DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1, drawn to the system for monitoring urological symptoms, in the reply filed on 8/28/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 8/28/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 71-79 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/28/26.
Initially with respect to the election of species requirement, the Examiner agrees with and appreciates Applicant’s attention to indicating the typographical error in the Election of Species requirement mailed 7/1/26, wherein the second listed species should have indeed been listed as and read “Species B” instead of a duplicate and erroneously redundant “Species A”.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A, embodiment drawn to Figures 3 and 5A-5C, in the reply filed on 8/28/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Fig 6 of Species B depicts the apparatus illustrated in Figs 5A and 5B in isolation while not mounted on a toilet bowl. This is not found persuasive because while those relationships may be true they do not preclude the embodiment of Species B and Fig 6 from being independent and/or distinct such that a search and/or examination burden exists. The Examiner respectfully notes the Species are the embodiments indicated via Figures but also include the detailed description(s) thereof in the instant disclosure, wherein Species B, while also being used in a toilet bowl although not shown in the figure, includes significant details regarding the sensor ID not present in and mutually exclusive with Species A.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 69-70 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/28/26.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 60-68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (WO 2021/174474 A1, hereinafter Wang) (reference herein is made with respect to accompanying English translation).
For claim 60, Wang discloses a system for monitoring urological symptoms, the system comprising inter alia:
a sampling reservoir (12) (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14) comprising an opening (opening of 12) and having a liquid (toilet bowl water) held therein (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14), the sampling reservoir configured to receive a biomaterial sample from a user through the opening (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14);
a first sensor (11,33,51) (Fig 1) disposed proximate to the sampling reservoir (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14), the first sensor configured to: measure a parameter of the liquid (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14); and generate a signal in response to the measurement (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14); and
a computing node (24), the computing node configured to receive the signal from the first sensor (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14), and determine therefrom a parameter of the biomaterial sample (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14).
For claim 61, Wang discloses the system of claim 60, wherein the parameter of the liquid is an amplitude of at least one wave formed in the liquid (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14).
For claim 62, Wang discloses the system of claim 61, wherein the at least one wave is formed in the liquid in response to deposition of the biomaterial sample into the liquid (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14), and wherein the amplitude of the at least one wave is correlated with a urination flow pattern (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14).
For claim 63, Wang discloses the system of claim 60, wherein the sampling reservoir is a toilet bowl (12) (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14).
For claim 64, Wang discloses the system of claim 60, wherein the biomaterial sample is urine voided from the user (Fig 1) (Pgs 7-14).
For claim 65, Wang discloses the system of claim 60, wherein the computing node is further configured to generate an electronic diary entry in response to the signal from the first sensor, the electronic diary entry having a datum corresponding to the signal (Pgs 7-14).
For claim 66, Wang discloses the system of claim 60, wherein: the computing node is configured to extract one or more features from the signal (Pgs 7-14), wherein the one or more features comprises a void frequency and provide the one or more features to a machine learning (ML) model (Pgs 7-14).
For claim 67, Wang discloses the system of claim 66, wherein the parameter includes one or more of a flow rate, a voided volume, a flow pattern, and a urination time (Pgs 7-14).
For claim 68, Wang discloses the system of claim 60, wherein the computing node is configured to generate a probability score in response to the signal from the sensor, wherein the probability score corresponds to a probability the user has a disease (Pgs 7-14).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for monitoring/tracking urine voiding parameters via toilet bowl sensing.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791