Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary amendment filed 11/18/2024 has been acknowledged. Claims 31-35 are canceled. Claims 1-30 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 11/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 23 recites various “means for” languages which are interpreted based on the originally filed specification and drawing, as follows:
means for transmitting is interpreted as transceiver 1032 of UE 105, see fig. 10;
means for determining is interpreted as processors 1010 of UE 105, see fig. 10 and [0066];
means for measuring is interpreted as processors 1010 of UE 105, see fig. 10 and [0030];
means for selecting is interpreted as processors 1010 of UE 105, see fig. 10 and [0110];
means for communicating is interpreted as processors 1030 of UE 105, see fig. 10 and [0032].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae; Hyukjin et al. (US 20200351705, hereinafter Chae) in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #109-e: "Discussion on potential solutions for SL positioning", May 9-May 20, 2022 (hereinafter 3GPP).
Claims 1, 12, 23, 25. Chae discloses a method, an apparatus and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
transmitting a message indicating a sidelink congestion control processing capability of the UE ([0004][0365][0388][0389]);
determining, in accordance with the sidelink congestion control processing capability of the UE, an applicable congestion control processing time value for congestion control of a first sidelink (SL) resource pool, the first SL resource pool comprising SL resources ([0357][0361][0389]);
measuring a channel busy ratio (CBR) of the first SL resource pool for a first slot ([0357][0382]);
selecting, based on the measured CBR, a resource of the first SL resource pool for use to communicate during a second slot, wherein the second slot is offset in time from the first slot by the applicable congestion control processing time value (Fig. 10, 22, [0319] [0327] [0389] [0391][0393][0394]); and
communicating using the selected resource during the second slot ([0391]).
Chae discloses sidelink congestion control but does not specifically disclose sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) congestion control.
In a similar endeavor, 3GPP discloses congestion control is applied to sidelink positioning reference signal resources (page 11, last paragraph to page 12, 1st paragraph).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, to modify congestion control strategy for SL, as taught by Chae, to handle SL-PRS congestion, as disclosed by 3GPP.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to provide an enhanced method to reduce instant congestion level by distributing resources across the time span, as suggested by 3GPP (page 12, 1st paragraph).
Claims 2, 13, 24, 26. Chae in view of 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the applicable congestion control processing time value is determined based on a congestion control processing time value set corresponding to the SL-PRS congestion control processing capability of the UE (Fig. 10, 22, [0319] [0327] [0389] [0391][0393][0394]).
Claims 3, 14, 27. Chae in view of 3GPP discloses the method of claim 2, comprising identifying a value in the congestion control processing time value set as the applicable congestion control processing time value based on a sub- carrier spacing of the first SL resource pool (Fig. 10, 22, [0319] [0327] [0389] [0391][0393][0394]).
Claims 4, 15, 28. Chae in view of 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the message comprises: a first information element indicating a first congestion control processing capability that constitutes the SL-PRS congestion control processing capability of the UE; and a second information element indicating a second congestion control processing capability that constitutes a congestion control processing capability of the UE for congestion control of a second SL resource pool, the second SL resource pool not comprising SL-PRS resources (Fig. 10, 22, [0319] [0327] [0389] [0391][0393][0394]).
Claims 5, 16, 29. Chae in view of 3GPP discloses the method of claim 4, comprising determining, in accordance with the second congestion control processing capability, an applicable congestion control processing time value for congestion control of the second SL resource pool (Fig. 10, 22, [0319] [0327] [0389] [0391][0393][0394]).
Claims 6, 17, 30. Chae in view of 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the message comprises an information element indicating a common congestion control processing capability that constitutes both the SL-PRS congestion control processing capability of the UE and a congestion control processing capability of the UE for congestion control of a second SL resource pool, the second SL resource pool not comprising SL-PRS resources (Fig. 10, 22, [0319] [0327] [0389] [0391][0393][0394]).
Claims 7, 18. Chae in view of 3GPP discloses the method of claim 6, comprising: determining, in accordance with the common congestion control processing capability: a first congestion control processing time value constituting the applicable congestion control processing time value for congestion control of the first SL resource pool; and a second congestion control processing time value constituting an applicable congestion control processing time value for congestion control of the second SL resource pool (Fig. 10, 22, [0319] [0327] [0389] [0391][0393][0394]).
Claims 8, 19. Chae in view of 3GPP discloses the method of claim 7, comprising modifying the second congestion control processing time value according to one or more modification factors to determine the first congestion control processing time value (Fig. 10, 22, [0319] [0327] [0389] [0391][0393][0394]).
Claims 9, 20. Chae in view of 3GPP discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the modifying the second congestion control processing time value according to the one or more modification factors includes scaling the second congestion control processing time value based on a ratio between a bandwidth of the first SL resource pool and a bandwidth of the second SL resource pool ([0066] channel occupancy ratio).
Claims 10, 21. Chae in view of 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the message indicates a sidelink congestion control SL-PRS resource processing capability of the UE ([0004][0365][0388][0389]).
Claims 11, 22. Chae in view of 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the message indicates an SL-PRS buffering capability of the UE ([0245][0354] buffer).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miao et al. (US 20240114543) disclose embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution for sidelink communications. In a method for communications, a first terminal device determines from a resource pool configured for the first terminal device, first resources in a time window before a first slot based on a resource selection scheme of the first terminal device. The first terminal device determines a first number of occupied resources in the first resources. The first terminal device determines a congestion level indicator of a sidelink channel for the first slot based at least in part on the first number and a number of the first resources. The sidelink channel is associated with the first terminal device. With the proposed mechanism, the sidelink congestion level indicator, such as, a channel busy ratio (CBR) is determined with consideration of the resource selection scheme and the reception capability of the terminal device. As such, the accuracy of CBR measurement can be improved, which is beneficial to sidelink congestion control and a reduction of the power consumption at the terminal device.
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644