DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 12/10/2025.
Claims 1 and 4-11 are currently pending and have been examined below. Claims 2-3 are cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 16 of claim 1, “the drive member” should read --a drive member--. Note that with this correction, the ‘a drive member’ on line 18 of claim 1 should also be amended to --the drive member-- if applicant intended to refer to the same drive member.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 209817716) in view of Wang et al. (CN 107386906) (hereinafter “Wang”).
Claim 1
(Chen discloses) A side sliding door (figures 1-3), comprising:
a door panel (1);
a door frame (Annotated figure 1 below);
a transmission assembly (Annotated figure 1 below), the transmission assembly comprising two sets of synchronous tape modules (Annotated figure 1 below), the two sets of synchronous tape modules being arranged in parallel one above the other on the door frame (figure 1);
a synchronous drive module (Annotated figure 1 below), the synchronous drive module driving the two sets of synchronous tape modules to move synchronously (Excerpt 1 from page 4 below), a synchronous motion of the two sets of synchronous tape modules driving the door panel to perform a flat opening action in a horizontal direction (Excerpt 1 below),
wherein each of the synchronous tape modules comprises a driving belt wheel (7 and the other unlabeled wheel at the end of shaft 2), a driven belt wheel (10 and the other unlabeled wheel near 23) and a synchronous belt (two sets of tape 9), the synchronous drive module comprises a driving shaft (2 and 5) and a driven shaft (12 and the other driven shaft in Annotated figure 1 below), the driving shaft and the driven shaft are both rotatably assembled (figure 1), two ends of the driving shaft are connected to the two driving belt wheels respectively (ends of 2 and 5 in figure 1), two ends of the driven shaft are connected to the two driven belt wheels respectively (Annotated figure 1 below), and the driving shaft is adapted to be driven to rotate by the drive member (3; Excerpt 1 below).
Chen fails to disclose:
(i) wherein an axial middle portion of the driving shaft is assembled with a transmission wheel;
(ii) the transmission wheel is adapted to be driven by a drive member to rotate through a driving belt.
(i) (However, Wang teaches) wherein an axial middle portion of a driving shaft (142; Wang figure 2) is assembled with a transmission wheel (145).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the driving shaft of Chen with the transmission wheel at an axial middle portion of Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide additional support and guidance to the middle portion of the door panel when performing the flat opening action in the horizontal direction.
(ii) (Chen, as modified above, discloses) the transmission wheel is adapted to be driven by a drive member to rotate through a driving belt (intended use; the provided wheel 145 in modified Chen can be driven by the existing drive member of modified Chen and configured to be engaging a surface of an element such as a belt, track, or the like as such this is taught via the combination above).
Annotated figure 1
Excerpt 1
Claim 4
(Chen, as modified above, discloses) The side sliding door according to claim 1, further comprising a guide rod (14; figure 3), wherein the guide rod is configured for the synchronous tape module, the guide rod is parallel to the synchronous tape module (figure 1), the synchronous tape module is connected to the door panel through a connecting assembly (Annotated figure 1 above), the connecting assembly moves along the guide rod when being driven by the synchronous tape module (figure 3; Excerpt 3 from page 5 below).
Excerpt 3
Claim 5
(Chen, as modified above, discloses) The side sliding door according to claim 4, wherein the connecting assembly comprises a first fixing base, a linear bearing and a second fixing base (all three shown in Annotated figure 3 below), the first fixing base moves with the synchronous belt, the first fixing base drives the linear bearing to move linearly along the guide rod (Excerpt 3 above), and the linear bearing drives the door panel to move through the second fixing base (Annotated figure 3 below).
Annotated figure 3
Claim 10
(Chen, as modified above, discloses) The side sliding door according to claim 1, further comprising a tension assembly (17; figures 1 and 3), the tension assembly is configured for the synchronous tape module, and the tension assembly tensions the synchronous belt (Excerpt 2 from page 5 below).
Excerpt 2
Claims 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wang, as applied to claims 1, 4-5, and 10 above, in further view of Mascheroni (US 20130020918).
Claim 6
(Chen, as modified above, discloses) The side sliding door according to claim 5.
Modified Chen is silent regarding: (i) wherein the door panel is slidably assembled on the second fixing base through an adapter base;
Modified Chen fails to disclose: (ii) a sliding direction of the adapter base relative to the second fixing base is perpendicular to an extending direction of the guide rod.
(i) (However, Mascheroni teaches) wherein a door panel (14; Mascheroni figures 1 and 3) is slidably assembled on a second fixing base (Annotated figure 3 (II) below) through an adapter base (9), a sliding direction of the adapter base relative to the second fixing base (Annotated figure 3 (II) below) is perpendicular to a horizontal opening direction of the door panel (Annotated figure 3 (II) below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to assemble the side sliding door of modified Chen with the second fixing base through an adapter base as taught by Mascheroni, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a secondary inward/outward movement to the door panel as it performs the flat opening action thus it clears any potential electronics or parts that it is intended to cover as such preventing the door panel from damaging them especially when the flat opening action is performed automatically via the drive module without a user or person being present.
(ii) (Chen, as modified above, discloses) a sliding direction of the adapter base relative to the second fixing base is perpendicular to an extending direction of the guide rod (this is taught via the combination above).
Annotated figure 3 (II)
Claim 7
(Chen, as modified above, discloses) The side sliding door according to claim 6.
Modified Chen is silent regarding wherein a track is formed on the door frame, the adapter base is formed with a sliding portion, the sliding portion extends into the track and moves along the track.
(However, Mascheroni teaches) wherein a track (17; Mascheroni figure 1) is formed on a door frame (Annotated figure 3 (II) above), an adapter base (Annotated figure 3 (II) above) is formed with a sliding portion (16), the sliding portion extends into the track and moves along the track (Mascheroni figures 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the door frame of modified Chen with the track of Mascheroni, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the predictable and expected benefits of guiding the door panel as it performs the flat opening action thus keeping it from derailing.
Claim 9
(Chen, as modified above, discloses) The side sliding door according to claim 7, wherein the inner wall surface of the track comprises a straight line segment and a curve segment (both shown in Annotated figure 3 (II) above), the straight line segment is parallel to an axis of the guide rod, and the curve segment bends towards the guide rod (these two clauses are taught via the combination above).
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wang in view of Mascheroni, as applied to claims 6-7 and 9 above, in further view of Dassis et al. (FR 2909403) (hereinafter “Dassis”).
Claim 8
(Chen, as modified above, discloses) The side sliding door according to claim 7.
Modified Chen fails to disclose wherein an elastic member is further disposed between the adapter base and the second fixing base, under an action of the elastic member, the sliding portion is able to maintain abutted against an inner wall surface of the track.
(However, Dassis teaches) an elastic member (8; Dassis figures 1-8) is further disposed between an adapter base (13) and a second fixing base (7), under an action of the elastic member, a sliding portion (2) is able to maintain abutted against an inner wall surface of a track (13; Excerpt 4 from page 9 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the adapter base and second fixing base of modified Chen with the elastic member of Dassis, with a reasonable expectation of success, to bias the door panel in the closed position thus it requires a certain amount of force to perform the flat opening action therefore preventing the door panel from accidentally opening because of gravity or wind.
Excerpt 4
Claim 11
(Chen, as modified above, discloses) The side sliding door according to claim 8, wherein the inner wall surface of the track comprises a straight line segment and a curve segment (both shown in Annotated figure 3 (II) above), the straight line segment is parallel to an axis of the guide rod, and the curve segment bends towards the guide rod (these two clauses are taught via the combination above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments directed to the drawing objections were considered and they have been accepted.
Examiner thanks applicant’s comments regarding the abstract objection. Examiner apologizes for the objection set forth which was withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding “Applicant respectfully submits that Chen does not explicitly disclose the "horizontal" side sliding door system” (page 5 of the Remarks section), Chen discloses a sliding door that can be slidably opened in a linear manner (via the tape modules and belt wheels) whether it is horizontal or vertical. Examiner notes that the assembly of Chen can be installed to slide in either manner. Also, the recitation “to perform a flat opening action in a horizontal direction” is not positively recited in the claim as such it is not required by the claims, however as noted above, the limitation is still given its patentable weight as the invention of Chen is capable of performing this action via its linear and translational movements. Additionally, applicant does not provide evidence regarding applicant's conclusion that the sliding door system of Chen is not capable of the 'horizontal' sliding.
Regarding applicant’s arguments directed to the combination of Chen in view of Wang, applicant argues that “Applicant respectfully submits that the abuts wheel 145 of Wang is not a transmission wheel, and the abuts wheel 145 is not driven to rotate by drive mechanism 13”. However, this was found not persuasive as this is much narrower than what the claim requires. The claim merely recites "the transmission wheel is adapted to be driven by a drive member". The claim does not require the wheel to be drivingly connected or powered by the drive member nor the drive member itself. Examiner notes that the drive mechanism 13 drives the sliding door 12 [see 4th par. on page 7 of Wang] hence the connection of the sliding panel and the transmission wheel leads to the drive mechanism driving the transmission wheel.
Regardless, applicant’s argument that the transmission wheel is not driven to rotate by drive mechanism is rendered moot as the scope of the claims have changed by not positively reciting the drive member. Simply, the claims only require the middle portion of the driving shaft is assembled with a transmission wheel which is evidently presented by the combination above. Examiner notes that the limitation is still given its patentable weight as the transmission wheel can be driven by the drive member of modified Chen in the combination presented above.
Applicant also argued that wheel 145 is not a transmission wheel. It is unclear to the examiner what led applicant to the conclusion that wheel 145 is not a transmission wheel. Examiner notes that ‘transmission’ is defined as --the act or process of transmitting-- which the wheel 145 is capable of performing thus it meets its definition.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634