DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CH000607/2022, filed on 11/18/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application.
Claim(s) 1 and 16-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gochar JR (U.S. 20020125450 A1).
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because in Figs. 2 and 3, drawings are difficult to review with respect to the specification. The drawings are objected to because the Examiner may require and is requiring descriptive text labels, “Fig.1: box 30, box 40; Fig.2: box 42, 44 46 and 48, Fig.5: box 30, box 40, respectively … 1) in the drawings do not show every feature of the invention specified in the claims-- or 2) is an unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels” [MPEP 608.02(b) examiner note]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 16-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gochar JR (U.S. 20020125450 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gochar discloses Method for optically checking molded parts in a transmitted light method, more particularly closures or the like produced by thermoforming or compression molding methods in a manufacturing process, (Paragraph 11: “ an inspection system for inspecting each of a series of serially fed work pieces in a stream of work pieces, such as plastic molded caps or the like”; Fig.1 and Paragraph 23: “a presently preferred embodiment of a vision inspection system 10 and associated method for industrial parts 12 is shown. The system 10 in a presently preferred form is utilized to inspect each of a series of serially fed work pieces in a stream of work pieces for defects or the like.”) comprising
transporting the molded parts (Fig.1: the cap 12) from a transport device through an optical checking area (Fig.1 An inspection window 54), and recording at least one image of the molded part using a recording device, whereby the molded part (Fig.1: the cap 12) is located between the recording device (Fig.1: camera 46) and an illumination device (Fig.1: light source 50 ) and is illuminated by same, (Paragraphs 24-29: “As shown in FIG. 1, the vision system 10 includes a feed conveyor 22 having a belt 24 trained for travel around a pair of rotating rollers 26 (only one of which is shown in FIG. 1), at least one of which is driven to provide rotation for the feed conveyor 22. … As shown in FIG. 1, a batch 14 of caps 12 is preferably delivered to a top end 34 of an inclined inspection ramp 36 by the feed conveyor 22. Similarly, the caps 12 are discharged at a bottom end of the inspection ramp 36 onto the discharge conveyor 28 for subsequent processing, packaging or the like. The delivery rate or speed of the feed conveyor 22 depends upon the required inspection rate for the caps 12, the size of the caps 12 and other relevant factors … The inspection station 44 also includes a light source 50 preferably mounted on a support frame 52 on a back surface of the inspection ramp 36 and in-line with the viewing axis of the camera 46 to back light the cap 12 to produce an image of the cap 12 by the camera 46”)
whereby the image is evaluated using processing means in such a way that defects of the molded part and/or statistical data are able to be determined, from which conclusions are able to be drawn about a manufacturing process of the molded parts in a molding tool having a cavity, whereby the conclusions are able to be used to control the manufacturing process. (Paragraphs 35-38: “The image produced by the camera 46 of each individual cap 12 is conveyed to a computer 58 or a processing unit electrically and operably coupled to the camera 46. As with known vision systems, the processing unit or computer 58 analyzes each of the images generated by the camera 46 with respect to predetermined quality control standards to detect possible defects or problems with each cap 12, such as an upstanding tab, off-center or missing liner, a moon-cut liner, a cap which is not properly formed or similar defects. … If the computer 58 determines that the cap 12 has any one of a number of identifiable defects, a control signal is sent from the computer or processing unit 58 to a rejection mechanism 60 coupled thereto. The rejection mechanism 60 may be an air jet or any one of a number of items designed to remove the identified cap 12 from a stream of caps.”)
Regarding claim 16, Gochar discloses customizable algorithms are able to be used for the evaluation. (Paragraph 35: “the processing unit or computer 58 analyzes each of the images generated by the camera 46 with respect to predetermined quality control standards to detect possible defects or problems with each cap 12, such as an upstanding tab, off-center or missing liner, a moon-cut liner, a cap which is not properly formed or similar defects.”)
Regarding claim 17, Gochar discloses inclusions in the form of air pockets, foreign bodies and/or solidified material are able to be detected. (Paragraph 35: “the processing unit or computer 58 analyzes each of the images generated by the camera 46 with respect to predetermined quality control standards to detect possible defects or problems with each cap 12, such as an upstanding tab, off-center or missing liner, a moon-cut liner, a cap which is not properly formed or similar defects.”; Paragraph 15: “If a particular cap fails the analysis, a rejection mechanism, typically an air jet or the like, is coupled to the processing unit to receive a control signal from the processing unit and, if such a signal is received by the air jet or other rejection mechanism, the identified cap is then removed from the stream by the air jet or other rejection mechanism)
Regarding claim 18, Gochar discloses the optical checking of the molded part is carried out using the transmitted light method for the entire surface of the molded part. (Paragraph 30-31: “The inspection window 54 preferably produces a high diffusion of the light and may be opal glass. Alternatively, the inspection window 54 and ramp 36 may be UMW plastic with the ramp being 0.5 inches thick and the window 0.0625 inch thick for better light transmission. The spacing of the light source 50 from the cap 12 being inspected at the inspection station 44 and the spacing of the camera 46 from the cap 12 is dependent upon the diameter of the cap and the size of the lens being utilized within the camera 46.”)
Regarding claim 19, Gochar discloses the optical checking of the molded part is carried out by transmitted light along flow lines in order to detect defects in the form of color deviations, streaks, holes, depressions, burns, foreign material and/or cracks. (Paragraphs 34-35: “Backlighting of the caps 12 by the light source 50 in many instances allows for better contrast and image quality by the vision system 10. An infrared light source 50 provides increased imaging capabilities for particular colors of caps 12, for example white caps with white liners, which with previously known vision systems are difficult to accurately inspect. the processing unit or computer 58 analyzes each of the images generated by the camera 46 with respect to predetermined quality control standards to detect possible defects or problems with each cap 12, such as an upstanding tab, off-center or missing liner, a moon-cut liner, a cap which is not properly formed or similar defects.”)
Regarding claim 20, Gochar discloses the optical inspection is able to be used in the transmitted light method to detect streaks after a color change in the material. (Paragraphs 34-35: “Backlighting of the caps 12 by the light source 50 in many instances allows for better contrast and image quality by the vision system 10. An infrared light source 50 provides increased imaging capabilities for particular colors of caps 12, for example white caps with white liners, which with previously known vision systems are difficult to accurately inspect. the processing unit or computer 58 analyzes each of the images generated by the camera 46 with respect to predetermined quality control standards to detect possible defects or problems with each cap 12, such as an upstanding tab, off-center or missing liner, a moon-cut liner, a cap which is not properly formed or similar defects.”)
Regarding claim 21, Gochar discloses detectable streaks are able to be traced back to material properties, temperature of the process and/or to a leaky temperature control system of a mold. Paragraphs 34-35: “Backlighting of the caps 12 by the light source 50 in many instances allows for better contrast and image quality by the vision system 10. An infrared light source 50 provides increased imaging capabilities for particular colors of caps 12, for example white caps with white liners, which with previously known vision systems are difficult to accurately inspect. the processing unit or computer 58 analyzes each of the images generated by the camera 46 with respect to predetermined quality control standards to detect possible defects or problems with each cap 12, such as an upstanding tab, off-center or missing liner, a moon-cut liner, a cap which is not properly formed or similar defects.”; Paragraph 3: “Examples of defects in such closure caps include a liner which is positioned off center within the closure, a missing liner, a malformed liner (commonly referred to as a "moon-cut" liner), a cap which is asymmetric or off-round, a cap having an edge broken or flashing on the edge from extraneous plastic material, a pull tab defect on the liner or other similar problems. Such flaws or defects are sometimes produced during the manufacturing process and/or as a result of contamination or damage after manufacture, but prior to the filling of the container.”)
Regarding claim 22, Gochar discloses the detectable depressions and/or holes are in the form of micro-holes which can be traced back to deposits in the mold in the region of an injection point. (Paragraphs 34-35: “Backlighting of the caps 12 by the light source 50 in many instances allows for better contrast and image quality by the vision system 10. An infrared light source 50 provides increased imaging capabilities for particular colors of caps 12, for example white caps with white liners, which with previously known vision systems are difficult to accurately inspect. the processing unit or computer 58 analyzes each of the images generated by the camera 46 with respect to predetermined quality control standards to detect possible defects or problems with each cap 12, such as an upstanding tab, off-center or missing liner, a moon-cut liner, a cap which is not properly formed or similar defects.”; Paragraph 3)
Regarding claim 23, Gochar discloses the optical checking using the transmitted light method is able to be used to detect and check engravings and/or markings on the molded part. (Paragraphs 34-35: “Backlighting of the caps 12 by the light source 50 in many instances allows for better contrast and image quality by the vision system 10. An infrared light source 50 provides increased imaging capabilities for particular colors of caps 12, for example white caps with white liners, which with previously known vision systems are difficult to accurately inspect. the processing unit or computer 58 analyzes each of the images generated by the camera 46 with respect to predetermined quality control standards to detect possible defects or problems with each cap 12, such as an upstanding tab, off-center or missing liner, a moon-cut liner, a cap which is not properly formed or similar defects.”; Paragraph 3)
Regarding claim 24, Gochar discloses optical checking using the transmitted light method is able to be used to determine the placement and shape of an injection point. (Paragraphs 34-35: “Backlighting of the caps 12 by the light source 50 in many instances allows for better contrast and image quality by the vision system 10. An infrared light source 50 provides increased imaging capabilities for particular colors of caps 12, for example white caps with white liners, which with previously known vision systems are difficult to accurately inspect. the processing unit or computer 58 analyzes each of the images generated by the camera 46 with respect to predetermined quality control standards to detect possible defects or problems with each cap 12, such as an upstanding tab, off-center or missing liner, a moon-cut liner, a cap which is not properly formed or similar defects.”; Paragraph 3: “Examples of defects in such closure caps include a liner which is positioned off center within the closure, a missing liner, a malformed liner (commonly referred to as a "moon-cut" liner), a cap which is asymmetric or off-round, a cap having an edge broken or flashing on the edge from extraneous plastic material, a pull tab defect on the liner or other similar problems. Such flaws or defects are sometimes produced during the manufacturing process and/or as a result of contamination or damage after manufacture, but prior to the filling of the container.”)
Regarding claim 25, Gochar discloses the optical checking using the transmitted light method is able to be used to check the uniformity of wall thicknesses of the molded part and/or to check for a core shift. (Paragraphs 34-35: “Backlighting of the caps 12 by the light source 50 in many instances allows for better contrast and image quality by the vision system 10. An infrared light source 50 provides increased imaging capabilities for particular colors of caps 12, for example white caps with white liners, which with previously known vision systems are difficult to accurately inspect. the processing unit or computer 58 analyzes each of the images generated by the camera 46 with respect to predetermined quality control standards to detect possible defects or problems with each cap 12, such as an upstanding tab, off-center or missing liner, a moon-cut liner, a cap which is not properly formed or similar defects.”; Paragraph 3: “Examples of defects in such closure caps include a liner which is positioned off center within the closure, a missing liner, a malformed liner (commonly referred to as a "moon-cut" liner), a cap which is asymmetric or off-round, a cap having an edge broken or flashing on the edge from extraneous plastic material, a pull tab defect on the liner or other similar problems. Such flaws or defects are sometimes produced during the manufacturing process and/or as a result of contamination or damage after manufacture, but prior to the filling of the container.”)
Regarding claim 26, Gochar discloses the optical checking using the transmitted light method is able to be used to detect ovality and/or other geometric defects of the molded part. (Paragraphs 34-35: “Backlighting of the caps 12 by the light source 50 in many instances allows for better contrast and image quality by the vision system 10. An infrared light source 50 provides increased imaging capabilities for particular colors of caps 12, for example white caps with white liners, which with previously known vision systems are difficult to accurately inspect. the processing unit or computer 58 analyzes each of the images generated by the camera 46 with respect to predetermined quality control standards to detect possible defects or problems with each cap 12, such as an upstanding tab, off-center or missing liner, a moon-cut liner, a cap which is not properly formed or similar defects.”; Paragraph 3: “Examples of defects in such closure caps include a liner which is positioned off center within the closure, a missing liner, a malformed liner (commonly referred to as a "moon-cut" liner), a cap which is asymmetric or off-round, a cap having an edge broken or flashing on the edge from extraneous plastic material, a pull tab defect on the liner or other similar problems. Such flaws or defects are sometimes produced during the manufacturing process and/or as a result of contamination or damage after manufacture, but prior to the filling of the container.”)
Regarding claim 27, Gochar discloses wherein the optical inspection is able to be carried out using the transmitted light method in combination with an incident light method and/or in line with the manufacturing process of the molded parts. (Paragraphs 29-35: “The inspection station 44 also includes a light source 50 preferably mounted on a support frame 52 on a back surface of the inspection ramp 36 and in-line with the viewing axis of the camera 46 to back light the cap 12 to produce an image of the cap 12 by the camera 46. In a presently preferred embodiment, the light source 50 is an infrared or other color LED strobe light which is preferably adjustable to provide a frequency as is appropriate for the inspection rate of the caps 12, typically as high as 1600 per minute depending on the size of the caps being inspected and other system 10 requirements. Some CCD cameras include an infrared cut filter installed by the manufacturer. If such is the case and an IR light source is used with this system, this filter must be removed. The light source 50 is most preferably in line with the camera 46 and on the opposite side of the cap 12 at the inspection station.”; Paragraph 3; Paragraph 43: “Referring to FIG. 2, a schematic representation of an image 62 of a cap 12 and liner 20 produced according to the system 10 of FIG. 1 is shown. The image 62 was produced from an IR LED light source 50 of a 38 mm cap 12 with the liner 20.”)
Regarding claim 28, Gochar discloses System for optically checking molded parts according to a method according to claim 1, comprising a transport device for transporting the molded parts into an optical checking area, a recording device for producing an image of the molded part and processing means, to which the image can be transmitted for checking, and an illumination device for checking the molded part during the optical check using the transmitted light method, (Paragraphs 24-29: “As shown in FIG. 1, the vision system 10 includes a feed conveyor 22 having a belt 24 trained for travel around a pair of rotating rollers 26 (only one of which is shown in FIG. 1), at least one of which is driven to provide rotation for the feed conveyor 22. … As shown in FIG. 1, a batch 14 of caps 12 is preferably delivered to a top end 34 of an inclined inspection ramp 36 by the feed conveyor 22. Similarly, the caps 12 are discharged at a bottom end of the inspection ramp 36 onto the discharge conveyor 28 for subsequent processing, packaging or the like. The delivery rate or speed of the feed conveyor 22 depends upon the required inspection rate for the caps 12, the size of the caps 12 and other relevant factors … The inspection station 44 also includes a light source 50 preferably mounted on a support frame 52 on a back surface of the inspection ramp 36 and in-line with the viewing axis of the camera 46 to back light the cap 12 to produce an image of the cap 12 by the camera 46”) wherein defects of the molded part and/or statistical data are able to be determined. (Paragraph 35: “The image produced by the camera 46 of each individual cap 12 is conveyed to a computer 58 or a processing unit electrically and operably coupled to the camera 46. As with known vision systems, the processing unit or computer 58 analyzes each of the images generated by the camera 46 with respect to predetermined quality control standards to detect possible defects or problems with each cap 12, such as an upstanding tab, off-center or missing liner, a moon-cut liner, a cap which is not properly formed or similar defects.”)
Regarding claim 29, Gochar discloses the illumination device is provided to illuminate the molded part directly or indirectly during the recording of the image. (Paragraphs 30-32: “An inspection window 54 which is preferably transparent, translucent or the like so that at least some light may pass there through to illuminate the cap 12 may be provided at the inspection station 44 in line with the camera 46 and the light source 50 … the inspection window 54 preferably produces a high diffusion of the light and may be opal glass. … the spacing is optimized to fully illuminate the cap 12 while providing a full size image of the cap 12 in the field of view of the camera 46.”)
Regarding claim 30, Gochar discloses the molded parts are transported into the optical checking area by side belts or guided by a star wheel. (Paragraphs 24-29: “As shown in FIG. 1, a batch 14 of caps 12 is preferably delivered to a top end 34 of an inclined inspection ramp 36 by the feed conveyor 22. Similarly, the caps 12 are discharged at a bottom end of the inspection ramp 36 onto the discharge conveyor 28 for subsequent processing, packaging or the like. … The inspection station 44 also includes a light source 50 preferably mounted on a support frame 52 on a back surface of the inspection ramp 36 and in-line with the viewing axis of the camera 46 to back light the cap 12 to produce an image of the cap 12 by the camera 46.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Piana Stefan et al (WO-2008011960 A1), “ Inspection Apparatus for Containers”, teaches about an inspection device that allows a more versatile control of the containers within a shorter time. It also teaches about The container inspection device has a first illumination device which directs light with first characteristic properties onto the bottom of the container; a second illumination device is provided, which directs light with second characteristic properties, which distinguish it from the first characteristic properties, on the bottom of the container, and at least one image pickup device, the at least a portion of the directed to the bottom of the container and transmitted by this Light of both lighting devices receives.
MaiBach et al (U.S. 20180246043 A1), “Testing Method and Testing System”, teaches about the testing method for testing workpieces, which are provided for producing containers, whereby the workpieces are transported into a receiving vessel by means of a transport device, and whereby an image of the workpieces is generated by means of a capturing device and is transmitted to a processing device for testing, the workpieces are led into the receiving vessel upon leaving the transport device, whereby the image is generated between the departure from the transport device and the receiving vessel, and the image is processed by the processing device in such a way that the quality of the basic body and/or the quality of the barrier layer of the workpieces is tested in order to detect defective workpieces.
Kubalek et al (U.S. 20190168434 A1), “Optical Inspection System for Preforms”, teaches about an optical inspection system for hollow bodies, in particular preforms, with at least one camera device for making images of the surface regions of the preforms to be inspected.
Ota et al (U.S. 20210302323 A1), “Display Control Device and Storage Medium”, teaches about display control device is configured to carry out a display process in which a marker indicating a defect of a mold determined by an inspection result, which is obtained by an inspection of molds, is optically displayed on the mold.
Beyerer et al (U.S. 6,965,120 B1), “Method And Apparatus For Quality Control In The Manufacture Of Foundry Cores Or Core Packets”, teaches about A method and an apparatus for object recognition, in particular defect detection on workpieces, such as core packets, wherein the object is illuminated by a light source and recorded and detected by means of a camera , and wherein the data obtained from the recording are processed or, if need be, stored by means of a computer.
/DUY TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2674
/ONEAL R MISTRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2674