DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,7-9,3-4,11-12,15-16, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergström to (US20170339602) in view of Lei to (WO 2022035762) from IDS
Regarding claims 1,9,25, Bergström teaches a method for activating partial resources of cell, performed by a first base station, comprising(fig.2) : transmitting a first request message to a second base station to which a target cell belongs, wherein the first request message is used, by the second base station, to determine beam that needs to be activated and/or bandwidth that needs to be activated in the target cell,( [0044] The first radio network node 12 may request the second radio network node 13 to activate a set of one or more beams towards the wireless device 10. The first radio network node 12 may transmit a reference signal request to start transmitting reference signals or beams, based on some logic not shown here, requesting the second radio network node 13 to start transmitting the reference signals and then the second radio network node 13 starts the reference signals, action 405) wherein the first request message comprises at least one of the following: first indication information, used to indicate one or more beams requested to be activated; ([0044] The first radio network node 12 may request the second radio network node 13 to activate a set of one or more beams towards the wireless device 10. ..[0046] The first radio network node 12 transmits an indication, e.g. a handover delegation request, to the second radio network node 13, which indication indicates a delegation of the handover decision for the wireless device 10 thereby enabling the mobility procedure of the wireless device 10) second indication information, used to indicate beams to which locations of target terminals belong; location information of target terminals; a bandwidth part requested to be activated; or to-be-offloaded service volume and service volume of each target terminal; and an area where the target cell provides services is within a range of an area where a first cell provides services, the first cell belongs to the first base station, and the target terminals are terminals connected to the first cell([0050] Action 411. The second radio network node 13 may transmit a handover request Ack upon determining to perform the handover.[0051] the first radio network node 12 is more capable and/or is lesser loaded than the potential second radio network node 13 and may form a really good beam into the area served by the second radio network node 13)
Bergström does not explicitly teach the beam is a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB)
However, Lei teaches the beam is a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB)([0107] discloses SSB beams)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Bergstrom include the beam is a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB), as suggested by Lei. This modification would benefit the system as a design choice.
Regarding claims 7,15,26 Bergstrom teaches a method for activating partial resources of cell, performed by a second base station, comprising: determining a beam that needs to be activated and/or bandwidth that needs to be activated in a target cell based on a first request message transmitted from a first base station,( [0044] The first radio network node 12 may request the second radio network node 13 to activate a set of one or more beams towards the wireless device 10. The first radio network node 12 may transmit a reference signal request to start transmitting reference signals or beams, based on some logic not shown here, requesting the second radio network node 13 to start transmitting the reference signals and then the second radio network node 13 starts the reference signals, action 405) ; and transmitting a response message to the first base station, wherein the response message comprises any or any combination of an activated beam, an un-activated SSB beam or activated bandwidth in the target cell([0044] The first radio network node 12 may request the second radio network node 13 to activate a set of one or more beams towards the wireless device 10. ..[0046] The first radio network node 12 transmits an indication, e.g. a handover delegation request, to the second radio network node 13, which indication indicates a delegation of the handover decision for the wireless device 10 thereby enabling the mobility procedure of the wireless device…([0050] Action 411. The second radio network node 13 may transmit a handover request Ack upon determining to perform the handover), wherein the first base station is a base station to which all first cells providing services to target terminals belong, and areas where the first cells provide services comprise areas where all the target cells provide services, and the target cells belong to the second base station([0050] Action 411. The second radio network node 13 may transmit a handover request Ack upon determining to perform the handover.[0051] the first radio network node 12 is more capable and/or is lesser loaded than the potential second radio network node 13 and may form a really good beam into the area served by the second radio network node 13).
Bergström does not explicitly teach the beam is a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB)
However, Lei teaches the beam is a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB)([0107] discloses SSB beams)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Bergstrom include the beam is a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB), as suggested by Lei. This modification would benefit the system as a design choice.
Regarding claims 8, 16 ,27 Bergstrom teaches a method for activating partial resources of cell,
performed by a terminal, (fig.2) comprising:
reporting a measurement result to a first cell that provides services for the
terminal( [0059] f) the wireless device 10 reports the measurement results in a measurement report to the first radio network node 12) wherein the measurement result at least comprises a beam-level measurement result, the beam-level measurement result comprises measurement results of one or more SSB beams in a same target cell and measurement results of one or more SSB beams in different target cells;( [0057] d) The wireless device 10 is commanded by the first radio network node 12 to measure on these beams with e.g. a measurement command. [0058] e) The wireless device 10 measures on the beams, e.g. receives (Rx) MRSs, and . . . [0059] f) the wireless device 10 reports the measurement results in a measurement report to the first radio network node 12, [0060] g) which measurement/s the first radio network node 12 forwards to the second radio network node 13 for the second radio network node 13 to take into account when determining handover or not) the first cell belongs to a first base station, the target cells belong to a second base station, (fig.3) and an area where the first cell provides services comprises an area where the target cell provides
services; (fig.3) and the beam-level measurement results of beam are used, by the first second
base station, to determine beams and/or bandwidth that need to be activated in the target
cell([0044] The first radio network node 12 may request the second radio network node 13 to activate a set of one or more beams towards the wireless device 10. ..[0046] The first radio network node 12 transmits an indication, e.g. a handover delegation request, to the second radio network node 13, which indication indicates a delegation of the handover decision for the wireless device 10 thereby enabling the mobility procedure of the wireless device 10)
Bergström does not explicitly teach the beam is a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB)
However, Lei teaches the beam is a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB)([0107] discloses SSB beams)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Bergstrom include the beam is a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB), as suggested by Lei. This modification would benefit the system as a design choice.
Regarding claims 3,11 Bergstrom teaches obtaining an activated SSB beam and/or activated bandwidth in the target cell based on a received response message transmitted from the second base station, wherein the response message transmitted from the second base station comprises any or any combination of the activated SSB beam, an un-activated SSB beam or the activated bandwidth([0044] The first radio network node 12 may request the second radio network node 13 to activate a set of one or more beams towards the wireless device 10. ..[0046] The first radio network node 12 transmits an indication, e.g. a handover delegation request, to the second radio network node 13, which indication indicates a delegation of the handover decision for the wireless device 10 thereby enabling the mobility procedure of the wireless device…([0050] Action 411. The second radio network node 13 may transmit a handover request Ack upon determining to perform the handover),
Regarding claims 4,12 Bergstrom teaches determining the target terminals that need to be handed over to the target cell based on a coverage area corresponding to the activated SSB beam and the location information of the target terminals, and/or the activated bandwidth and the service volume of each target terminal([0044] The first radio network node 12 may request the second radio network node 13 to activate a set of one or more beams towards the wireless device 10. ..[0046] The first radio network node 12 transmits an indication, e.g. a handover delegation request, to the second radio network node 13, which indication indicates a delegation of the handover decision for the wireless device 10 thereby enabling the mobility procedure of the wireless device…([0050] Action 411. The second radio network node 13 may transmit a handover request Ack upon determining to perform the handover).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2,5-6,10,13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461