DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communications filed on 11/19/2024 and 03/12/2025, concerning Application No. 18/867,092. The preliminary amendments to the claims filed on 03/12/2025 are acknowledged. Presently, claims 1-18 and 21-24 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 11/19/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “192” in Fig. 4 (see corresponding objection to the specification provided below). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 18, lines 27-28 and 31, each of the two recitations “one or more counter magnets 194” should be changed to “one or more counter magnets 192”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 9, 13, 15-18, and 22-24 are objected to because of the following informalities (in order to maintain consistent terminology throughout the claims):
Claim 1, line 10, the limitation “for evaluating measurement data” should be changed to “for evaluating the measurement data”;
Claim 1, line 11, the limitation “for evaluating measurement data” should be changed to “for evaluating the measurement data”;
Claim 1, line 38, the limitation “based on data of the mobile ultrasonic device to be transmitted” should be changed to “based on data of a mobile ultrasonic device to be transmitted” because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim;
Claim 1, lines 41-42, the limitation “apply the transmit signal to an antenna of the modular ultrasonic device for emission into surroundings of the modular ultrasonic device” should be changed to “apply the transmit signal to an antenna of a respective one of the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices for emission into surroundings of the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices”;
Claim 1, line 50, the limitation “the interface for wired communication with the external device” should be changed to “the interface for the wired communication with the external device”;
Claim 2, lines 3-4, the limitation “by means of the plug connectors” should be changed to “by means of the respective plug connectors”;
Claim 9, lines 4-5, the limitation “absolute position of the modular ultrasonic device and/or a relative position of the modular ultrasonic device with respect to a predetermined object” should be changed to “absolute position of a respective one of the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices and/or a relative position of the respective one of the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices with respect to a predetermined object”;
Claim 13, line 2, the limitation “wherein a fastening element for fastening the modular ultrasonic device to a test object” should be changed to “wherein a fastening element for fastening the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices to a test object”;
Claim 15, lines 3-4, the limitation “from the surroundings of the modular ultrasonic device into electrical energy” should be changed to “from the surroundings of the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices into electrical energy”;
Claim 16, line 2, the limitation “wherein the plurality of plug connectors” should be changed to “wherein the respective plug connectors”;
Claim 17, line 2, the limitation “wherein the plurality of plug connectors comprise signal paths for the exchange of data” should be changed to “wherein the respective plug connectors comprise signal paths for an exchange of data”;
Claim 18, lines 4-5, the limitation “optically and/or acoustically output information relating to the modular ultrasonic device to a user” should be changed to “optically and/or acoustically output information relating to the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices to a user”;
Claim 22, line 2, the limitation “device for evaluating measurement data” should be changed to “device for evaluating the measurement data”;
Claim 23, lines 3-4, the limitation “non-destructively separating one of the plurality of boards from the remaining boards of the plurality of boards by detaching at least a part of the plug connectors” should be changed to “non-destructively separating one of the plurality of boards from all remaining boards of the plurality of boards by detaching at least a part of the respective plug connectors” because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation ‘the remaining boards’ in the claims; and
Claim 24, lines 3-4, the limitation “remaining boards of the plurality of boards by detaching at least a part of the plug connectors” should be changed to “remaining boards of the plurality of boards by detaching at least a part of the respective plug connectors”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a device for evaluating measurement data” in claim 1 and similarly claim 22.
The claim limitation “a device for evaluating measurement data” in claims 1 and 22 has the corresponding structure described in the originally filed specification that performs the claimed function: Page 20, lines 17-34 to Page 21, lines 1-21, “Fig. 6 shows an ultrasonic system 600 which, in addition to a device 620 for evaluating measurement data, also has five modular ultrasonic devices 610-1, ..., 610-5 according to the present disclosure. […] For example, the device for evaluating measurement data may be configured to determine the one or more predetermined characteristics from the measurement data using a model trained by machine learning. For the determination of the one or more predetermined characteristics, the device 620 for evaluating measurement data may have a corresponding processing circuit such as, for instance, a processor, a CPU, an ASIC, an IC, an SoC, an FPGA with a microprocessor or a more complex local computing cluster on which software for the determination of the one or more predetermined characteristics runs according to the principles described herein. Furthermore, the processing circuit of the device 620 for evaluating measurement data may have one or more memories and/or be coupled thereto”. Therefore, the “device” has been interpreted as corresponding to a processing circuit (i.e., a processor, a CPU, an ASIC, an IC, an SoC, an FPGA with a microprocessor or a more complex local computing cluster on which software runs, etc.), with a memory, capable of using a model trained by machine learning, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerofolini (US 2013/0064037 A1, of record, hereinafter Cerofolini) in view of Peszynski (WO 2006/114735 A1, a copy of which is herein provided by the Examiner, hereinafter Peszynski), and further in view of Amble et al. (WO 2014/145007 A1, of record, hereinafter Amble).
Regarding claim 1, Cerofolini discloses an ultrasonic system comprising:
a modular ultrasonic device (see, e.g., Para. [0130-0131], “the illustrated ultrasound probe is composed of an outer casing 1 comprising two narrow and longer side faces and two wider and longer faces, parallel to each other and oriented lengthwise in the direction of a longitudinal axis along the direction of propagation of the acoustic beam transmitted from the probe. Moreover, there are provided two boards 11 and 12, which are parallel or substantially parallel to the wider faces. The units generating and processing the transmitted and/or received signals, as well as the circuits powering the units, are arranged on such boards 11 and 12. An array of electro-acoustic transducers 3 is fastened at one of the two ends of the boards 11 and 12. Each of the transducers transmits ultrasound waves when powered with an electric excitation signal and also generates an electric reception signal when impinged by an ultrasound wave or pulse that can be generated by the reflection of ultrasound waves transmitted from the same transducer”); and
a device (processing 113) for evaluating measurement data (see, e.g., Para. [0134], “The contacts of the first part of the plug connector 111 are fastened to inputs and/or outputs respectively of the array of transducers 3 and the contacts of the second part are at the ends of the two boards 11 and 12, such that the transducer array 3 is connected with the means generating 112 and processing 113 the transmitted and/or received signals. A storage area 213 is associated thereto”, and Para. [0139-0141]),
wherein the modular ultrasonic device is configured to transmit respective measurement data directly (see, e.g., Para. [0134], “The contacts of the first part of the plug connector 111 are fastened to inputs and/or outputs respectively of the array of transducers 3 and the contacts of the second part are at the ends of the two boards 11 and 12, such that the transducer array 3 is connected with the means generating 112 and processing 113 the transmitted and/or received signals. A storage area 213 is associated thereto”, and Para. [0139-0141]) or by forwarding via at least one further of the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices to one or more predetermined modular ultrasonic devices of the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices, and wherein the one or more predetermined modular ultrasonic devices are configured to transmit the collected measurement data of the modular ultrasonic device to the device for evaluating measurement data, and wherein the device for evaluating measurement data is configured to determine one or more predetermined characteristics based on the measurement data (see, e.g., Para. [0134], “The contacts of the first part of the plug connector 111 are fastened to inputs and/or outputs respectively of the array of transducers 3 and the contacts of the second part are at the ends of the two boards 11 and 12, such that the transducer array 3 is connected with the means generating 112 and processing 113 the transmitted and/or received signals. A storage area 213 is associated thereto”, and Para. [0139-0141]), and
wherein the modular ultrasonic device (see, e.g., Para. [0130-0131]) comprises:
a housing (outer casing 1) (see, e.g., Para. [0130], “the illustrated ultrasound probe is composed of an outer casing 1 comprising two narrow and longer side faces and two wider and longer faces, parallel to each other and oriented lengthwise in the direction of a longitudinal axis along the direction of propagation of the acoustic beam transmitted from the probe”);
at least one ultrasonic transducer (array of electro-acoustic transducers 3) configured to: based on a respective control signal, generate and emit ultrasonic waves; and depending on received ultrasonic waves, generate a respective measurement signal (see, e.g., Para. [0131], “An array of electro-acoustic transducers 3 is fastened at one of the two ends of the boards 11 and 12. Each of the transducers transmits ultrasound waves when powered with an electric excitation signal and also generates an electric reception signal when impinged by an ultrasound wave or pulse that can be generated by the reflection of ultrasound waves transmitted from the same transducer”); and
a plurality of boards (two boards 11, 12) arranged in the housing (outer casing 1), which are separably connected to one another via respective plug connectors (plug connectors 111, 116) (see, e.g., Para. [0130], “the illustrated ultrasound probe is composed of an outer casing 1 […] there are provided two boards 11 and 12, which are parallel or substantially parallel to the wider faces. The units generating and processing the transmitted and/or received signals, as well as the circuits powering the units, are arranged on such boards 11 and 12”, and Para. [0133], “The array of electro-acoustic transducers 3 is connected to the boards 11 and 12 by means of plug connectors 111, a first part of which cooperates with a corresponding second part”, and Para. [0143], “Communication means 4 are connected to the other end of the boards 11 and 12 by plug connectors 116, a first part of which cooperates with the corresponding second part. Boards 11 and 12 are connected to each another in an engaging/disengaging direction perpendicular to the direction of propagation of the beam and perpendicular to the surface of the boards 11 and 12”), wherein the plurality of boards (boards 11, 12) comprise at least the following: a first board with a power supply circuit configured to generate a respective power supply signal for the at least one ultrasonic transducer and the further boards of the plurality of boards; a transmit circuit configured to generate the respective control signals for the at least one ultrasonic transducer; and a receive circuit configured to process the respective measurement signals of the at least one ultrasonic transducer, wherein the transmit circuit and the receive circuit are either both formed on a second board of the plurality of boards or the transmit circuit is formed on the second board and the receive circuit is formed on a third board of the plurality of boards (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0130], “there are provided two boards 11 and 12, which are parallel or substantially parallel to the wider faces. The units generating and processing the transmitted and/or received signals, as well as the circuits powering the units, are arranged on such boards 11 and 12”),
wherein the at least one ultrasonic transducer (array of electro-acoustic transducers 3) is formed on a fourth board of the plurality of boards or is separably connected to one of the plurality of boards (boards 11, 12) (see, e.g., Para. [0133], “The array of electro-acoustic transducers 3 is connected to the boards 11 and 12 by means of plug connectors 111”).
Cerofolini does not specifically disclose [1] the ultrasonic system comprising a plurality of modular ultrasonic devices; and [2] wherein the plurality of boards further comprise a fifth board with a transceiver circuit configured to: based on data of the mobile ultrasonic device to be transmitted, generate a transmit signal; based on a receive signal, determine receive data for the mobile ultrasonic device; apply the transmit signal to an antenna of the modular ultrasonic device for emission into surroundings of the modular ultrasonic device and/or apply the transmit signal to an interface of the mobile ultrasonic device for wired communication with an external device and/or forward the transmit signal to the transmit circuit in order to generate the respective control signal for the at least one ultrasonic transducer based on the transmit signal and thus to encode the data of the mobile ultrasonic device to be transmitted into the ultrasonic waves emitted by the at least one ultrasonic transducer; and receive the receive signal from the antenna and/or receive the receive signal from the interface for wired communication with the external device and/or receive the receive signal from the receive circuit, wherein the receive circuit is configured to derive the receive signal from the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, Peszynski discloses the ultrasonic system comprising a plurality of modular ultrasonic devices (see, e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 4A-4B, and Page 3, lines 23-30, “The imaging system5 can be phased array ultrasound imaging system 5 for controlling the array 10 so that images from the array 10 include both standard 2D phased and linear array formats as well as 3D real-time imaging […] The ultra sound imaging system 5 could be any suitable commercially known ultrasound imaging system […] This system includes a monitor 6 and a console control 7. The ultra sound imaging system 5 is connected by wire 8 as shown in FIG.1 or wirelessly to the ultra sound transducer 10”, and Page 4, lines 1-24, “The matrix ultrasound transducer can be formed as a patch that adheres to a portion of patient's for imaging […] FIG.3 is an alternative embodiment in which several matrix ultra sound transducer patches are affixed to a patient. Such multiple array patches might prove useful for cardiac monitoring by locating the patches over standard cardiac imaging windows on the patient's body such as the suprasternal, parasternal, and subcostal areas. It is understood that this embodiment is not limited to cardiac imaging but may be used whenever placement of multiple patches may prove useful perhaps when monitoring a pregnant woman and her fetus. FIGS. 4 A and 4 B illustrate a reusable patch for the matrix array 10 […] FIG. 4B shows the sectional view illustrating the construction of the matrix array reusable patch 10. As seen in FIG. 4B there is an acoustic window 21; acoustic matching layers 30; a piezoelectric element 31; a removable double-sided grade tape 32; a plastic housing 22; a microbeamforming silican ASIC 25; an acoustic de-matching layer 26; a stud bump or ball grid array in conductive epoxy used to connect array acoustic elements to microbeamforming ASIC 27 and therefore provides conductivity between the two; an epoxy backfill 33 that isolates the individual conductive elements from each other; a heat sink bonded to ASIC and flexible circuit 23; a wire band ASIC to flexible circuit interconnect 24; flexible circuits 28; and a coax cable array 29”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasonic system of Cerofolini by including [1] the ultrasonic system comprising a plurality of modular ultrasonic devices, as disclosed by Peszynski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide several individual ultrasound transducers to be used whenever placement of multiple patches may prove useful, such as for cardiac monitoring or when monitoring a pregnant woman and her fetus, as recognized by Peszynski (see, e.g., Page 4, lines 1-24).
Cerofolini modified by Peszynski still does not specifically disclose [2] wherein the plurality of boards further comprise a fifth board with a transceiver circuit configured to: based on data of the mobile ultrasonic device to be transmitted, generate a transmit signal; based on a receive signal, determine receive data for the mobile ultrasonic device; apply the transmit signal to an antenna of the modular ultrasonic device for emission into surroundings of the modular ultrasonic device and/or apply the transmit signal to an interface of the mobile ultrasonic device for wired communication with an external device and/or forward the transmit signal to the transmit circuit in order to generate the respective control signal for the at least one ultrasonic transducer based on the transmit signal and thus to encode the data of the mobile ultrasonic device to be transmitted into the ultrasonic waves emitted by the at least one ultrasonic transducer; and receive the receive signal from the antenna and/or receive the receive signal from the interface for wired communication with the external device and/or receive the receive signal from the receive circuit, wherein the receive circuit is configured to derive the receive signal from the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, Amble discloses wherein the plurality of boards further comprise a fifth board with a transceiver circuit configured to: based on data of the mobile ultrasonic device to be transmitted, generate a transmit signal; based on a receive signal, determine receive data for the mobile ultrasonic device; apply the transmit signal to an antenna of the modular ultrasonic device for emission into surroundings of the modular ultrasonic device (see, e.g., Para. [00167], “The fourth PCB (e.g., the 1 in x 2 in PCB} preferably incorporates an IEEE 802.1 ln/ac module which uses ultra-low-power components having dual bands for WiFi which may operate at rates of up to about 433Mbps. It may further support MIMO, e.g., for packet reception and beam forming feedback, for enhanced coexistence and network throughput in any 802.1 lac network(s). The PCB may further include an in-built antenna that may have a range of about 20 meters. Moreover, a processor with on chip memory may achieve high-throughputs and may further enable processing Wi-Fi security and/or provide the functionality desired to achieve a robust transmission”) and/or apply the transmit signal to an interface of the mobile ultrasonic device for wired communication with an external device and/or forward the transmit signal to the transmit circuit in order to generate the respective control signal for the at least one ultrasonic transducer based on the transmit signal and thus to encode the data of the mobile ultrasonic device to be transmitted into the ultrasonic waves emitted by the at least one ultrasonic transducer; and receive the receive signal from the antenna (see, e.g., Para. [00167], “The fourth PCB (e.g., the 1 in x 2 in PCB} preferably incorporates an IEEE 802.1 ln/ac module which uses ultra-low-power components having dual bands for WiFi which may operate at rates of up to about 433Mbps. It may further support MIMO, e.g., for packet reception and beam forming feedback, for enhanced coexistence and network throughput in any 802.1 lac network(s). The PCB may further include an in-built antenna that may have a range of about 20 meters. Moreover, a processor with on chip memory may achieve high-throughputs and may further enable processing Wi-Fi security and/or provide the functionality desired to achieve a robust transmission”) and/or receive the receive signal from the interface for wired communication with the external device and/or receive the receive signal from the receive circuit, wherein the receive circuit is configured to derive the receive signal from the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic system of Cerofolini modified by Peszynski by including [2] wherein the plurality of boards further comprise a fifth board with a transceiver circuit configured to: based on data of the mobile ultrasonic device to be transmitted, generate a transmit signal; based on a receive signal, determine receive data for the mobile ultrasonic device; apply the transmit signal to an antenna of the modular ultrasonic device for emission into surroundings of the modular ultrasonic device and/or apply the transmit signal to an interface of the mobile ultrasonic device for wired communication with an external device and/or forward the transmit signal to the transmit circuit in order to generate the respective control signal for the at least one ultrasonic transducer based on the transmit signal and thus to encode the data of the mobile ultrasonic device to be transmitted into the ultrasonic waves emitted by the at least one ultrasonic transducer; and receive the receive signal from the antenna and/or receive the receive signal from the interface for wired communication with the external device and/or receive the receive signal from the receive circuit, wherein the receive circuit is configured to derive the receive signal from the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer, as disclosed by Amble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide the functionality desired to achieve a robust transmission, as recognized by Amble (see, e.g., Para. [00167]).
Regarding claim 2, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini further discloses wherein the plurality of boards (boards 11, 12) are arranged one above the other and successive boards of the plurality of boards are respectively plugged together by means of the plug connectors (plug connectors 111, 116) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-3, and Para. [0133], “The array of electro-acoustic transducers 3 is connected to the boards 11 and 12 by means of plug connectors 111”, and Para. [0143], “Communication means 4 are connected to the other end of the boards 11 and 12 by plug connectors 116, a first part of which cooperates with the corresponding second part. Boards 11 and 12 are connected to each another in an engaging/disengaging direction perpendicular to the direction of propagation of the beam and perpendicular to the surface of the boards 11 and 12”).
Regarding claim 3, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini further discloses wherein the plurality of boards (boards 11, 12) are arranged next to one another (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, and Para. [0130], “there are provided two boards 11 and 12, which are parallel or substantially parallel to the wider faces”).
Regarding claim 4, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini further discloses wherein the housing comprises a window with increased acoustic transparency compared to the rest of the housing, and wherein the window is arranged in front of the at least one ultrasonic transducer (see, e.g., Para. [0131-0132], “An array of electro-acoustic transducers 3 is fastened at one of the two ends of the boards 11 and 12. Each of the transducers transmits ultrasound waves when powered with an electric excitation signal and also generates an electric reception signal when impinged by an ultrasound wave or pulse that can be generated by the reflection of ultrasound waves transmitted from the same transducer. Advantageously, but not exclusively, the array of transducers 3, at the side composed of the ultrasound transmitting surfaces 32, is covered with at least one matching layer, intended to match the acoustic impedance of the array of transducers 3 to that of the body to be examined, in order to avoid abrupt changes in the acoustic impedance that would produce reflection surfaces that would prevent the ultrasound beam from penetrating into the body under examination”).
Regarding claim 5, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini modified by Peszynski does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of boards further comprise: a sixth board with a processing circuit, which is configured to recognize a respective functionality of the plurality of boards and, based thereon, to control a data exchange between at least a part of the plurality of boards.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, Amble discloses wherein the plurality of boards further comprise: a sixth board with a processing circuit, which is configured to recognize a respective functionality of the plurality of boards and, based thereon, to control a data exchange between at least a part of the plurality of boards (see, e.g., Fig. 7, and Para. [00164-00167], where a plurality of circuit boards and their corresponding processing functionalities are disclosed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic system of Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble by including wherein the plurality of boards further comprise: a sixth board with a processing circuit, which is configured to recognize a respective functionality of the plurality of boards and, based thereon, to control a data exchange between at least a part of the plurality of boards, as disclosed by Amble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide the functionality desired to achieve a robust transmission, as recognized by Amble (see, e.g., Para. [00167]).
Regarding claim 6, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 5, as set forth above. Cerofolini modified by Peszynski does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuit is further configured to determine one or more predetermined characteristics based on the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer processed by the receive circuit.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, Amble discloses wherein the processing circuit is further configured to determine one or more predetermined characteristics based on the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer processed by the receive circuit (see, e.g., Fig. 7, and Para. [00164-00167], where a plurality of circuit boards and their corresponding processing functionalities are disclosed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic system of Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble by including wherein the processing circuit is further configured to determine one or more predetermined characteristics based on the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer processed by the receive circuit, as disclosed by Amble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide the functionality desired to achieve a robust transmission, as recognized by Amble (see, e.g., Para. [00167]).
Regarding claim 7, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 6, as set forth above. Cerofolini modified by Peszynski does not specifically disclose wherein the processing circuit is further configured to determine the one or more predetermined characteristics using a model trained by machine learning.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, Amble discloses wherein the processing circuit is further configured to determine the one or more predetermined characteristics using a model trained by machine learning (see, e.g., Fig. 7, and Para. [00162], “Head 1100 and/or any other embodiment herein may be implemented in combination with an ultrasound probe having artificial intelligence software that preferably aids a user”, and Para. [00164-00167], where a plurality of circuit boards and their corresponding processing functionalities are disclosed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic system of Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble by including wherein the processing circuit is further configured to determine the one or more predetermined characteristics using a model trained by machine learning, as disclosed by Amble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide the functionality desired to achieve a robust transmission, as recognized by Amble (see, e.g., Para. [00167]).
Regarding claim 8, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini modified by Peszynski does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of boards further comprise: a seventh board having a data memory configured to store the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer after processing by the receive circuit.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, Amble discloses wherein the plurality of boards further comprise: a seventh board having a data memory configured to store the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer after processing by the receive circuit (see, e.g., Fig. 7, and Para. [00164-00167], where a plurality of circuit boards and their corresponding processing functionalities are disclosed, specifically Para. [00166], “A third of the PCBs may be a high compute intensive PCB which houses processors and memory…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic system of Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble by including wherein the plurality of boards further comprise: a seventh board having a data memory configured to store the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer after processing by the receive circuit, as disclosed by Amble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide the functionality desired to achieve a robust transmission, as recognized by Amble (see, e.g., Para. [00167]).
Regarding claim 9, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini modified by Peszynski does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of boards further comprise: an eighth board with a position sensing circuit configured to determine an absolute position of the modular ultrasonic device and/or a relative position of the modular ultrasonic device with respect to a predetermined object.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, Amble discloses wherein the plurality of boards further comprise: an eighth board with a position sensing circuit configured to determine an absolute position of the modular ultrasonic device and/or a relative position of the modular ultrasonic device with respect to a predetermined object (see, e.g., Fig. 7, and Para. [00162], “a screen of a graphical user interface may display an output of the ultrasound probe, while also indicating when the probe is positioned at a desired location”, and Para. [00164-00167], where a plurality of circuit boards and their corresponding processing functionalities are disclosed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic system of Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble by including wherein the plurality of boards further comprise: an eighth board with a position sensing circuit configured to determine an absolute position of the modular ultrasonic device and/or a relative position of the modular ultrasonic device with respect to a predetermined object, as disclosed by Amble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide the functionality desired to achieve a robust transmission, as recognized by Amble (see, e.g., Para. [00167]).
Regarding claim 10, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini modified by Peszynski does not specifically disclose wherein the receive circuit is configured to at least amplify and digitize the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer during processing.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, Amble discloses wherein the receive circuit is configured to at least amplify and digitize the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer during processing (see, e.g., Fig. 7, and Para. [00164-00167], where a plurality of circuit boards and their corresponding processing functionalities are disclosed, specifically Para. [00165], “A second of the FCBs may be used for the receive portion of the probe, e.g., having die same or similar dimensions as a transmit PCB. it is also double sided and surface mounts 16 channel low noise amplifier (LMA), variable gain control (VGA) circuitry, anti-aliasing filter (AAF), mixers and/or analog to digital converters sADCs) that may be encapsulated in a low power compact package and has full EMI isolation from other components”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic system of Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble by including wherein the receive circuit is configured to at least amplify and digitize the respective measurement signal of the at least one ultrasonic transducer during processing, as disclosed by Amble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide the functionality desired to achieve a robust transmission, as recognized by Amble (see, e.g., Para. [00167]).
Regarding claim 11, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini further discloses wherein the second board further comprises an accumulator coupled to the power supply circuit, and wherein the power supply circuit is configured to generate the respective power supply signal based on energy stored in the accumulator (see, e.g., Para. [0145], “in the embodiment shown in the FIGS. 1 to 6, an ultrasound probe according to the invention provides for the use of means for powering electronic circuits, which are composed of a power generating and storing source, such as a battery or the like 5, provided in combination with and connected to circuits matching and connecting the battery to the processing and generating units 113 and 112, and to the wireless communication means 4”, and Para. [0147], “The battery 5 is arranged in a housing space 51 that is composed of a frame supporting the two boards 11 and 12”).
Regarding claim 12, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini further discloses wherein a socket for connection to a charging cable is integrated into the housing, and wherein the power supply circuit is configured to generate the respective power supply signal based on electrical energy received at the socket (see, e.g., Para. [0151], “it is necessary to use interface means, which allow the probe and/or the battery 5 to be connected to an external power source, and which are composed of plug connectors of the described above type and a recharging electronic circuit. In one embodiment, the recharging electronic circuit is fitted on the boards 11 and 12 together with the interface means that connect such circuit to an external power network and allow the battery 5 to be recharged by means of the connection of the battery 5 to the two boards 11 and 12”).
Regarding claim 13, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini does not specifically disclose wherein a fastening element for fastening the modular ultrasonic device to a test object is integrated into the housing.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, Peszynski discloses wherein a fastening element for fastening the modular ultrasonic device to a test object is integrated into the housing (see, e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 4A-4B, and Page 4, lines 1-24, “The matrix ultrasound transducer can be formed as a patch that adheres to a portion of patient's for imaging such as cardiac imaging as shown in FIG. 2. […] FIG.3 is an alternative embodiment in which several matrix ultra sound transducer patches are affixed to a patient. Such multiple array patches might prove useful for cardiac monitoring by locating the patches over standard cardiac imaging windows on the patient's body such as the suprasternal, parasternal, and subcostal areas. It is understood that this embodiment is not limited to cardiac imaging but may be used whenever placement of multiple patches may prove useful perhaps when monitoring a pregnant woman and her fetus. FIGS. 4 A and 4 B illustrate a reusable patch for the matrix array 10 […] FIG. 4B shows the sectional view illustrating the construction of the matrix array reusable patch 10. As seen in FIG. 4B there is an acoustic window 21; acoustic matching layers 30; a piezoelectric element 31; a removable double-sided grade tape 32; a plastic housing 22; a microbeamforming silican ASIC 25; an acoustic de-matching layer 26; a stud bump or ball grid array in conductive epoxy used to connect array acoustic elements to microbeamforming ASIC 27 and therefore provides conductivity between the two; an epoxy backfill 33 that isolates the individual conductive elements from each other; a heat sink bonded to ASIC and flexible circuit 23; a wire band ASIC to flexible circuit interconnect 24; flexible circuits 28; and a coax cable array 29”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic system of Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble by including wherein a fastening element for fastening the modular ultrasonic device to a test object is integrated into the housing, as disclosed by Peszynski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide several individual ultrasound transducers to be used whenever placement of multiple patches may prove useful, such as for cardiac monitoring or when monitoring a pregnant woman and her fetus, as recognized by Peszynski (see, e.g., Page 4, lines 1-24).
Regarding claim 14, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini further discloses wherein the housing extends in three spatial directions perpendicular to one another and an extension of the housing in each of the three spatial directions perpendicular to one another is less than 15 cm (see, e.g., Fig. 7, and Para. [0130], “the illustrated ultrasound probe is composed of an outer casing 1 comprising two narrow and longer side faces and two wider and longer faces, parallel to each other and oriented lengthwise in the direction of a longitudinal axis along the direction of propagation of the acoustic beam transmitted from the probe”, such that housing dimensions of this kind are known and standard in the art).
Regarding claim 15, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini further discloses wherein the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices each further comprise an energy converter configured to convert ambient energy from the surroundings of the modular ultrasonic device into electrical energy, and wherein the power supply circuit is configured to generate the respective power supply signal based on the electrical energy provided by the energy converter (see, e.g., Para. [0153], “The recharging means may also be composed of electromagnetic induction recharging means such to allow the battery 5 to be recharged in wireless mode”).
Regarding claim 16, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini further discloses wherein the plurality of plug connectors are configured to conduct the respective power supply signal from the second board to the respective further board of the plurality of boards (see, e.g., Para. [0065], “Preferably the power generating and storing source provided within the housing space formed by the two boards and by the means supporting them, is a rechargeable battery and it is mounted such that it can be removed from the probe. Even in this case the above described plug connectors are used for connecting the battery to one or both the boards, the contacts of one of the two parts of the plug connector being provided on the battery, while the contacts of the second part are provided on one or both the boards”, and Para. [0066], “Moreover it is necessary to use interface means allowing the probe and/or the battery to be connected to an external power source, which are composed of plug connectors of the above described type, and a recharging electronic circuit. According to a first variant embodiment the recharging electronic circuit is mounted on the boards together with the interface means connecting such circuit to an external power network and allowing the battery to be recharged due to the connection of the battery to the two boards”, and Para. [0150-0151]).
Regarding claim 17, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini further discloses wherein the plurality of plug connectors comprise signal paths for the exchange of data between at least a part of the plurality of boards (see, e.g., Para. [0064], “An improvement of a probe according to the present invention provides at least a part of the contacts provided at the side of the transducer array and/or at the side of the wireless communication means to be connected to the connector of the board on the opposite face of the frame. This allows communication lines between the electronic circuits of the two boards to be formed such that signals can be transferred from one board to the other one”, and Para. [0130], [0133], and [0143]).
Regarding claim 18, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini modified by Peszynski does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices each further comprises a user interface integrated into the housing, which is configured to: optically and/or acoustically output information relating to the modular ultrasonic device to a user; and/or receive a user input of the user.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, Amble discloses wherein the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices each further comprises a user interface integrated into the housing, which is configured to: optically and/or acoustically output information relating to the modular ultrasonic device to a user; and/or receive a user input of the user (see, e.g., Para. [00136], “The second LED may emit a solid green light to indicate that all parameters are set correctly and the user is ready to conduct the exam. Once the green LED is lit up the pressed buttons may be released back to the original mode. Moreover, during the exam, if the user wants to freeze an image produced using the probe, the user may press one of the multi-function buttons of the probe one time, and that may desirably freeze the image on the screen of the graphical user interface on the host system”, and Para. [00162], “Head 1100 and/or any other embodiment herein may be implemented in combination with an ultrasound probe having artificial intelligence software that preferably aids a user (e.g., ultrasound technician) in selecting the contact head configuration for the type of the examination that needs to be conducted on a patient (e.g.. humans and animals). When the user activates the functional button (e.g., as described above), the ultrasound probe may guide the user while examining a patient, e.g., noting how much pressure should be applied, a desired angle of contact, adjustments to the gain, brightness, power, depth, auto adjusts to the resolution of the image and/or the cine loop, etc”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic system of Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble by including wherein the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices each further comprises a user interface integrated into the housing, which is configured to: optically and/or acoustically output information relating to the modular ultrasonic device to a user; and/or receive a user input of the user, as disclosed by Amble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide the functionality desired to achieve a robust transmission, as recognized by Amble (see, e.g., Para. [00167]).
Regarding claim 21, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini further discloses wherein the modular ultrasonic device is configured to transmit the measurement data to the one or more predetermined modular ultrasonic devices of the plurality of modular ultrasonic devices wirelessly by means of short-range radio (see, e.g., Para. [0041], “wherein the probe communicates wirelessly with a remote unit displaying/storing the images”, and Para. [0042], “Any type of protocol of the transmission and reception protocol may be used. In a preferred embodiment the transmission and reception is with a wi-fi radio wave type”, and Para. [0134], “The contacts of the first part of the plug connector 111 are fastened to inputs and/or outputs respectively of the array of transducers 3 and the contacts of the second part are at the ends of the two boards 11 and 12, such that the transducer array 3 is connected with the means generating 112 and processing 113 the transmitted and/or received signals. A storage area 213 is associated thereto”, and Para. [0143], “Communication means 4 are connected to the other end of the boards 11 and 12 by plug connectors 116, a first part of which cooperates with the corresponding second part. Boards 11 and 12 are connected to each another in an engaging/disengaging direction perpendicular to the direction of propagation of the beam and perpendicular to the surface of the boards 11 and 12, such that the boards 11 and 12 are mounted in connection with the wireless communication means 4”) and/or encoded into the respectively emitted ultrasonic waves.
Regarding claim 22, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini modified by Peszynski does not specifically disclose wherein the device for evaluating measurement data is configured to determine the one or more predetermined characteristics from the measurement data using a model trained by machine learning.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, Amble discloses wherein the device for evaluating measurement data is configured to determine the one or more predetermined characteristics from the measurement data using a model trained by machine learning (see, e.g., Fig. 7, and Para. [00162], “Head 1100 and/or any other embodiment herein may be implemented in combination with an ultrasound probe having artificial intelligence software that preferably aids a user”, and Para. [00164-00167], where a plurality of circuit boards and their corresponding processing functionalities are disclosed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasonic system of Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble by including wherein the device for evaluating measurement data is configured to determine the one or more predetermined characteristics from the measurement data using a model trained by machine learning, as disclosed by Amble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide the functionality desired to achieve a robust transmission, as recognized by Amble (see, e.g., Para. [00167]).
Regarding claim 23, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, as set forth above. Cerofolini further discloses a method for modifying one of the modular ultrasonic devices in the ultrasonic system according to claim 1, the method comprising: non-destructively separating one of the plurality of boards from the remaining boards of the plurality of boards by detaching at least a part of the plug connectors; and separably connecting a new board to the remaining boards of the plurality of boards by means of one or more plug connectors (see, e.g., Para. [0059], “A variant embodiment of the present invention provides the transducer array and/or the wireless communication means to be removably mounted to the probe casing, such that it is possible to use different transducer arrays and/or different communication means while maintaining the same control electronics of the probe. In this case the communication contacts are composed of electric/mechanical connection elements composed in turn of a first part of a plug connector cooperating with a corresponding second part of a plug connector, with the first part fastened to the inputs/outputs of the transducer array and to the input/outputs of the wireless communication means respectively and the second part being fastened to the ends of the two boards and/or to the corresponding shorter and narrower sides of the probe casing”).
Regarding claim 24, Cerofolini modified by Peszynski and Amble discloses the method according to claim 23, as set forth above. Cerofolini further discloses wherein the new board has the same functionality as the one of the plurality of boards which is separated from the remaining boards of the plurality of boards by detaching at least a part of the plug connectors (see, e.g., Para. [0130], “the illustrated ultrasound probe is composed of an outer casing 1 comprising two narrow and longer side faces and two wider and longer faces, parallel to each other and oriented lengthwise in the direction of a longitudinal axis along the direction of propagation of the acoustic beam transmitted from the probe. Moreover, there are provided two boards 11 and 12, which are parallel or substantially parallel to the wider faces. The units generating and processing the transmitted and/or received signals, as well as the circuits powering the units, are arranged on such boards 11 and 12”, such that the circuit boards 11 and 12 can have the same functionality).
Conclusion
/T.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798