Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Groups V, X, and Species B, D in the reply filed on 10/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden to examine all of the inventions. This is not found persuasive because applicant has not provided any reason as to why examining all of the groups and species which include claims 1-3 and 31-47, a total of 20 claims, is not a serious burden compared to examining only one invention, in this case only claims 1, 37, and 41-46, a total of only 8 claims. Hence, there are no arguments to respond to. The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant and maintains that examining all of the groups and species which include claims 1-3 and 31-47, a total of 20 claims, is a serious burden compared to examining only one invention, in this case only claims 1, 37, and 41-46, a total of only 8 claims.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: journal bearing safety device in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Perevozchikov et al. (US 2020/0291953), referred to hereafter as Perevozchikov.
With regard to claim 1, Perevozchikov discloses a turbo compressor comprising: a housing (102); a rotary shaft (104) rotatably mounted inside the housing; an impeller (106) configured to rotate by being coupled to the rotary shaft; a bearing (300) configured to rotatably support the rotary shaft; and a bearing housing (200) coupled to the housing and configured to support the bearing, wherein the bearing comprises: a journal bearing comprising a gas foil bearing ([0033]) mounted on an inner circumferential surface of the bearing housing (Fig. 6), surrounding the rotary shaft ([0033], Fig. 2, 6), and spaced apart from the rotary shaft with an air gap (Fig. 6), the journal bearing supporting a radial load of the rotary shaft; and a journal bearing safety device (214, 312, 314) disposed in the bearing housing, and configured to limit a radial movement distance of the rotary shaft to within an elastic deformation range of the journal bearing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perevozchikov et al. (US 2020/0291953), referred to hereafter as Perevozchikov in view of Nishimura et al. (JP 2023060670), referred to hereafter as Nishimura.
With regard to claim 37:
Perevozchikov further discloses a thrust runner (128, [0042]) protruding radially from the rotary shaft (Fig. 2, 17), an impeller casing receiving the impeller therein (Fig. 2), and comprising a diffuser extending spirally from one side of the impeller to compress refrigerant suctioned by the impeller (Fig. 2, 17); and a bypass passage (220) formed between an inside of the diffuser and an inside of the housing (Fig. 17, [0042]), so that a portion of refrigerant flowing into the diffuser is bypassed to the inside of the housing, wherein the bearing further comprises a thrust bearing (130) spaced apart from the thrust runner with an air gap (Fig. 17), and configured to support an axial load of the rotary shaft, wherein the bypass passage is formed through the bearing housing, and configured such that one side thereof communicates with the diffuser and another side communicates with the inside of the housing (Fig. 17).
Although Perevozchikov shows in Fig. 17 that the thrust bearing comprises a gas foil bearing, it does not appear to explicitly disclose in verbatim that the thrust bearing comprises a gas foil bearing.
However, Nishimura teaches a thrust bearing that comprises a gas foil bearing (see Nishimura disclosing under “Thrust bearing” that “The thrust bearing (70) of this example is a foil gas bearing”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use a known technique, namely using a thrust bearing that comprises a gas foil bearing, to improve similar devices in the same way.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 41-46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with regard to claim 41, the prior art doesn’t disclose an opening and closing valve installed on one side of the bypass passage and configured to open and close the bypass passage, and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, nor any motivation, to modify the prior arts for these deficiencies, because it would require improper hindsight reconstruction. Claims 42-46 depend from claim 41.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent prior art disclosing similar turbo compressors such as US 9206840.
/BEHNOUSH HAGHIGHIAN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745