DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 42 is dependent off of claim 42, making claim 42 an orphan claim. In other words, claim 42 is rendered indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent from itself. For purposes of examination, claim 42 is being treated as being dependent off claim 41.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacob (US 20120229272) in view of Chan (WO 2020079553).
Regarding claim 30, Jacob discloses
an air circuit for a respiratory therapy system (figs. 1 and 3; a patient circuit 6 with a pressure generating device 4 for pressure support system 2; [0020]), the air circuit comprising:
a conduit configured to receive a flow of breathable gas from a respiratory therapy device in use (figs. 1 and 3; delivery conduit 7 is structured to communicate the flow of breathing gas from pressure generating device 4 to patient interface device 8; [0023]);
a first end of the conduit to facilitate connection to a peripheral device in use (figs. 1 and 3; an end of the delivery conduit 7 is coupled with patient interface device 8 through a fluid coupling device 10 of patient interface device 8; [0023]),
a second end of the conduit, to facilitate connection to the respiratory therapy device in use (figs. 1 and 3; the other end of the delivery conduit 7 couples with pressure generating device 4; [0023]), and
a detection circuit, wherein the detection circuit is configured to detect the presence or absence of the peripheral device in use (figs. 1 and 3; RFID interrogator 14, RFID component 16, coupling component 18, IC chip 20, and antenna element 24 work together to detect when patient interface device 8 is coupled to delivery conduit 7; [0027]-[0031]), and to communicate information regarding the presence or absence of the peripheral device to the respiratory therapy device (figs. 1 and 3; IC chip 20 communicates information to the pressure generating device 4 when patient interface device 8 is couple to delivery conduit 7; when RDIF component 16 is coupled to coupling component 18; [0027]-[0031]).
Jacob does not explicitly disclose a first cuff provided to a first end of the conduit and a second cuff provided to a second end of the conduit.
Chan discloses an air delivery conduit for use with an apparatus to deliver a supply of breathable air and a sensing circuit (abstract and [0047]), where
a first cuff is provided to a first end of the conduit (figs. 8 and 15; cuff 330(2) provided to the opposite end of the air delivery tube 325 and configured and arranged to engage the inlet (e.g. a swivel elbow) of a patient interface 50; [0084]) and
a second cuff is provided to a second end of the conduit (figs. 4, 7, and 8; cuff 330(1) of the air delivery tube 325 includes an electrical connector 60 that is configured to provide a retention function and an electrical connection with the contacts/terminals 78 on the humidifier 15 of the PAP system 10; [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ends of the delivery conduit Jacob to be cuffs as disclosed in Chan and further modify the outlet of the pressure generating device of Jacob with the outlet connector with contacts that connect to terminal of a cuff as disclosed in Chan to yield the predictable result of providing structure for attaching, sealing, and retaining the cuff to a respective connector, therefore, aiding connection by creating a retention function and seal between the air delivery tube and the patient interface and the respiratory apparatus (Chan: [0084], [0086]-0093]).
Regarding claim 31, the modified device of Jacob further discloses
the air circuit (Jacob: patient circuit of a pressure support system; Chan: cuffs and connectors with terminals and contacts) of claim 30,
wherein the first cuff is configured to connect to a patient interface (Chan: figs. 8 and 15; cuff 330(2) is configured and arranged to engage the inlet (e.g. a swivel elbow) of a patient interface 50; [0084]).
Regarding claim 32, the modified device of Jacob further discloses
the air circuit (Jacob: patient circuit of a pressure support system; Chan: cuffs and connectors with terminals and contacts) of claim 30,
wherein the second cuff is configured to connect to a tubular connector on the respiratory therapy device (Chan: figs. 4, 7, and 8; cuff 330(1) of the air delivery tube 325 includes an electrical connector 60 that is configured to connect/attach to the tube connector 75 of the humidifier 15 of the PAP system 10; [0090]).
Regarding claim 33, the modified device of Jacob further discloses
the air circuit (Jacob: patient circuit of a pressure support system; Chan: cuffs and connectors with terminals and contacts) of claim 30,
wherein the detection circuit comprises electrical conductors (Jacob: see figs. 1 and 3; the conductor component 18 comprises conductor contacts/terminal portions 42 and 46; [0029], [0031], and claims 7 and 9) which when electrically connected provide a signal indicative of a connection to the peripheral device (see figs. 1 and 3; the conductor contacts/terminal portions 42 and 46 electrically connect to the terminal portions 34, 38 of the RF antenna 24, connecting the conductor/coupling components 18 to the RFID components 16 to close the circuit, therefore, providing a signal indicative of whether the RFID tag is functional (connected) or not (disconnected); [0029]-[0033], [0049], claims 7 and 9).
Regarding claim 34, the modified device of Jacob further discloses
the air circuit (Jacob: patient circuit of a pressure support system; Chan: cuffs and connectors with terminals and contacts) of claim 33,
wherein the electrical conductors (Jacob: see figs. 1 and 3; the conductor component 18 comprises conductor contacts/terminal portions 42 and 46; [0029], [0031], and claims 7 and 9) are configured to electrically connect to one or more passive components in the peripheral device (Jacob: see figs. 1 and 3; the conductor contacts/terminal portions 42 and 46 electrically connect to the RF antenna 24 of the RFID component 16 in the fluid coupling device 10 of the patient interface 8; [0026]-[0031], [0049], claims 7 and 9).
Regarding claim 35, the modified device of Jacob further discloses
the air circuit (Jacob: patient circuit of a pressure support system; Chan: cuffs and connectors with terminals and contacts) of claim 30,
wherein the first cuff comprises two or more electrical terminals (Jacob: figs. 1 and 3; first end of air delivery conduit 7 comprises two elongated conductor terminals 44, 48, [0026]-[0031]; first end of air delivery conduit 7 modified with Chan: figs. 8 and 15; cuff 330(2) is at the end of air deliver tube 325; [0084]), configured to connect to corresponding terminals in the peripheral device (Jacob: figs. 1 and 3; the two elongated conductor terminals 44, 48 correspond to two elongated terminals 36, 40 of the RFID component 16 in the fluid coupling device 10 of the patient interface 8; [0026]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 36, the modified device of Jacob further discloses
the air circuit (Jacob: patient circuit of a pressure support system; Chan: cuffs and connectors with terminals and contacts) of claim 30,
wherein the second cuff comprises two or more electrical terminals (figs. 4, 7, and 9; cuff 330(1) comprises an electrical connector 60 which includes three terminals 62; [0090]-[0091]), configured to connect to corresponding terminals in the respiratory therapy device (figs. 4, 7, and 9; terminals 62 that are configured to receive contacts/terminals 78 of the electrical connector 70 of the humidifier 15 in PAP system 10; [0090]-[0091]).
Regarding claim 38, the modified device of Jacob further discloses
the air circuit (Jacob: patient circuit of a pressure support system; Chan: cuffs and connectors with terminals and contacts) of claim 30,
wherein the detection circuit is provided in the first cuff (Jacob: figs. 1 and 3; first end of air delivery conduit 7 comprises conductor/coupling component 18 to communicate with RFID component 16 provided in fluid coupling device 10 in order to detect coupling, [0026]-[0031]; first end of air delivery conduit 7 modified with Chan: figs. 8 and 15; cuff 330(2) is at the end of air deliver tube 325; [0084]; therefore, as modified the conductor/coupling component 18 is provided in cuff 330(2) at the end of the air delivery conduit 7).
Claims 37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacob (US 20120229272) in view of Chan (WO 2020079553) and further in view of Buenafe (US 20150306323).
Regarding claim 37, the modified device of Jacob discloses
the air circuit (Jacob: patient circuit of a pressure support system; Chan: cuffs and connectors with terminals and contacts) of claim 30,
The modified device of Jacob does not disclose wherein the detection circuit is configured to detect a magnetic component in the peripheral device.
Buenafe discloses an analogous tube with a detector for sensing whether the connections are fully seated/connected (fig. 6; abstract and [0032]-[0033])
wherein the detection circuit is configured to detect a magnetic component in the peripheral device (fig. 6; the detectors 610, 626 are Hall effect sensors or magnetic switches for detecting magnets 602, 616 on the outer surface of the inner cannula 600 and tube 608; [0032]-[0033] and [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the RFID components/tags of the modified device of Jacob with the detector and magnets of Buenafe to yield the predictable result of detecting whether the air delivery conduit/tube is fully seated/connected or not seated/connected (Buenafe: [0032]-[0033] and [0035]) to the fluid coupling device of the patient interface.
Regarding claim 39, the modified device of Jacob discloses
the air circuit (Jacob: patient circuit of a pressure support system; Chan: cuffs and connectors with terminals and contacts) of claim 38,
The modified device of Jacob does not explicitly disclose wherein the detection circuit comprises a switch configured to detect the insertion or removal of the peripheral device from the first cuff.
Buenafe discloses an analogous tube with a detector for sensing whether the connections are fully seated/connected (fig. 6; abstract and [0032]-[0033])
wherein the detection circuit comprises a switch configured to detect the insertion or removal of the peripheral device from the first cuff (see fig. 6; the detectors 610, 626 are Hall effect sensors or magnetic switches (not shown) for detecting magnets 602, 616 on the outer surface of the inner cannula 600 and tube 608; [0007], [0032]-[0033] and [0035]; therefore, being able to detect insertion and removal of the inner cannula 600 from the cuff of tube 608).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the RFID components/tags of the modified device of Jacob with the detector and magnets of Buenafe to yield the predictable result of detecting whether the air delivery conduit/tube is fully seated (connected) or not seated (disconnected) (Buenafe: [0032]-[0033] and [0035]) to the fluid coupling device of the patient interface.
Claims 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacob (US 20120229272) in view of Tham (US 20150165142).
Regarding claim 40, Jacob discloses
a respiratory therapy system (figs. 1 and 3; pressure support system 2; [0020]) comprising:
a respiratory therapy device configured to generate a flow of breathable gas (figs. 1 and 3; pressure generating device 4 is structured to generate a flow of breathing gas; [0021]);
an air circuit configured to receive the flow of breathable gas from the respiratory therapy device (figs. 1 and 3; air delivery conduit 7 is structured to communicate the flow of breathing gas from pressure generating device 4 to patient interface device 8; [0023]); and
a patient interface configured to facilitate delivery of the breathable gas from the air circuit to a patient's airways in use (figs. 1 and 3; patient interface device 8 which facilitates the delivery of the flow of breathing gas from the air delivery conduit 7 to, and the removal of a flow of exhalation gas from, the airway of such a patient; [0023]-[0024]),
wherein the air circuit comprises a detection circuit which is configured to detect one or more features of the patient interface (figs. 1 and 3; coupling component 18 RFID of air delivery conduit 7 detect RFID components 16 of patient interface device 8; [0027]-[0031]), and communicate information regarding the patient interface to the respiratory therapy device (figs. 1 and 3; IC chip 20 communicates information to the pressure generating device 4 when patient interface device 8 is couple to delivery conduit 7; when RDIF component 16 is coupled to coupling component 18; [0027]-[0031]),
While Jacob does disclose adjusting one or more operating parameters for pressure generating device 4 based on information from the IC chip associated with the patient interface device 8 when connected, it does not explicitly disclose wherein the respiratory therapy device is configured to provide the flow of breathable gas when the information indicates that the patient interface is connected to the air circuit, and not provide the flow of breathable gas when the information indicates that the patient interface is disconnected from the air circuit.
Tham discloses an analogous breathing system with a ventilator and RFID tags 25 that detect connection between components (abstract, [0006], [0016], and [0021]),
wherein the respiratory therapy device is configured to provide the flow of breathable gas when the information indicates that the patient interface is connected to the air circuit, and not provide the flow of breathable gas when the information indicates that the patient interface is disconnected from the air circuit (figs. 1a-5; circuit connections 10 only reports active RFID tags 25 to the RFID reader 30 which allows the breathing circuit 100 to determine which components (conduits 15, patient interface 105, circuit components 135, or ports 140, 145) of the breathing system 100 are connected/disconnected and the controller/computing system 300 can be programmed to deny the start of ventilation until components such as circuit components 135 are connected or adjust tidal volume delivery; [0016], [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RFID tag and pressure generating device of Jacob with the RFID tags, RFID reader and controller as disclosed in Tham to optimize delivery of the ventilator based on analysis, adjust tidal volume, or deny the start of ventilation based on sensed connection of the components (Tham: [0008], [0016], [0021]).
Regarding claim 41, the modified device of Jacob further discloses
the respiratory therapy system (Jacob: pressure support system with patient circuit/conduit; Tham: optimizing delivery/denying start of ventilator based on connections) of claim 40,
wherein the detection circuit comprises electrical conductors (Jacob: see figs. 1 and 3; the conductor component 18 comprises conductor contacts/terminal portions 42 and 46; [0029], [0031], and claims 7 and 9) which when electrically connected provide a signal indicative of a connection of the air circuit to the patient interface (Jacob: see figs. 1 and 3; the conductor contacts/terminal portions 42 and 46 electrically connect to the terminal portions 34, 38 of the RF antenna 24, connecting the conductor/coupling components 18 to the RFID components 16 to close the circuit, therefore, providing a signal indicative of whether the RFID tag is functional (connected) or not (disconnected); [0029]-[0033], [0049], claims 7 and 9).
Regarding claim 42, the modified device of Jacob discloses
the respiratory therapy system (Jacob: pressure support system with patient circuit/conduit; Tham: optimizing delivery/denying start of ventilator based on connections) of claim 42,
wherein the electrical conductors (Jacob: see figs. 1 and 3; the conductor component 18 comprises conductor contacts/terminal portions 42 and 46; [0029], [0031], and claims 7 and 9) are configured to electrically connect to one or more passive components in the patient interface (see figs. 1 and 3; the conductor contacts/terminal portions 42 and 46 electrically connect to the RF antenna 24 of the RFID component 16 in the fluid coupling device 10 of the patient interface 8; [0026]-[0031], [0049], claims 7 and 9).
Claims 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacob (US 20120229272) in view of Tham (US 20150165142) and further in view of Buenafe (US 20150306323).
Regarding claim 43, the modified device of Jacob discloses
the respiratory therapy system (Jacob: pressure support system with patient circuit/conduit; Tham: optimizing delivery/denying start of ventilator based on connections) of claim 40,
The modified device of Jacob does not explicitly disclose wherein the detection circuit is configured to detect a magnetic component in the patient interface.
Buenafe discloses an analogous tube with a detector for sensing whether the connections are fully seated/connected (fig. 6; abstract and [0032]-[0033])
wherein the detection circuit is configured to detect a magnetic component in the patient interface (fig. 6; the detectors 610, 626 are Hall effect sensors or magnetic switches for detecting magnets 602, 616 on the outer surface of the inner cannula 600 and tube 608; [0032]-[0033] and [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the RFID components/tags of the modified device of Jacob with the detector and magnets of Buenafe to yield the predictable result of detecting whether the air delivery conduit/tube is fully seated/connected or not seated/connected (Buenafe: [0032]-[0033] and [0035]) to the fluid coupling device of the patient interface.
Regarding claim 44, the modified device of Jacob discloses
the respiratory therapy system (Jacob: pressure support system with patient circuit/conduit; Tham: optimizing delivery/denying start of ventilator based on connections) of claim 40,
The modified device of Jacob does not explicitly disclose wherein the detection circuit is provided in a first cuff of the air circuit.
Buenafe discloses an analogous tube with a detector for sensing whether the connections are fully seated/connected (fig. 6; abstract and [0032]-[0033])
wherein the detection circuit is provided in a first cuff of the air circuit (see fig. 6; the electrical conductors 612, 614 are connected to detector 610 which is a Hall effect sensor or magnetic switch (not shown) provided in the cuff of tube 608 for detecting magnet 602 on the outer surface of the inner cannula 600 which is inserted into tube 608; [0007], [0032]-[0033] and [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the RFID components/tags of the modified device of Jacob with a magnet and the detector in the cuff of the tube/conduit as disclosed in Buenafe to yield the predictable result of detecting whether the air delivery conduit/tube is fully seated/connected or not seated/connected (Buenafe: [0032]-[0033] and [0035]) to the fluid coupling device of the patient interface.
Regarding claim 45, the modified device of Jacob further discloses
the respiratory therapy system (Jacob: pressure support system with patient circuit/conduit; Tham: optimizing delivery/denying start of ventilator based on connections; Buenafe: magnet and detector in cuff for detecting connection) of claim 44,
wherein the detection circuit comprises a switch configured to detect the connection or removal of the patient interface from the first cuff (see fig. 6; the detectors 610, 626 are Hall effect sensors or magnetic switches (not shown) for detecting magnets 602, 616 on the outer surface of the inner cannula 600 and tube 608; [0007], [0032]-[0033] and [0035]; therefore, being able to detect insertion and removal of the inner cannula 600 from the cuff of tube 608).
Claims 46, 47, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty (US 20080264413) in view of Tham (US 20150165142).
Regarding claim 46, Doherty discloses
a respiratory therapy device (fig. 1; breathing apparatus 1, [0062]) comprising;
a flow generator configured to generate a flow of breathable gas (figs. 1 and 17; flow generator 15 includes a housing 20 and blower 22; [0062]; it is noted that the flow generator appears to be designated as 32 in Doherty’s drawings); and
an outlet configured to communicate the flow of breathable gas to an air circuit in use (figs. 1 and 17; blower 22 includes an outlet 24 which supplies pressurized air delivered to the patient via one end 26 of the air delivery conduit 16; [0062]),
wherein the flow generator comprises a detection circuit configured to detect the connection or disconnection of the air circuit from the outlet (figs. 1 and 17; flow generator 15 is provided with a switch 174 and light 176 (switch and light acting as the detection circuit) to indicate when connection between conduit 16 and outlet 24 has been established; [0097]).
Doherty does not explicitly disclose wherein the flow generator is configured to provide the flow of breathable gas when the air circuit is connected, and not provide the flow of breathable gas when the air circuit is disconnected.
Tham discloses an analogous breathing system with a ventilator and RFID tags 25 that detect connection between components (abstract, [0006], [0016], and [0021]),
wherein the flow generator is configured to provide the flow of breathable gas when the air circuit is connected, and not provide the flow of breathable gas when the air circuit is disconnected (figs. 1a-5; circuit connections 10 only reports active RFID tags 25 to the RFID reader 30 which allows the breathing circuit 100 to determine which components (conduits 15, patient interface 105, circuit components 135, or ports 140, 145) of the breathing system 100 are connected/disconnected and the controller/computing system 300 can be programmed to deny the start of ventilation until components such as circuit components 135 are connected or adjust tidal volume delivery; [0016], [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the breathing apparatus, ends of the conduits, inlet of the patient interface, and outlet of the flow generator of Doherty with the RFID tags, RFID reader and controller as disclosed in Tham to optimize delivery of the ventilator based on analysis, adjust tidal volume, or deny the start of ventilation based on sensed connection of the components (Tham: [0008], [0016], [0021]).
Regarding claim 47, the modified device of Doherty further discloses
the respiratory therapy system (Doherty: flow generator with switch and light circuit; Tham: RFID components and computing system to adjust flow) of claim 46.
wherein the detection circuit comprises electrical conductors (Tham: figs. 1a-2; the circuit connections 10 comprises conducting rings 20; [0016]) which when electrically connected provide a signal indicative of a connection to the air circuit (Tham: figs. 1a-2; where the open lead of the RFID tags 25 connects with the conducing rings 20 to complete the electrical connection which provide a signal to the RFID reader 30 that the RFID tags 25 are active; [0016], where the RFID tags being active are indicative of a connection such as a connection at the ends of circuit conduits 15).
Regarding claim 49, Doherty further discloses
the respiratory therapy system (Doherty: flow generator with switch and light circuit) of claim 46,
wherein the detection circuit is configured to detect a magnetic component in the air circuit (figs. 1 and 17; switch 174 detects the change in magnetic field near outlet 24 when the magnets at the end of conduit 16 near the magnets of the outlet 24 to illuminate/change the color of light 176 when the connection between the conduit 16 and outlet 24 has been established; [0097]).
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty (US 20080264413) in view of Tham (US 20150165142) and further in view of Jacob (US 20120229272).
Regarding claim 48, the modified device of Doherty discloses
the respiratory therapy system (Doherty: flow generator with switch and light circuit; Tham: RFID components and computing system to adjust flow) of claim 47,
wherein the electrical conductor is configured to electrically connect to one or more passive components (Tham: a conducting ring 20 of the patient interface 105 connecting to an RFID tag 25 (see fig. 2);
However, the modified device of Doherty does not explicitly disclose
Jacob discloses an analogous airway pressure support system with RFID detection components
wherein the electrical conductors (see figs. 3 and 6; the conductor component 18 comprises conductor contacts/terminal portions 42 and 46; [0029], [0031], and claims 7 and 9) are configured to electrically connect to one or more passive components in the air circuit (see figs. 3 and 6; the conductor contacts/terminal portions 42 and 46 electrically connect to the RF antenna 24, 58 of the RFID component 16; [0029], [0031], [0035]-[0036], [0049], claims 7 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the RFID tags and conducting rings of the modified device of Doherty with the RFID components and conductor components with conductor contacts of Jacob such that the RFID components are disposed in the delivery conduit to yield the predictable result of being able to detect when the fluid coupling device of the mask is coupled to the delivery conduit by identifying the patient interface and control operation based on the information that is received (Jacob: [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0035]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vandine (US 20080078388) – a patient interface with a connection system comprising one or more electrical conductors for facilitating communication of electrical signals between the electronic device and the gas delivery apparatus when the patient is communicatively coupled to the gas delivery apparatus
/S.R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785