DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being by Osterhout, US-20180143451
In regards to claim 21, Osterhout discloses an arm of a head-mountable display (Fig. 3A-C, 310 side arm), comprising: an enclosure (Fig. 4A-B, 304 temple section) comprising an internal volume (Fig. 4A-B, 410 battery compartment); a frame (Fig. 4A-B, internal structure of 410 battery compartment) positioned inside the internal volume (Fig. 4A-B, 410 battery compartment), the frame comprising a chassis (Fig. 4A-B, internal structure of 410 battery compartment that holds the battery and electrical components, i.e. PCB, that connects to the battery as shown in Fig. 4A-B); and a printed circuit board (PCB) mounted to the chassis (Fig. 4A-B, electrical components, i.e. PCB, that connects to the battery).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-11, filed 4/28/26, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
In regards to claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: an arm of a head-mountable display and specifically including “an enclosure comprising a first surface, and a second surface opposing the first surface, the enclosure defining a tip of the arm and an internal volume; a frame positioned inside the internal volume, the frame comprising a chassis and a hinge connection; and a printed circuit board (PCB) mounted to the chassis.”
In regards to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a head-mountable device and specifically including “an arm connected to the display, the arm comprising: an arm housing comprising a uni-body enclosure, the uni-body enclosure defining a tip of the arm and an internal volume; a frame positioned inside the arm housing at a joint and cantilevered from the joint within the arm housing, the frame comprising a chassis and a hinge connection; and a printed circuit board (PCB) mounted to the chassis.”
In regards to claim 16, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: an arm subassembly of an augmented reality (AR) glasses arm and specifically including “a frame comprising a chassis defining an opening in a central region of the chassis, the chassis comprising: a deformable portion; a rigid portion; and a hinge integrated with the rigid portion, the hinge defining a cable pathway; a printed circuit board (PCB) disposed within the opening; and a cable bundle extending from the PCB and through the cable pathway; wherein the frame is configured to be positioned inside an internal volume defined by an enclosure comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, the enclosure defining a tip of the AR glasses arm and the internal volume.”
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 22, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: n arm of a head-mountable display and specifically including “the frame comprises a multi-material frame positioned within the internal volume, the multi-material frame comprising a hinge region and an end opposite the hinge region; and further comprising a flexible circuit extending from the hinge region of the multi-material frame and beyond the multi-material frame in a longitudinal direction.”
Conclusion
/CORY A ALMEIDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 8/21/26