DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, Figs. 1A-1B, and 3A-3B, for claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 18-20, 23-25, and 27-28 in the reply filed on 8/12/2026 is acknowledged. No arguments were presented to the traversal. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 20, 25, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huseth et al. (US 20210031062), hereinafter Huseth.
Regarding claim 1, Huseth teaches of a system for detecting a fall event of a user using an article of personal protective equipment (PPE) (abstract, weight bearing fall protection connector with a wireless fall indicator), the system comprising:
a switching unit (fig. 5, switch 30 with a pair of electrical contacts 60, 62 spaced from each other with the connection members 20, 24) configured to be mechanically actuated from an inactive configuration (¶0039, contacts 60, 62 are spaced apart to be in a ready position before a fall event) to an active configuration (fig. 6B, contacts 60, 62, are configured to be pressed against each other in the fall position), wherein the switching unit is normally disposed in the inactive configuration until the switching unit is mechanically actuated to the active configuration (¶0034, switch 30 is configured to activate the wireless transmitter 28 in response from moving from the ready, inactive position to the fall, active position);
a mechanical unit (breakable component 24) mechanically coupling the switching unit (30) to the article of PPE (¶0034-0035, mechanical unit 24 is operably connected to fall protection equipment, such as a harness worn by a worker. Mechanical unit 24 mechanically couples the switching unit 30 to the article of PPE), wherein the mechanical unit (24) mechanically actuates the switching unit (30) from the inactive configuration to the active configuration upon a predetermined movement of the article of PPE corresponding to the fall event of the user (¶0034, breaking of mechanical unit 24 allows the connection members 20, 22 of the switching unit 30 to move from the ready, inactive configuration to the fall, active configuration upon a predetermined movement of the article of PPE corresponding to the fall event of the user);
an electronic circuit (fig. 3, ¶0034, circuitry 34) disposed in an off state when the electronic circuit is not electrically powered (¶0034, electronic circuit 34 is activated by switch 30 so as to be in an off state before activation of the switch 30) and disposed in an on state when the electronic circuit is electrically powered (¶0034, electronic circuit 34 is activated by switch 30 to be in a powered on state after activation), wherein, in the on state, the electronic circuit generates an output indicative of the fall event of the user (¶0034, electronic circuit 34 activates a wireless transmitter 28 that transmit that a fall event of the user happened); and
a power source (fig. 7, battery 35) configured to selectively electrically power the electronic circuit based on a configuration of the switching unit (¶0034 and 0039, battery 35 powers the electronic circuit 34 of the wireless transmitter when the electrical contacts 60, 62 of the switching unit 30 are activated), wherein, in the inactive configuration of the switching unit, the power source does not electrically power the electronic circuit, such that the electronic circuit is in the off state (¶0034, in the inactive configuration, the switching unit 30 does not activate the battery 35 to power the electronic circuit 34, such that the electronic circuit is in the off state), wherein, in the active configuration of the switching unit, the power source electrically powers the electronic circuit, such that the electronic circuit switches from the off state to the on state and generates the output (¶0034, active configuration of the switching unit 30 activates the battery 35 to power the electronic circuit 34 and switch the electronic circuit 34 from the off state to the on state and generate the output).
Regarding claim 2, Huseth teaches of claim 1, and (figs. 6A-6B) wherein the mechanical unit (24) is configured to detach from the article of PPE upon the predetermined movement of the article of PPE (¶0035-0038, mechanical unit 24 breaks to detach from collar 54 of connector 10 of the article of PPE), and wherein the mechanical unit (24) mechanically actuates the switching unit (30) from the inactive configuration to the active configuration upon detachment of the mechanical unit from the article of PPE (¶0038, mechanical unit 24 breaks and detaches from collar 54 to move the switch 30 from an inactive configuration to the active configuration).
Regarding claim 5, Huseth teaches of claim 1, and (figs. 6A-6B) wherein the mechanical unit (24) is configured to deform upon the predetermined movement of the article of PPE (¶035-0038, mechanical unit 24 breaks, or deform, upon a fall event), and wherein the mechanical unit (24) mechanically actuates the switching unit from the inactive configuration to the active configuration upon deformation of the mechanical unit (¶0034, breaking or deformation of mechanical unit 24 causes the switching unit 30 to mechanically move from the inactive configuration to the active configuration).
Regarding claim 20, Huseth teaches of claim 1, and (fig. 5) wherein the electronic circuit (34) comprises a processor and a memory communicably coupled to the processor (¶0034, wireless transmitter 28 includes circuitry 34 to transmit the wireless signal to other wireless devices such as cell phones of rescue personnel and hence comprises memory to store the rescue personnel numbers and a processor to transmit the signal to the rescue personnel) and configured to store at least one parameter, and wherein the at least one parameter comprises one or more of a serial number associated with the article of PPE, a unique identification number of the user, one or more instructions executable by the processor, and one or more destination addresses of the output (¶0034, of the options, the wireless signal is transmitted to cell phones of rescue personnel hence the parameter comprises destination addresses of the signal and one or more instructions executable by the processor to send the signal).
Regarding claim 25, Huseth teaches of claim 1, and (fig. 10) further comprising an article of PPE mechanically coupled to the mechanical unit (24), the article of PPE comprising fall protection equipment (¶0033, mechanical unit 24 is mechanically connected to connector 10, which is coupled to a fall harness worn by a worker).
Regarding claim 27, Huseth teaches of an article of PPE (¶0033, for use with a fall harness) comprising the system of claim 1 (as taught above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 28, Huseth teaches of a method for detecting a fall event of a user using an article of personal protective equipment (PPE) (abstract, weight bearing fall protection connector with a wireless fall indicator), the method comprising:
providing a switching unit (fig. 5, switch 30 with a pair of electrical contacts 60, 62 spaced from each other with the connection members 20, 24) configured to be mechanically actuated from an inactive configuration (¶0039, contacts 60, 62 are spaced apart to be in a ready position before a fall event) to an active configuration (fig. 6B, contacts 60, 62, are configured to be pressed against each other in the fall position), and wherein the switching unit is normally disposed in the inactive configuration until the switching unit is mechanically actuated to the active configuration (¶0034, switch 30 is configured to activate the wireless transmitter 28 in response from moving from the ready, inactive position to the fall, active position);
providing a mechanical unit (breakable component 24) mechanically coupling the switching unit (30) to the article of PPE (¶0034-0035, mechanical unit 24 is operably connected to fall protection equipment, such as a harness worn by a worker. Mechanical unit 24 mechanically couples the switching unit 30 to the article of PPE);
providing an electronic circuit (fig. 3, ¶0034, circuitry 34) disposed in an off state when the electronic circuit is not electrically powered (¶0034, electronic circuit 34 is activated by switch 30 so as to be in an off state before activation of the switch 30) and disposed in an on state when the electronic circuit is electrically powered (¶0034, electronic circuit 34 is activated by switch 30 to be in a powered on state after activation);
providing a power source (fig. 7, battery 35) configured to selectively electrically power the electronic circuit based on a configuration of the switching unit (¶0034 and 0039, battery 35 powers the electronic circuit 34 of the wireless transmitter when the electrical contacts 60, 62 of the switching unit 30 are activated), wherein, in the inactive configuration of the switching unit, the power source does not electrically power the electronic circuit, such that the electronic circuit is in the off state (¶0034, in the inactive configuration, the switching unit 30 does not activate the battery 35 to power the electronic circuit 34, such that the electronic circuit is in the off state);
mechanically actuating, via the mechanical unit (24), the switching unit (30) from the inactive configuration to the active configuration upon a predetermined movement of the article of PPE corresponding to the fall event of the user (¶0034, breaking of mechanical unit 24 allows the connection members 20, 22 of the switching unit 30 to move from the ready, inactive configuration to the fall, active configuration upon a predetermined movement of the article of PPE corresponding to the fall event of the user);
actuating, via the switching unit, the power source to electrically power the electronic circuit upon being mechanically actuated from the inactive configuration to the active configuration (¶0034, active configuration of the switching unit 30 activates the battery 35 to power the electronic circuit 34 and switch the electronic circuit 34 from the off state to the on state and generate the output);
switching the electronic circuit from the off state to the on state upon being electrically powered by the power source (¶0034, inactive configuration to the active configuration of the switching unit 30 activates the power source to electrically power the electronic circuit 34 from an off state to an on state); and
generating, via the electronic circuit, an output indicative of the fall event of the user upon being switched from the off state to the on state (¶0034, the electronic circuit 34 outputs a wireless signal indicative of the fall event of the user upon being switched from the off state to the on state).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huseth in view of Bell (US 5287943).
Regarding claim 3, Huseth teaches of claim 2, and (fig. 4) wherein the article of PPE comprises a self-retracting lifeline (SRL) comprising a snap hook (¶0035, second connection portion 40 can typically be connected to a snap hook component of an SRL),
wherein the mechanical unit (24) normally attached to the snap hook (attached to connection portion 40, which can typically be a snap hook), and wherein the mechanical unit (24) detaches from the snap hook upon the predetermined movement of the article of PPE (fig. 6B, ¶0034, mechanical unit 24 is a pin that breaks to detach upon movement related to a fall of the article of PPE on the user).
Huseth does not appear to teach of wherein the mechanical unit comprises a ferrule.
Bell teaches of wherein the mechanical unit comprises a ferrule (fig. 2, ferrules 68).
Bell teaches of wherein the mechanical unit comprises a ferrule in order to utilize a different type of breakable component as desired for an application and use a connection that is resistant against corrosion and high temperatures.
Claims 18-19, and 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huseth in view of Graef et al. (US 20060055545), hereinafter Graef.
Regarding claim 18, Huseth teaches of claim 1, but does not appear to teach of wherein the mechanical unit comprises at least one of a mechanical linkage, a gear drive, a friction drive, a cable, and a connecting cord.
Graef teaches of (fig. 4) wherein the mechanical unit (¶0022, elongating member 101) comprises at least one of a mechanical linkage, a gear drive, a friction drive, a cable, and a connecting cord (fig. 4, of the options, activation pin 113 of mechanical unit 101 is a mechanical linkage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huseth to incorporate the teachings of Graef of wherein the mechanical unit comprises at least one of a mechanical linkage, a gear drive, a friction drive, a cable, and a connecting cord in order to use a connection that is responsive to movements of other components of the device and prevent false positives from happening if there are multiple mechanisms to indicate a fall event.
Regarding claim 19, Huseth teaches of claim 1, and wherein the electronic circuit comprises at least one electronic component configured to generate the output (¶0034, circuitry 34 activates the wireless transmitter 28 to transmit the wireless signal 32).
Huseth does not appear to teach of wherein the at least one electronic component comprises one or more of a speaker, a vibration device, a light emitting diode, and a buzzer.
Graef teaches of wherein the at least one electronic component comprises one or more of a speaker, a vibration device, a light emitting diode, and a buzzer (¶0025, alarm housing 110 includes a speaker 111 and optional indicator light 112 to provide audio and visual indication of a fall event).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huseth to incorporate the teachings of Graef of wherein the at least one electronic component comprises one or more of a speaker, a vibration device, a light emitting diode, and a buzzer in order to have an audio and visual indication of a fall event as motivated by Graef in para. 0025 such that it is easy and quick to identify that a fall event has happened.
Regarding claim 24, Huseth teaches of claim 1, but does not appear wherein the output comprises at least one of an audio signal, a text message, a visual signal, and a haptic signal.
Graef teaches of wherein the output comprises at least one of an audio signal, a text message, a visual signal, and a haptic signal (¶0025, alarm housing 110 includes a speaker 111 and optional indicator light 112 to provide audio and visual indication of a fall event).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huseth to incorporate the teachings of Graef of wherein the output comprises at least one of an audio signal, a text message, a visual signal, and a haptic signal in order to have an audio and visual indication of a fall event as motivated by Graef in para. 0025 such that it is easy and quick to identify that a fall event has happened.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huseth as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huseth et al. (US 20200147421), hereinafter Huseth ‘421.
Regarding claim 23, Huseth teaches of claim 1, and wherein the electronic circuit is further configured to:
at least one of Bluetooth, geofencing, and Wi-Fi connection with one or more access points (¶0034, wireless signal 32 can be created and transmitted according to any suitable wireless protocol, many of which are known, including any suitable Wi-Fi, Bluetooth or RF protocol.): and transmit the output to a predefined destination (¶0034, transmit the output to suitable wireless devices, such as, for example, cellular phones, smart phones, and/or other wireless receivers, carried by other workers and/or rescue personnel who can then be alerted by the other suitable devices that a fall event has occurred. Steps are taken to deactivate the wireless signal 32 after the worker that experienced the fall event has been rescued.).
Huseth does not appear to teach of wherein the electronic circuit is further configured to:
determine a location of the fall event of the user based on at least one of Bluetooth direction finding, geofencing, and Wi-Fi connection with one or more access points: and transmit the output to a predefined destination, wherein the location of the fall event of the user is embedded in the output.
Huseth ‘421 teaches of wherein the electronic circuit is further configured to:
determine a location of the fall event of the user based on at least one of Bluetooth direction finding, geofencing, and Wi-Fi connection with one or more access points (¶0024, The mobile device 122 is operable to send information such as location data collected by the mobile device hence based on a wireless connection with one or more access points): and transmit the output to a predefined destination (¶0024, transmit to a monitoring station 130), wherein the location of the fall event of the user is embedded in the output (¶0024, location data is sent with the beacon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huseth to incorporate the teachings of Huseth ‘421 of wherein the electronic circuit is further configured to: determine a location of the fall event of the user based on at least one of Bluetooth direction finding, geofencing, and Wi-Fi connection with one or more access points: and transmit the output to a predefined destination, wherein the location of the fall event of the user is embedded in the output in order to provide location information to rescue personnel so that the worker may be rescued as soon as possible.
Conclusion
The cited references made of record in the contemporaneously filed PTO-892 form and not relied upon in the instant office action are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and may have one or more of the elements in Applicant’s disclosure and at least claim 1.
/ZOE TAM TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3647