DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art teaches RGB and depth cameras along a row, but they are not interleaved and there is only a single RGB camera [see Grunnet-Jepsen, US 2017/0186166, Fig. 7B]. The claim requires a plurality of both types of camera and for them to be interleaved, i.e. to spatially alternate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11-15, 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eldar, US 2017/0270654 in view of Aguilar et al., US 2020/0106960.
Claims 1 and 15 and 40. Eldar teaches a composite camera device for determining a composite image of a scene, comprising:
a memory storing instructions to be executed by a processor [paras. 18-20];
a plurality of visible light cameras, wherein each of the plurality of visible light cameras is configured to determine an image of the scene [multiple cameras, Figs. 1, 3, paras. 22-24, 35, 36];
a plurality of distance sensors, covering a plurality of distance sections of the view of the scene, wherein each of the plurality of distance sensors is configured to determine a distance information to a nearest object from the respective distance sensor for at least one of the plurality of distance sections [each image capture mechanism 118 includes RGB camera and associated (respective) depth sensor, Fig. 1, paras. 22, 23, 33, 34, 37, 42]; and
a processing device, wherein the processing device is configured to:
calibrate, for each of the plurality of distance sections [distance section is simply a generic description of a distance measurement; e.g. a 1 m distance is in a “close” section and 100m is a “far” section; Eldar teaches measurement of varying distances], a camera model of one of the plurality of visible light cameras using the respective determined distance information [cameras are calibrated using depth data; calibration is used to obtain correct model parameters, Fig. 1, 3, 4A, 4B, paras. 23, 24, 35-38, 44-47, 50, 58, 59]; and
determining the composite image of the scene using the calibrated camera models [depth/calibration data are used to capture stereoscopic image pairs, paras. 22, 40, 56; also see paras. 23, 24, 35-38, 44-47, 50, 58, 59].
Eldar is but is silent on covering a 360 degree view of the scene with images of the scene from each of the plurality of visible light cameras. Aguilar teaches a camera system that obtains a 360 degree view of the scene with images of the scene from each of the plurality of visible light cameras [Figs. 28, 36, paras. 54, 166, 167, 241].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references in order to create a 360 degree image that is suitable for virtual reality where a user can look in all directions [see Aguilar, para. 52]. This also simply ensures that interesting content in any direction is captured by the camera system.
11. Aguilar teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of visible light cameras are large field-of-view cameras [e.g. wide-angle or fish-eye, para. 155].
12. Aguilar teaches the device of claim 11, wherein each of the large field-of-view cameras comprise a field-of-view that is at least 160 degrees [a fisheye lens is conventionally understood to cover a FOV of 180 degrees or more; para. 155].
13. Aguilar teaches the device of claim 11, wherein the large field-of- view cameras comprise a camera with a fish-eye lens [para. 155].
14. Eldar teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the processing device comprises a hardware processing device [Fig. 1, para. 18].
38. Eldar teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the method is a computer-implemented method [Fig. 1, para. 18].
Claims 2-4, 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eldar and Aguilar as cited above in view of Aagaard et al., US 2003/0210329.
2 and 36. Eldar is silent on static pre-calibration. Aagaard teaches a camera system wherein the processing device is configured to calibrate the camera model by:
obtaining a plurality of camera models, being statically pre-calibrated for different distances [calibration table holds predefined camera settings (models) for different distances, Figs. 1, 4, 13, 14, paras. 11, 12, 36, 38, 43, 44, 95-97, 112-114, 127]; and
selecting, for each of the plurality of distance sections, a selected camera model of the plurality of camera models based on the determined distance information of the respective distance section [multiple cameras are calibrated based on distance to subject and calibration table, Figs. 1, 4, 13, 14, paras. 11, 12, 36, 38, 43, 44, 95-97, 112-114, 127].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references to ensure that the different camera images are all in focus even when observed objects are different distances from the camera. Calibration improves quality, and using a lookup table with predefined modes is an efficient method compared to generating new modes on the fly.
3 and 37. Aagaard teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the processing device is configured to calibrate the camera model by:
obtaining a parameterizable calibrated model [calibration table holds predefined camera settings (models) for different distances, Figs. 1, 4, 13, 14, paras. 11, 12, 36, 38, 43, 44, 95-97, 19-114, 127]; and
parametrizing, for each of the plurality of distance section, a parametrizable calibrated model based on the determined distance information of the respective distance section [calibration settings (models) are based on a created geometric transform functions (i.e. a parametrized equation to describe the settings, paras. 44, 50, 53, 54, 110, 111, 117, 119; also see Figs. 1, 4, 13, 14, paras. 11, 12, 36, 38, 43, 95-97, 112-114, 127].
4. Aargaard teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the camera model comprises an intrinsic compensation model [focus and/or zoom calibration is intrinsic, within the camera, para. 12, 44, 96, 97, 127] and an extrinsic compensation model [pan/tilt calibration is extrinsic since the whole camera moves relative to the environment, paras. 44, 95, 104, 108, 110].
Claims 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eldar and Aguilar as cited above in view of Grundhoefer, US 11,979,657.
5. The above references are silent on a low resolution depth sensor. Grundhoefer teaches a camera system wherein at least one distance sensor of the plurality of distance sensors is a low resolution distance sensor [low resolution depth sensor, col. 6, 19-38].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, using a relatively low resolution depth sensor in order to save power and lower the cost of the depth sensor.
6. Grundhoefer teaches the device of claim 5, wherein the low resolution distance sensor has a resolution of one of 4x4, 2x2, or 1x1 [e.g. one pixel, col. 6, 19-38].
9. Grundhoefer teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of distance sensors comprise one of a Time of Flight sensor and/or a LIDAR sensor [col. 5, 44-52].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eldar and Aguilar as cited above in view of Xu et al., US 2023/0368495.
7. The above references are silent on more distance sensors than light cameras. Xu teaches a depth/RGB camera system wherein an amount of the plurality of visible light cameras is smaller than an amount of the plurality of distance sensors [e.g. one RGB camera and multiple depth cameras, para. 87].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, allowing the use of multiple depth cameras to capture a larger field of view and improve depth resolution, without duplicating the more expensive wide-lens RGB camera.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eldar and Aguilar as cited above in view of Cullen et al., US 2023/0015889.
10. The above references are silent on a calibration time cycle. Cullen teaches a device wherein the processing device is configured to calibrate the camera model and determine the composite image in a predetermined time cycle [e.g. sequentially, paras. 3, 169].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, calibrating periodically in order to ensure that the camera calibration changes along with varying lighting and depth conditions, maintaining a quality image even when the scene is not static.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eldar and Aguilar as cited above in view of Souiai et al., US 2024/0371114.
39. The above references do not teach a certain time period for cyclic calibration. Souiai teaches a camera calibration method comprising calibrating, by the processing device, the camera model and determining the composite image in a predetermined time cycle, the predetermined time cycle being at least every 100ms [1-second (and/or 200 ms) calibration period, para. 98].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references, calibrating with a one-second period in order to conserve power (by limiting frequency) while updating the calibration parameters frequently enough to maintain quality when motion is present in a scene.
Relevant Prior Art
Other prior art considered relevant but not cited in a rejection includes Hung et al., US 9,811,946, Fig. 3A, 3B, which shows a ring of RBG cameras but no interleaved depth sensors.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY R NEWLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2424