DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 19-21, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, and 36 are pending. Claims 2, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16-18, 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, 32, and 34 are cancelled.
Status of Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. § 371 national stage patent application of International patent application PCT/CN2022/132714, filed on November 18, 2022. This application also claims the benefits of foreign priority to CN202210566949.2, filed on May 23, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The instant application is accompanied with no IDS. Examiner would like to remind Applicant that “[e]ach individual associated with the filing and prosecution of a patent application has a duty of candor and good faith in dealing with the Office, which includes a duty to disclose to the Office all information known to that individual to be material to patentability as defined in this section. The duty to disclose information exists with respect to each pending claim until the claim is cancelled or withdrawn from consideration, or the application becomes abandoned. Information material to the patentability of a claim that is cancelled or withdrawn from consideration need not be submitted if the information is not material to the patentability of any claim remaining under consideration in the application. There is no duty to submit information which is not material to the patentability of any existing claim. The duty to disclose all information known to be material to patentability is deemed to be satisfied if all information known to be material to patentability of any claim issued in a patent was cited by the Office or submitted to the Office in the manner prescribed by §§ 1.97(b) -(d) and 1.98. However, no patent will be granted on an application in connection with which fraud on the Office was practiced or attempted or the duty of disclosure was violated through bad faith or intentional misconduct.” See 37 C.F.R. 1.56 for more details.
Specification - Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
In chemical patent abstracts for processes, the type of reaction, reagents and process conditions should be stated, generally illustrated by a single example unless variations are necessary.
Specification - Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 20, 23, 25, 29, and 36 are objected to because of the following informalities:
To avoid 112b issues, in claims 3, 5, 7, 11, 20, 23, 25, 29, and 36:
“the weight ratio” should read “a weight ratio”
To avoid 112b issues, in claim 9:
“the mass ratio” should read “a mass ratio”
For grammatical consistency, claim 3 should read:
“…s121) distilling, under atmospheric pressure at 140-145oC, the product…”
For consistency, in claims 7 and 25, the degree symbol in:
“… is carried out at 85-110oC…” should be superscript to read:
“… is carried out at 85-110oC…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 19-21, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 19-21, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, and 36, the phrase "preferably," “more preferably,” and/or “most preferably” render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 3, 5, 7, 11, 20, 23, 25, 29, and 36 recite the limitation "the weight ratio.” Claims 3 and 5 are dependent on claim 1; claims 7 and 11 are dependent on claim 5; claims 20, 23, 25, and 29 are dependent on claim 19; and claim 36 is dependent on claim 35. Claims 1, 5, 19, and 35 do not mention “a weight ratio” of the corresponding mixture recited in claims (3,5), (7, 11), (20, 23, 25, 29), and (36), respectively. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in claims 3, 5, 7, 11, 20, 23, 25, 29, and 36.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the mass ratio of the compound of Formula (II) and the solvent.” Claim 9 is dependent on claim 7 which is dependent on claim 5, wherein claim 5 is dependent on claim 1. Claims 1, 5, and 7 do not mention “a mass ratio of the compound of Formula (II) and the solvent.” Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in claim 9.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the step iv2) comprises: removing alcohol from the reaction product obtained in the step b1) to obtain an aqueous solution of the compound of Formula (IV)…” Claim 31 is dependent on claim 29, which is dependent on claim 19, wherein claim 19 is dependent on claim 1. Claims 1, 19, and 29 do not mention a “step b1.” Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in claim 31.
Note on 35 USC § 102 and § 103 Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Part 1:
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Du et al. (Du) (CN102127040A; published July 20, 2011),
All paragraph numbers cited are the paragraph numbers from the English-translated document
Alfonsi et al. (Alfonsi) (Alfonsi, K. et al. Green chemistry tools to influence a medicinal chemistry and research chemistry based organization. Green Chem. 2008, 10, 31-36.), and
Barich (Barich, A. Recrystallization. Chemistry LibreTexts. According to Wayback Machine, published as early as 2019. https://chem.libretexts.org/Bookshelves/Physical_and_Theoretical_Chemistry_Textbook_Maps/Supplemental_Modules_(Physical_and_Theoretical_Chemistry)/Physical_Properties_of_Matter/Solutions_and_Mixtures/Case_Studies/RECRYSTALLIZATION
In view of: Fisher Scientific. Isopropyl Ether. https://www.fishersci.com/shop/products/isopropyl-ether-certified-acs-fisher-chemical/E1414
Du discloses how to prepare 6,6-dimethyl-3-oxabicyclo[3.1.0]hexane-2,4-dione (i.e., caronic anhydride:
) from 3,3-dimethyl-1,2-cyclopropanedicarboxylic acid (i.e., caronic acid:
) in para. 0029. Those preparation steps are reproduced below:
127.5 kg (1250 mol) of acetic anhydride was first added to another 500 L reactor.
Then, 79 kg (500 mol) of 3,3-dimethyl-1,2-cyclopropanedicarboxylic acid and 12.3 kg (150 mol) of anhydrous sodium acetate were added while stirring.
After the substances in the reactor were mixed evenly, the temperature in the reactor was raised to 140 °C and refluxed for 1 hour.
Acetic acid and acetic anhydride were distilled off under normal pressure.
Then, the temperature was raised at a rate of 10 °C/h. When the temperature in the reactor reached 170 °C to 180 °C, the heating was stopped.
The product was distilled off under 1000 Pa to 2000 Pa.
The distilled product was recrystallized with 35 kg of methyl tert-butyl ether to obtain 47.6 kg of 6,6-dimethyl-3-oxabicyclo[3.1.0]hexane-2,4-dione, with a yield of 68%.
Du does not disclose isopropyl ether as the recrystallization solvent. Alfonsi is relied upon for this disclosure.
Alfonsi discloses a solvent selection guide for medicinal chemistry (see Alfonsi, Fig. 1) which is reproduced below:
[AltContent: rect]
.
According to Table 1 of Alfonsi, di-isopropyl ether (i.e., isopropyl ether) is considered an undesirable solvent because it is a “[v]ery powerful peroxide former.” Alfonsi suggests that a good solvent alternative to use is MTBE (see Alfonsi, Table 2).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Du’s method of preparing caronic anhydride by replacing the MTBE used to recrystallize caronic anhydride with isopropyl ether. A POSITA would have had a reasonable expectation that isopropyl ether would successfully recrystallize caronic anhydride and provide results similar to those obtained using MTBE because Alfonsi identifies MTBE and isopropyl ether as interchangeable alternative ether solvents for performing the same general solvent function. Although Alfonsi expresses a safety preference for MTBE, this preference does not establish that isopropyl ether is chemically unsuitable or inoperative as a solvent. Rather, Alfonsi’s identification of tert-butyl MTBE as an alternative to isopropyl ether suggests that the two solvents were recognized as functionally related ether solvents capable of serving the same general solvent function. Accordingly, a POSITA would have expected isopropyl ether to also successfully recrystallize the caronic anhydride prepared using Du’s method. In fact, this is consistent with what is reported by Du and by the instant specification. Du reports obtaining caronic anhydride in a 68% yield when MTBE was used as the recrystallization solvent (see para. 0029, last sentence). The instant specification reports a similar product yield of 65.3% (see instant Table 5, last row). Thus, the use of isopropyl ether (as reported in the instant specification), does not provide an unexpected outcome relative to Du’s use of MTBE. Instead, the reported results are consistent with the similar performance that would have been expected from the known alternative ether solvents. See MPEP 2144.06(II).
As such, instant claims 1 and 3 are rendered obvious.
Moreover, even though Du does not disclose the exact recrystallization steps, the procedure for this method of compound purification is routine and known in the art. According to Barich, to recrystallize a compound:
the crude compound is first dissolved in boiling solvent,
then the solution is cooled slowly in open air first and then cooled in an ice bath (see “Procedure” section in Barich).
Therefore, when recrystallizing caronic anhydride in isopropyl ether as the solvent, it is obvious to first dissolve the crude caronic anhydride in isopropyl ether at a high temperature between 50-70oC (i.e., a temperature range that encompasses the boiling point of isopropyl ether: 68oC; see Fisher Scientific) and subsequently cool the clear solution to a low temperature.
As such, instant claim 4 is rendered obvious.
Rejection Part 2:
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
The references listed in Rejection Part 1 and
Qin et al. (Qin) (CN104163759A; published November 26, 2014.)
All paragraph numbers cited are the paragraph numbers from the English-translated document;
All paragraph numbers within figures correspond to the paragraph numbers of the original Chinese document.
in view of:
Fernanda, How can TEMPO be used to oxidize alcohols in a two-phase solvent system? Chemical Trading Guide 2021, https://www.guidechem.com/question/how-can-tempo-be-used-to-oxidi-id148063.html
The method for preparing caronic anhydride from caronic acid, as disclosed in instant claims 1, 3, and 4, was rendered obvious over the teachings disclosed in Du, Alfonsi, and Barich. See “Rejection Part 1” above for details.
Du does not disclose a method of preparing caronic acid comprising a step involving a compound of instant formula I reacting with a compound of instant formula II. Qin is relied upon for this disclosure.
Synthesizing a compound of instant formula III
Qin discloses how to synthesize a compound of instant formula III (see para. 0059):
Add intermediate Ia (54g), copper catalyst (0.5g, a 1:1 complex of cuprous trifluoromethanesulfonate and benzonitrile) to the reaction flask, and 200ml of dichloroethane. Heat to 60-65℃.
Add 48 g of ethyl diazonium acetate II dissolved in 100 ml of dichloroethane dropwise to the system, and continue adding dropwise while maintaining an internal temperature of 60-85℃.
Continue stirring for 30 minutes after the dripping is complete.
Reduced pressure distillation was performed, and the fraction collected at 117-120℃/1kPa was used to obtain 60g of intermediate IIIa.
Synthesizing a compound of instant formula IV
Qin discloses that hydrolyzing a compound of instant formula III would yield a compound of instant formula IV by (see para. 0131-0132):
Intermediate III (8.3 g) was mixed with water (9 ml).
Stir and heat to 50°C, then add dropwise 28wt% sodium hydroxide aqueous solution (24.2g). Keep warm at 50℃ for 2 hours.
An aqueous solution of intermediate IV (3-hydroxymethyl-2,2-dimethylcyclopropylformic acid) was obtained. It can be used directly in the next reaction.
Take 10g of the reaction solution, acidify to pH 1, keep warm for 2 hours, adjust the pH to 9, extract with ethyl acetate, and dry to obtain the cis-lactone product.
The pH of the remaining aqueous solution was adjusted to 1, extracted with ethyl acetate, and dried and concentrated to obtain trans compound IV:
.
Synthesizing caronic acid
Qin discloses that oxidizing a compound of instant formula IV using a TEMPO oxidation system would yield caronic acid (see para. 0194-0195):
Add 50% sulfuric acid to the aqueous solution of intermediate IV, which has been cooled to 5oC, to adjust the pH to 8-10, then add 5 mL of acetonitrile and 0.3 g of potassium bromide. Add 0.1 g of tetramethylpiperidine oxide [i.e., TEMPO] and dropwise add a 12% sodium hypochlorite aqueous solution (chlorine content 10%, approximately 20 g). Stir for 20 minutes.
Adjust the pH to 4-7 and add 16g of a 25% sodium chlorite aqueous solution.
Stir for 2 hours after dripping. The reaction system was poured into a sodium sulfite aqueous solution at 0°C, the pH was adjusted to 1 with hydrochloric acid, extracted with ethyl acetate, dried over anhydrous sodium sulfate, and the solvent was removed under reduced pressure to obtain 2g of caronic acid.
Note: Even though Qin does not explicitly disclose sodium bicarbonate being added to the reaction mixture as part of the TEMPO oxidation system, it is known in the prior art (see Fernanda) that sodium bicarbonate is necessary in TEMPO oxidation reactions to help maintain the pH of the system at 8.6-9.5. Therefore, “bicarbonate” being a required component of the TEMPO oxidation system as recited in instant claim 5 is not novel and considered obvious.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare caronic acid according to the method disclosed by Qin (see sections “1. Synthesizing a compound of instant formula III,” “2. Synthesizing a compound of instant formula IV,” and “3. Synthesizing caronic acid” above) and using the resulting caronic acid in the method of Du (as modified by Alfonsi and Barich; discussed in Rejection Part 1) to prepare caronic anhydride. A POSITA would have been motivated to make this combination because Qin explicitly states that the new synthetic method of caronic acid has the advantage of mild conditions, high production safety, and easy industrialized production (see Qin, abstract). Furthermore, a POSITA would also have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Qin and Du (as modified by Alfonsi and Barich) because the caronic acid prepared according to Qin is the same chemical compound employed in Du’s cyclization reaction. Du’s conversion of caronic acid to caronic anhydride does not depend upon the particular synthetic route of caronic acid. Accordingly, a POSITA would have expected that the caronic acid prepared by Qin can also undergo Du’s cyclization and recrystallization procedures successfully, thereby producing caronic anhydride.
As such, instant claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15 are rendered obvious.
Rejection Part 3:
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 19-21, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
The references listed in Rejection Part 1 and Rejection Part 2 and
Zhao (CN103012132A; published April 3, 2013.)
All paragraph numbers cited are the paragraph numbers from the English-translated document
Schörghuber et al. (Schörghuber) (Schörghuber, J. et al. Highly Selective Stable Isotope Labeling of Histidine Residues by Using a Novel Precursor in E. coli-Based Overexpression Systems. ChemBioChem 2017, 18, 1487-1491.) in view of
Shim et al. (Shim) (US3897478A; published July 29, 1975).
The method for preparing caronic anhydride from caronic acid, as disclosed in instant claims 1, 3, and 4, was rendered obvious over the teachings disclosed in Du, Alfonsi, and Barich. See “Rejection Part 1” above for details.
Du does not disclose a method of preparing caronic acid comprising:
a step involving a compound of instant formula I reacting with a compound of instant formula II wherein
a compound of instant formula I is synthesized from a starting material containing isopentenol, acetic anhydride, and carbonate and
a compound of instant formula II is synthesized from a starting material containing glycine ethyl ester hydrochloride, sodium nitrite, a catalyst, and a solvent.
Zhao, Schörghuber, and Qin are relied upon for this disclosure. Their teachings are discussed below.
Zhao teaches a method of preparing the compound of instant formula (I’) according to the following (see para. 0029):
1020 kg of acetic anhydride was pumped into the reactor and 41 kg of sodium acetate was added.
After heating to 100oC, 1634 kg of pentadienol was added dropwise at 100-110oC.
After the addition was completed in about 4 hours, the reaction was kept at this temperature for 2 hours.
The reaction endpoint was when the pentadienol content in the solution was less than 0.5%.
Schörghuber teaches a method of preparing the compound of instant formula (II’) according to the following (see scheme 2 and pg. 1488, left col., the 4th-6th line after “scheme 1” which begins with “This compound 2 was first treated with NaNO2…”):
.
Note: According to Shim, H2SO4 is the acid catalyst (see col. 2, lines 3-10).
Qin discloses a method of synthesizing the compound of instant formula (III’), the compound of instant formula (IV), and caronic acid. See Rejection Part 2 for details.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare caronic acid according to the method disclosed by Qin (see sections “1. Synthesizing a compound of instant formula III,” “2. Synthesizing a compound of instant formula IV,” and “3. Synthesizing caronic acid” of Rejection Part 2) and using the resulting caronic acid in the method of Du (as modified by Alfonsi and Barich; discussed in Rejection Part 1) to prepare caronic anhydride. A POSITA would have been motivated to make this combination because Qin explicitly states that the new synthetic method of caronic acid has the advantage of mild conditions, high production safety, and easy industrialized production (see Qin, abstract). Furthermore, a POSITA would also have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Qin and Du (as modified by Alfonsi and Barich) because the caronic acid prepared according to Qin is the same chemical compound employed in Du’s cyclization reaction. Du’s conversion of caronic acid to caronic anhydride does not depend upon the particular synthetic route of caronic acid. Accordingly, a POSITA would have expected that the caronic acid prepared by Qin can also undergo Du’s cyclization and recrystallization procedures successfully, thereby producing caronic anhydride.
Furthermore, a POSITA would have found it obvious to prepare the compound of instant formula I’ according to Zhao and the compound of instant formula II’ according to Schörghuber and proceed with the reaction according to Qin and Du (as modified by Alfonsi and Barich) to ultimately form caronic anhydride. The fact that the compound of instant formula I’ and formula II’ can be prepared by methods disclosed in separate references (i.e., Zhao and Schörghuber, respectively) does not render the claimed overall process nonobvious. A POSITA would have understood that a required intermediate may be prepared by any known suitable method and that the intermediate’s subsequent reactivity depends on its chemical identity, not on the particular route used to prepare it. Selecting known literature methods to prepare the required starting materials and then using those materials in their already-disclosed downstream reactions would, therefore, have involved no more than connecting known synthetic steps according to their established purposes.
A POSITA would also have had a reasonable expectation of success by combining the teachings of Zhao, Schörghuber, Qin, and Du (as modified by Alfonsi and Barich) because the product of each known step is the starting material required by the next known step. The proposed combination does not change the identity or expected function of any intermediate, produce a different final product, or require any intermediate to undergo a previously unknown reaction. Instead, the combination predictably proceeds from Formula I’ and Formula II’ to Formula III’, Formula IV, caronic acid, and ultimately caronic anhydride. In the absence of evidence that the selected preparative routes produce a critical or unexpected effect, assembling these known steps into the claimed sequence would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
As such, instant claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 19-21, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, and 36 are rendered obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 19-21, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, and 36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
claims 1-5, 7-9, 11, 12, 15-19, 21, 25, 29, 33, and 34 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/867,037 in view of:
the references cited in Rejection Part 1, Rejection Part 2, and Rejection Part 3 of the “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103” section above.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because there is significant overlap between the instant claims and the claims from the co-pending application.
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11, 12, 15-19, 21, 25, 29, 33, and 34 of the co-pending application recites a method of preparing caronic acid. This method of preparing caronic acid, as described by the claims of the co-pending application, is also recited in instant claims 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 19-21, 23, 25, 29, and 33. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to claim a method for preparing caronic anhydride from caronic acid (which is a method rendered obvious in view of the discussion and references cited in Rejection Part 1, Rejection Part 2, and Rejection Part 3 of the “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103” section above), wherein the caronic acid is prepared using the method recited in the claims of the co-pending application.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTEN ROMERO whose telephone number is (571)272-6478. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM ET.
/KRISTEN W ROMERO/Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624