DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0240453 to Loesener et al. (Loesener).
Regarding claim 1, Loesener teaches a catheter placement system comprising a catheter (812, see Fig. 22) defining a first catheter lumen (814A) and a second catheter lumen (814B), a first stylet (824A) with a skived portion (860) and a proximally facing abutment surface (surrounding 862) and a channel (864). Loesener further teaches a second stylet (51B/824B) with a distally facing notch (formed within arc entering at 862) having a distally facing notch surface and configured to abut against the abutment surface, and a guidewire (26B, see paragraph 112) extending through the stylet lumen.
Regarding claim 2, Loesener teaches that the notch extends from a side surface radially inward (caused by the bend which enters at 860).
Regarding claim 3, Loesener teaches parallel extension and disposition proximal of the distal tip surface.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood by the examiner, Loesener teaches a French cleat engagement.
Regarding claim 5, Loesener teaches at least communication of the stylet lumen with the notch surface.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood by the examiner, Loesener teaches the claimed diameters (see e.g. Fig. 25).
Regarding claim 7, Loesener teaches that the arc forms a detent.
Regarding claim 8, Loesener teaches engagement with the skived portion and a tapered outer profile (e.g. from 812 to 53B as shown in Fig. 25).
Regarding claim 9, Loesener teaches the method of placing the catheter discussed above, including advancing over the guide-wire (paragraph 8), urging the first stylet distally, abutting (as shown in at least Fig. 24), and sliding over the guide-wire (paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 10, Loesener teaches that the notch surface engages the abutment surface to align the stylet lumen with the channel (Fig. 24).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood by the examiner, Loesener teaches a French cleat engagement.
Regarding claims 12-14, Loesener teaches transverse urging in opposite directions as claimed.
Conclusion
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 29 September 2026