DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 29-35 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 14th, 2025.
Claims 18-28 will be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-21, 23-25, & 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 106704213 to Wang (attached herein with machine translation).
In regards to independent Claim 18, and with particular reference to Figures 1-5 (Figure 1 shown immediately above and annotated by the examiner for clarity), Wang discloses:
18. A fluid pump assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: a fluid pump (2, 4-6, 18-20; paras. 66-71) including: a pipe connection structure (the opening annotated by the examiner in Fig. 1 above, for clarity) at an end portion (5) of the fluid pump (Fig. 1); and a first positioning structure (i.e. the outer edge of end portion 5); and a fixation shell (1, 7) accommodating the fluid pump (Figs. 1 & 5); wherein: the fixation shell has a closed end (i.e. bottom end of shell 7; Fig. 1) and an open end (top end of shell 7; Fig. 1) opposite (i.e. vertically opposite) to the closed end (apparent in Fig. 1); and the fixation shell includes a second positioning structure (the groove annotated by the examiner in Fig. 1 above, for clarity) engaged with (i.e. coupled to) the first positioning structure to position the pipe connection structure to correspond to the open end of the fixation shell (as shown in Fig. 5).
In regards to Claim 19, a cross section of the end portion (5) of the fluid pump is constructed in a non-circular shape and has at least one corner (a rectangular end portion with corners is apparent in Fig. 1); and the end portion (5) of the fluid pump is formed as the first positioning structure (as noted in Claim 18 above).
In regards to Claim 20, the second positioning structure is formed as a positioning groove (as noted in Claim 18 and annotated Fig. 1 above); and the second positioning structure is shaped to match the first positioning structure (apparent in Fig. 1).
In regards to Claim 21, the fixation shell includes a first shell (7) and a second shell (1) that are opposite to each other in a radial direction of the fluid pump (Fig. 1 clearly shows how the lateral ends of shell 7 and the lateral ends of shell 1 are opposite to each other along a radial direction of the fluid pump); an accommodation space is formed between the first shell and the second shell (apparent from Figs. 1 & 5), the accommodation space being configured to accommodate the fluid pump (apparent from Figs. 1 & 5); and the second positioning structure is formed at the first shell and/or the second shell (as shown in annotated Fig. 1 above).
In regards to Claim 23, the first shell and the second shell are fit with each other (at least indirectly) by a positioning assembly (8, 9, 10, 12, 15; paras. 67, 69).
In regards to Claim 24, the first shell and the second shell are fixedly connected to each other (at least indirectly) by a threaded connector (“screw fasteners”; para. 69).
In regards to Claim 25, the fixation shell is provided with a support rib (14, 15, 16) configured to support the fluid pump.
In regards to Claim 27, the fixation shell (i.e. portion 1) has a heat dissipation region (“exhaust vent”; “ventilation holes”; paras. 35, 58, 63, 70).
Claim(s) 18-20 & 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 210118289 to Tang (attached herein with machine translation).
In regards to independent Claim 18, and with particular reference to Figures 1-9 (Figure 4 shown immediately above and annotated by the examiner for clarity), Tang discloses:
18. A fluid pump assembly (4; Fig. 4) comprising: a fluid pump (42, 43, 45) including: a pipe connection structure (annotated by the examiner in Fig. 4 above, for clarity) at an end portion (i.e. the right end portion, which includes 42 & 45) of the fluid pump (Fig. 4 above); and a first positioning structure (45); and a fixation shell (41, 44) accommodating the fluid pump (see Figs. 2-3); wherein: the fixation shell has a closed end (i.e. top end wall; Fig. 4) and an open end (bottom open end; Fig. 4) opposite (i.e. vertically opposite) to the closed end (apparent in Fig. 4); and the fixation shell includes a second positioning structure (44) engaged with (i.e. coupled to) the first positioning structure (45) to position the pipe connection structure to correspond to the open end of the fixation shell (Figs. 3-4 & 8).
In regards to Claim 19, a cross section of the end portion (42, 45) of the fluid pump is constructed in a non-circular shape and has at least one corner (polygonal shapes with corners are apparent in Fig. 4); and the end portion (i.e. portion 45) of the fluid pump is formed as the first positioning structure (as noted in Claim 18 above).
In regards to Claim 20, the second positioning structure (44) is formed as a positioning groove (i.e. slot 442; Fig. 4; para. 72); and the second positioning structure is shaped to match (i.e. wrap, surround, enclose, etc.) the first positioning structure (Fig. 4).
In regards to Claim 25, the fixation shell is provided with a support rib (annotated by the examiner in Fig. 4 above, for clarity) configured to support the fluid pump.
In regards to Claim 26, Tang further discloses a buffer member (452) arranged around the fluid pump (“on both sides”; para. 89) and accommodated in the fixation shell (Figs. 4 & 8-9).
In regards to Claim 27, the fixation shell has a heat dissipation region (the open sections of layer 44 implicitly form heat dissipation regions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (applied above) in view of US 6,322,326 to Davis et al.
In regards to Claim 22, Wang discloses the invention of Claim 21, wherein the accommodation space is formed between a first surface of the first shell and a second surface of the second shell (Figs. 1 & 5 clearly shows how the accommodation space for the fluid pump is formed between opposing surfaces of the two shells 7 & 1). However, Wang is silent towards a wiring clip being provided on the first surface and/or the second surface, as claimed.
However, Davis et al. (Davis) discloses yet another fluid pump for pumping condensation in the filed of heating and air conditioning (col. 1, lines 10-24), wherein opposing surfaces of the two shells (16, 12) form an accommodation space that contains a fluid pump (40) therein. Davis goes on to disclose the use of a wiring clip (83) (Fig. 5) formed on the surface of the second shell for preventing displacement of a power harness/wire 80 out of its designated path on the pump assembly (col. 4, lines 4-15). Davis makes clear that through use of such a wire clip, the power cable 80 cannot be accidentally disengaged from the pump, thereby enhancing reliability. Therefore, to one of ordinary skill desiring a fluid pump with improved reliability, it would have been obvious to utilize the techniques disclosed in Davis in combination with those seen in Wang in order to obtain such a result. Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang’s pump shell (1, 7) with at least one wiring clip for restraining the pump’s power cable (as taught in Davis) in order to obtain predictable results; those results being an improved fluid pump that ensures the power cable is not accidentally disconnected from the pump during operation.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (applied above)
In regards to Claim 28, Wang discloses the fluid pump assembly according to claim 27, wherein: the heat dissipation region (“exhaust vent”; “ventilation holes”; paras. 35, 58, 63, 70) is formed by a heat dissipation grille (an exhaust vent/grille is apparent in Fig. 1 and is clearly described at paras. 35, 58, 63, & 70). However, Wang does not disclose that a distance between adjacent grille bars of the heat dissipation grille is smaller than or equal to 6 mm, as claimed.
However, the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, the device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device and is therefore not patentably distinct (See MPEP § 2144.04 - Paragraph IV.A). In this case, Wang clearly discloses an exhaust vent/grille having a plurality of ventilation holes that “allow the motor 4 to cool down quickly, thereby ensuring the safe operation of the motor 4” (para. 70 of Wang). As such, Wang’s grille performs in exactly the same manner (and for the same purpose) as Applicant’s disclosed/claimed grille, and as such, the claimed invention does not perform any differently than Wang. Furthermore, it has been held by the courts that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (see In re AIler, 105 USPQ 233) or an optimum value of a result effective variable (see In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)) involves only routine skill in the art. Please note that in while a grille spacing of 6mm is disclosed in paragraphs 17 & 68-69 of the instant application, applicant has failed to disclose any criticality for the claimed limitations, and in fact, makes clear that an optimum grille spacing is “experimental” in nature. Therefore, because the device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed invention is not patentably distinct from the fluid pump assembly disclosed in Wang (See MPEP § 2144.04 - Paragraph IV.A).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER B COMLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
ABC