DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a National-Stage entry of PCT/JP2023/044639, filed 12/13/2023. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application JP2022-199475 filed 12/14/2022, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-3) in the reply filed on 10/1/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the amended claims recite a hot water extract of the aerial part of a plant of the genus Eleutherococcus obtained by a production method comprising a step of adding sodium bicarbonate, which amounts to a special technical feature and thus there is unity of the invention.
This is not found persuasive because the requirement for restriction, mailed 8/20/2026, set forth a finding of lack of unity among the claims of 11/18/2024, which was found to not have a special shared technical feature, over the cited reference of Kim Hyun Min (KR 10-2008-0106770), which teaches a hot water extract of Eleutherococcus senticosus. Applicant argues that “Kim” doesn’t teach an aerial extract (e.g. stem, leaves or bark), however Kim teaches that the “Prickly Ogapi” includes dry root, root, and bark of Acanthopanax senticosus, as well as leaves which have chisanoside and pharmacological functions (see page 4, paragraph 5 of the translation provided 8/20/2026). Example 1 on page 6 indicates that the full plant was dried and used for extraction, thus including the above ground parts (“Ogapi was washed thoroughly with water and dried in the shade. 500g of dried shredded shredder was placed in a 10L extraction containing... followed by hot water extraction at 100°C for 3 hours”). Thus, Kim (KR 10-2008-0106770) is deemed to teach a hot water extraction of the aerial parts of Acanthopanax senticosus (Eleutherococcus senticosus), as previously set forth. The consideration for lack of unity was made at the time with the claims pending as of 8/20/2026.
Regardless, the amendment to claim 4, to recite that there is a step of adding sodium bicarbonate amounts to a product by process limitation (i.e. claim 4 remains drawn to a composition or product). If the structural components of the claims are taught in the art, then all of the relevant features are deemed to be known in the art (i.e. not novel). In this case, the hot water extract of Kim (KR 10-2008-0106770) appears to be essentially the same as the instant claim, except for the product-by-process limitation. Applicant has not convincing demonstrated that the product in Kim is distinct from that encompassed by the instant claim 4.
Further, the step of adding sodium bicarbonate would have been obvious over the knowledge in the art, at least from the teachings of Yang et al. (CN-101084952-A), as discussed further below. As the purported technical features were known in the art at the time of the invention, they cannot be considered special technical features.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4, 6, and 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction requirement in the reply filed on 10/1/2026.
Claims 1-3 are pending and have been examined on the merits herein.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it recites “a plant of the genus aralia”. The disclosure of the invention as well as the claims only pertain to plants of the genus Eleutherococcus (formerly known as Acanthopanax). Aralia is a separate genus of the family Araliaceae, and does not appear to be within the scope of the current invention.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention also recites “ARALIA” which should be corrected to recite Eleutherococcus.
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite the limitation “an aerial part of a plant”, which is being interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation (B.R.I.), in light of the specification, as comprising any above-ground portion of the plant, e.g. the stem, stem bark, leaves, flowers, and fruits.
In one embodiment, the specification states that “Specifically, a leaf and a stem are suitably used as the aerial part, and only a leaf or a stem may be used, or both a leaf and a stem may be used.” ([0027]-[0028] of the instant specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “promotes expression of ” in claim 2 renders the claim indefinite. The term “promotes expression” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no indication whether the scope of the claim encompasses the expression of mRNA encoding uroguanylin or guanylin, the protein levels of these peptide hormones, or if it includes both (e.g. mRNA may be increased without an actual increase in protein in some circumstances). There is no recited control or other baseline to compare the expression levels with, and it is unclear how much of a difference is considered to amount to “promotes expression of”.
There is also no recitation or requirement for where the target peptides are expressed. Is this in any animal? Only in the small intestine? In cell lines only? Because the claims do not indicate a particular mode of administration or limit the expression to any particular cell type, there is no way to determine how the property must be tested or determined.
Thus, the claim is indefinite. For the purposes of comparing the claim to the prior art, the term is deemed to be a purely functional term describing a property of a hot water extract of an aerial part of Eleutherococcus senticosus when extracted in the manner encompassed by the claim (e.g. when using the extraction method of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – Scope of Enablement
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of producing an extract of Eleutherococcus senticosus that promotes expression of uroguanylin or guanylin in intestinal cells, does not reasonably provide enablement for producing an extract of any plants of the genus Eleutherococcus having this property. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
“The test of enablement is not whether any experimentation is necessary, but whether, if experimentation is necessary, it is undue.” In re Angstadt, 537 F.2d 498, 504, 190 USPQ 214, 219 (CCPA 1976). Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required are summarized in In re Wands (858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988)). The factors include, but are not limited to: (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. See MPEP § 2164.01(a). The factors considered to be most relevant to the instant invention are addressed in detail below.
A. The breadth of the claims:
Claim 2 recites a method for producing a hot water extract of an aerial part of a plant of the genus Eleutherococcus, comprising a step of adding sodium bicarbonate, wherein the hot water extract of the aerial part of the plant of the genus Eleutherococcus promotes expression of uroguanylin or guanylin. The specification gives several examples regarding other species of Eleutherococcus including: Eleutherococcus senticosus, Eleutherococcus sieboldianus, Eleutherococcus spinosus, and Eleutherococcus sciadophylloides. The full scope of the claim encompasses methods for producing extracts from any of the genus Eleutherococcus.
B. The nature of the invention:
The invention entails producing a hot water extract of Eleutherococcus plant, from an above ground part, with a step of adding sodium bicarbonate, with the claimed resulting product having the functional property of causing an increased expression in the intestinal cGMP regulatory peptides uroguanylin or guanylin ([0003]-[0005]; [0025] of the specification; Fig. 1).
The invention as best understood from the embodiments comprises producing these functional extracts from Eleutherococcus senticosus. However, the broad nature of the claim is not commensurate with the enablement provided by the disclosure with regard to the selection of the plant and the function of the extract.
C. The state of the prior art:
The closest relevant prior art to the instant invention is Yang (CN101084952A, see the additional descriptions below). Yang pertains to the preparation of extracts from Acanthopanax senticosus, e.g. Eleutherococcus senticosus ([0002] of the provided translation). Yang discloses that extracts of Eleutherococcus senticosus includes triterpenoid saponins, which “is an immune enhancer that can regulate human metabolism and enhance the body's resistance to various diseases” (e.g. [0004]). Yang goes on to disclose a method that comprises providing Acanthopanax senticosus root, rhizome or stem, or Acanthopanax senticosus leaf (e.g. leaf and stem are both above ground or aerial parts), adding solvent, adjusting the solution to alkaline and then extracting to obtain extract ([0009]). Yang discloses that the alkalinity is adjusted with, inter alia, NaHCO3, e.g. sodium bicarbonate (see [0021]). However, Yang only discloses obtaining compounds and extracts from Eleutherococcus senticosus and none of the other species.
TUMIŁOWICZ et al. ("Woody species of Araliaceae at the Rogów Arboretum." Rocznik Dendrologiczny 54 (2006): 35-50) is a discussion of various species and genus of the family Araliaceae. Tumilowicz teaches that the genus Eleutherococcus comprises at least “38 species growing in Eastern Asia, from the Himalayas to Vietnam, and from NE Russia to North Philippines (Frodin, Govaerts 2003 [referenced therein]), 18 of them being a part of the Chinese flora (Xiang, Lowry 2006 [referenced therein]). In most cases they are shrubs with divided leaves consisting of 3-5 leaflets, and spherical, usually terminal umbels. These shrubs are of poor ornamental value, however they are important medicinal plants” (see page 40, 2nd paragraph). Tumilowicz goes on to describe various important species (see pages 40-45).
Patyra, Andrzej et al. (“Eleutherococcus root: a comprehensive review of its phytochemistry and pharmacological potential in the context of its adaptogenic effect.” Frontiers in pharmacology vol. 16 1683795. 29 Oct. 2025, doi:10.3389/fphar.2025.1683795) is a recent review article that discusses various compounds obtained from Eleutherococcus and their medicinal properties (Abstract, Figure 1). Patyra concludes that “The high heterogeneity and low quality of clinical trials in connection with the lack of proper standardization of E. senticosus preparations make impossible to assess the effectiveness. Moreover, the poor quality of preparations may strongly influence the efficacity of this interesting medicinal plant.” (Abstract).
Patyra teaches that Eleutherococcus senticosus (Rupr. and Maxim.) Maxim (Acanthopanax senticosus (Rupr. and Maxim.) Harms), also called Siberian ginseng, Shigoka, or Ciwujia, has been known as a traditional medicine for twenty centuries (see 1. Introduction). Patyra also states that “Eleutherococcus is a large genus that includes almost 40 different species”. Patrya describes 58 compounds described in root extracts of Eleutherococcus senticosus (Table 1, Figure 2). Patrya also describes that the misidentification of different species of Eleutherococcus is a known issue and that, as an example, “E. senticosus and E. sessiliflorus have different bioactive compounds” (pg. 8, right col, Figure 3). Thus, it is evident that the different species are not interchangeable.
Hu et al. (2022. “Comprehensive Analysis of Eleutherococcus senticosus (Rupr. & Maxim.) Maxim. Leaves Based on UPLC-MS/MS: Separation and Rapid Qualitative and Quantitative Analysis.” Front. Pharmacol. 13:865586. doi: 10.3389/fphar.2022.865586) comprehensively analyzed phenols and saponins in Eleutherococcus senticosus leaves (ESL, including phytochemical, qualitative, quantitative, and bioactivity analysis, and found over 30 compounds, including phenolic compounds and saponins (Abstract, Table 1, Fig. 4). Hu also teaches that “the α-glucosidase inhibitory effect of the phenolic fraction was higher than others, indicating that the phenolic content may be related to the hypoglycemic activity. It was also suggested that ESL could be developed as a natural potential effective drug or functional food” (see Abstract, Table 6). Hu also teaches numerous known benefits of ESL and states that “The intake of natural phenolic and saponin substances has considerable health benefits, especially for cardiovascular diseases, metabolic diseases, and tumors” (pg. 2, left col, 2nd paragraph).
The prior art does not appear to recognize a predictable effect between extracts of Eleutherococcus plants and expression levels of uroguanylin or guanylin. The art does establish that the active components of extracts of just a single species, Eleutherococcus senticosus can vary depending on the source of the extract (e.g. leaf, root) and the type of extraction protocol. Further, the art indicates that although other Eleutherococcus plants are known, Eleutherococcus senticosus is the best characterized and the references do not establish any shared activity between extracts of the ~40 members of Eleutherococcus.
Thus, the art doesn’t recognize any predictability among the activities of extracts of all of the different species encompassed by the claimed genus.
D. The relative skill of those in the art:
MPEP§ 2141.03 states “A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 167 LEd2d 705, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). “[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle.” Id. Office personnel may also take into account “the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. At 1396, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. The “hypothetical person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988).”
Accordingly, the levels of education, training, and experience of the ordinary artisans are high. The level of skill in the art would be high. However, one experienced in such plant biology and extraction techniques would understand that the functional activities of an extract from one particular species and extract method cannot be extrapolated to include other plants of the genus.
E. The predictability or unpredictability of the art:
The instant invention involves the activity of unknown compounds obtained in the extract method. It is well established that “the scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved”. MPEP§ 2164.03 states that “[i]n cases involving unpredictable factors, such as most chemical reactions and physiological activity, more may be required. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970) (contrasting mechanical and electrical elements with chemical reactions and physiological activity). See also In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Vaeck, 947 F.2d 488, 496, 20 USPQ2d 1438, 1445 (Fed. Cir. 1991). This is because in art areas having a high degree of uncertainty (i.e. the unpredictable arts) it is not reasonably predictable from the disclosure of one species, what other species will work”.
The biological arts are often unpredictable, often requiring each embodiment or species of an enzyme or cellular composition to be individually assessed for the desired activity. There would have been very little to no predictability for using any of the members of the genus Eleutherococcus for the extraction method as claimed, to obtain an extract having the claimed functional activity.
F. The amount of direction or guidance presented:
The instant specification does not provide any details on the identity of the extracted components. The specification and claim 2 defines the obtained extract in terms of the functional activity, and not by a description of its structure (e.g. the components that make up the extract and which provide the purported medicinal benefits). The specification merely indicates that other species of Eleutherococcus may be used, however this appears to be prophetic only. Thus, one would turn to the preferred embodiments and working examples to determine how to perform the invention, yielding the extract as claimed.
H. The presence or absence of working examples:
The only species which is extracted in the method as claimed and tested for the indicated activities is Eleutherococcus senticosus (see e.g. [0045]-[0075]). In the examples, extracts of Eleutherococcus senticosus, when extracted with an amount of sodium bicarbonate added between 0.25% and 1.0% by mass is demonstrated to cause increased expression (by mRNA levels) of uroguanylin or guanylin using in vitro cultured intestinal cells (e.g. Fig. 1, 2 and 3, using a human colon cancer-derived cell line T84). The disclosure also indicates that various other types of plants, when extracted in the same manner as Eleutherococcus senticosus, did not have an effect on expression of guanylin (e.g. Fig. 6). Further, the extracts of Eleutherococcus senticosus, produced in the claimed manner, were extensively tested in mice models (Figs. 8-11.). Therefore, it is evident that the Eleutherococcus senticosus extract has these beneficial properties, but this is only a single example of the genus, in a genus having ~40 other members, with different compounds and different physiological properties. The reduction of practice with a single species, in an unpredictable art, is not found to be indicative that an extraction method for all members of the Eleutherococcus genus are enabled by the claimed disclosure.
Further, the full scope of the claim is not limited to only the intestinal cells tested herein, and the claimed expression level effects are not easily and readily tested. Testing all the different species of the genus, different parts of the plants, and different extraction strategies within the claimed scope (e.g. different times, different concentrations of sodium bicarbonate, different reflux strategies, different cell lines and different host species to test et cetera) would result in a vast amount of combinations to be tested. The testing appears to require at least extraction of RNA and testing with quantitative PCR methods. Together, this appears to be a labor-intensive process with unpredictable results.
When weighing all of the factors described above, it is herein determined that the properties of the extracts obtained from the method as claimed would be highly unpredictable to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention and it would require undue experimentation to determine whether any and all species of Eleutherococcus are capable of yielding the same results as claimed herein.
Thus, it is concluded that claim 2 is drawn to subject matter which is not described in the specification in such a way to enable any person skilled in the art to make and use the entire scope of the claimed invention (e.g. the entire genus) without undue experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN101084952A, see the English language translation provided with this action).
Yang pertains to the preparation of extracts from traditional Chinese medicine, specifically, to a preparation method of saponin extract from Acanthopanax senticosus, e.g. Eleutherococcus senticosus ([0002] of the provided translation).
Yang discloses that extracts of Eleutherococcus senticosus includes triterpenoid saponins, which “is an immune enhancer that can regulate human metabolism and enhance the body's resistance to various diseases” (see e.g. [0004]).
Yang discloses an extraction method that comprises, as the first step, providing Acanthopanax senticosus root, rhizome or stem, or Acanthopanax senticosus leaf (e.g. leaf and stem are both above ground or aerial parts), adding solvent, adjusting the solution to alkaline and then extracting to obtain extract ([0009]). Yang discloses that the alkalinity is adjusted with, inter alia, NaHCO3, e.g. sodium bicarbonate (see [0021]).
In the embodiment of Example 2, Yang specifically discloses that Acanthopanax senticosus leaves were crushed, and extracted four times with water using ultrasonic extraction while controlling the pH, using NaHCO3 and repeated, then cooled to room temperature ([0021], Example 2). Because the extracts had to be cooled to room temperature, it is evident that this constitutes a hot water extraction (elsewhere, Yang indicates that the plant extraction step may use boiling water extraction see e.g. Examples 1, 3).
Therefore, the disclosure of Yang is found to anticipate the instant claims 1 and 3, by reciting a hot water extraction of leaves of Acanthopanax senticosus that comprises steps of adding sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yang et al. (CN101084952A).
As discussed above, Yang pertains to the preparation of extracts from Acanthopanax senticosus, e.g. Eleutherococcus senticosus (see [0002] of the provided translation). Yang discloses that extracts of Eleutherococcus senticosus includes triterpenoid saponins, which “is an immune enhancer that can regulate human metabolism and enhance the body's resistance to various diseases” (e.g. [0004]).
Yang discloses a method that comprises, providing Acanthopanax senticosus root, rhizome or stem, or Acanthopanax senticosus leaf (e.g. leaf and stem are both above ground or aerial parts), adding solvent, adjusting the solution to alkaline and then extracting to obtain extract ([0009]). Yang discloses that the alkalinity is adjusted with, inter alia, NaHCO3, e.g. sodium bicarbonate (see [0021]).
In Example 2, Yang discloses that Acanthopanax senticosus leaves were crushed, and extracted four times with water using ultrasonic extraction while controlling the pH, using NaHCO3 and repeated, then cooled to room temperature ([0021], Example 2). Because the extracts had to be cooled to room temperature, it is evident that this constitutes a hot water extraction (elsewhere, Yang indicates that the plant extraction step may use boiling water extraction see e.g. Examples 1, 3).
However, Yang does not expressly teach that the product produced by the extraction method has the functional activity of promoting expression of uroguanylin or guanylin.
MPEP § 2112.01.I. describes that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent, and that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Considering that Yang discloses that the plant extract has pharmacological properties, including the regulation of human metabolism and immunity, the disclosure of Yang is found to anticipate the functional property limitations of claim 2, by disclosing a method for hot water extraction of leaves of Acanthopanax senticosus that comprises steps of adding sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3), such that the product, when produced in a manner essentially the same as the process of the instant claims, would predictably possess the recited property.
See MPEP § 2112.I: "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”.
Thus, the claim is deemed anticipated by the method of Yang.
In the alternative, even if the composition (with respect to the extract components) is not completely identical to the referenced composition and effects, with regard to unidentified characteristics, the differences between that which is claimed and that which is disclosed, is so slight that the referenced composition is likely to inherently possess the same characteristics of the claimed composition, particularly in view of the similar characteristics which they have been shown to share and by the functions of the component materials (e.g. the extract of Acanthopanax senticosus stem or leaf, produced with hot water extraction and a step of adding sodium bicarbonate) that are inherently present in each and which functions are inclusive of those appreciated in the instant disclosure as being present (see MPEP 2112.02 at Ex parte Novitski, in reference to reference-silent functioning of biological materials providing anticipation of the functions based upon the material itself (noting the reference of “Dart” therein did not appreciate the claimed function but still anticipated the function based on the inherent function of the material, and that the Applicant’s disclosure appreciating the function upon usage thereof as further evidence of the presence of the function).
Thus, the claimed process for obtaining an extract of Eleutherococcus senticosus aerial parts, produced with hot water extraction comprising a step of adding NaHCO3, and the effects upon administration thereof, would have been anticipated, or in the alternative, at least obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC § 103(a).
From the teachings of the reference, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, as evidenced by Yang, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Accordingly, the claimed invention as a whole was at least prima facie obvious, if not anticipated by the reference, especially in the absence of sufficient, clear, and convincing evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/A.T.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655