Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, 7, and 9-13 in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Ben-Daat does not teach the multilayered sheet of the instant application. This is not found persuasive because BEN-DAAT et al. discloses a method of producing a
high-density polyethylene/polyurethane multilayered sheet comprising co-extruding HDPE and TPU [0016], wherein the HDPE comprises unfunctionalized HDPE and functionalized HDPE [0049], thereby producing a HDPE/TPU multilayered sheet [0022]-[0025].
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-17, 19, 22-27 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BEN-DAAT et al. (2018/0281260-of record).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 9, BEN-DAAT et al. discloses a method of producing a
high-density polyethylene/polyurethane multilayered sheet comprising co-extruding HDPE and TPU [0016], wherein the HDPE comprises unfunctionalized HDPE and functionalized HDPE [0049], thereby producing a HDPE/TPU multilayered sheet [0022]-[0025].
Regarding claim 7, BEN-DAAT et al. discloses HDPE comprises at most about 40 wt% [0031].
Regarding claim 10, BEN-DAAT et al. discloses the TPU is a polyester or a polyether [0026].
Regarding claim 13, BEN-DAAT et al. discloses heating between 190 to 230ºC [0064].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEN-DAAT et al. (2018/0281260-of record) as applied above for claims 1-4, 7, 9-19, and 13.
The teachings of BEN-DAAT et al. are applied as described above for claims 1-4,
7, 9-10, and 13.
Regarding claims 11-12, BEN-DAAT et al. discloses TPU includes, but are not limited to, the TEXIN® Series from Covestro, the ELASTOLLAN® Series from BASF, the ESTANE® Series from Lubrizol, and the IROGRAN® Series from Huntsman [0033]. In other words, any type of TPU can be incorporated in the method of BEN-DAAT et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum TPU through routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEN-DAAT et al. (2018/0281260-of record) as applied above for claims 1-4, 7, 9-19, and 13, and in further view of KARJALA et al. (2010/0160497).
The teachings of BEN-DAAT et al. are applied as described above for claims 1-4,
7, 9-10, and 13.
Regarding claim 5, BEN-DAAT et al. is silent to the amount of maleic anhydride.
However, KARJALA et al. teach the amount of maleic anhydride may impact the final structure of the maleated interpolymer and the resulting structure, will in turn affect the properties and use of the final product [0139]. Furthermore, KARJALA et al. discloses the amount of maleic anhydride is less than 10 wt.% (based on the weight of the reactive composition) [0136]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum amount of malaic anhydride for the HDPE layer of BEN-DAAT et al. through routine experimentation because KARJALA et al. teach the amount of maleic anhydride is based on the weight of the reactive composition and the amount matters in achieving the desired properties of the final product.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1) KARJALA et al. (2010/0160497) discloses functionalized olefin interpolymers, compositions and articles prepared therefrom, and method for making the same.
2) WOOD (2009/0199347) discloses method for treating textile material for use in reinforced elastomeric articles.
3) DIAO et al. (CN 115447093) discloses co-extrusion control system for preparing modified PC and TPU composite material.
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742