DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The response filed 11/18/24 is entered. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-8 are elected. Claims 9-20 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abdollahi, US-20140139407.
In regards to claim 1, Abdollahi discloses an arm (Fig. 1, 2L and 2R outriggers, i.e. arms; Par. 0054 “Outriggers 21L and 21R may have slots or other features (not shown) configured to facilitate attachment of a strap or the like (not shown) to hold goggles 10 in place on a user's head as known in the art.”) of a head-mountable display (Par. 0002 and 0004 HUD for goggles, i.e. HMD), comprising: an enclosure (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, 24L and 24R recesses) comprising a first surface (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, 25 ribs on opposing sides of the recess; Par. 0055 “ribs 25 protruding into recesses 24L and 24R. Ribs 25 may, for example, bear against the sides of compartments 34 and 32 to hold them in place in recesses 24L and 24R.”), and a second surface opposing the first surface (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, 25 ribs on opposing sides of the recess; Par. 0055 “ribs 25 protruding into recesses 24L and 24R. Ribs 25 may, for example, bear against the sides of compartments 34 and 32 to hold them in place in recesses 24L and 24R.”), the enclosure (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, 24L and 24R recesses) defining a tip of the arm (Fig. 1, 2L and 2R outriggers, i.e. arms; Par. 0054 “Outriggers 21L and 21R may have slots or other features (not shown) configured to facilitate attachment of a strap or the like (not shown) to hold goggles 10 in place on a user's head as known in the art.”) and an internal volume (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, internal volume of 24L and 24R recesses); a frame (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, 24L and 24R recesses comprise structural components, i.e. a frame; Par. 0070 recesses can also include hinged doors, i.e. further frame components; Fig. 1, 32 and 34 electronics compartments, i.e. chassis, are also frame components) positioned inside the internal volume (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, internal volume of 24L and 24R recesses), the frame comprising a chassis (Fig. 1, 32 and 34 electronics compartments is placed in recesses) and a hinge connection (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, 24L and 24R recesses comprise structural components, i.e. a frame; Par. 0070 recesses can also include hinged doors, i.e. further frame components); and a printed circuit board (PCB) mounted to the chassis (Fig. 1, 32 and 34 electronics compartments have electronics components, which are mounted, i.e. PCB).
In regards to claim 2, Abdollahi discloses the enclosure comprises a seamless enclosure (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, 24L and 24R recesses are seamless on the exterior side); and the enclosure defines an assembly access (Par. 0055 “ribs 25 protruding into recesses 24L and 24R. Ribs 25 may, for example, bear against the sides of compartments 34 and 32 to hold them in place in recesses 24L and 24R.”) opposite the tip of the arm (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, 24L and 24R recesses are opposite the tip of the arm, i.e. strap end of arm).
In regards to claim 3, Abdollahi discloses the frame (Fig. 1, 32 and 34 electronics compartments, i.e. chassis, are also frame components) is insertable into the internal volume through the assembly access (Par. 0055 “ribs 25 protruding into recesses 24L and 24R. Ribs 25 may, for example, bear against the sides of compartments 34 and 32 to hold them in place in recesses 24L and 24R.”).
In regards to claim 4, Abdollahi discloses the frame is deformable (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, 24L and 24R recesses comprise structural components, i.e. a frame; Par. 0070 recesses can also include hinged doors, i.e. further frame components; Fig. 1, 32 and 34 electronics compartments, i.e. chassis, are also frame components; the elements of the frame are made of material which have their own level of deformability).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdollahi, US-20140139407, in view of Ainsworth, US-20170351120.
In regards to claim 5, Abdollahi discloses the frame (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, 24L and 24R recesses comprise structural components, i.e. a frame; Par. 0070 recesses can also include hinged doors, i.e. further frame components; Fig. 1, 32 and 34 electronics compartments, i.e. chassis, are also frame components).
Abdollahi does not disclose expressly the frame further comprising: a first material; and a second material that differs from the first material.
Ainsworth discloses a head-mounted display (Par. 0003 head-mounted eyewear with image display, i.e. HMD) having a frame further comprising: a first material (Par. 0046 “a single housing or frame (e.g., formed from plastic, metal and/or composite material)”); and a second material that differs from the first material (Par. 0046 “a single housing or frame (e.g., formed from plastic, metal and/or composite material)”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the frame of Abdollahi as defined above can comprise first and second materials as Ainsworth discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been a design choice based on the structural needs of the HMD, without departing from the scope of the invention.
In regards to claim 6, Ainsworth further discloses the first material is a plastic material (Par. 0046 “a single housing or frame (e.g., formed from plastic, metal and/or composite material)”); and the second material is a metal material (Par. 0046 “a single housing or frame (e.g., formed from plastic, metal and/or composite material)”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the frame of Abdollahi as defined above can comprise first and second materials as Ainsworth discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been a design choice based on the structural needs of the HMD, without departing from the scope of the invention.
In regards to claim 7, Abdollahi discloses the frame (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, 24L and 24R recesses comprise structural components, i.e. a frame; Par. 0070 recesses can also include hinged doors, i.e. further frame components; Fig. 1, 32 and 34 electronics compartments, i.e. chassis, are also frame components).
Abdollahi does not disclose expressly the frame comprises a plastic material.
Ainsworth discloses a head-mounted display (Par. 0003 head-mounted eyewear with image display, i.e. HMD) having a frame; the frame comprises a plastic material (Par. 0046 “a single housing or frame (e.g., formed from plastic, metal and/or composite material)”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the frame of Abdollahi as defined above can comprise first and second materials as Ainsworth discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been a design choice based on the structural needs of the HMD, without departing from the scope of the invention.
In regards to claim 8, Abdollahi discloses the frame (Fig. 1 and 2A-2B, 24L and 24R recesses comprise structural components, i.e. a frame; Par. 0070 recesses can also include hinged doors, i.e. further frame components; Fig. 1, 32 and 34 electronics compartments, i.e. chassis, are also frame components).
Abdollahi does not disclose expressly the frame comprises a metal material.
Ainsworth discloses a head-mounted display (Par. 0003 head-mounted eyewear with image display, i.e. HMD) having a frame; the frame comprises a metal material (Par. 0046 “a single housing or frame (e.g., formed from plastic, metal and/or composite material)”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the frame of Abdollahi as defined above can comprise first and second materials as Ainsworth discloses. The motivation for doing so would have been a design choice based on the structural needs of the HMD, without departing from the scope of the invention.
Conclusion
/CORY A ALMEIDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628