DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Joint Inventors
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. The current application is a 371 national stage of PCT/EP2023/062170 and also claims foreign priority to EP22174203.4. Examiner has checked and verified that the foreign priority document supports the subject matter of the instant application, and as such, the earlier filed date of 05/19/2022 is granted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024, was filed before the
mailing of a First Office Action on the Merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37
CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This action is in response to Applicant’s filing on 11/18/2024. Claims 17-33 are pending and examined below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a contact element configured to …” in claim 1
Claim Objections
Claims 31 and 33 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “driveable” in claim 31 should be “drivable” instead.
The term “chiselling” in claim 33 should be “chiseling” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “slightly” in claim 23 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slightly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “slightly” is entirely subjective because it is in relation to a deflection of an end effector and a “slight” deflection could mean various amounts to different people. Additionally, the instant specification makes no mention of what “slightly” encompasses and only details what the claim states. As such, the claim is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-22 and 26-33 are rejected under both 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2) as being anticipated by Telleria et al., US 20180283019 A1, herein referred to as Telleria.
Regarding claim 17,
Telleria discloses the following:
a construction robot for carrying out construction work on a construction site object, comprising: (Paragraphs 0021-0023)
An automated robot may be used for construction purposes
Construction purposes can include construction objects such as drywall, etc.
a mobile platform (Paragraphs 0026-0028)
the automated system may be mobile and can include a platform
an end effector, wherein the end effector has a tool or a tool fitting and wherein the end effector has a contact element which is configured to contact the construction site object (Paragraphs 0029-0030)
automated system may include an end effector which can have a variety of tools used for operating on construction objects such as drywall, etc.
a parallel manipulator, wherein the end effector and the mobile platform are connected to one another via the parallel manipulator (Paragraphs 0028-0029)
automated system may include a robotic arm that connects the platform to the end effector
the arm may include a gimbal mechanism as well
and a sensor system, wherein a pose of the end effector relative to the mobile platform is detectable by the sensor system (Paragraphs 0103-0104)
sensors may be utilized to determine the orientation of the tool relative to the system
Regarding claim 18,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses the following:
the sensor system comprises an image recording unit (Paragraphs 0033, 0103-0104)
sensor system can include a vision system
vision system can include a camera
Regarding claim 19,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses the following:
wherein a location marking is disposed on the end effector or on the parallel manipulator (Paragraph 0123)
tags or RFID may be located on tooling of the system for localization
Regarding claim 20,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 19. Telleria further discloses the following:
wherein the sensor system comprises an image recording unit and wherein the location marking is disposed at least partially in a field of view of the image recording unit (Paragraphs 0033, 0123)
vision systems may track the tags/RFID on tooling
vision systems can include imaging
tags/RFID would need to be at least partially in view of the vision system in order for localization to occur
Regarding claim 21,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses the following:
wherein the parallel manipulator is a passive system (Paragraphs 0028-0029, 0103-104)
the robotic arm between the mobile platform and the end effector may include a passive gimbal system
Regarding claim 22,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses the following:
wherein the parallel manipulator has at least three degrees of freedom (Paragraphs 0028-0029, 0103-104)
the robotic arm and gimbal together can have any suitable number of degrees of freedom
the end effector may move in horizontal and vertical directions at the very least which means that the robotic arm and gimbal can have at least 3 degrees of freedom
Regarding claim 26,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses the following:
an acceleration sensor, wherein the acceleration sensor is formed on the end effector (Paragraph 0123)
an IMU may be attached to a tool which can be considered an acceleration sensor
Regarding claim 27,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses the following:
wherein the end effector or the mobile platform has a position measuring system for determining a pose of the construction robot relative to a construction site, or wherein the end effector or the mobile platform is configured to be detected by the position measuring system for determining a respective position and/or a respective attitude (Paragraph 0131)
LIDAR may be used to localize the system/tooling within the 2D/3D maps or models
Regarding claim 28,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 27. Telleria further discloses the following:
wherein the position measuring system comprises a laser distance meter or a total station (Paragraph 0131)
LIDAR may be used for localization of the system/tooling
LIDAR may be considered a laser distance meter
Regarding claim 29,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses the following:
wherein the contact element has a wheel (Fig. 16, Paragraphs 0036, 0048)
the sanding end effector contacts a drywall for sanding and includes a wheel structure
Regarding claim 30,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 29. Telleria further discloses the following:
wherein the wheel is an omnidirectional wheel (Fig. 16, Paragraphs 0036, 0048)
sanding end effector wheel may be rotatable and movable in a variety of directions making it omnidirectional
Regarding claim 31,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses the following:
wherein the contact element is drivable by a motor (Fig. 16, Paragraphs 0036, 0048)
sanding end effector may be drivable by a motor
Regarding claim 32,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses the following:
wherein the parallel manipulator has a reset element and/or a damping element (Paragraph 0105)
the gimbal system attached to the robotic arm may include springs or damping elements
Regarding claim 33,
Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses the following:
wherein the tool is a marking tool or a drilling tool or a chiseling tool or a grinding tool or a cutting tool (Fig. 16, Paragraphs 0036, 0048)
the sanding end effector can be considered a grinding tool
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Telleria and in view of Spenninger et al. US 20230025318 A1, herein referred to as Spenninger.
Regarding claim 23, Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses wherein the parallel manipulator is configured such that, when the end effector deflects slightly out of position relative to the mobile platform, the end effector automatically returns to a given position (Paragraph 0149; if unwanted force is exerted on the robotic arm (examiner notes that any force produces a deflection, however miniscule that may be), then the robotic arm may retract to reduce the unwanted force (deflection)), but fails to disclose wherein the parallel manipulator is configured such that, when the end effector deflects slightly out of a rest position relative to the mobile platform, the end effector automatically returns to the rest position driven by gravity.
However, Spenninger, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the parallel manipulator is configured such that, when the end effector deflects slightly out of a rest position relative to the mobile platform, the end effector automatically returns to the rest position driven by gravity (Paragraph 0037; after deflection of a robotic arm from a rest position is released, springs may return the robotic arm back to the rest position; the return by spring force is based on the weight of the arm which is affected by gravity). Therefore, form the teaching of Spenninger, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the robotic system of Telleria to include wherein the parallel manipulator is configured such that, when the end effector deflects slightly out of a rest position relative to the mobile platform, the end effector automatically returns to the rest position driven by gravity, as taught/suggested by Spenninger. The motivation to do so would be to ensure that the robotic device returns to a safe resting position if unwanted forces or deflection occur. This can prevent the robot from falling and causing damage to construction objects or to users in the vicinity.
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Telleria and in view of Qian, WO 2022198948 A1, herein referred to as Qian.
Regarding claim 24, Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses a mobile platform (Paragraphs 0026-0028; the automated system may be mobile and can include a platform), but fails to disclose wherein the mobile platform is a flying platform. However, Qian, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the mobile platform is a flying platform (Fig. 4, Paragraph 0041; construction robot may be an aerial vehicle). Therefore, from the teaching of Qian, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the robot system of Telleria to include wherein the mobile platform is a flying platform, as taught/suggested by Qian. The motivation to do so would be to increase the functionality of the system and allow for easier access to higher construction objects that might not be reachable through a standard ground based mobile platform.
Regarding claim 25, Telleria discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Telleria further discloses a parallel manipulator (Paragraphs 0028-0029; automated system may include a robotic arm that connects the platform to the end effector), but fails to disclose wherein the parallel manipulator is a hexapod. However, Qian, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the parallel manipulator is a hexapod (Fig. 4, Paragraph 0041; construction robot may have 6 arms (multiple arms 37,38 extending from the main body, each with a tool at the end). Therefore, from the teaching of Qian, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the robot system of Telleria to include wherein the parallel manipulator is a hexapod, as taught/suggested by Qian. The motivation to do so would be to increase the functionality of the system and allow for multiple tools to be utilized during a given operation. For example, the sanding tool and spraying tool of Telleria could be used together to reduce construction times.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A BUKSA/Examiner, Art Unit 3658