DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III (Claims 55-60) in the reply filed on 03/09/2026 is acknowledged.
The following office action addresses Group III (Claims 55-60). Groups I and II, directed to claims 41-48 and 49-54, respectively, are non-elected inventions and are therefore, withdrawn from consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
FIG. 16G: Although this figure includes the label 1632, this label does not appear within the specification. The examiner believes that label 1632 is a typo which should instead be 1631 as stated in paragraph [0349]. Should this assumption be correct, the examiner would recommend updating either the specification or the figure accordingly.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0195]: As written it reads “For optical/light-based sensing applications, the sensing modules 106 may specifically include LEDs embodying the waveform generators and configured to generate light wave signals of specific wavelengths, and photodiodes embodying the waveform detectors and configured to detecting light wave signals (e.g., reflected light wave signals) in a range of spectral bandwidth. However, to be grammatically correct “detecting” should be “detect” and “bandwidth” should be “bandwidths”.
[0208]: As written it reads “Further, the networks may have any suitable communication range associated therewith and may include, for example, global networks (e.g., the Internet), MANs, WANs, LANs, or PANs”. However, this is the first indication of the acronym “PANs” therefore the term should be spelled out to provide clarity.
[0212]: As written it reads “For instance, the non-volatile storage or memory may include one or more non-volatile storage or non-volatile memory media 310 such as hard disks, ROM, PROM, EPROM, EEPROM, flash memory, MMCs, SD memory cards, Memory Sticks, CBRAM, PRAM, FeRAM, RRAM, SONOS, racetrack memory, and/or the like”. However, this is the first indication of the acronyms ROM, PROM, EPROM, EEPROM, MMCs, SD CBRAM, PRAM, FeRAM, RRAM, and SONOS. Therefore, the terms should be spelled out to provide clarity.
[0214]: As written it reads “For instance, the volatile storage or memory may also include one or more volatile storage or volatile memory media 315 as described above, such as RAM, DRAM, SRAM, FPM DRAM, EDO DRAM, SDRAM, DDR SDRAM, DDR2 SDRAM, DDR3 SDRAM, RDRAM, RIMM, DIMM, SIMM, VRAM, cache memory, register memory, and/or the like”. However, this is the first indication of the acronyms RAM, DRAM, SRAM, FPM DRAM, EDO DRAM, SDRAM, DDR SDRAM, DDR2 SDRAM, DDR3 SDRAM, RDRAM, RIMM, DIMM, SIMM, and VRAM. Therefore, the terms should be spelled out to provide clarity.
[0420]: As written it reads: “FIG. 26A depicts the roughness analysis of gold surface during corrosion with RMS roughness”. However, this is the first indication of the acronym “RMS”, therefore the term should be spelled out to provide clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 55, 57 and 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bennet et al. US 2019/0223806 A1 “Bennet”.
Regarding claim 55, Bennet teaches “A sensing apparatus for deep tissue sensing and transdermal delivery comprising:” (“Referring to FIG. 3, a cross-sectional side view of another example modular external monitoring device 300 is depicted on the skin 210 of a patient. Monitoring device 300 includes microneedles 320 that can be employed as sensors, injection devices, sampling devices, and for other like purposes. Microneedles 320 can be barbed or otherwise include structures which facilitate adherence to skin 210” [0038]; “Microneedles 320 penetrate the skin 210 and the distal tips of the microneedles 320 reside subdermally. Therefore, microneedles 320, when used as sensors, have enhanced signal reception (e.g., for ECG, EEG, EMG, etc.). […] The portions of microneedles 320 near sensor patch 310 can be insulated portions 321 such that the only electrical recording would come from the exposed electrodes at the distal end of microneedles 320 that are positioned deeper into the tissue” [0039]; and “In some embodiments, microneedles 320 can alternatively be used for drug delivery by injecting medication from a reservoir 314 located within or coupled to sensor patch 310” [0042]. Therefore, FIG. 3 depicts a sensing apparatus (i.e. external monitoring device 300) for deep tissue sensing (i.e. via the distal ends of microneedles 320 positioned deeper into the tissue, see [0039]) and transdermal delivery (i.e. employing the microneedles 320 as injection devices, see [0038], [0042]).);
“a base layer configured to interface with a skin surface of a subject” (See [0039] above and FIG. 3. As shown in FIG. 3, the external monitoring device 300 is positioned on the skin 210 of the patient, such that the microneedles 320 penetrate the skin 210 and reside subdermally (see [0039]). Therefore, the sensing apparatus (i.e. 300) includes a base layer configured to interface with a skin surface of a subject.);
“a sensing layer positioned above the base layer and comprising one or more waveform detectors and one or more waveform generators configured to emit wave signals” (“Some embodiments of microneedles 320 can carry fiber optic elements and can transmit light for oximetry sensing. […] In one embodiment, a first microneedle 320 has a side aperture to transmit light. A neighboring microneedle 320 has a complementary side aperture to receive the light transmitted from the first microneedle 320 via the tissue. Thus, the actual technique is transmissive from two neighboring microneedles 320 placed in the tissue. In another embodiment, light is transmitted from a microneedle 320 and the light transmitted through the tissue is received at a sensor on the bottom surface of sensor patch 310. This embodiment could rely on measurement of reflective light or transmissive light, depending on geometric arrangement of the microneedle 320 relative to the base of sensor patch 310” [0041]. As shown in FIG. 3, the sensor patch 310 is located above the base layer (i.e. the connection between the external monitoring device 300 and the skin 210). In order for the sensors within the sensor patch 310 to receive light transmitted from a microneedle 320 and through the tissue, the sensing patch 310 has to include both waveform detectors and waveform generators configured to emit wave signals (i.e. light). Therefore, the sensing apparatus (i.e. 300) includes a sensing layer (i.e. 310) positioned above the base layer (i.e. the connection between the external monitoring device 300 and the skin 210) and comprising one or more waveform detectors (i.e. sensors) and one or more waveform generators configured to emit wave signals (i.e. light, such that the microneedles 320 can transmit light into tissue).);
“a microneedle attached to a skin-interfacing portion of the base layer and configured to waveguide the wave signals into a deep tissue of the subject” (See [0039] and [0041] above. Therefore, the sensing apparatus (i.e. 300) includes a microneedle (i.e. 320) attached to a skin-interfacing portion of the base layer (see FIG. 3) and configured to waveguide the wave signals (i.e. light, see [0041]) into a deep tissue of the subject (see [0039]).); and
“an electrically triggerable membrane encapsulating the microneedle and defining at least one reservoir between the microneedle and the electrically triggerable membrane” (See [0039] and [0042] above. As shown in FIG. 3, the reservoir 314 attaches to the microneedle 320 and is located within the sensor patch 310, the sensor patch representing an electrically triggerable membrane since it contains sensors which send and receive signals. Therefore, the sensing apparatus includes an electrically triggerable membrane (i.e. sensor patch 310) encapsulating the microneedle 320 and defining at least one reservoir (i.e. 314) between the microneedle and the electrically triggerable membrane.).
Regarding claim 57, Bennet discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 55 above, and Bennet further teaches “further comprising a microneedle array comprising a plurality of microneedles that includes the microneedle, wherein the electrically triggerable membrane encapsulates each of the plurality of microneedles” (See FIG. 3. As shown in FIG. 3, the external monitoring device 300 includes a plurality of microneedles 320 which each protrude from the sensor patch 310 (i.e. electrically triggerable membrane). Therefore, the sensing apparatus further comprises a microneedle array comprising a plurality of microneedles that includes the microneedle, wherein the electrically triggerable membrane (i.e. sensor patch 310) encapsulates each of the plurality of microneedles.).
Regarding claim 60, Bennet discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 55 above, and Bennet further teaches “further comprising: a controller in electronic communication with the one or more waveform generators and the one or more waveform detectors, the controller is configured to:” (See [0041] as discussed with respect to claim 55 above and “When control unit 120 is installed in sensor patch 110, electrical connections are made such that control unit 120 is in electrical communication with the sensors that are visible on the bottom of sensor patch 110. Sensor patch 110 includes, in this example embodiment, an ECG electrode 112 and a bioimpedance sensor 114. However, a wide variety of types, configurations and numbers of sensors can be included in sensor patch 110 as described further herein, and as known in the art” [0030]; “A power source such as a battery (not shown), and electrical contacts that mate with complementary contacts on control unit 120 can also be included in the sensor patch 110” [0031]. Although the control unit 120 is described with respect to the embodiment shown within FIG. 1, it would be obvious to include a control unit within the embodiment shown in FIG. 3 to enable it to perform similar functions to that of the embodiment of FIG. 1. Furthermore, in order for the microneedles 320 to transmit light, the microneedles 320 had to receive the light from one or more waveform generators present within the sensor patch 110/310, the sensor patch being configured to also receive light transmitted through tissue, (see [0041]). Therefore, since the control unit 120 is installed in sensor patch 110 and electrical connections are made with the sensors included therein (See [0031]), the sensor patch including one or more waveform generators and the one or more waveform detectors in order to transmit/receive light, respectively, the sensing apparatus further comprises: a controller in electronic communication with the one or more waveform generators and the one or more waveform detectors.);
“operate the one or more waveform generators to define a sensing field within the deep tissue of the subject via the wave signals and the microneedle as a waveguide” (See [0041] as discussed with respect to claim 55 above. In order for the microneedles to transmit light for oximetry sensing, the microneedles had to receive light from the one or more waveform generators. Therefore, the controller (i.e. control unit 120) is configured to operate the one or more waveform generators to define a sensing field within the deep tissue of the subject via the wave signals (i.e. light) and the microneedle as a waveguide (i.e. fiber optic elements to transmit light, see [0041]).);
“generate sensing data based at least in part on reflected wave signals detected at the one or more waveform detectors” (See [0041]. Thus, since the light transmitted through the tissue is received at a sensor on the bottom surface of sensor patch 310, the controller is configured to generate sensing data based at least in part on reflected wave signals detected at the one or more waveform detectors (i.e. sensors in the sensor patch 310).); and
“transmit, via wireless communication, the sensing data to a workstation” (“While control unit 120 typically downloads the health parameter data to a base station or equivalent device, in some cases control unit 120 while installed in the sensor patch 110 can send wireless transmissions to the base station or over cellular networks based on triggering events. Such triggering events can be determined for a particular patient and programmed into control units 120 for the patient. For example, a triggering event may be a particular variability in RR over a short time period, or an ECG QRS morphology, or the like” [0036]. Therefore, since the control unit 120 can send wireless transmissions to the base station, the controller is configured to transmit, via wireless communication, the sensing data to a workstation (i.e. base station).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennet et al. US 2019/0223806 A1 “Bennet” as applied to claim 55 above, and further in view of Sanjiv et al. WO 2019/186129 A1 “Sanjiv”.
Regarding claim 56, Bennet discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 55 above. Although Bennet discloses “When control unit 120 is installed in sensor patch 110, electrical connections are made such that control unit 120 is in electrical communication with the sensors that are visible on the bottom of sensor patch 110” [0030] and “In some embodiments, microneedles 320 can alternatively be used for drug delivery by injecting medication from a reservoir 314 located within or coupled to sensor patch 310.” [0042], Bennet does not teach “further comprising: a controller coupled to the microneedle and configured to transmit an electrical trigger to the microneedle to cause a disintegration of the electrically triggerable membrane and a release of content from the at least one reservoir; wherein the controller is configured to: receive a release control signal, wherein the release control signal comprises a microneedle indication associated with the microneedle, and in response to the release control signal, transmit the electrical trigger to the microneedle”.
Sanjiv is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves a microneedle platform for sensing and delivery (see [Title]).
Sanjiv teaches “further comprising: a controller coupled to the microneedle and configured to transmit an electrical trigger to the microneedle to cause a disintegration of the electrically triggerable membrane and a release of content from the at least one reservoir; wherein the controller is configured to: receive a release control signal, wherein the release control signal comprises a microneedle indication associated with the microneedle, and in response to the release control signal, transmit the electrical trigger to the microneedle” (“Referring to figure 4, there is shown an alternative patch according to an embodiment of the invention, the patch comprises a main polymeric base 10 made up of an array of microneedles 11. In this figure, solid microneedles are shown although it is equally feasible to use hollow microneedles as disclosed herein. As shown, the base 10 further comprises at least one channel 19 which is/are positioned in between the microneedle projections or their bases. Channel 19 is/are connected to a supply or reservoir of agent as depicted in figure 2” [Page 13, Line 27-Page 14, Line 1]; “In yet a further preferred embodiment, delivery of agent is actuated by a stimulus. For example, the agents might be encapsulated in a reservoir coated with a metal layer (Au, Ag or Pt) which will corrode to release the entrapped drug in response to an electrical stimulus” [Page 4, Lines 21-24].
In this case, the patch includes a polymeric base 10 with an array of microneedles 11 attached thereto, thus, the patch represents a sensing apparatus. These microneedles 11 are connected to a channel 19 which connects with a supply or reservoir of agent (i.e. drug). Therefore, since an electrical stimulus is provided to cause the reservoir coated with a metal layer which corrodes to release the entrapped drug, the sensing apparatus further comprises a controller coupled to the microneedle and configured to transmit an electrical trigger to the microneedle to cause a disintegration of the electrically triggerable membrane (i.e. corrosion of the metal layer coating the reservoir) and a release of content from the at least one reservoir, wherein the controller is configured to: receive a release control signal (i.e. electrical stimulus), wherein the release control signal comprises a microneedle indication associated with the microneedle, and in response to the release control signal (i.e. electrical stimulus), transmit the electrical trigger to the microneedle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing apparatus of Bennet such that it further comprises a controller coupled to the microneedle and configured to transmit an electrical trigger to the microneedle to cause a disintegration of the electrically triggerable membrane and a release of content from the at least one reservoir; wherein the controller is configured to: receive a release control signal, wherein the release control signal comprises a microneedle indication associated with the microneedle, and in response to the release control signal, transmit the electrical trigger to the microneedle as disclosed in Sanjiv in order to easily facilitate the release of content (i.e. a drug) from the sensing apparatus. Transmitting an electrical trigger to cause the disintegration of an electrically triggerable membrane is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to facilitate the release of a drug through microneedles with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the sensing apparatus of Bennet such that it further comprises a controller coupled to the microneedle and configured to transmit an electrical trigger to the microneedle to cause a disintegration of the electrically triggerable membrane and a release of content from the at least one reservoir; wherein the controller is configured to: receive a release control signal, wherein the release control signal comprises a microneedle indication associated with the microneedle, and in response to the release control signal, transmit the electrical trigger to the microneedle as disclosed in Sanjiv would yield the predictable result of easily facilitating the release of content (i.e. a drug) from the sensing apparatus.
Claim(s) 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennet et al. US 2019/0223806 A1 “Bennet” as applied to claim 55 above, and further in view of Young et al. KR 2019/0136727 A “Young”.
Regarding claim 58, Bennet discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 55 above. Bennet further teaches “wherein the microneedle is configured as an optical waveguide for the light signals” (See [0041] as discussed with respect to claim 55 above. Therefore, since the microneedles 320 can carry fiber optic elements to transmit light for oximetry sensing, the microneedle is configured as an optical waveguide for the light signals.).
However, Bennet does not teach “wherein the one or more waveform generators comprise one or more light-emitting diodes configured to emit light signals”, or “wherein the light signals include visible red light signals and near-infrared signals”.
Young is within a related field of endeavor to the claimed invention because it involves a microneedle plat with a plurality of LED light sources to emit LED light though a microneedle plate (see [Abstract]).
Young teaches “wherein the one or more waveform generators comprise one or more light-emitting diodes configured to emit light signals” and “wherein the light signals include visible red light signals and near-infrared signals” (“Referring to FIG. 4, the LED light source 40 is installed at the rear of the microneedle plate 20 and irradiates LED light to the skin through the microneedle plate 20. The LED light source 40 is a red LED 41 for generating red light of 650 ~ 670 nanometer wavelength, blue LED 42 for generating blue light of 400 ~ 450 nanometer wavelength, 870 ~ 890 nanometer wavelength. It may include a near infrared LED 43 for generating a near infrared” [Page 3, Lines 34-38]; “The operation mode input through the mode switching switch 60 is a vibration mode in which only the vibration motor 30 operates for a set time, a red LED 41 mode in which the red LED 41 lights up for a set time, and the blue color. The blue LED 42 mode in which the LED 42 lights up for a set time, the near infrared LED 43 mode in which the near-infrared LED 43 lights up for a set time, and the vibration motor 30 and the red LED 41.” [Page 4, Lines 6-9]. “Referring to FIG. 6, the microneedle of the microneedle plate 20 functions as a kind of optical fiber to increase the total amount of light transmitted through the skin and to increase the depth at which the light penetrates” [Page 5, Lines 1-2].
Therefore, sensing apparatus includes one or more waveform generators, wherein the one or more waveform generators comprise one or more light-emitting diodes (i.e. LED light source 40 with red LED 41 and near infrared LED 43) configured to emit light signals, wherein the light signals include visible red light signals and near-infrared signals.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing apparatus of Bennet such that the one or more waveform generators comprise one or more light-emitting diodes are configured to emit light signals, wherein the light signals include visible red light signals and near-infrared signals as disclosed in Young in order to deliver light of different wavelengths to the skin of a patient. When red light is transmitted through the skin of a patient, it plays a role in promoting collagen production in the skin (See Young: [Page 4, Lines 35-36]). Alternatively, when near-infrared light is transmitted through the skin of a patient, it stimulates cell activity and provides skin healing effects (see Young: [Page 4, Lines 40-41]). Therefore, modifying the sensing apparatus of Bennet such that the one or more waveform generators comprise one or more light-emitting diodes are configured to emit light signals, wherein the light signals include visible red light signals and near-infrared signals as disclosed in Young would yield the predictable result of delivering light of different wavelengths to the skin of a patient so as to promote collagen production (i.e. red LED) and stimulate cell activity/provide skin healing effects (i.e. near-infrared LED).
Claim(s) 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennet et al. US 2019/0223806 A1 “Bennet” as applied to claim 55 above, and further in view of Gyu et al. KR 102367746 B1 “Gyu”.
Regarding claim 59, Bennet discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 55 above. However, Bennet does not teach “wherein the one or more waveform generators comprise one or more ultrasonic generators configured to emit ultrasonic signals, and wherein the microneedle is configured to act as ultrasonic waveguides for the ultrasonic signals”.
Gyu is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves a method for producing transdermal administration type drug patch microneedles and an ultrasonic device for injection (see [Abstract]).
Gyu teaches “wherein the one or more waveform generators comprise one or more ultrasonic generators configured to emit ultrasonic signals, and wherein the microneedle is configured to act as ultrasonic waveguides for the ultrasonic signals” (“The ultrasonic device for injection is characterized by comprising: a flexible hydrogel base layer having an average thickness of 1-1.5 millimeters; a microneedle layer in which one or more conical microneedles are disposed at regular intervals on one plane of the hydrogel base layer, wherein the microneedles are formed by mixing biodegradable polymers with a medicine solution; and a piezoelectric film layer which is closely attached to the other plane of the hydrogel base layer, is flexible, and generates an ultrasonic signal of 20-1,000 megahertz by the application of an operating power source” [Abstract]; “The transdermal injection-type drug patch microneedle ultrasonic injection device 900 is configured to include a hydrogel base layer 1000, a chemical solution microneedle 2000, a piezoelectric film layer 3000, and a power supply unit 4000” [Page 4, Lines 16-18]; “The piezoelectric film layer 3000 is closely adhered to the other side plane of the hydrogel base layer 1000, is flexible, and generates and outputs an ultrasonic signal of 20 to 1,000 megahertz by the application of operating power” [Page 5, Lines 15-16].
Since the piezoelectric film layer 3000 generates and outputs an ultrasonic signal, the piezoelectric film layer 3000 represents an ultrasonic generator. As shown in FIG. 2, the transdermal injection-type drug patch microneedle includes microneedles 2000 on the hydrogel base layer 1000, the piezoelectric film layer 3000 being on the other side of the hydrogel base layer 1000. Therefore, in order for the ultrasonic signal from the piezoelectric film layer 3000 to each the patient, the ultrasonic signal must pass through the hydrogel base layer 1000 and the microneedles 2000. Thus, the microneedles 2000 must act, at least in part as an ultrasonic waveguide. Therefore, the sensing apparatus includes one or more waveform generators in the form of one or more ultrasonic generators (i.e. piezoelectric film layer 3000) configured to emit ultrasonic signals, and wherein the microneedle (i.e. 2000) is configured to act as ultrasonic waveguides for the ultrasonic signals.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing apparatus of Bennet such that the one or more waveform generators comprise one or more ultrasonic generators configured to emit ultrasonic signals, and wherein the microneedles is configured to act as ultrasonic waveguides for the ultrasonic signals as disclosed in Gyu in order to easily enable ultrasonic signals to be emitted into the patient for performing diagnosis and assessment thereof. Emitting ultrasonic signals to a patient through microneedles is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to deliver ultrasonic signals to a patient with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the sensing apparatus of Bennet such that the one or more waveform generators comprise one or more ultrasonic generators configured to emit ultrasonic signals, and wherein the microneedles is configured to act as ultrasonic waveguides for the ultrasonic signals as disclosed in Gyu would yield the predictable result of easily enabling ultrasonic signals to be emitted into the patient for performing diagnosis and assessment thereof.
Conclusion
/KAITLYN E SEBASTIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797