuation assembly3000, when the helmet 1000 was worn by the player. A graphical representation of aligning these surfaces is shown in FIG. 31.Once the inner surface170.40.2,270.40.2o1 the energy attenuation assembly170.40,270.40is modified to match the modified surface120.70.99.4,220.70.99.4of the player's complete head odel120.70.99,220.70.99in step180.10.6,280.10.6, the system checks to ensure that the changes to the selected complete stock helmet nodel170.99,270.99or selected stock helmet components have not negatively affected the performance of the selected complete stock helmet model170.99,270.99or selected stock helmet components in step180.10.8,280.10.8).
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 USC 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0201889 to Bell Sports Inc. cited on IDS filed 11/18/2024(hereinafter, "Bell").
Regarding Claim 1, Bell discloses a process for designing a helmet for an individual (abstract), comprising: generating a model of anthropometric aspects of a head of the individual using a scanning technique (Para. 0029: Customer head data may be captured with the customer present through the use of CT scanning, radio wave scanning, micrometer scanning of the customer's head or portions of the customer's head, and any other method known for gathering measurement data relating to the outer surface of the customer's head); editing the model to generate a refined model of the anthropometric aspects of the head (Para. 0085: A portion of computerized helmet model 88 can be formed or modified [editing] based on head, data of customer head 30 or based on 3D headform 66. Specifically, computerized helmet model 88 can be formed or modified such that a custom inner surface 82 comprises a topography that conforms to a length, width, and at least one contour of customer head 30, 3D head form 66, or both); and designing a mesostructure based on the refined model (Paras. 0084-0085: the actual dimension DA between outer surface 72 [mesostructure] and custom inner surface 82 [mesostructure] of helmet base unit 86 in FIG. 7A is greater than the thickness or actual dimension DA between outer surface 72 and custom inner surface 82 of custom-fitted helmet 81 in FIG. 7D The process of forming a customized custom inner surface 82 for custom-fitted helmet 81 is applicable not only to a tangible helmet base unit 86, but is likewise applicable to computerized helmet models 88).
Regarding Claim 6, Bell discloses the process for designing a helmet according to claim 1, wherein editing the model comprises adjusting the model to account for growth of the individual (Para. 0044: The head data obtained forcustomer20need not be restricted to a single use or customized-fitted helmet. Instead, the data gathered forcustomer20can be entered into database24and used to establish a customer. profile for later processing, analysis, and manufacture [model editing]. Because, after a particular age, a shape and size of customer head30will not change significantly, the customer's profile may be saved for some time and used for future custom helmet orders. Updating head data forcustomer30can occur at regular or fixed intervals based on the customer's age, the customer's anticipated growth, or in conjunction with athletic seasons and schedules).
35 USC 103 Rejection
Claims 8 and 10, 13,14,17,18, 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 Rejection as being obvious over Bologna et al, Riddell Inc. (hereinafter, Riddell) USPGPUB 2020/0215415 in view of Light et al of Carbon Inc USPGPUB 2022/0192307 (hereinafter Light)
Regarding Claim 8, Riddell discloses the process for designing a helmet according to claim 1, wherein designing the mesostructure comprises: designing a latticed structure (Para. 0017: To efficiently create members of the energy attenuation assembly having differing structural makeups and/or chemical compositions, the development process involves the usage of advanced structures (e.g., lattice cell types)). However, Light et al is in the field of controlling internal lattices structures (abstract) and teaches a latticed structure of graded thickness (Page 4, Para 0048-0056 ,The lattice body portion 12 may include a plurality of interconnected struts 32 (e.g. struts having an average diameter of from 0.3 millimeters to 3 millimeters.)), the latticed structure comprising at least one first substructure positioned at an inner periphery of the latticed structure and at least one second substructure positioned at an outer periphery of the latticed structure, the at least one first substructure having a first thickness and the at least one second substructure having a second thickness that is greater than the first thickness (Paras. 0051-0052, 0057: The lattice body portion 12 may include a plurality of interconnected struts 32 (….diameter of from 0.3 millimeters to 3 millimeters). The lattice body portion 12 may include repeating tetrahedral unit cells (e.g. tetrahedral unit cells ranging from 1 millimeter to 10 millimeters in size). The helmet contact surface portion 20 may be flat. The skin contact portion 22 may be configured as smoothed segment of lattice body portion 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Riddell to include a lattice structure as taught by Light et al for the purpose of achieving air circulating through both the body portion and the skin portion (Light Abstract).
Regarding Claim 10, Riddell discloses the process for designing a helmet according to claim 1, further comprising forming the mesostructure as a latticed structure using an additive manufacturing technique (Para, 0017: To efficiently create members of the energy attenuation assembly having differing structural makeups and/or chemical compositions, the development process involves the usage of advanced structures (e.g., lattice cell types), advanced materials with tailored chemical compositions (e.g., specific light sensitive polymers), and advanced helmet design/manufacturing techniques (e.g., finite element analysis, neural networks, additive manufacturing) are utilized while accounting for the player's specific playing level, position, medical history and/or to at least one of the player's anatomical features).
Riddell fails to explicitly teach a latticed structure of graded thickness. Light et al teaches latticed structure of graded thickness using an additive manufacturing technique as pe in Para 0054-0059 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Riddell to include a lattice structure as taught by Light et al for the purpose of achieving air circulating through both the body portion and the skin portion (Light Abstract).
Regarding Claim 13, Riddell discloses a personalized-fit helmet for an individual (abstract), comprising: a mesostructure that conforms to anthropometric aspects of a head of the individual (Para. 0106: An "energy attenuation assembly" is an internal assembly of energy attenuating members that are designed to collectively interact to enable the protective sports equipment [mesostructure]; Para. 0171: The shape information for a specific player may be used to create a complete body part model 120.70.99, 220.70.99 by the process described in FIG. 12; Paras. 0220-0223: Instead of modifying a pre-selected energy attenuation assembly, as discussed above, to form the CS helmet model 280.50, the CS helmet model 280.50 may be developed from scratch the MCS 170.20.2, 270.2 0.2 for a first helmet shell can be compared against this complete head model 120.70.99 [anthropometric aspects of a head of the individual]. The CS helmet model 280.50 is finalized by providing the desired energy attenuation specification for each energy attenuation member within the energy attenuation assembly 170.40 in step 180.15.16, 280.15.16)., wherein the mesostructure comprises a latticed structure(Para. 0017: To efficiently create members of the energy attenuation assembly having differing structural makeups and/or chemical compositions, the development process involves the usage of advanced structures (e.g., lattice cell types)).
Riddell fails to explicitly disclose a latticed structure of graded thickness. Light discloses on Paras. 0051-0052, 0057: The lattice body portion 12 may include a plurality of interconnected struts 32 (….diameter of from 0.3 millimeters to 3 millimeters). The lattice body portion 12 may include repeating tetrahedral unit cells (e.g. tetrahedral unit cells ranging from 1 millimeter to 10 millimeters in size). The helmet contact surface portion 20 may be flat. The skin contact portion 22 may be configured as smoothed segment of lattice body portion 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Riddell to include a lattice structure as taught by Light et al for the purpose of achieving air circulation through both the body portion and the skin portion (B Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the helmet of Riddell to include a lattice structure as taught by Light for the purpose of achieving air circulation through both the body portion and the skin portion (Light see abstract)
Regarding Claim 14, modified Riddell fails to explicitly disclose the personalized-fit helmet according to claim 13, wherein the latticed structure comprises at least one first substructure positioned at an inner periphery of the latticed structure and at least one second substructure positioned at an outer periphery of the latticed structure, the at least one first substructure having a first thickness and the at least one second substructure having a second thickness that is greater than the first thickness. (Paras. 0051-0052, 0057: The lattice body portion 12 may include a plurality of interconnected struts 32 (….diameter of from 0.3 millimeters to 3 millimeters). The lattice body portion 12 may include repeating tetrahedral unit cells (e.g. tetrahedral unit cells ranging from 1 millimeter to 10 millimeters in size). The helmet contact surface portion 20 may be flat. The skin contact portion 22 may be configured as smoothed segment of lattice body portion 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Riddell to include a lattice structure as taught by Light et al for the purpose of achieving air circulating through both the body portion and the skin portion (Light Abstract).
Regarding Claim 17, Riddell discloses a personalized-fit helmet for an individual (abstract), comprising: an outer shell (Para. 0107: the energy attenuation member between the player's head and an inner surface of a shell of the sports helmet); and a mesostructure coupled to an inner surface of the outer shell (Para. 0107: An "energy attenuation member(s)" [mesostructure] is a component of the energy attenuation assembly that is installed within the helmet., the energy attenuation member between the player's head and an inner surface of a shell of the sports helmet), where ln the mesostructure conforms to anthropometric aspects of a head of the individual (Para. 0106: An energy attenuation assembly" is an internal assembly of energy attenuating members that are designed to collectively interact to enable the protective sports equipment [mesostructure]; Para. 0171:The shape information for a specific player may be used to create a complete body part model 120.70.99, 220.70.99 by the process described in FIG. 12; Paras. 0220-0223: Instead of modifying a pre-selected energy attenuation assembly, as discussed above, to form the CS helmet model 280.50, the CS helmet model 280.50 may be developed from scratch. the MCS 170.20.2, 270.2 0,2 for a first helmet shell can be compared against this complete head model 120.70.99 [anthropometric aspects of a head of the individual]. The CS helmet model 280.50 is finalized by providing the desired energy attenuation specification for each energy attenuation member within the energy attenuation assembly 170.40 in step 180.15.16, 280.15.16), and wherein the mesostructure comprises a latticed structure (Para. 0017: To efficiently create members of the energy attenuation assembly having differing structural makeups and/or chemical compositions, the development process involves the usage of advanced structures (e.g., lattice cell types)).
Riddell fails to explicitly disclose a latticed structure of graded thickness.
Light discloses on Paras. 0051-0052, 0057: The lattice body portion 12 may include a plurality of interconnected struts 32 (….diameter of from 0.3 millimeters to 3 millimeters). The lattice body portion 12 may include repeating tetrahedral unit cells (e.g. tetrahedral unit cells ranging from 1 millimeter to 10 millimeters in size). The helmet contact surface portion 20 may be flat. The skin contact portion 22 may be configured as smoothed segment of lattice body portion 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Riddell to include a lattice structure as taught by Light et al for the purpose of achieving air circulation through both the body portion and the skin portion (B Abstract).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Riddell fails to explicitly disclose the personalized-fit helmet according to claim 17, wherein the latticed structure comprises at least one first substructure positioned at an inner periphery of the latticed structure and at least one second substructure positioned at an outer periphery of the latticed structure, the at least one first substructure having a first thickness and the at least one second substructure having a second thickness that is greater than the first thickness. (Light in Paras. 0051-0052, 0057: The lattice body portion 12 may include a plurality of interconnected struts 32 (….diameter of from 0.3 millimeters to 3 millimeters). The lattice body portion 12 may include repeating tetrahedral unit cells (e.g. tetrahedral unit cells ranging from 1 millimeter to 10 millimeters in size). The helmet contact surface portion 20 may be flat. The skin contact portion 22 may be configured as smoothed segment of lattice body portion 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Riddell to include a lattice structure as taught by Light et al for the purpose of achieving air circulating through both the body portion and the skin portion (Light Abstract).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Riddell discloses the personalized-fit helmet according to claim 17, further comprising a helmet securing system coupled to at least one of the mesostructure or the outer shell, to provide a personalized fit for the individual (Para. 0016: The contact sports helmet and the recreational sports helmet each include an energy attenuation assembly [mesostructure] with one or more bespoke energy attenuation members; Para. 0107: the energy attenuation member between the player's head and an inner surface of a shell of the sports helmet).
Claims 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, are rejected under 35 USC 103 Rejection as being obvious over Bologna et al, Riddell Inc. (hereinafter, Riddell) USPGPUB 2020/0215415 in view of Brubaker et al 20220080270, of Karsten Corp. ( Herein after Brubaker) Cited on IDS filed on 11/18/2024.
Regarding Claim 11, Riddell fails to explicitly disclose the process for designing a helmet according to claim 1, wherein the mesostructure comprises a Weaire-Phelan structure, an Elongated Kelvin cell structure, a Body-Centered Cubic Cell structure, a Type 1 structure, or a Type 2 structure. Brubaker teaches the mesostructure comprises a Weaire-Phelan structure (Paras. 0095-0096: each lattice unit 134 of the plurality of lattice units can comprise a nodal network 140. The nodal network 140 can comprise a node 142 and a plurality of beams 137 (or rods) connected to the node 142, The beams 137 of each unit scaffolding 136 can form geometric structures including weaire-phelan), an Elongated Kelvin cell structure, a Body-Centered Cubic Cell structure, a Type 1 structure, or a Type 2 structure.
Regarding Claim 12, Riddell fails to explicitly disclose the process for designing a helmet according to claim 1, wherein the mesostructure comprises a Weaire-Phelan structure of graded thickness, an Elongated Kelvin cell structure of graded thickness, a Body-Centered Cubic Cell structure of graded thickness, a Type 1 structure of graded thickness, or a Type 2 structure of graded thickness. Brubaker teaches the mesostructure comprises a Weaire-Phelan structure of graded thickness (Paras. 0095-0096: each lattice unit 134 of the plurality of lattice units can comprise a nodal network 140. The nodal network 140 can comprise a node 142 and a plurality of beams 137 (or rods) connected to the node 142, The beams 137 of each unit scaffolding 136 can form geometric structures including weaire-phelan; Paras. 0099-0100: Referring to the graph in FIG. 6, the beam thickness 144 can correlate to the effective density of the lattice structure 130 In embodiments with a varying effective density profile, the beam thickness 144 can vary throughout the lattice structure 130. In some embodiments, the beam thickness 144 can increase in any direction by approximately two-fold (double), three-fold (triple), four-fold (quadruple), five-fold (quintuple), six-fold, seven-fold, eight-fold, ninefold or ten-fold across the lattice structure 130), an Elongated Kelvin cell structure of graded thickness, a Body-Centered Cubic Cell structure of graded thickness, a Type 1 structure of graded thickness, or a Type 2 structure of graded thickness. through both the body portion and the skin portion (Light Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the process of Riddell to include a lattice structure as taught by Brubaker for the purpose of achieving a desired effective density within a lattice structure (Brubaker, Paras. 0099-0100).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Riddell fails to explicitly disclose the personalized-fit helmet according to claim 13, wherein the mesostructure comprises a Weaire-Phelan structure, an Elongated Kelvin cell structure, a Body-Centered Cubic Cell structure, a Type 1 structure, or a Type 2 structure. Brubaker teaches the mesostructure comprises a Weaire-Phelan structure (Paras. 0095-0096: each lattice unit 134 of the plurality of lattice units can comprise a nodal network 140. The nodal network 140 can.comprise a node 142 and a plurality of beams 137 (or rods) connected to the node 142.. The beams 137 of each unit scaffolding 136 can form geometric structures including weaire-phelan), an Elongated Kelvin cell structure, a Body-Centered Cubic Cell structure, a Type 1 structure, or a Type 2 structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the helmet of Riddell to include a lattice structure as taught by Brubaker for the purpose of achieving a desired effective density within a lattice structure (Brubaker, Paras. 0099-0100).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Riddell discloses the personalized-fit helmet according to claim 13, further comprising a helmet securing system coupled to the mesostructure, to provide a personalized fit for the individual (Para. 0016: The contact sports helmet and the recreational sports helmet each include an energy attenuation assembly [mesostructure] with one or more bespoke energy attenuation members).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Riddell fails to explicitly disclose the personalized-fit helmet according to claim 17, wherein the mesostructure comprises a Weaire-Phelan structure, an Elongated Kelvin cell structure, a Body-Centered Cubic Cell structure, a Type 1 structure, or a Type 2 structure. Brubaker teaches the mesostructure comprises a Weaire-Phelan structure (Paras. 0095-0096: each lattice unit 134 of the plurality of lattice units can comprise a nodal network 140. The nodal network 140 can comprise a node 142 and a plurality of beams 137 (or rods) connected to the node 142 The beams 137 of each unit scaffolding 136 can form geometric structures including weaire-phelan), an Elongated Kelvin cell structure, a Body-Centered Cubic Cell structure, a Type 1 structure, or a Type 2 structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the helmet of Riddell to include a lattice structure as taught by Brubaker for the purpose of achieving a desired effective density within a lattice structure (Brubaker, Paras. 0099-0100).
KAMINI S. SHAH
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115