DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 9, Figure 13, Claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 07/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the common technical feature is the structure of the gasket. This is not found persuasive because based on the disclosure, the different structural arrangements of the gaskets in each species listed in the restriction requirement are the different technical features that present additional examination burden if the restriction is not required. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2022/0074496) in view of Lee et al. (US 2003/0098964).
In re claim 1, Watanabe, in figures 1-8, discloses a gasket having at least one rubber layer (12) and a metal layer (11). Watanabe does not disclose using the gasket in a machine table and an armature. Lee however, in figures 1-7, shows an example of using a gasket (103, see figure 5)) in a structure having a machine table (20) and an armature (positioned below table 20 in figure 4a). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the structure of the gasket taught by Watanabe to the gasket of Lee to improve sealing.
In re claim 2, Watanabe, in figures 1-8, discloses that the gasket has at least two rubber layers and a metal layer interposed between the at least two rubber layers (as shown in figure 2 and other figures).
In re claims 3-4, Watanabe discloses the claimed gasket except for the specific thickness values of the layers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the gasket with thickness values in the claimed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 19-20, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 5, Watanabe, in figures 1-8, discloses a bolt hole (16) is formed in the gasket.
In re claim 6, Watanabe, in figures 1-8, discloses that the gasket has a first surface and a second surface on a rear side of the first surface, a convex portion is formed on the first surface, a concave portion is formed on the second surface at a position corresponding to the convex portion, and the concave portion and the convex portion are formed to surround one or more of the bolt holes (this is best seen in figures 4-7).
In re claim 7, Lee teaches a linear motor (14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/Alexander Talpalatski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837