DETAILED ACTION
The present office action represents a nonfinal action on the merits.
Priority
This application claims the priority date of a foreign application JP2022-082495 dated May 19, 2022.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a clustering unit ”, in claim 1, “a first feature amount generation unit”, in claims 1 and 4-5, “an estimation unit”, in claims 1, 2, and 4-5, “a second feature amount generation unit” in claims 2 and 5.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The Examiner has reviewed the as-filed disclosure and has made the following findings: “a clustering unit” – an embodiment of the structure is described at the Specification Paragraphs [0009], [0016], [0020], [0053], [0060], and [0107]-[0108], indicates that the various recited components are components of a general-purpose computer. The Examiner finds that there is sufficient algorithmic description of the claimed functionality such that sufficient structure (computer + algorithm) is disclosed. Further, “a first feature amount generation unit” – an embodiment of the structure is described at the Specification Paragraphs [0009], [0016], [0020], [0053], [0060], and [0107]-[0108], indicates that the various recited components are components of a general-purpose computer. The Examiner finds that there is sufficient algorithmic description of the claimed functionality such that sufficient structure (computer + algorithm) is disclosed. “[A]n estimation unit”– an embodiment of the structure is described at the Specification Paragraphs [0009], [0016], [0020], [0053], [0060], and [0107]-[0108], indicates that the various recited components are components of a general-purpose computer. The Examiner finds that there is sufficient algorithmic description of the claimed functionality such that sufficient structure (computer + algorithm) is disclosed. Further, “a second feature amount generation unit” – an embodiment of the structure is described at the Specification Paragraphs [0009], [0016], [0020], [0053], [0060], and [0107]-[0108], indicates that the various recited components are components of a general-purpose computer. The Examiner finds that there is sufficient algorithmic description of the claimed functionality such that sufficient structure (computer + algorithm) is disclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-6 are drawn to an information processing system, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., machine). Claim 7 is drawn to an information processing method by a computer, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., process).
Claims 1-6 recite an information processing system comprising:
a clustering unit that inputs, to a clustering model that classifies behavior patterns of a plurality of depression patients into a plurality of clusters, behavior record information in which time of behavior performed by an object person during a first period is recorded for each behavior type, and classifies behavior patterns of the object person into any of the plurality of clusters;
a first feature amount generation unit that, based on measurement information including an activity amount and a sleep time of the object person measured during a second period, generates a first feature amount indicating an activity state of the object person for each partial period included in the second period; and
an estimation unit that estimates, for each of the plurality of clusters, a magnitude of psychological stress of the object person after the second period based on object person information including attribute information of the object person, a cluster into which the object person is classified, and the first feature amount.
Claim 7 recites an information processing method by a computer, the information processing method comprising:
a clustering step of inputting, to a clustering model that classifies behavior patterns of a plurality of depression patients into a plurality of clusters, behavior record information in which time of behavior performed by an object person during a first period is recorded for each behavior type, and classifies behavior patterns of the object person into any of the plurality of clusters;
a first feature amount generation step of, based on measurement information including an activity amount and a sleep time of the object person measured during a second period, generating a first feature amount indicating an activity state of the object person for each partial period included in the second period; and
an estimation step of estimating, for each of the plurality of clusters, a magnitude of psychological stress of the object person after the second period based on object person information including attribute information of the object person, a cluster into which the object person is classified, and the first feature amount.
The bolded limitations, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a certain method of organizing human activity and mathematical concepts, but for the recitation of generic computer components. The underlined limitations are not part of the identified abstract idea (the method of organizing human activity or mathematical concepts) and are deemed “additional elements,” and will be discussed in further detail below.
Dependent claims 2-6 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide an inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination.
The dependent claims include additional limitations but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claims 1 and 7.
The additional elements from claim 1 include:
an information processing system comprising (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
a clustering unit (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
a first feature amount generation unit (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
an estimation unit (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements from claim 7 include:
a computer (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Additional elements found in dependent claims:
a second feature amount generation unit (apply it, MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claims 1-7 are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (i.e., the limitations not identified as part of the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception – for example, the recitation of a “an information processing system comprising”, “a clustering unit”, “a first feature amount generation unit”, “an estimation unit”, “a computer”, “a second feature amount generation unit”, which amounts to merely invoking a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea e.g. see Specification Paragraphs [0033]-[0036], [0050]-[0055], [0060]-[0062], [0069]-[0073], and [0094] (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Furthermore, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception because, the additional elements (i.e., the elements other than the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, as demonstrated by:
The Specification discloses that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional in nature (i.e., Paragraphs [0033]-[0036], [0050]-[0055], [0060]-[0062], [0069]-[0073], and [0094] of the Specification discloses that the additional elements (i.e., an information processing system comprising, a clustering unit, a first feature amount generation unit, an estimation unit, a computer, a second feature amount generation unit) comprise a plurality of different types of generic computing systems that are configured to perform generic computer functions that are well understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry (i.e., healthcare);
Relevant court decisions: The following are examples of court decisions demonstrating well-understood, routine and conventional activities, e.g. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II):
Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g. see Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec – similarly, the current invention acquires patient behavior record information.
Dependent claims 2-6 include other limitations, but none of these functions are deemed significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements recited in the aforementioned dependent claims similarly represent no more than those found in the independent claims and additionally, “a second feature amount generation unit”.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to “significantly more” than the above identified abstract idea. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, and there is no indication that the combination of elements improves predicting recurrence and worsening of depression symptoms in advance or improves any other technology.
Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, claims 1-7 are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwagi (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0284983 A1) in view of Rau (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0106265 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kashiwagi discloses an information processing system comprising:
a clustering unit that inputs, to a clustering model that classifies behavior patterns (Examiner interprets behavior patterns as physical activity based on “in a case where the behavior of the user U is classified into 16 items, the items may include “sleep”, “meal/snack”, “bath”, “work/study”, “average viewing time of media such as TV or DVE”, and the like.” See Specification Paragraph [0017].) of a plurality of depression patients into a plurality of clusters, behavior record information in which time of behavior performed by an object person during a first period is recorded for each behavior type, and classifies behavior patterns of the object person into any of the plurality of clusters (Paragraphs [0021], [0055], [0057], [0066], and [0718] discuss a clustering device includes a processor that executes the clustering process, the processor selects features for clustering in accordance with a degree of importance of features that are used to generate an identifier through the machine learning on the basis of measurement data on brain activities, brain activities are measured by the fMRI as described above while a subject is performing some physical activity and that provide information related to selection of a therapy for a subject with depression symptoms on the basis of the results of measurement of brain activities of the subject using the discriminator (identifier) or the classifier as a biomarker, the features based on a plurality of brain functional connectivity correlation values that represent time correlation of brain activities; it is possible to evaluate whether or not taking a certain “training” or following a certain “behavior pattern” is effective to improve the health of a subject.);
a first feature amount generation unit that, based on measurement information including an activity amount of the object person measured during a second period, (Examiner interprets “second period” as a predetermined period. See Specification Paragraph [0033].) generates a first feature amount indicating an activity state of the object person for each partial period included in the second period (Paragraphs [0021], [0063]-[0066], and [0686] discuss the clustering device receives, from a plurality of brain activity measurement devices that are measured while the subject is performing some physical activity, information that represents time correlation of brain activities among a plurality of predetermined brain area pairs for each of the plurality of second subjects; brain activities of traveling subject are measured while the subject travels from measurement site to measurement site, though not limiting, in a prescribed period (for example, in a one-year period) and the fMRI measurement data of the traveling subject, attribute data of the subject, and measurement parameters are collected from respective measurement sites to storage device of data center.) .
Kashiwagi does not explicitly disclose:
a sleep time of the object person measured during a second period; and
an estimation unit that estimates, for each of the plurality of clusters, a magnitude of psychological stress of the object person after the second period based on object person information including attribute information of the object person, a cluster into which the object person is classified, and the first feature amount.
Rau teaches:
a sleep time of the object person measured during a second period (Paragraphs [0011] discuss provide wearable multi-sensor integrated devices with data fusion analytics designed to monitor and record patients' vital parameters, sleep patterns and patient reported changes in their daily life patterns over a specific time period.); and
an estimation unit that estimates, for each of the plurality of clusters, a magnitude of psychological stress of the object person after the second period based on object person information including attribute information of the object person, a cluster into which the object person is classified, and the first feature amount (Paragraphs [0069], [0107], [0131], and [0499]-[0500] discuss an algorithm that, assuming that a plurality of objects to be clustered arise in accordance with a certain probability distribution in each cluster, performs clustering to estimate the “probability distribution” depending on the features; the risk classification includes the measurement and classification of the stress severity level of the subject, differences from a patient's baseline (resting) information are computed, and those differences showing significance (statistical) and/or above the thresholds developed from each characteristic illness group averages are summarized into three features: duration, frequency, and intensity levels, providing real-time information with higher specificity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kashiwagi to include, a sleep time of the object person measured during a second period and an estimation unit that estimates, for each of the plurality of clusters, a magnitude of psychological stress of the object person after the second period based on object person information including attribute information of the object person, a cluster into which the object person is classified, and the first feature amount, as taught by Rau, in order to provide for improved methods and apparatus for treatment and monitoring of mental health patients. (Rau Paragraph [0003].).
Regarding claim 2, Kashiwagi does not explicitly disclose further comprising a second feature amount generation unit that generates a second feature amount indicating a behavior pattern of the object person for each partial period included in the second period from behavior record information in which time of behavior performed by the object person during the second period is recorded for each behavior type,
wherein the estimation unit estimates, for each of the plurality of clusters, a magnitude of psychological stress of the object person after the second period based on the object person information, the cluster into which the object person is classified, the first feature amount, and the second feature amount.
Rau teaches:
further comprising a second feature amount generation unit that generates a second feature amount indicating a behavior pattern of the object person for each partial period included in the second period from behavior record information in which time of behavior performed by the object person during the second period is recorded for each behavior type (Paragraph [0011] discusses provide wearable multi-sensor integrated devices with data fusion analytics designed to monitor and record patients' vital parameters, sleep patterns and patient reported changes in their daily life patterns over a specific time period.),
wherein the estimation unit estimates, for each of the plurality of clusters, a magnitude of psychological stress of the object person after the second period based on the object person information, the cluster into which the object person is classified, the first feature amount, and the second feature amount (Paragraphs [0011], [0069], [0107], and [0131] discuss provide wearable multi-sensor integrated devices with data fusion analytics designed to monitor and record patients' vital parameters, sleep patterns and patient reported changes in their daily life patterns over a specific time period and the risk classification includes the measurement and classification of the stress severity level of the subject, differences from a patient's baseline (resting) information are computed, and those differences showing significance (statistical) and/or above the thresholds developed from each characteristic illness group averages are summarized into three features: duration, frequency, and intensity levels. These data elements are organized into a matrix configuration to perform inferential analytics and severity indices for different illnesses. This objective patient measurement data from the present invention helps the clinicians by providing real-time information with higher specificity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kashiwagi to include, further comprising a second feature amount generation unit that generates a second feature amount indicating a behavior pattern of the object person for each partial period included in the second period from behavior record information in which time of behavior performed by the object person during the second period is recorded for each behavior type and wherein the estimation unit estimates, for each of the plurality of clusters, a magnitude of psychological stress of the object person after the second period based on the object person information, the cluster into which the object person is classified, the first feature amount, and the second feature amount, as taught by Rau, in order to provide for improved methods and apparatus for treatment and monitoring of mental health patients. (Rau Paragraph [0003].).
Regarding claims 3, Kashiwagi does not explicitly disclose wherein the second feature amount includes a number of days during which a length of time of each behavior of the object person falls outside an upper limit or a lower limit of a predetermined confidence interval within the partial period.
Rau teaches:
wherein the second feature amount includes a number of days during which a length of time of each behavior of the object person falls outside an upper limit or a lower limit of a predetermined confidence interval within the partial period (Paragraphs [0127], [0131], [0148], [0161] discuss monitor and record patients' vital parameters, sleep patterns and patient reported changes in their daily life patterns over a specific time period, monitor continuously some or all the parameters selected and configured by the physician and alert the patients when certain predetermined thresholds for these monitored parameters are exceeded and the risk classification includes the measurement and classification of the stress severity level of the subject, differences from a patient's baseline (resting) information are computed, and those differences showing significance (statistical) and/or above the thresholds developed from each characteristic illness group averages are summarized into three features: duration, frequency, and intensity levels. Clinicians administering and interpreting these tests use these categories, compare with anticipated or expected responses for standardized clinical tests based on a patient's illness and combine the information of significant biometric changes and thresholds provided by this system through the real-time data analytics.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kashiwagi to include, wherein the second feature amount includes a number of days during which a length of time of each behavior of the object person falls outside an upper limit or a lower limit of a predetermined confidence interval within the partial period, as taught by Rau, in order to provide for improved methods and apparatus for treatment and monitoring of mental health patients. (Rau Paragraph [0003].).
Regarding claim 4, Kashiwagi discloses wherein the estimation unit estimates the magnitude of the feature by inputting the object person information and the first feature amount generated by the first feature amount generation unit to an estimation model prepared for a cluster into which a behavior pattern of the object person is classified by machine learning using teacher data in which the object person information and the first feature amount are used as explanatory variables (Paragraphs [0022], [0055], [0057], and [0066] discuss brain activity analysis of the brain by the fMRI enables the estimation of stimulus input or the state of recognition from spatial patterns of the brain activities and a clustering device includes a processor that executes the clustering process, the processor selects features for clustering in accordance with a degree of importance of features that are used to generate an identifier through the machine learning on the basis of measurement data on brain activities and that provide information related to selection of a therapy for a subject with depression symptoms on the basis of the results of measurement of brain activities of the subject using the discriminator (identifier) or the classifier as a biomarker.).
Kashiwagi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the estimation unit estimates the magnitude of the psychological stress by inputting the object person information and the magnitude of the psychological stress is used as an objective function.
Rau teaches:
wherein the estimation unit estimates the magnitude of the psychological stress by inputting the object person information and the magnitude of the psychological stress is used as an objective function (Paragraphs [0011], [0069], [0107], and [0131] discuss provide wearable multi-sensor integrated devices with data fusion analytics designed to monitor and record patients' vital parameters, sleep patterns and patient reported changes in their daily life patterns over a specific time period and the risk classification includes the measurement and classification of the stress severity level of the subject, differences from a patient's baseline (resting) information are computed, and those differences showing significance (statistical) and/or above the thresholds developed from each characteristic illness group averages are summarized into three features: duration, frequency, and intensity levels. These data elements are organized into a matrix configuration to perform inferential analytics and severity indices for different illnesses. This objective patient measurement data from the present invention helps the clinicians by providing real-time information with higher specificity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kashiwagi to include, wherein the estimation unit estimates the magnitude of the psychological stress by inputting the object person information and the magnitude of the psychological stress is used as an objective function, as taught by Rau, in order to provide for improved methods and apparatus for treatment and monitoring of mental health patients. (Rau Paragraph [0003].).
Regarding claim 5, Kashiwagi does not explicitly disclose wherein the estimation unit estimates the magnitude of the psychological stress by inputting the object person information, the first feature amount generated by the first feature amount generation unit, and the second feature amount generated by the second feature amount generation unit to an estimation model prepared for a cluster in which a behavior pattern of the object person is classified by machine learning using 26 teacher data in which the object person information, the first feature amount, and the second feature amount are used as explanatory variables and the magnitude of the psychological stress is used as an objective function.
Rau teaches:
wherein the estimation unit estimates the magnitude of the psychological stress by inputting the object person information, the first feature amount generated by the first feature amount generation unit, and the second feature amount generated by the second feature amount generation unit to an estimation model prepared for a cluster in which a behavior pattern of the object person is classified by machine learning using 26 teacher data in which the object person information, the first feature amount, and the second feature amount are used as explanatory variables and the magnitude of the psychological stress is used as an objective function (Paragraphs [0011], [0069], [0107], and [0131] discuss provide wearable multi-sensor integrated devices with data fusion analytics designed to monitor and record patients' vital parameters, sleep patterns and patient reported changes in their daily life patterns over a specific time period and the risk classification includes the measurement and classification of the stress severity level of the subject, differences from a patient's baseline (resting) information are computed, and those differences showing significance (statistical) and/or above the thresholds developed from each characteristic illness group averages are summarized into three features: duration, frequency, and intensity levels. These data elements are organized into a matrix configuration to perform inferential analytics and severity indices for different illnesses. This objective patient measurement data from the present invention helps the clinicians by providing real-time information with higher specificity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kashiwagi to include, wherein the estimation unit estimates the magnitude of the psychological stress by inputting the object person information, the first feature amount generated by the first feature amount generation unit, and the second feature amount generated by the second feature amount generation unit to an estimation model prepared for a cluster in which a behavior pattern of the object person is classified by machine learning using 26 teacher data in which the object person information, the first feature amount, and the second feature amount are used as explanatory variables and the magnitude of the psychological stress is used as an objective function, as taught by Rau, in order to provide for improved methods and apparatus for treatment and monitoring of mental health patients. (Rau Paragraph [0003].).
Regarding claim 6, Kashiwagi discloses wherein the second period is a plurality of weeks, and the partial period is a plurality of days (Paragraphs [0146], [0686], and [0821] discuss time-sequentially measuring brain activities and data for persons treated 0th- sixth week’; brain activities of traveling subject are measured while the subject travels from measurement site to measurement site, though not limiting, in a prescribed period (for example, in a one-year period) and the fMRI measurement data of the traveling subject, attribute data of the subject, and measurement parameters are collected from respective measurement sites to storage device of data center.).
Regarding claim 7, Kashiwagi discloses information processing method by a computer, the information processing method comprising:
a clustering step of inputting, to a clustering model that classifies behavior patterns of a plurality of depression patients into a plurality of clusters, behavior record information in which time of behavior performed by an object person during a first period is recorded for each behavior type, and classifies behavior patterns of the object person into any of the plurality of clusters (Paragraphs [0021], [0055], [0057], [0066], and, [0718] discuss a clustering device includes a processor that executes the clustering process, the processor selects features for clustering in accordance with a degree of importance of features that are used to generate an identifier through the machine learning on the basis of measurement data on brain activities, brain activities are measured by the fMRI as described above while a subject is performing some physical activity and that provide information related to selection of a therapy for a subject with depression symptoms on the basis of the results of measurement of brain activities of the subject using the discriminator (identifier) or the classifier as a biomarker, the features based on a plurality of brain functional connectivity correlation values that represent time correlation of brain activities; it is possible to evaluate whether or not taking a certain “training” or following a certain “behavior pattern” is effective to improve the health of a subject.);
a first feature amount generation step of, based on measurement information including an activity amount of the object person measured during a second period, generating a first feature amount indicating an activity state of the object person for each partial period included in the second period (Paragraphs [0021], [0063]-[0066], and [0686] discuss the clustering device receives, from a plurality of brain activity measurement devices that are measured while the subject is performing some physical activity, information that represents time correlation of brain activities among a plurality of predetermined brain area pairs for each of the plurality of second subjects; brain activities of traveling subject are measured while the subject travels from measurement site to measurement site, though not limiting, in a prescribed period (for example, in a one-year period) and the fMRI measurement data of the traveling subject, attribute data of the subject, and measurement parameters are collected from respective measurement sites to storage device of data center.); and
Kashiwagi does not explicitly disclose:
a sleep time of the object person measured during a second period; and
an estimation step of estimating, for each of the plurality of clusters, a magnitude of psychological stress of the object person after the second period based on object person information including attribute information of the object person, a cluster into which the object person is classified, and the first feature amount.
Rau teaches:
a sleep time of the object person measured during a second period (Paragraphs [0011] discuss provide wearable multi-sensor integrated devices with data fusion analytics designed to monitor and record patients' vital parameters, sleep patterns and patient reported changes in their daily life patterns over a specific time period.); and
an estimation step of estimating, for each of the plurality of clusters, a magnitude of psychological stress of the object person after the second period based on object person information including attribute information of the object person, a cluster into which the object person is classified, and the first feature amount (Paragraphs [0069], [0107], and [0131] discuss the risk classification includes the measurement and classification of the stress severity level of the subject, differences from a patient's baseline (resting) information are computed, and those differences showing significance (statistical) and/or above the thresholds developed from each characteristic illness group averages are summarized into three features: duration, frequency, and intensity levels, providing real-time information with higher specificity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kashiwagi to include, a sleep time of the object person measured during a second period and an estimation step of estimating, for each of the plurality of clusters, a magnitude of psychological stress of the object person after the second period based on object person information including attribute information of the object person, a cluster into which the object person is classified, and the first feature amount, as taught by Rau, in order to provide for improved methods and apparatus for treatment and monitoring of mental health patients. (Rau Paragraph [0003].).
Conclusion
/DAWN T. HAYNES/
Art Unit 3686
/RACHELLE L REICHERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686