Detailed Action
This is the initial office action that has been issued in response to patent application, 18/866,890, filed on 11/18/2024. Claims 13-32, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below. Claim 13, 17, 23 and 24 are independent claim.
Priority
The application claims the foreign priority of application EP22182540.9 filed on 07/01/2022.
Drawing
The drawings filed on 11/18/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS's) submitted on 11/18/2024, are in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole, claims 13-32 are determined to be directed to an abstract idea. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
The claims 13-32 are directed to the abstract idea, an idea of itself. The claim 13-32 recite receiving a signal from trusted authority that indicates user binding to secure element. Limitations in claim herein can be related to different situations like collecting new information and comparing new and stored information. Claim 13 recites receiving signal, comparing the identity data and find out if they match and connecting the computing device when matching takes place. Thus all of these concepts relate to comparing new and stored information and using rules to identify option. The steps can also be related to collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis (Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A. (Fed. Cir. 2016)). The claims do not require the use of a machine and may simply be performed mentally or with a pen and paper. A person can do the calculations and make the decisions without the assistance of a computer. The limitations, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than recited “memory/processing circuitry, non-transitory medium, nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind (or with a pen and paper). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas. Therefore the claims are abstract. The machines claimed to implement the abstract idea are merely generic computer components, including the processor, modules, computing system and computer readable medium. There is nothing present in the claims to indicate that these computing elements differ from any standard computer setup that can execute code with instructions as detailed in the claims.
Claims can be directed to an abstract idea that stands alone without technical implementation required to execute it to be considered abstract. Even if the steps of collecting data, comparing data, updating data and sending the updated data back are implemented via computer instructions, the step of “a user pressing a button to initiate the process” is directed to a conventional human activity that is irrelevant to the patentable features of the instant claim(s) (mayo v. prometheus). The claims do not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are merely instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer and require no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry.
Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a system including a mobile communication device ….., the mobile communication device including a secure element for improving an authorization process, comprising”. Claim language is vague and indefinite. Claim 13 recites a system that includes a mobile device. The claim then recites that the mobile device includes secure element. The claim then further recites “comprising: interface circuitry and processing circuitry”. Examiner doesn’t understand who comprises the interface circuitry and processing circuitry. Examiner can interpret that “a system” comprises the interface and processing circuitry or “the mobile device” comprises the interface and processing circuitry. Thus the claim is incomprehensible.
Claim 14-16 are dependent on claim 13 and inherit the deficiency. Thus dependent claims are also rejected.
Claim 17 recites “a system for..….., the system including a device comprising: interface circuitry…… processing circuitry”. It is not clear if the interface circuitry and processing circuitry belong to the system or the device.
Claim 18-22 are dependent on claim 17 and inherit the deficiency. Thus dependent claims are also rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sibert (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0225662 A1) in view of Bates (US Patent Application Publication No 2021/0150834 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Sibert discloses a system including a mobile communication device configured to communicate with a secure element, the mobile communication device including a secure element for improving an authorization process, comprising;
interface circuitry configured to communicate with a trusted authority (Sibert, ¶[0021], mobile device is configured to store identification information from document and present that to verification system in order to authenticate a user of mobile device which is a holder of document 110. ¶[0023], prior to interacting with verification system 120, mobile device 130 may perform an enrollment process in order for SE to be permitted to store information and interact with verification system. ¶[0047], Fig-3A, secure element SE 134 issues an enrollment request that includes the number, a nonce and a digital signature. The digital signature is generated using a trusted key stored in SE and authentication system may include the corresponding certificate); and
processing circuitry configured to control the interface circuitry and to receive a signal from the trusted authority, wherein the signal comprises information indicative of a user binding to the secure element (Sibert, ¶[0029], SE 134 is configured to associate identification 114 with biometric data captured by biosensor 138 when enrollment is performed in order to ensure that a person later attempting to authenticate with mobile device is the same person during enrollment. SE 134 may also cryptographically bind this value to information 114 by encrypting them together. ¶[0048], after generating a public-key pair, SE 134 issues to validation system 120, a CSR that includes the unique index value along with the additional information. Upon successful validation, SE 134 receives a corresponding certificate certifying the public key pair).
Sibert does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Bates teaches:
trusted authority (Bates, ¶[0032], a digital key could be a symmetric key or a digital certificate that uniquely identifies a user, the certificate being signed by a trusted issuer)
Sibert in view of Bates are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “secure wireless communication”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sibert in view of Bates to include the idea of unlocking a locked system by digital key that can be communicated via any suitable secured communication protocol (Bates, abstract).
Regarding Claim 14, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the system according to claim 13, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
receive, from a device, an invitation signal comprising information indicative of an invitation to generate an authorization key (Sibert, ¶[0027], the enrollment process includes SE 134 establishing a private key that can be used to generate digital signatures to authenticate a user. SE 134 is configured to generate a public key pair and to issue a CSR to receive a corresponding certificate. This CSR may be sent as part of request to authorization system); and
generate an authorization key based on the received invitation signal, wherein the authorization key is a digital key (Sibert, ¶[0047], the digital signature is generated using a trusted key (certified private key). ¶[0060], after successful verification, SE 134 determines what is to be provided to the reader based on the information specified in the received certificate and issues the corresponding information which may be signed by the private key).
Regarding claim 15, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the system of claim 14, the trusted authority comprising:
interface circuitry configured to communicate with the secure element (Sibert, ¶[0023], SE is configured to store a token that is usable to retrieve some or all of the information. NFC interface presents SE with a request for information from reader. Upon receiving a request, SE may verify that the user has been authenticated by mobile device. ¶[0024], mobile device begins enrollment by reading at least a portion of information stored in identification document. Mobile device reads this information from RFID tag via NFC interface); and
processing circuitry configured to control the interface circuitry and to (Sibert, ¶[0029], SE 134 is configured to associate identification 114 with biometric data captured by biosensor 138 when enrollment is performed in order to ensure that a person later attempting to authenticate with mobile device is the same person during enrollment. SE 134 may also cryptographically bind this value to information 114 by encrypting them together):
receive an identifier signal from the secure element, wherein the identifier signal comprises information indicative of an identifier of the secure element (Sibert, ¶[0024], mobile device begins enrollment by reading identification number and name of the person that holds document. ¶[0047], Fig-3A, secure element SE 134 issues an enrollment request that includes the number, a nonce and a digital signature. The digital signature is generated using a trusted key stored in SE and authentication system may include the corresponding certificate); and
perform a user binding of the secure element (Sibert, ¶[0048], after generating a public-key pair, SE 134 issues to validation system 120, a CSR that includes the unique index value along with the additional information. Upon successful validation, SE 134 receives a corresponding certificate certifying the public key pair).
Regarding Claim 16, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to store information about the user binding in an instance certificate authority certificate (Sibert, ¶[0020], backend implements a certificate authority capable of issuing certificates for received certificate signing requests. ¶[0054], authorization system is configured to make backend an intermediate certificate authority which has the ability to issue certificate to readers for public key pairs generated by the readers).
Regarding Claim 17, Sibert discloses a system for improving an authorization process, the system including a device comprising:
interface circuitry configured to communicate with a database (Sibert, ¶[0020], backend maintains a database which may include the information stored in document, an indication of whether document is still valid. ¶[0021], mobile device is configured to store identification information from document and present that to verification system in order to authenticate a user of mobile device which is a holder of document 110. ¶[0023], prior to interacting with verification system 120, mobile device 130 may perform an enrollment process in order for SE to be permitted to store information and interact with verification system. ¶[0047], Fig-3A, secure element SE 134 issues an enrollment request that includes the number, a nonce and a digital signature. The digital signature is generated using a trusted key stored in SE and authentication system may include the corresponding certificate); and
processing circuitry configured to control the interface circuitry and to (Sibert, ¶[0029], SE 134 is configured to associate identification 114 with biometric data captured by biosensor 138 when enrollment is performed in order to ensure that a person later attempting to authenticate with mobile device is the same person during enrollment. SE 134 may also cryptographically bind this value to information 114 by encrypting them together. ¶[0048], after generating a public-key pair, SE 134 issues to validation system 120, a CSR that includes the unique index value along with the additional information. Upon successful validation, SE 134 receives a corresponding certificate certifying the public key pair):
transmit a request for identification information of a secure element to the database (Sibert, ¶[0024], mobile device begins enrollment by reading identification number and name of the person that holds document. ¶[0047], Fig-3A, secure element SE 134 issues an enrollment request that includes the number, a nonce and a digital signature. The digital signature is generated using a trusted key stored in SE and authentication system may include the corresponding certificate); and
receive an identification signal comprising information indicative of the identification information from the database, wherein the identification information comprises at least one of an identifier of the secure element or a user binding information (Sibert, ¶[0048], after generating a public-key pair, SE 134 issues to validation system 120, a CSR that includes the unique index value along with the additional information. Upon successful validation, SE 134 receives a corresponding certificate certifying the public key pair).
Sibert does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Bates teaches:
database (Bates, ¶[0043], sets of database)
Sibert in view of Bates are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “secure wireless communication”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sibert in view of Bates to include the idea of unlocking a locked system by digital key that can be communicated via any suitable secured communication protocol (Bates, abstract).
Regarding Claim 18, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the system according to claim 17, wherein the interface circuitry is further configured to:
communicate with a secure element and (Sibert, ¶[0023], SE is configured to store a token that is usable to retrieve some or all of the information. NFC interface presents SE with a request for information from reader. Upon receiving a request, SE may verify that the user has been authenticated by mobile device. ¶[0024], mobile device begins enrollment by reading at least a portion of information stored in identification document. Mobile device reads this information from RFID tag via NFC interface);
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
transmit to the secure element an invitation signal comprising information indicative of an invitation to generate an authorization key (Sibert, ¶[0047], the digital signature is generated using a trusted key (certified private key). ¶[0060], after successful verification, SE 134 determines what is to be provided to the reader based on the information specified in the received certificate and issues the corresponding information which may be signed by the private key);
receive, from the secure element, a key signing request comprising information about a secure element used to generate an authorization key (Sibert, ¶[0027], the enrollment process includes SE 134 establishing a private key that can be used to generate digital signatures to authenticate a user. SE 134 is configured to generate a public key pair and to issue a CSR to receive a corresponding certificate. This CSR may be sent as part of request to authorization system); and
check whether the information about the secure element matches the identification information and whether the information matches indicate the authorization key as valid (Sibert, ¶[0026], once the authentication system has successfully validated the request, authorization system is configured to provide an authorization indication to SE in order to indicate that SE has been authorized to store identification information).
Regarding Claim 19, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein the device further comprises a storage device and wherein the database from which the identification information is to be requested is stored in the storage device (Sibert, ¶[0020], backend maintains a database which may include the information stored in document, an indication of whether document is still valid).
Regarding Claim 20, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the system according to claim 19, wherein the interface circuitry is further configured to communicate with a key management server; and
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
transmit, to the key management server, a request to create an invitation signal, wherein the request comprises information indicative of the identification information (Sibert, ¶[0047], the digital signature is generated using a trusted key (certified private key). ¶[0060], after successful verification, SE 134 determines what is to be provided to the reader based on the information specified in the received certificate and issues the corresponding information which may be signed by the private key);
and receive, from the key management server, a request response signal comprising information indicative for the invitation signal (Sibert, ¶[0027], the enrollment process includes SE 134 establishing a private key that can be used to generate digital signatures to authenticate a user. SE 134 is configured to generate a public key pair and to issue a CSR to receive a corresponding certificate. This CSR may be sent as part of request to authorization system).
Regarding Claim 21, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the system of claim 20 further comprising a key management server including:
interface circuitry configured to communicate with the secure element and the device (Sibert, ¶[0023], SE is configured to store a token that is usable to retrieve some or all of the information. NFC interface presents SE with a request for information from reader. Upon receiving a request, SE may verify that the user has been authenticated by mobile device. ¶[0024], mobile device begins enrollment by reading at least a portion of information stored in identification document. Mobile device reads this information from RFID tag via NFC interface); and
processing circuitry configured to control the interface circuitry and to (Sibert, ¶[0029], SE 134 is configured to associate identification 114 with biometric data captured by biosensor 138 when enrollment is performed in order to ensure that a person later attempting to authenticate with mobile device is the same person during enrollment. SE 134 may also cryptographically bind this value to information 114 by encrypting them together):
receive, from the device, a request to create an invitation signal, wherein the request comprises information indicative of identification information (Sibert, ¶[0024], mobile device begins enrollment by reading identification number and name of the person that holds document. ¶[0047], Fig-3A, secure element SE 134 issues an enrollment request that includes the number, a nonce and a digital signature. The digital signature is generated using a trusted key stored in SE and authentication system may include the corresponding certificate);
transmit a request response request comprising information indicative for the invitation signal (Sibert, ¶[0048], after generating a public-key pair, SE 134 issues to validation system 120, a CSR that includes the unique index value along with the additional information. Upon successful validation, SE 134 receives a corresponding certificate certifying the public key pair);
receive, from the secure element, a key signing request comprising information about a secure element used to generate an authorization key (Sibert, ¶[0048], after generating a public-key pair, SE 134 issues to validation system 120, a CSR that includes the unique index value along with the additional information. Upon successful validation, SE 134 receives a corresponding certificate certifying the public key pair); and
compare the secure element information with the identification information (Sibert, ¶[0027], the enrollment process includes SE 134 establishing a private key that can be used to generate digital signatures to authenticate a user. SE 134 is configured to generate a public key pair and to issue a CSR to receive a corresponding certificate. This CSR may be sent as part of request to authorization system).
Regarding Claim 22, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the system of claim 20 further comprising a backend for improving a security of a digital key generation, the backend comprising:
interface circuitry configured to communicate with the secure element and the device (Sibert, ¶[0023], SE is configured to store a token that is usable to retrieve some or all of the information. NFC interface presents SE with a request for information from reader. Upon receiving a request, SE may verify that the user has been authenticated by mobile device. ¶[0024], mobile device begins enrollment by reading at least a portion of information stored in identification document. Mobile device reads this information from RFID tag via NFC interface); and
processing circuitry configured to control the interface circuitry and to (Sibert, ¶[0029], SE 134 is configured to associate identification 114 with biometric data captured by biosensor 138 when enrollment is performed in order to ensure that a person later attempting to authenticate with mobile device is the same person during enrollment. SE 134 may also cryptographically bind this value to information 114 by encrypting them together):
receive an identification signal, from the device, comprising information indicative of the identification information (Sibert, ¶[0024], mobile device begins enrollment by reading identification number and name of the person that holds document. ¶[0047], Fig-3A, secure element SE 134 issues an enrollment request that includes the number, a nonce and a digital signature. The digital signature is generated using a trusted key stored in SE and authentication system may include the corresponding certificate);
receive, from the secure element, a key signing request comprising information about a secure element used to generate an authorization key (Sibert, ¶[0048], after generating a public-key pair, SE 134 issues to validation system 120, a CSR that includes the unique index value along with the additional information. Upon successful validation, SE 134 receives a corresponding certificate certifying the public key pair); and
compare the secure element information with the identification information (Sibert, ¶[0027], the enrollment process includes SE 134 establishing a private key that can be used to generate digital signatures to authenticate a user. SE 134 is configured to generate a public key pair and to issue a CSR to receive a corresponding certificate. This CSR may be sent as part of request to authorization system).
Regarding Claim 23, Sibert discloses a method for improving an authorization process, the method comprising:
transmitting a request for identification information of a secure element to a database (Sibert, ¶[0020], backend maintains a database which may include the information stored in document, an indication of whether document is still valid. ¶[0021], mobile device is configured to store identification information from document and present that to verification system in order to authenticate a user of mobile device which is a holder of document 110. ¶[0023], prior to interacting with verification system 120, mobile device 130 may perform an enrollment process in order for SE to be permitted to store information and interact with verification system. ¶[0047], Fig-3A, secure element SE 134 issues an enrollment request that includes the number, a nonce and a digital signature. The digital signature is generated using a trusted key stored in SE and authentication system may include the corresponding certificate);
receiving, from the database, an identification signal comprising information indicative of the identification information, wherein the identification information comprises an identifier of the secure element and a user binding information (Sibert, ¶[0024], mobile device begins enrollment by reading identification number and name of the person that holds document. ¶[0047], Fig-3A, secure element SE 134 issues an enrollment request that includes the number, a nonce and a digital signature. The digital signature is generated using a trusted key stored in SE and authentication system may include the corresponding certificate);
receiving, from the secure element, a key signing request comprising information about a secure element used to generate an authorization key (Sibert, ¶[0048], after generating a public-key pair, SE 134 issues to validation system 120, a CSR that includes the unique index value along with the additional information. Upon successful validation, SE 134 receives a corresponding certificate certifying the public key pair); and
checking whether the information about the secure element matches the identification information (Sibert, ¶[0027], the enrollment process includes SE 134 establishing a private key that can be used to generate digital signatures to authenticate a user. SE 134 is configured to generate a public key pair and to issue a CSR to receive a corresponding certificate. This CSR may be sent as part of request to authorization system).
Sibert does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Bates teaches:
database (Bates, ¶[0043], sets of database).
Sibert in view of Bates are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “secure wireless communication”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sibert in view of Bates to include the idea of unlocking a locked system by digital key that can be communicated via any suitable secured communication protocol (Bates, abstract).
Regarding Claim 24, Sibert in view of Bates discloses a non-transient computer-readable medium for improving an authorization process, wherein the computer-readable medium comprises instructions which, when executed on a computer, a processor, or a programmable hardware component, performs the method of claim 23 (see claim mapping of 23).
Regarding Claim 25, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the method of claim 23 wherein the authorization key is a digital key for a vehicle (Bates, ¶[0028], allow users to obtain access to digital keys that can be used to send signals via a wireless communication protocol to wirelessly lock and/or unlock systems associated with enclosures within a vehicle. ¶[0033]).
Regarding Claim 26, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the method of claim 25 further comprising passing the digital key to a friend device and operating one or more functions of the vehicle with the friend device, the one or more functions of the vehicle including opening, unlocking, starting, and controlling vehicle environment (Bates, ¶[0040], digital keys may include user’s ability to unlock a locked system. Bates, ¶[0058]).
Regarding Claim 27, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the method of claim 26 wherein the friend device is a mobile phone (Bates, ¶[0044], mobile electronic device).
Regarding Claim 28, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the method of claim 27 wherein the secure element is provided on a first mobile phone, and the friend device is a second mobile phone (Sibert, ¶[0027], the enrollment process includes SE 134 establishing a private key that can be used to generate digital signatures to authenticate a user. SE 134 is configured to generate a public key pair and to issue a CSR to receive a corresponding certificate. This CSR may be sent as part of request to authorization system).
Regarding Claim 29, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the system of claim 15 wherein the trusted authority is a server (Sibert, ¶[0021], mobile device is configured to store identification information from document and present that to verification system in order to authenticate a user of mobile device which is a holder of document 110. ¶[0023], prior to interacting with verification system 120, mobile device 130 may perform an enrollment process in order for SE to be permitted to store information and interact with verification system. ¶[0047], Fig-3A, secure element SE 134 issues an enrollment request that includes the number, a nonce and a digital signature. The digital signature is generated using a trusted key stored in SE and authentication system may include the corresponding certificate).
Regarding Claim 30, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the system of claim 29 wherein the mobile communication device is a mobile phone (Sibert, ¶[0021], mobile device corresponds to any suitable form of device such as mobile phone, tablet).
Regarding Claim 31, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the system of claim 30 wherein the digital key is a digital key for a vehicle (Bates, ¶[0028], allow users to obtain access to digital keys that can be used to send signals via a wireless communication protocol to wirelessly lock and/or unlock systems associated with enclosures within a vehicle. ¶[0033]).
Regarding Claim 32, Sibert in view of Bates discloses the system of claim 17 wherein the device is a mobile phone (Sibert, ¶[0021], mobile device corresponds to any suitable form of device such as mobile phone, tablet).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-Form 892).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WASIKA NIPA whose telephone number is (571)272-8923. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 8 am to 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Pwu can be reached on 571-272-6798. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/WASIKA NIPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433