Status under America Invents Act
Drawings
The replacement drawings filed May 31, 2026 are approved.
Rejection based on 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 14, line 2, the “in particular” limitation is not understood. Is the limitation a required element or simply a suggested element?
Rejections based on Prior Art
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane et al (US 2016/0000523) in view of Fregoso et al (US 2015/0327963).
In regard to claim 1, Yamane et al discloses an application nozzle for applying a dental active substance in the oral cavity of a patient wherein the nozzle comprises a nozzle body 202 having at least one media channel 22. The nozzle body 202 extends flat in a longitudinal direction between a connection region 201 and a free treatment end 220, tapering in cross-section (“[t]he nozzle body 202 is formed thin and flat such that the external width and thickness are gradually tapered from the connector portion 201” paragraph [0028]). Yamane et al do not disclose that “a number of electrical conductor elements are integrated” in the nozzle body or that the “electrical conductor elements” are positioned “in or on one of the media channels in such a way that they are wetted by cleaning electrolyte as it flows in the respective media channel” as required by claim 1. Fregoso et al, however, for a similar dental application nozzle (note particularly Figure 11) teaches that it is desirable to provide the nozzle with “electrodes are embedded in the tip” so that a “conductive medium such as water and/or fluid is treated by the electrodes and is dispensed into the mouth of a patient after it undergoes an electrical discharge event, an event includes, but is not limited to, cavitation, shock wave production, production of energized particles/ions” (paragraph [0032]). Fregoso et al indicate that the electrical discharge from the electrodes help to “eradicate pollutants, such as bacteria, can include but are not limited to mechanically destroying bacteria and microbial cells, chemically and permanently changing the cells so they cease regular biochemical activity, irreversibly changing the genetic system of the cells . . .” To have provided the Yamane et al nozzle media channel 22 with electrodes so that the treating fluid can be treated to eradicate pollutants such as bacteria as taught by Fregoso et al to be desirable for dental application nozzles would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Additionally, it is noted in regard to the intended use set forth in the preamble of claim 1 regarding the cleaning of an implant part, the Yamane et al/Fregoso et al dental nozzle is capable of such a use.
In regard to claims 4 and 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have integrated the conductor elements/electrodes. In regard to claim 8, note generally Figure 4 and 5 of Yaman et al. In regard to claim 13, anything can be disposed of. In regard to claims 14 and 15, note replaceable reservoir 1120 in Fregoso et al.
Claims 1, 6, 8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane et al (US 2016/0000523) in view of Gottenbos et al (US 2017/0347787)
In regard to claims 1 and 6, Yamane et al discloses an application nozzle for applying a dental active substance in the oral cavity of a patient wherein the nozzle comprises a nozzle body 202 having at least one media channel 22. The nozzle body 202 extends flat in a longitudinal direction between a connection region 201 and a free treatment end 220, tapering in cross-section (“[t]he nozzle body 202 is formed thin and flat such that the external width and thickness are gradually tapered from the connector portion 201” paragraph [0028]). Yamane et al do not disclose that “a number of electrical conductor elements are integrated” in the nozzle body or that the “electrical conductor elements” are positioned “in or on one of the media channels in such a way that they are wetted by cleaning electrolyte as it flows in the respective media channel” as required by claim 1. Gottenbos et al, however, for a similar dental application nozzle (note particularly Figure 2) teach that it is desirable to provide the nozzle with a first electrode 15 of a first polarity that is embedded in the tip so that a conductive medium wets electrode 15 as it flows through the media channel. Once the fluid is dispensed/administered a second electrode 14 of a second charge charges the dispensed fluid to increase/decrease the fluid’s pH level in order to improve the anti-plaque, anti-tarter, anti-gingivitis, anti-bacterial properties (paragraph [0002]) of the fluid. To have provided the Yamane et al nozzle media channel 22 with an internal electrode 15 and an external electrode 14 so that the dispensed treating fluid can be treated to improve the anti-plaque, anti-tarter, anti-gingivitis, anti-bacterial properties (paragraph [0002]) of the fluid as taught by Gottenbos et al to be desirable for dental application nozzles would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Additionally, it is noted in regard to the intended use set forth in the preamble of claim 1 regarding the cleaning of an implant part, the Yamane et al/Gottenbos et al dental nozzle is capable of such a use.
In regard to claim 8, note generally Figure 4 and 5 of Yaman et al. In regard to claim 13, anything can be disposed of. In regard to claims 14 and 15, note replaceable reservoir 12 in Gottenbos et al.
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane et al (US 2016/0000523) and Fregoso et al (US 2015/0327963) as applied above, and in further view of Lohn (US 5,082,433).
In regard to claim 3, Lohn teaches that it is desirable to provide dental application nozzles with multiple fluid openings 9 at the distal end in order to distribute the fluid out flow. To have provided the Yamane et al/Fregoso et al dental nozzle with multiple openings for the media channel 22 to better distribute the outflow would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the teaching by Lohn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend.
Applicant’s Response
Applicant’s response and remarks regarding the prior rejections based upon Brodbeck are found to be generally persuasive, however, the broad scop of the present claims fails to reasonably distinguish the claimed invention from other prior art references as applied above.
Action Made Final
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RALPH A LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
(571) 272-4712