DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,188,111B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims are both directed to austenitic stainless steel alloy and the claimed compositions have overlapping elements and amounts which means that compositions in the reference patent render obvious those of Claim 4 (Claim 1). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jotoku USPA 2020/0392611. Jotoku teaches weld alloy material having claimed composition (Table 3, Ex. 22). This example is of an austenitic stainless steel weld joint, and so this is weld alloy material and is austenitic in view of description in view of Cr and Ni content.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jotoku USPA 2020/0392611. Jotoku teaches weld alloy material having range of compositions that overlap and approach claimed composition (Tables 2 and 3; Claim 1; and paragraphs 233-288). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to prepare full range of suggested compositions in Jotoku which would be expected to encompass compositions having the claimed ingredients and amounts. See MPEP 2144.05. These teachings describe forming an austenitic stainless steel weld joint, and so what forms is a weld alloy material that is austenitic in view of its description and in view of Cr and Ni content.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kousu JP 2015-062910. Kousu teaches austenitic weld alloy (paragraph 31) having claimed ingredients (Table 1, Steel B) except that it lacks B. However, Kousu teaches B can be present in claimed range (paragraph 65) and exemplifies steels with such amounts of B (Table 1, Steels E, F, and M). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to further include B in suggested amounts in Kousu since Kousu teaches that effective compositions can be obtained in this manner; such amounts of B would overlap those being claimed. See MPEP 2144.05. Kousu’s composition is characterized as containing O, which Kousu explains is an impurity (paragraph 51). Thus, since the claimed composition can contain impurity, this is permissible. Furthermore, Kousu teaches that minimization of O can be effectuated (paragraphs 47 and 51). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to purify this composition by eliminating some or all residual O, which would lead to achievement of lesser O amounts to the extent necessary in the case that exemplified amount of O exceeds what claim’s “consisting of” transition phrase could permit. Furthermore, purification of known composition is prima facie obvious when the resulting purified product would be expected to have same structure and function as the unpurified composition, which would be the case where the ingredient being purified is characterized as an impurity. See MPEP 2144.04 (VII).
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Osuki USPA 2022/0411908.
The applied reference has a common inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Osuki teaches claims directed to austenitic stainless steel alloy with compositions having same elements and overlapping amounts with respect to those of Claim 4. which means that compositions in the reference patent render obvious those of Claim 4 (Claim 1). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osuki WO 2021/141107 (as translated by USPA 2022/0411908). Osuki teaches claims directed to austenitic stainless steel alloy with compositions having same elements and overlapping amounts with respect to those of Claim 4. which means that compositions in the reference patent render obvious those of Claim 4 (Claim 1). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 and 5 are allowed.
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 5, the reviewed prior art does not teach or suggest the subject matter of these claims. Particularly, the reviewed prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed combination of base metal composition and weld metal composition of austenitic stainless steel alloy welded joint wherein claimed F1 compositional relationship and claimed F2 Mo relationship are obtained, in combination and in the claimed context. For example, Jotoku USPA 2020/0392611 teaches austenitic stainless steel welded joint (Figure 2) having similar compositions for base and weld metals (Tables 1-3) but fails to expressly teach or suggest or other provide basis for establishing inherency of the claimed combination of F1 and F2 relationships, in the claimed context. See Jotoku (entire document).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL E. LA VILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784
19 June 2026