Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the claims
Claim(s) 11,12 ,20,22,25,27-29 is/are amended. Currently claims 11-20, 22-29 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-16, 18-20, 22-26, 28, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Short (4549565) in view of Berry et al (20230304593), further in view of Bauer et al (DE 102018005204 A1) and Cornall et al (JP 2017026148 A).
Regarding claim 11, Short, fig 1-6, discloses a safety device consisting of a screw body with a screw head 20, which is connected to the screw body in one piece and forms a rotary-drive part, and with a thread 22, which is connected to the screw head in one piece and forms a securing part, and also with a rupture device 26, which is arranged in a channel of the screw body.
Short fails to disclose channel as through bore with constant diameter and having a sight glass in downstream portion of the channel of the screw body, which together with the rupture device forms an inspecting device for assessing the state of the rupture device.
Berry teaches a safety device with a rupture device 101d, which is arranged in a constant diameter through bore channel of the safety device body, wherein a sight glass 103, 203 is located at downstream open end of the channel of the safety device body, which together with the rupture device, forms an inspecting device for assessing the state of the rupture device (Para 21).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Short with relief channel having a constant diameter channel with an open downstream end closed by a sight glass as taught by Berry in order to enable checking of rupture disk status.
Short as modified (as taught by Berry) teaches sight glass at the downstream end of channel but fails to disclose the sight glass accommodated entirely within in the channel and flush with channel opening.
Bauer teaches a sight glass 34 accommodated entirely within in a channel 44 and flush with channel opening from outside.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Short as modified with sight glass accommodated entirely within in the channel and flush with channel opening as taught by Berry in order to provide a compact device.
Short as modified fails to disclose the rupture disc accommodated entirely within in the channel and in contact with channel sidewall.
Cornall (Fig 5) teaches a rupture disc 40 in contact with channel sidewall and accommodated inside a channel (translation page 4, 4th last Para) and flush with channel opening from outside (Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Short as modified with rupture disc in contact with channel sidewall and accommodated inside channel and flush with channel opening from outside as taught by Cornall in order to provide a compact device.
As to claim 12, Short as modified (in view of Cornall) would have rupture device 26, which is securely connected to the screw body in a channel 18 thereof as an independent component, securely welded (col 3 line 1-10) to end of channel sidewall at an outer circumferential line of the rupture disc.
As to claim 13, the rupture disc 26 spans a free (lower) end of the channel 18 on the inside, said end being adjacent to a thread 22 runout, which is arranged on the side (lower) of the screw body facing away from the screw head 20.
As to claim 14, rupture disc 26 is furnished with a curvature 28 originating from the securing point of said rupture disc in the channel 18 of the screw body, said curvature protruding in the direction of the sight glass ( in view of Berry).
As to claim 15, the channel 18 is formed by a hollow-cylindrical recess in the screw body, which passes completely (in view of Berry, downstream open side having sight glass) through the screw body, retaining the same diameter, and emerging into the environment at its free ends which are opposite one another.
As to claim 16, the diameter of the rupture disc 26 and the diameter of the sight glass (both accommodated inside channel, in view of Bauer), which is designed to be cylindrical, is identical.
As to claims 18, 19, the screw body is formed of a metallic material (hatch pattern in Short), which surrounds the glass material of the sight glass (in view of Bauer), such that the glass material is inside the channel of the screw body and is clamped by the metallic material in an annular manner.
Regarding the term “together, are heated to a temperature at which the glass material is liquid or paste-like and runs onto the metallic material in contact with said material such that, when it subsequently cools down, the glass material sets inside the channel of the screw body”, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. (MPEP 2113).
As to claims 20, Short, fig 1-6, discloses hydraulic component with a housing 42 in which at least one pressurized fluid channel (upstream section of fluid space of wall 42) runs and having a safety device 10, which is secured in a pressure-tight manner in the housing 42 and, lying on the housing with its screw head 20, establishes a fluid-conveying connection between the rupture device 26 and the pressurized channel such that, if a safety-critical threshold pressure value in the fluid channel is exceeded, the rupture device 26 yields, wherein the safety device comprises a screw body 10 with a screw head 20 , which is connected to the screw body in one piece and forms a rotary-drive part, and with a thread 22, which is connected to the screw head in one piece and forms a securing part, and also with a rupture device 26, which is arranged in a channel 18 of the screw body. Short, fig 1-6, discloses the safety device consisting of a screw body with a screw head 20, which is connected to the screw body in one piece and forms a rotary-drive part, and with a thread 22, which is connected to the screw head in one piece and forms a securing part, and also with a rupture device 26, which is arranged in a channel of the screw body.
Short fails to disclose channel as through bore with constant diameter and having a sight glass in downstream portion of the channel of the screw body, which together with the rupture device forms an inspecting device for assessing the state of the rupture device.
Berry teaches a safety device with a rupture device 101d, which is arranged in a constant diameter through bore channel of the safety device body, wherein a sight glass 103, 203 is located at downstream open end of the channel of the safety device body, which together with the rupture device, forms an inspecting device for assessing the state of the rupture device (Para 21).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Short with relief channel having a constant diameter channel with an open downstream end closed by a sight glass as taught by Berry in order to enable checking of rupture disk status.
Short as modified (as taught by Berry) teaches sight glass at the downstream end of channel but fails to disclose the sight glass accommodated entirely within in the channel and flush with channel opening.
Bauer teaches a sight glass 34 accommodated entirely within in a channel 44 and flush with channel opening from outside.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Short as modified with sight glass accommodated entirely within in the channel and flush with channel opening as taught by Berry in order to provide a compact device.
Short as modified fails to disclose the rupture disc accommodated entirely within in the channel and in contact with channel sidewall.
Cornall (Fig 5) teaches a rupture disc 40 in contact with channel sidewall and accommodated inside a channel (translation page 4, 4th last Para) and flush with channel opening from outside (Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Short as modified with rupture disc in contact with channel sidewall and accommodated inside channel and flush with channel opening from outside as taught by Cornall in order to provide a compact device.
As to claim 22, Short as modified (in view of Cornall) would have rupture device 26, which is securely connected to the screw body in a channel 18 thereof as an independent component, securely welded (col 3 line 1-10) to end of channel sidewall at an outer circumferential line of the rupture disc.
As to claim 23, the rupture disc 26 spans a free (lower) end of the channel 18 on the inside, said end being adjacent to a thread 22 runout, which is arranged on the side (lower) of the screw body facing away from the screw head 20.
As to claim 24, rupture disc 26 is furnished with a curvature 28 originating from the securing point of said rupture disc in the channel 18 of the screw body, said curvature protruding in the direction of the sight glass ( in view of Berry).
As to claim 25, the channel 18 is formed by a hollow-cylindrical recess in the screw body, which passes completely (in view of Berry, downstream open side having sight glass) through the screw body, retaining the same diameter, and emerging into the environment at its free ends which are opposite one another.
As to claim 26, the diameter of the rupture disc 26 and the diameter of the sight glass (both accommodated inside channel, in view of Bauer), which is designed to be cylindrical, is identical.
As to claims 28, 29, the screw body is formed of a metallic material (hatch pattern in Short), which surrounds the glass material of the sight glass (in view of Bauer), such that the glass material is inside the channel of the screw body and is clamped by the metallic material in an annular manner.
Regarding the term “together, are heated to a temperature at which the glass material is liquid or paste-like and runs onto the metallic material in contact with said material such that, when it subsequently cools down, the glass material sets inside the channel of the screw body”, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. (MPEP 2113).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 17 and 27 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground of rejection is applied to the amended claims. Cornall is cited to show incorporation of the rupture disc accommodated entirely within in the channel in contact with channel sidewall.
Conclusion
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753