DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is responsive to the amendments to Application No.:18/866,637, filed on filed on 11/18/2024 (Provisional Date: 05/19/2022).
Claims 14-33 are pending and presented for examination.
This action has been made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/20/2026 is being considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Response to Amendment
The previous 35 USC 101 rejection has been withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendments1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant alleged the following: “Hua fails to disclose, teach, or suggest these intermediate proxy surfaces.” The examiner is not persuaded. The combination of Hua and Martin Brualla discloses the Applicant’s claim language. More specifically, Martin Brualla discloses this feature in paragraphs 0082; 0103. MPEP § 2106 states Office personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed Cir. 1997). Accordingly, the examiner maintains the rejection.
The Applicant alleged the following: “Furthermore, the "Laplacian Smoothing" passage in Hua [0131], on which the Office Action relies, does not disclose a smoothed body mesh.” The examiner is not persuaded. The combination of Hua and Martin Brualla discloses the Applicant’s claim language. More specifically, Hua’s teachings in Paragraph 0131 of “Therefore, a uv mapping of the body mesh may be used. For uv mapping, the average of any combinations of the uv coordinates should still be inside the uv mapping. This means that the shape of the uv mapping may be convex. The simplest form of a convex shape is a disk (i.e., one chart and with the boundary equivalent to a circle). The Laplacian smoothing process over the uv values may be performed by continuously and iteratively averaging of the uv values until convergence or a time limit is reached” discloses the Applicant’s claim language. Accordingly, the examiner maintains the rejection.
The Applicant alleged the following: “Lastly, because Hua has no proxy surface on either side, Hua cannot disclose the claimed mapping of "source proxy surface points" to "target proxy surface points." Hua's mapping is between two body meshes (template body to target body), not been two proxy surfaces. (Hua, [0089]-[0092], [0105]-[0106].) For the same reason, Hua does not disclose displacing "target proxy surface points" onto the digitized garment because Hua generates no target proxy surface points to displace. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that the § 102 rejection of claims 14, 22, and 30, and the claims depending therefrom, should be withdrawn..” The examiner is not persuaded. The combination of Hua and Martin Brualla discloses the Applicant’s claim language. More specifically, Martin Brualla discloses this feature in paragraphs 0082; 0103. Accordingly, the examiner maintains the rejection.
The Applicant alleged the following: “With respect to the § 103 rejection of claims 17-19, 25-27, and 31-33 over Hua in view of Oh, Oh does not cure Hua's deficiency. Oh is cited only for an alleged disclosure of "barycentric coordinates"; the words "proxy" and "proxy surface" do not appear in Oh, and Oh does not describe an intermediate smoothed surface that is distinct from and approximates a body mesh. Oh's reference to the "barycenters of the meshes" (Oh, [0032]-[0033]) concerns mesh centroids, not an intermediate proxy surface positioned between the garment and the body. Because neither Hua nor Oh teaches the claimed proxy surfaces, their combination does not reach the independent claims, and the dependent claims are allowable for at least the reasons given above.” The examiner is not persuaded. The combination of Hua, Martin Brualla and Oh discloses the Applicant’s claim language. More specifically, Oh discloses barycentric coordinates in Paragraphs 0032-0033; 0043. Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., intermediate smoothed surface2) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Accordingly, the examiner maintains the rejection.
The Applicant alleged the following: “With respect to the § 103 rejection of claims 21 and 29 over Hua, those claims depend from independent claims 14 and 22 and are patentable for at least the same reasons. In addition, Hua fails to teach or suggest the specific post-displacement workflow recited in claims 21 and 29 to compare edge angles between the source garment mesh and an intermediate target garment mesh, move vertices to minimize the per-pair angle differences, and use the moved vertices to produce a revised graded digitized target garment.” The examiner is not persuaded. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., post-displacement workflow) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Accordingly, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16, 20-24, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua, US Patent Application Publication US 20170161948 in view of Martin Brualla, US Patent Application Publication US 20220051485.
Claim 14:
Hua discloses a method (See Hua Abstract). Hua failed to explicitly disclose proxy surface. Martin Brualla discloses this feature in paragraphs 0082; 0103. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hua by the teachings of Martin Brualla to enable improved generating of content for presentation on a display by incorporating proxy surfaces, more efficiently (See Martin Brualla Abstract; Technical Field). In addition, both references teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as generating content for display. This close relation between both of the refences highly suggests an expectation of success.
As modified:
The combination of Hua and Martin Brualla discloses the following:
identifying a plurality of source garment points (See Hua Figure 8; Paragraphs 0006-0007; 0093-00953) on a digitized garment worn by a digitized source body (See Hua Figures 5A-F; Paragraphs 0006-0007; 00894; 0073-0074; 0105);
projecting each source garment point onto a corresponding point (See Hua Paragraph 00875; 0089-00906) on a digitized source proxy surface (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103) to generate a plurality of source proxy surface points (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103), the digitized source proxy surface (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103) being a locally convex (See Hua Paragraph 01317), smoothed mesh approximation (See Hua Paragraph 01318) of the digitized source body and distinct from the digitized source body (See Hua Figures 5A-F; Paragraphs 0006-0007; 0089; 0073-0074; 0105);
mapping (See Hua Paragraphs 0089-00909) the plurality of source proxy surface points (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103) to a plurality of corresponding points on a digitized target proxy surface (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103) of a digitized target body (See Hua Figures 5A-F; Paragraphs 0006-0007; 008910; 0073-0074; 0105) to generate a plurality of target proxy surface points (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103), the digitized target proxy surface (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103) being a locally convex (See Hua Paragraph 013111), smoothed mesh approximation (See Hua Paragraph 013112) of the digitized target body and distinct from the digitized target body (See Hua Figures 5A-F; Paragraphs 0006-0007; 0089; 0073-0074; 0105);
displacing the plurality of target proxy surface points (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103) onto a plurality of corresponding points on the digitized garment to generate a plurality of target garment points (See Hua Figures 5A-F; Paragraphs 0006-0007; 0073-0074; 008713; 008814; 009215; 0108-0109);
and digitizing the plurality of target garment points to produce a representation of the digitized garment fitted onto the digitized target body (See Hua Figures 5A-F; Paragraphs 0006-0007; 0073-0074; 008716; 008817; 009218).
Claim 15:
Hua and Martin Brualla discloses wherein the digitized source body and the digitized target body are human bodies having at least one of different sizes or different poses (See Hua Paragraph 010719).
Claim 16:
Hua and Martin Brualla discloses wherein for each pair of neighboring source garment points on the digitized garment and corresponding source proxy surface points (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103), a ratio of a first distance between the pair of neighboring source garment points and a second distance between the corresponding source proxy surface points (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103) is approximately equal to one (Hua Figs. 8-10; Paragraphs 0102-010320).
Claim 20:
Hua and Martin Brualla discloses wherein the source proxy surface and the target proxy surface (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103) are parameterized consistently (See Hua Paragraph 002821).
Claim 21:
Hua and Martin Brualla discloses wherein: the digitized garment is represented by a garment mesh having a plurality of vertices and edges (See Hua FIGS. 5A-5F; Paragraph 010522);
and the method further comprises, after performing the displacing:
comparing angles formed by edges in the garment mesh against angles formed by corresponding edges in an intermediate target garment mesh having a plurality of vertices and edges (See Hua FIGS. 5A-5F; Paragraphs 009523; 0097; 0105);
moving vertices in the intermediate target garment mesh to minimize a differences between each pair of corresponding angles (See Hua Figure 16; Paragraph 000724);
and using the moved vertices to produce a revised graded digitized garment (See Hua Paragraph 000725).
Claim 22:
Claim 22 is rejected on the same basis as claim 14.
Claims 23-24:
Claims 23-24 are rejected on the same basis as claims 15-16.
Claims 28 and 29:
Claims 28 and 29 are rejected on the same basis as claims 20 and 21.
Claim 30:
Claim 30 is rejected on the same basis as claim 14.
Claim(s) 17-19, 25-27, and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua, US Patent Application Publication US 20170161948 in view of Martin Brualla, US Patent Application Publication US 20220051485, and in further view of Oh, US Patent Application Publication US 20190304182.
Claim 17:
The combination of Hua and Martin Brualla failed to disclose barycentric coordinates. However, Oh discloses this feature in paragraphs 0032-0033; 0043. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Hua and Martin Brualla by the teachings of Oh to enable accurate garment fitting by incorporating barycentric coordinates, more efficiently (See Oh Abstract). In addition, the references teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as generating content for display for garment fitting. This close relation between the refences highly suggests an expectation of success.
As modified:
The combination of Hua, Martin Brualla and Oh discloses the following:
wherein each of the digitized source body, digitized garment, and digitized target body (See Hua Figures 5A-F; Paragraphs 0006-0007; 008926; 0073-0074; 0105) comprises a mesh having a plurality of vertices (See Hua Paragraphs 0048-0050) represented by barycentric coordinates (See Oh Paragraphs 0032-003327; 004328), a corresponding plurality of indexed multi-sided faces, and a corresponding plurality of edges (See Hua Paragraph 0095).
Claim 18:
The combination of Hua, Martin Brualla and Oh discloses wherein the mapping (See Hua Paragraph 008729; 0089-009030; 0131) comprises:
applying face indices (See Hua Paragraph 0095) and the barycentric coordinates (See Oh Paragraphs 0032-0033; 0043) of the plurality of source proxy surface points (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103) from the projecting to the digitized target proxy surface to locate the plurality of target proxy surface points (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103);
and executing the displacing to obtain the plurality of target garment points (See Hua Figures 5A-F; Paragraphs 0006-0007; 0073-0074; 008731; 008832; 009233; 0108-0109), wherein a first distance from each target proxy surface point (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103) to a corresponding target garment point is equal a second distance from a corresponding source garment point (See Hua Figures 5A-F; Paragraphs 0006-0007; 0073-0074; 008734; 008835; 009236; 0108-0109) to a corresponding source proxy surface point (See Martin Brualla Paragraphs 0082; 0103).
Claim 19:
The combination of Hua, Martin Brualla and Oh discloses wherein each source garment point is a vertex on the mesh of the digitized garment (See Hua Paragraph 008937).
Claims 25-27:
Claims 25-27 are rejected on the same basis as claims 17-19.
Claims 31-33:
Claims 31-33 are rejected on the same basis as claims 17-19.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12112367 discloses providing virtual fitting room functionality to a human. The two computer implemented methods allow for a simple and efficient garment selection process by the human.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 October 1, 2026
1 The examiner suggests implementing “computer-implemented” method into independent claim 1 preamble. The examiner also suggests implementing a “processor” into the body of the claims.
2 Applicant’s claims recites “intermediate target garment” but nowhere does the claims recite “intermediate smoothed surface.”
3 Hua Paragraph 0093 recites “garment mesh to closest points (i.e., within a predetermined threshold) on a template body mesh, based on a sum of the weighted template body vertices and the weighted garment vertices.”
4 Hua Paragraph 0089 recites “In particular, at Step 706, for each vertex of the garment mesh (e.g., vertex Vi.), mapping module 121 may identify one or more template body vertices of the template body mesh, and one or more other garment vertices of the garment mesh that are within a predetermined threshold (described further below) from the garment mesh vertex…”
5 Hua Paragraph 0087 recites “…At Step 704, a template body mesh and a garment mesh fitted to the template body mesh may be received via user interface 110”.
6 Hua Paragraph 0089-0090 recites ““[0089-0090] At Step 708, mapping module 121 may apply a predetermined weighting to each identified template body vertex and each identified other garment vertex (described further below)…At Step 710, mapping module 121 may map the garment vertex (V) to the identified template body vertices based on a sum of the weighted template body vertices and the weighted garment vertices…”.
7 Hua Paragraph 0131 recites “Therefore, a uv mapping of the body mesh may be used. For uv mapping, the average of any combinations of the uv coordinates should still be inside the uv mapping. This means that the shape of the uv mapping may be convex. The simplest form of a convex shape is a disk (i.e., one chart and with the boundary equivalent to a circle). The Laplacian smoothing process over the uv values may be performed by continuously and iteratively averaging of the uv values until convergence or a time limit is reached..”
8 Hua Paragraph 0131 recites “Therefore, a uv mapping of the body mesh may be used. For uv mapping, the average of any combinations of the uv coordinates should still be inside the uv mapping. This means that the shape of the uv mapping may be convex. The simplest form of a convex shape is a disk (i.e., one chart and with the boundary equivalent to a circle). The Laplacian smoothing process over the uv values may be performed by continuously and iteratively averaging of the uv values until convergence or a time limit is reached.”
9 Hua Paragraphs 0089-0090 recites “At Step 708, mapping module 121 may apply a predetermined weighting to each identified template body vertex and each identified other garment vertex (described further below)…At Step 710, mapping module 121 may map the garment vertex (V) to the identified template body vertices based on a sum of the weighted template body vertices and the weighted garment vertices. At Step 712, mapping module 121 may determine a position of the mapped garment vertex relative to the target body mesh, based on a mapping between the template body mesh and the target body mesh...”.
10 Hua Paragraph 0089 recites “In particular, at Step 706, for each vertex of the garment mesh (e.g., vertex Vi.), mapping module 121 may identify one or more template body vertices of the template body mesh, and one or more other garment vertices of the garment mesh that are within a predetermined threshold (described further below) from the garment mesh vertex…”
11 Hua Paragraph 0131 recites “Therefore, a uv mapping of the body mesh may be used. For uv mapping, the average of any combinations of the uv coordinates should still be inside the uv mapping. This means that the shape of the uv mapping may be convex. The simplest form of a convex shape is a disk (i.e., one chart and with the boundary equivalent to a circle). The Laplacian smoothing process over the uv values may be performed by continuously and iteratively averaging of the uv values until convergence or a time limit is reached..”
12 Hua Paragraph 0131 recites “Therefore, a uv mapping of the body mesh may be used. For uv mapping, the average of any combinations of the uv coordinates should still be inside the uv mapping. This means that the shape of the uv mapping may be convex. The simplest form of a convex shape is a disk (i.e., one chart and with the boundary equivalent to a circle). The Laplacian smoothing process over the uv values may be performed by continuously and iteratively averaging of the uv values until convergence or a time limit is reached.”
13 Hua Paragraph 0087 recites “…At Step 704, a template body mesh and a garment mesh fitted to the template body mesh may be received via user interface 110”.
14 Hua Paragraph 0088 recites “Next, at Steps 706-714, mapping module may map each vertex of the garment mesh to the target body mesh. In general, the mapping of the garment mesh vertices to the target body mesh forms a mapped garment mesh. The mapped garment mesh is deformed from the original (received) garment mesh to be fitted to the target body mesh. The deformation process also includes additional length adjustment and reconstruction steps (Steps 716–718). For clarity, the deformation generated by the mapping steps (Steps 706-714) is referred to herein as a mapped garment mesh.”
15 Hua Paragraph 0092 recites “At Step 720, the deformed garment mesh generated by deformation engine 120 may be output, for example, via output interface 140. In some examples, Steps 702-720 may be repeated for two or more garment meshes. In some examples, two or more deformed garment meshes (output at Step 720) may be provided to layering engine 130, to perform the layering process described in FIG. 16 below.”
16 Hua Paragraph 0087 recites “…At Step 704, a template body mesh and a garment mesh fitted to the template body mesh may be received via user interface 110”.
17 Hua Paragraph 0088 recites “Next, at Steps 706-714, mapping module may map each vertex of the garment mesh to the target body mesh. In general, the mapping of the garment mesh vertices to the target body mesh forms a mapped garment mesh. The mapped garment mesh is deformed from the original (received) garment mesh to be fitted to the target body mesh. The deformation process also includes additional length adjustment and reconstruction steps (Steps 716–718). For clarity, the deformation generated by the mapping steps (Steps 706-714) is referred to herein as a mapped garment mesh.”
18 Hua Paragraph 0092 recites “At Step 720, the deformed garment mesh generated by deformation engine 120 may be output, for example, via output interface 140. In some examples, Steps 702-720 may be repeated for two or more garment meshes. In some examples, two or more deformed garment meshes (output at Step 720) may be provided to layering engine 130, to perform the layering process described in FIG. 16 below.”
19 Hua Paragraph 0107 recites “Referring to FIG. 13, in some examples, the target body mesh 1306 may be generated by deforming a generic body mesh 1302 (e.g., an average of all human bodies) according to body measurements. The body deformation process may be done by existing morphing techniques (such as, BODYKIT available from Body Labs, Inc., New York City). Therefore, the target body mesh may be determined by a particular set of body measurements, which may be used to deform the generic body mesh 1302. The set of body measurements may be received, for example, from user input. The deformation of the generic body mesh 1302 may also involve small changes of poses, as illustrated in the reposed body mesh 1304.”
20 Hua Paragraphs 0102-0103 recites ““Equations 5, 6 and 7 illustrate normalization of the weightings. Equation 5 Sums all weightings and sets them equal to one. Equation 6 normalizes the weightings of nearby template body vertices, and likewise, Equation 7 normalizes the weightings of nearby garment vertices. Equations 5 and 6 control the weightings of the nearby template body vertices as compared to the weightings of the nearby garment vertices. In some examples a weighting of W.W., 4:1 may be used… The weighting equations for all vertices (Equations 1 and 2) together form three linear Laplacian systems (one for each dimension) as shown at Equations 8, 9 and 10. The Laplacian systems may be solved (Step 710) in a least-square sense by mapping module 121. The least-square solution may include a Jacobi iterative method or linear algebra methods, such as QR decomposition. Jacobi iterative method is typically less efficient (i.e., slower) than linear algebra methods, but is more versatile as additional constraints may be used during the iterations. VX, Vy, and VZ are used to denote the X, y, and Z coordinates of vertices, respectively. Furthermore, “Vx, means the X component of the i-th garment vertex, “Wb ij," means the weighting of the j-th neighbor garment vertex of the i-th garment vertex, vx'," means the X component of the j-th neighbor garment vertex of the i-th garment vertex, “LX” means the X component of the i-th garment vertex's Laplacian vector, and so on.”; “[0132] A goal of the collapse step (Step 1610) may be to completely collapse the selected garment mesh onto the target body mesh. FIGS. 17A-17C illustrate the collapse process. FIG. 17A shows a garment mesh 1702 (shown as a solid line) and a target body mesh 1704 (shown as a dotted line). It is understood that target body mesh 1704 is facing leftward, and selected garment mesh 1702 is positioned at a further position from target body mesh 1704. For each target body mesh vertex 1706, a one-dimensional uv parameterization (herein further referred to as a uv coordinate), ranging from 0 to 1, is given. The mapping is subject to a distance and an angle threshold measuring the alignment of the surface normals on selected garment mesh 1702 and target body mesh 1704, so the mapping may be null for some…”).”
21 Hua Paragraph 0028 recites “FIG. 19 is a two-dimensional illustration of a one-to-one mapping connected with an expand process for a 3D polygonal mesh, according to an aspect of the present disclosure.”; “[0105-0106] After mapping to the template body mesh (Step 710), the positions of the garment mesh vertices may be determined with respect to the target body mesh (Step 712). Referring to FIGS. 5A-5F, a one-to-one mapping may exist between the template body mesh (FIG. 5A) and the target body mesh (FIG. 5D). A one-to-one mapping between the template and target body meshes is understood to mean that the two meshes have the same connectivity, that is, the same numbers and orders of Vertices, faces, and edges. Therefore, the new positions of the vertices on the template body mesh FIG. 5A are mapped to the target body mesh FIG. 5D, and the new positions of the deformed garment mesh vertices are calculated by a Jacobi iterative method in a simple and efficient manner. For example, each face may join the same vertices (e.g., when they are all triangles, the same three vertices), and each edge may connect the same two vertices. That is, the two meshes may only differ on the positions of their vertices…”.
22 Hua Paragraph 0105 recites “For example, each face may join the same vertices (e.g., when they are all triangles, the same three vertices), and each edge may connect the same two vertices. That is, the two meshes may only differ on the positions of their vertices.”
23 Hua Paragraph 0095 recites “FIG. 9, an angle threshold measuring the alignment of the surface normals (N.sub.i) on the vertex (V.sub.i) and the points (at any place on the faces or along the edges).”
24 Hua Paragraph 0007 recites “A layering method includes: receiving, by an input interface, a target body mesh representing the target body; receiving, by the input interface, a plurality of garment meshes representative of the respective plural garments, each garment mesh separately fitted to the target body mesh; assigning a layering order to each of the plurality of garment meshes from a closest layer to a furthest layer with respect to the target body mesh, and performing, by a layering engine, a layering process for each assigned layer, according to a sequential order from a next furthest layer to the closest layer. The layering process includes, for each garment mesh in the sequential order: collapsing the garment mesh onto the target body mesh by mapping each vertex of the garment mesh to a respective corresponding location on the target body mesh, to form a collapsed garment mesh; expanding at least one outer garment mesh farther from the garment mesh in the layering order away from the target body by a predetermined amount to form at least one expanded outer garment mesh…”; “[0097] In FIG. 10, an angle threshold of 45 degrees is illustrated. A nearby template body or garment vertex may not be included in the mapping of a garment mesh vertex if the Surface normals deviate by more than the angle threshold. In FIG. 10, template body and (other) garment mesh vertices that meet the angle threshold (i.e., are within or equal to the angle threshold) are noted with checkmarks. Template body and garment mesh vertices that fail the angle threshold (i.e., that are outside of the angle threshold) are noted with crossmarks. In some examples, both distance and angle thresholds may be met for a nearby template body mesh vertex and garment mesh vertex to be included into the mapping of vertex V; by mapping module 121.”
25 Hua Paragraph 0007 recites “…performing a shape-recovery of the collapsed garment mesh by deforming each vertex of the collapsed garment mesh toward the at least one expanded outer garment mesh without intersecting the expanded outer garment mesh, to form a shape-recovered garment mesh for the corresponding layering order, repeating the collapsing, expanding and shape-recovery steps until a shape-recovered garment mesh is generated for the closest layer, to form a set of layered garment meshes; and outputting, by an output module, the set of layered garment meshes.”
26 Hua Paragraph 0089 recites “In particular, at Step 706, for each vertex of the garment mesh (e.g., vertex Vi.), mapping module 121 may identify one or more template body vertices of the template body mesh, and one or more other garment vertices of the garment mesh that are within a predetermined threshold (described further below) from the garment mesh vertex…”
27 Oh Paragraph 0032-0033 recites “…the position information of meshes may be position information of vertices of the meshes. As another example, the position information of meshes may be position information of the barycenters of the meshes.”
28 Oh Paragraph 0043 recites “…when a barycentric coordinate system is appropriately set up and converted, the deformation transformations may be expressed as only an affine transformation matrix…”
29 Hua Paragraph 0087 recites “…At Step 704, a template body mesh and a garment mesh fitted to the template body mesh may be received via user interface 110”.
30 Hua Paragraph 0089-0090 recites ““[0089-0090] At Step 708, mapping module 121 may apply a predetermined weighting to each identified template body vertex and each identified other garment vertex (described further below)…At Step 710, mapping module 121 may map the garment vertex (V) to the identified template body vertices based on a sum of the weighted template body vertices and the weighted garment vertices…”.
31 Hua Paragraph 0087 recites “…At Step 704, a template body mesh and a garment mesh fitted to the template body mesh may be received via user interface 110”.
32 Hua Paragraph 0088 recites “Next, at Steps 706-714, mapping module may map each vertex of the garment mesh to the target body mesh. In general, the mapping of the garment mesh vertices to the target body mesh forms a mapped garment mesh. The mapped garment mesh is deformed from the original (received) garment mesh to be fitted to the target body mesh. The deformation process also includes additional length adjustment and reconstruction steps (Steps 716–718). For clarity, the deformation generated by the mapping steps (Steps 706-714) is referred to herein as a mapped garment mesh.”
33 Hua Paragraph 0092 recites “At Step 720, the deformed garment mesh generated by deformation engine 120 may be output, for example, via output interface 140. In some examples, Steps 702-720 may be repeated for two or more garment meshes. In some examples, two or more deformed garment meshes (output at Step 720) may be provided to layering engine 130, to perform the layering process described in FIG. 16 below.”
34 Hua Paragraph 0087 recites “…At Step 704, a template body mesh and a garment mesh fitted to the template body mesh may be received via user interface 110”.
35 Hua Paragraph 0088 recites “Next, at Steps 706-714, mapping module may map each vertex of the garment mesh to the target body mesh. In general, the mapping of the garment mesh vertices to the target body mesh forms a mapped garment mesh. The mapped garment mesh is deformed from the original (received) garment mesh to be fitted to the target body mesh. The deformation process also includes additional length adjustment and reconstruction steps (Steps 716–718). For clarity, the deformation generated by the mapping steps (Steps 706-714) is referred to herein as a mapped garment mesh.”
36 Hua Paragraph 0092 recites “At Step 720, the deformed garment mesh generated by deformation engine 120 may be output, for example, via output interface 140. In some examples, Steps 702-720 may be repeated for two or more garment meshes. In some examples, two or more deformed garment meshes (output at Step 720) may be provided to layering engine 130, to perform the layering process described in FIG. 16 below.”
37 Hua Paragraph 0089 recites “In particular, at Step 706, for each vertex of the garment mesh (e.g., vertex Vi.), mapping module 121 may identify one or more template body vertices of the template body mesh, and one or more other garment vertices of the garment mesh that are within a predetermined threshold (described further below) from the garment mesh vertex….”