DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0075] discloses:
In some embodiments, still refer to FIG. 7 . The USB socket 101 is located on one side of the conductive structural member in the Y direction. The second structural member 107B may be disposed in a region within a boundary P of the third structural member 107C, so that a distance between the third structural member 107C and the USB socket 101 is less than a distance between the second structural member 107B and the USB socket 101 in the Y direction. Further, the USB socket 101 first contacts the third structural member 107C in a process of mounting the USB socket 101. Therefore, the second structural member 107B is effectively prevented from being scratched when the USB socket 101 is mounted, to avoid damaging the second structural member 107B, thereby increasing an assembly yield of the electronic device 100 on a production line, and ensuring grounding reliability of the FPC”.
The disclosure is different from Fig. 7.
Examiner suggests applicant review entire specification to correct any deficiencies.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 need to spell out terms “USB” and “SIM” because they are first time introduced the terms.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 18 recites “wherein a distance between the third structural member and the interface socket is less than a distance between the second structural member and the interface socket in the second direction.”.
Fig. 7 illustrated “a distance between the third structural member (107C) and the interface socket (101) is farther than a distance between the second structural member (107B) and the interface socket (101) in the second direction (Y direction )”.
Therefore, claim 18 fails to comply with written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 11, 12, 14 – 16, 17 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20190341688 A1, Assignee: Samsung, Filed: 5/4/2018) in view of Yoo et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20250234463 A1, Assignee: Samsung, Filed: 10/28/2022).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses “An electronic device, wherein the electronic device (Fig 6B , electronic device 100) comprises a flexible printed circuit (Fig 6B , printed circuit board 400), a preset connector (Fig 6B , electric connectors 411 [0071]), a mainboard (Fig 6B , rear plate 111 [0070]), a mainboard ground member (Fig 6B , main ground plane 401 [0071]), and a conductive structural member; (Fig 6B , a flexible conductive member [0070])
the mainboard and the flexible printed circuit are disposed opposite to each other and spaced apart in a first direction, and the mainboard is connected to the mainboard ground member, to ground by using the mainboard ground member; (Fig 6B, [0065] – [0071]) and
the conductive structural member and the preset connector are disposed between the mainboard and the flexible printed circuit, (Fig 6B, [0065] – [0071]) and the flexible printed circuit is electrically connected to the mainboard by using the conductive structural member and the preset connector, to enable the flexible printed circuit to ground by using the mainboard ground member. (Fig 6B, [0064] – [0072])
Kim does not disclose “flexible printed circuit”.
Yoo discloses “flexible printed circuit”. ([1019] [0110] [0129])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate flexible printed circuit by Yoo into device of Kim. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide flexible circuit. (Yoo: [0110])
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Yoo disclose wherein the electronic device comprises a reinforcement plate, an external interface, and an interface socket configured to mount the external interface; (Kim [0048] [0057] [0109]) and
the flexible printed circuit is clamped between the interface socket and the reinforcement plate in the first direction. (Yoo [1019] [0110] [0129])
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Yoo disclose wherein a projection of the conductive structural member on the flexible printed circuit is at least partially overlapped with a projection of the reinforcement plate on the flexible printed circuit. (Yoo [1019] [0110] [0129])
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Yoo disclose wherein the conductive structural member is a first structural member. (Kim Fig 6B, [0064] – [0072])
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Yoo disclose wherein the first structural member comprises a rigid material. (Kim Fig 6B, [0064] – [0072])
Regarding claim 11, Kim and Yoo disclose wherein the conductive structural member comprises a second structural member and a third structural member that are stacked in the first direction, and the third structural member is located on one side that is of the second structural member and that faces away from the flexible printed circuit. (Kim Fig 6B, [0064] – [0072])
Regarding claim 12, Kim and Yoo disclose wherein the second structural member comprises a rigid material, and the third structural member comprises a flexible material or a rigid material. (Kim Fig 6B, [0064] – [0072])
Regarding claim 14, Kim and Yoo disclose wherein the flexible printed circuit comprises, in a second direction, a first segment and a second segment that are connected to each other, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction. (Yoo [1019] [0110] [0129])
Regarding claim 15, Kim and Yoo disclose wherein the third structural member comprises, in the second direction, a first part and a second part that are connected to each other, the third structural member is overlapped with the first segment of the flexible printed circuit by using the first part. (Kim Fig 6B, [0064] – [0072])
Regarding claim 16, Kim and Yoo disclose wherein the second part of the third structural member is configured to provide the second segment of the flexible printed circuit with support in the first direction. (Kim Fig 6B, [0064] – [0072])
Regarding claim 17, Kim and Yoo disclose wherein the interface socket is located between the mainboard and the flexible printed circuit in the first direction, and the interface socket is located on a first side of the conductive structural member in the second direction. (Kim [0048] [0057] [0109])
Regarding claim 19, Kim and Yoo disclose wherein parts of the third structural member have a same thickness, and the thickness is a size of the third structural member in the first direction. (Kim Fig 6B, [0064] – [0072])
Regarding claim 20, Kim and Yoo disclose wherein the external interface comprises a USB interface or a SIM card interface. (Kim [0048] [0057] [0109])
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20190341688 A1, Assignee: Samsung, Filed: 5/4/2018) in view of Yoo et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20250234463 A1, Assignee: Samsung, Filed: 10/28/2022) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20220376386 A1, Assignee: Samsung, Filed: 12/4/2020).
Regarding claim 13, Kim and Yoo do not disclose wherein the flexible material is conductive foam, and the rigid material is a conductive elastic piece.
Lee discloses wherein the flexible material is conductive foam, and the rigid material is a conductive elastic piece. ([0138] As an example, a cable connector 1150, a plurality of switches 1182, a tuner 1184, the connection member 1172, and/or a plurality of RF lines 1162 and may be disposed on the first printed circuit board 1010. As an example, the connection member 1172 may electrically connect the first printed circuit board 1010 and a side member (e.g., the side member 510 of FIG. 5A and/or the side member 610 of FIG. 6). The first connection member 1172, the second connection member 1174, or the third connection member 1176 may be, for example, a C-clip, a spring, a screw, a conductive foam, or a conductive elastic member [0152]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate conductive foam by Lee into device of Kim and Yoo. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide flexible material. (Lee: [0138])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and specification objection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250280062 A1 [0260] discloses According to one or more embodiments, the conductor (not separately illustrated) included in the first support portion 71 may be electrically connected to a first ground plane (or first ground area) (not separately illustrated) included in the first printed circuit board 74 via a flexible conductive member (or flexible conductive portion or flexible conductive component) positioned between the first support portion 71 and the first printed circuit board 74. The flexible conductive member may include, for example, a conductive clip (e.g., a conductive structure including an elastic structure), a pogo pin, a spring, a conductive foam, a conductive rubber, a conductive tape, or a conductive connector.
/CHUN-NAN LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629