Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 and 14-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 8-9, 11-13, 15-18, 20-23 and 26-29 of copending Application No. 18/866,718. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of 18/866,718 are almost identical to the claims of the present invention including the biochar, inorganic fiber and flame retardant in the claimed amounts and the claimed ratio is present.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-12, 14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 3-12, 14 and 16-19 are rejected for being dependent upon claim 0. The claims has been examined as depending upon claim 1, Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 13 and 15 are rejected for being dependent upon claim “Error”. The claims has been examined as depending upon claim 1, Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 is rejected for being dependent upon claim 0. The claims has been examined as depending upon claim 1, Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 108358537).
Regarding claim 20, Li et al. teaches a method of manufacturing an acoustic building panel comprising, mixing inorganic fibers (glass wool), biochar (charcoal), flame retardant (calcium carbonate), a liquid carrier to form a blend and shaping and drying the blend into a body (panel) having a first major surface opposite a second major surface extending between the first and second major surface wherein the body is substantially free of the liquid carrier [0074]. The biochar and the flame retardant are present in the claimed weight ratio.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Li et al. (CN 108358537).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 8, Li teaches an acoustic building panel comprising inorganic fiber (glass wool fiber) in the claimed amount based on the weight of the body [0010], biochar (charcoal) in an amount in the claimed range based on the total weight of the body [0010] and flame retardant (calcium carbonate) in the amount claimed based on the total weight of the body [0010]. Li teaches the biochar and the flame retardant are present in a weight ratio in the claimed range on Example 1. Therefore Li teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In the alternative, Li teaches the claimed ratio of the biochar and the flame retardant and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art use the ratio of the biochar and the flame retardant in the claimed range in order to balance improvement air purification and flame retardancy property and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 14-15, Li teaches the body further comprises a filler (such as mica or titanium dioxide) the claimed amount by weight of the total body [0010].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 108358537) in view of Saito et al. (JP 2011032383).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-9, Li teaches the claimed components in the claimed amounts as set forth in claim 1 and fully incorporated herein by reference. Li is silent regarding the claimed colemanite. However, Saito et al. teaches using colemanite (calcium borate) and magnesium hydroxide as flame retardant materials (the active filler flame retardant can be construed as the colemanite or magnesium hydroxide) in order to provide improved flame retardancy. The flame retardant decomposes endothermically at an elevated temperature in the claimed range (about 325 degrees includes temperature of about 350and water is emitted upon decomposition. The flame retardant has an average particle size in the claimed range [Examples]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the colemanite of Saito et al. in Li in order to provide improved flame retardancy and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 108358537) in view of Tatsumi (WO 0110251).
Regarding claim 10, The previous combination is silent regarding the claimed size of the biochar. However, Tatsumi teaches biochar with particle size in the claimed range in order to provide improved adsorption. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the particle size of biochar taught by Tatsumi in the previous combination in order to improve adsorption and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 11-13 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 108358537) in view of Krick et al. (PG Pub. 20210002890).
Regarding claims 11-13, the previous combination is silent regarding the claimed organic fiber and amount of organic fiber and starch based binder and amount. However, Krick et al. teach organic fiber (microfibrillated cellulose) in the claimed amount because it improves the strength of the composite without compromising the porosity. Krick et al. also teaches starch based binder in the claimed amount because it has low VOC and renewability. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the organic fiber in the amount taught by Krick et al. because it improves the strength of the composite without compromising the porosity and the starch based polymer and amount of Krick et al. in the previous combination because it has low VOC and renewability and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 16-18, the previous combination is silent regarding the claimed porosity and, skeletal density and bulk density. However, Krick et al. teach an acoustical building panel with a porosity, skeletal density and bulk density in the claimed range in order to allow airflow and function as an acoustical panel and superior sag resistance [0005, 0048, 0056, 0058 and 0069].
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches a building panel so it is clear the panel body has a first major surface opposite a second major surface and a side surface extending therebetween. The previous combination is silent regarding the claimed airflow resistance measured between the first major surface and the second major surface. However, Krick et al. teaches airflow resistance measured between the first major surface and the second major surface in the claimed range in order to attain sound attenuation and noise reduction properties. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the airflow resistance measured between the first major surface and the second major surface of Krick et al. in the previous combination in order to attain sound attenuation and noise reduction properties and arrive at the claimed invention.
Prior Art Not Used but Relevant
US Patent 5,972,434 teaches fire retardant building materials.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789