DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/29/2026 is acknowledged. In light of amendments, new grounds of rejection are set forth below. Claims 1-4 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 07/20/2026 is considered and signed IDS form is attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daviknes et al. (WO 2008/074493 A1) in view of van den Esschert et al. (US 2015/0011702 A1), Mariott et al. (WO 2019/112929 A1 cited in IDS) and Univation Technologies (XCAT EZ 100, 2008, cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 4, Daviknes et al. disclose a layer A comprising a mixture (blend) comprising a Ziegler-Natta catalyst-made LLDPE (znLLDPE) and a metallocene catalyst-made LLDPE (mLLDPE) (see Abstract). The amount of znLLDPE is 50 to 90 wt% (see page 5, lines 29-30). Accordingly, the amount of mLLDPE is 10 to 50 wt%. znLLDPE has a density of 915 to 935 kg/m3, a melt index of 0.01 to 20 g/10 min at 190 °C, 2.16 kg and polydispersity Mw/Mn of 10 to 25 (see page 9, lines 31-32, page 10, lines 2-3 and lines 7-8 and page 21, lines 9-15). zn-LLDPE can be C4-LLDPE such as a linear low-density ethylene/1-butene copolymer (see page 10, lines 9-11). mLLDPE has density of 905 to 940 kg/m3, a melt index of 0.1 to 20 g/10 min at 190 °C, 2.16 kg and a polydispersity Mw/Mn of 2 to 10 (see page 11, lines 11-14 and lines 26-27, page 12, lines 4-5 and page 21, lines 9-15). mLLDPE can be C6-LLDPE such as a linear low-density ethylene/1-hexene copolymer (see page 11, lines 15-17). znLLDPE is manufactured by Ziegler-Natta catalysis (see page 15, lines 13-14). mLLDPE is manufactured by a metallocene catalysis (see page 15, line 5). The mixture (blend) is useful for making a film (see Abstract).
Daviknes et al. disclose the mixture (blend) is prepared by combining already prepared znLLDPE and mLLDPE (see page 32, Table 3, Example 2). Accordingly, the mixture (blend) is a post-reactor blend.
Alternatively, while Daviknes et al. do not explicitly disclose that the blend is “a post-reactor blend”, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Daviknes et al. meets the requirements of the claimed product, Daviknes et al. clearly meet the requirements of present claim.
Daviknes et al. do not disclose mLLDPE (C6-LLDPE prepared from metallocene catalyst) has long-chain branches per 1000 carbon atoms as presently claimed. Daviknes et al. do not disclose “made by a spray-dried, ethanol-modified Ziegler-Natta catalyst (sdEtOH/ZN)” and do not disclose “made by a bridged bis(indenyl)zirconocene catalyst”.
van den Esschert et al. disclose a linear low density polyethylene (LLDPE) having a density in range of about 900 to less than about 940 kg/m3, a molecular weight distribution (Mw/Mn) in range from 2.5 to 3.5, a melt index of 0.5 to 100 g/10 min (190 C, 2.16 kg) and a long chain branching per 1000 carbon atoms of less than 0.1 (see Abstract and paragraphs 0176, 0177). LLDPE provides improved optical properties, improved hot tack and/or seal strength properties and a lower seal initiation temperature (see paragraph 0194). The LLDPE is produced using metallocene catalyst, wherein LLDPE can be a linear low-density ethylene/1-hexene copolymer (see paragraphs 0033, 0086, 0225). That is, LLDPE is mLLDPE (metallocene catalyzed LLDPE). mLLDPE is used to prepare a film (see paragraph 0194).
In light of motivation for using mLLDPE such as C6-LLDPE disclosed by van den Esschert et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use mLLDPE such as C6-LLDPE of van den Esschert et al. as the mLLDPE in Daviknes et al. in order to provide improved optical properties, improved hot tack and/or seal strength properties and a lower seal initiation temperature, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Daviknes et al. in view of van den Esschert et al. do not disclose “made by a spray-dried, ethanol-modified Ziegler-Natta catalyst (sdEtOH/ZN)” and do not disclose “made by a bridged bis(indenyl)zirconocene catalyst”.
Mariott et al. disclose spray-dried ethanol modified Ziegler-Natta catalyst (sdEtOH/ZN) used for manufacturing polyolefins (see Abstract and paragraph 0010). The ethylene-1-butene copolymer produced using sdEtOH/ZN showed significant improvement in mechanical properties (tear, secant modulus, dart impact) as optical properties (gloss, clarity and haze) (see paragraph 0138). The sdEtOH/ZN enhances polymerization reaction rate and improves catalyst productivity (see paragraphs 0010, 0136).
In light of motivation for using spray-dried ethanol modified Ziegler-Natta catalyst (sdEtOH/ZN) disclosed by Mariott et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use spray-dried ethanol modified Ziegler-Natta catalyst (sdEtOH/ZN) as the Ziegler-Natta catalyst in Daviknes et al. in view of van den Esschert et al. in order to improve mechanical properties and optical properties as well as enhance polymerization reaction rate and improve catalyst productivity, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Given that Daviknes et al. in view of van den Esschert et al. and Mariott et al. disclose C4-LLDPE prepared from spray-dried ethanol modified Ziegler-Natta catalyst (sdEtOH/ZN), C4-LLDPE would necessarily have properties derived from being made by spray-dried ethanol modified Ziegler-Natta catalyst (sdEtOH/ZN) that are identical to that presently claimed.
Daviknes et al. in view of van den Esschert et al. and Mariott et al. do not disclose “made by a bridged bis(indenyl)zirconocene catalyst”.
Univation technologies disclose XCAT metallocene catalyst such as XCAT EZ 100 that produces LLDPE having outstanding toughness with improved tensile strength, impact resistance and puncture performance, excellent optics with better clarity and higher gloss for appealing packaging, less odor and off-taste, higher recycle and reclaim incorporation rates for less waste, lower heat-seal initiation temperatures and higher hot-tack strength for faster line speeds and excellent seal integrity as well as provides easy-processing (see page 4, col. 1 and col. 2). As evidenced by the present specification, XCAT EZ 100 is rac-dimethylsilylene-bis(4,5,6,7-tetrahydro-1-indenyl)zirconium(IV) chloride, which is a bridged bis(indenyl)zirconocene catalyst (see paragraphs 0033, 00110 of the present specification).
In light of motivation for using XCAT EZ 100 disclosed by Univation Technologies as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use XCAT EZ 100 as metallocene catalyst in Daviknes et al. in view of van den Esschert et al. and Mariott et al. in order to produce LLDPE having outstanding toughness with improved tensile strength, impact resistance and puncture performance, excellent optics with better clarity and higher gloss for appealing packaging, less odor and off-taste, higher recycle and reclaim incorporation rates for less waste, lower heat-seal initiation temperatures and higher hot-tack strength for faster line speeds and excellent seal integrity as well as provide easy-processing, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Given that Daviknes et al. in view of van den Esschert et al., Mariott et al. and Univation Technologies disclose C6-LLDPE prepared from bridged bis(indenyl)zirconocene catalyst, C6-LLDPE would necessarily have properties derived from being made by bridged bis(indenyl)zirconocene catalyst that are identical to that presently claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Daviknes et al. disclose the mixture (blend) consists of znLLDPE and mLLDPE (see page 6, lines 8-10). Therefore, the blend is free of all polyolefin except znLLDPE and mLLDPE.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered. In light of amendments, new grounds of rejections are set forth above. All arguments are moot in light of amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRUPA SHUKLA/Examiner, Art Unit 1787