DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
The Applicant filed an IDS 6/23/2026 citing references EP1502871, EP1847469, and WO 1998039228. However, the supporting references filed with the IDS was CN 102046485.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 11, 14, 18, and 32 include random reference lines without reference numbers
Paragraph [0095] references an opening (56A), which is not shown in the figures.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “56” has been used to designate both a lid and an opening (sere Paragraph [0082]).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “50” has been used to designate both a closure and a container (sere Paragraph [0095]).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21 currently says “The closure of claim 1 in combination with container of a fluent substance…” The Examiner believes the claim is intended to state “The closure of claim 1 in combination with a container of a fluent substance…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "a second triangular projection" in the last two lines of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as neither claim 1 or claim 9 claim a “first triangular projection”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 13, 15-17, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hierzer et al (US 2005/0205607) (hereinafter Hierzer).
Regarding Claim 1
Hierzer teaches a closure for use in restricting access to a substance that may be stored within a container (Fig. 2, 3, 5, 7-9), the container (14) having an opening (18) and at least one laterally extending flange (28) located laterally outwardly of the opening, said closure (12) comprising: a body for being located at the opening of the container, said body having a deck (36), said deck defining an interior side and an exterior side and a central axis extending between said interior and said exterior sides, said deck including at least one orifice (40) communicating between said interior side and said exterior side, said body having an internal wall (42) depending from said deck with means (46) for attaching said closure to the container, said body having at least one torque rib (88 and 94) extending therefrom for confronting the at least one laterally extending flange (28) of the container to inhibit relative rotation between said body and the container, and said at least one torque rib being non-planar (in that it is 3D having angled surfaces) (Paragraphs [0021] and [0025]).
Regarding Claim 2
Hierzer teaches a skirt (52) depending from said deck (36) and surrounding said internal wall (42), wherein said at least one torque rib (88 and 94) extends from said skirt, as can be seen in Fig. 7 above.
Regarding Claim 12
Hierzer teaches said means on said internal wall (42) includes at least one screw thread (46) for mating with at least one screw thread (20) on the container.
Regarding Claim 13
Hierzer teaches a lid (56) connected to said body, said lid being movable between i) a closed position (Fig. 3 and 5) occluding said at least one orifice, and ii) an open position (Fig. 2) exposing said at least one orifice to permit communication of a substance through said body.
Regarding Claim 15
Hierzer teaches the closure (12) of claim 1 in combination with a container (14) for a fluent substance, said container having an opening (18) and at least one laterally extending flange (28) located laterally outwardly of said opening.
Regarding Claim 16
Hierzer teaches said at least one laterally extending flange (28) is fin-shaped and defines a flat end face (32) for confronting said at least one torque rib (88 and 94) of said body.
Regarding Claim 17
Hierzer teaches said at least one laterally extending flange (28) defines an axially extending ramp (30) proximate to said flat end face (32).
Regarding Claim 21
Hierzer teaches the closure (12) of claim 1 in combination with container (14) of a fluent substance, said closure, container, and fluent substance together defining a package.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 13, 15-17, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnston et al. (US 2008/0296251) (hereinafter Johnston).
Regarding Claim 1
Johnston teaches a closure for use in restricting access to a substance that may be stored within a container (below – Fig. 1, 2A, and 4A) , the container having an opening (shown at 31) and at least one laterally extending flange (38a, 38b, 38c, 38d) located laterally outwardly of the opening, said closure comprising: a body for being located at the opening of the container, said body having a deck (67), said deck defining an interior side and an exterior side and a central axis (A) extending between said interior and said exterior sides, said deck including at least one orifice (29) communicating between said interior side and said exterior side, said body having an internal wall (25) depending from said deck with means (60a/60b) for attaching said closure to the container, said body having at least one torque rib (64a, 64b, 64c, 64d) extending therefrom for confronting the at least one laterally extending flange (38a, 38b, 38c, 38d) of the container to inhibit relative rotation between said body and the container, and said at least one torque rib being non-planar (i.e. arcuate) (Paragraphs [0032], [0033], [0035], and [0037]).
Regarding Claim 2
Johnston teaches a skirt (21) depending from said deck (67) and surrounding said internal wall (25), wherein said at least one torque rib (64a, 64b, 64c, 64d) extends from said internal wall (25).
Regarding Claim 12
Johnston teaches said means (60a/60b) on said internal wall (25) includes at least one screw thread for mating with at least one screw thread (36a/36b) on the container.
Regarding Claim 13
Johnston teaches a lid (22) connected to said body, said lid being movable between i) a closed position (Fig. 1) occluding said at least one orifice, and ii) an open position (Fig. 4A) exposing said at least one orifice to permit communication of a substance through said body.
Regarding Claim 15
Johnston teaches the closure (20) of claim 1 in combination with a container (10) for a fluent substance, said container having an opening (shown at 31) and at least one laterally extending flange (38a, 38b, 38c, 38d) located laterally outwardly of said opening.
Regarding Claim 16
Johnston teaches said at least one laterally extending flange (38a, 38b, 38c, 38d) is fin-shaped and defines a flat end face (shown at 39a and 39c, for example, in Fig. 2B below) for confronting said at least one torque rib (64a, 64b, 64c, 64d) of said body.
Regarding Claim 17
Johnston teaches said at least one laterally extending flange (38a, 38b, 38c, 38d) defines an axially extending ramp (shown at 37a, for example, above) proximate to said flat end face.
Regarding Claim 21
Johnston teaches the closure (20) of claim 1 in combination with a container (10) of a fluent substance, said closure (20), container (10), and fluent substance together defining a package.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 18, 19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hierzer as applied to claims 1 and 15 above.
Regarding Claims 6 and 7
Hierzer teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Hierzer further teaches a plurality of torque ribs (88 and 94). Hierzer teaches a predetermined minimum unscrewing torque required to defeat the retention structure (i.e. torque ribs and laterally extending flanges) is preferably at least 30 inch-pounds of torque. Hierzer does not specifically teach in an assembled configuration with the container said body is configured to resist rotation relative to the container when subjected to a torque up to about 40 inch-pounds (4.5 N-m), or about 60 inch- pounds (6.8 N-m).
At the time of filing, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, in an assembled configuration, to have the body being configured to resist rotation relative to the container when subjected to a torque up to about 40 inch-pounds (4.5 N-m), or about 60 inch- pounds (6.8 N-m) in order to increase the child resistant security of the container and closure. Further, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the relative rotation resistance between the container and the closure through routine experimentation in order to achieve an assembly that has increased child resistance. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding Claims 18 and 19
Hierzer teaches all the limitations of claim 15 as shown above. Hierzer further teaches said closure includes a plurality of said torque ribs (88 and 94) and said container includes a plurality of laterally extending flanges (28). Hierzer teaches a predetermined minimum unscrewing torque required to defeat the retention structure (i.e. torque ribs and laterally extending flanges) is preferably at least 30 inch-pounds of torque. Hierzer does not specifically teach in an assembled condition of said closure and said container, said body is configured to resist rotation relative to the container when subjected to a torque up to about 40 inch-pounds (4.5 N-m), or about 60 inch- pounds (6.8 N-m).
At the time of filing, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, in an assembled configuration of said closure and container, to have the body being configured to resist rotation relative to the container when subjected to a torque up to about 40 inch-pounds (4.5 N-m), or about 60 inch- pounds (6.8 N-m) in order to increase the child resistant security of the container and closure. Further, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the relative rotation resistance between the container and the closure through routine experimentation in order to achieve an assembly that has increased child resistance. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 22
Hierzer teaches all the limitations of claim 15 as shown above. Hierzer further teaches said at least one laterally extending flange (28) defines an axially extending ramp (30).
Hierzer does not specifically teach said ramp being angled relative to a horizontal plane between about 5 and 15 degrees.
At the time of filing, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have said ramp being angled relative to a horizontal plane between about 5 and 15 degrees, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). Applicant has not disclosed that having said ramp being angled relative to a horizontal plane between about 5 and 15 degrees provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of have said ramp being angled relative to a horizontal plane between about 5 and 15 degrees does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Claim(s) 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnston as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Northup (US 4128184).
Regarding Claims 14 and 20
Johnston teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 15 as shown above. Johnston further teaches said closure (20) includes a plurality of torque ribs (64a, 64b, 64c, 64d) and said container (10) includes a plurality of laterally extending flanges (38a, 38b, 38c, 38d).
Johnston does not specifically teach said body is configured to move from an unassembled configuration with said container into an assembled configuration with said container when subjected to a torque not exceeding about 20 inch-pounds (2.25 N- m).
Northup teaches a closure for use in restricting access to a substance that may be stored within a container (below – Fig. 1-3), the container having an opening (shown at 11) and at least one laterally extending flange (12) located laterally outwardly of the opening, said closure comprising: a body for being located at the opening of the container, said body having a deck (22), said deck defining an interior side and an exterior side and a central axis extending between said interior and said exterior sides, said body having a wall (21) depending from said deck with means for attaching said closure (20) to the container (10), said body having at least one torque rib (23) extending therefrom for confronting the at least one laterally extending flange (12) of the container to inhibit relative rotation between said body and the container, and said at least one torque rib being non-planar (i.e. arcuate); wherein said closure includes a plurality of torque ribs (23) and said container includes a plurality of laterally extending flanges (12), wherein said body is configured to move from an unassembled configuration (Fig. 2) with said container into an assembled configuration (Fig. 3) with said container when subjected to a torque not exceeding about 20 inch-pounds (Col. 2, Ln. 30-45, and Col. 4, Ln. 2-6).
Johnston and Northup are analogous inventions in the field of containers and closures having laterally extending flanges and corresponding torque ribs. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the container and closure of Johnston with the teachings of the body being moved from an unassembled configuration on the container to an assembled configuration on the container with a torque not exceeding about 20 inch-pounds so that an average user can assemble the container and closure (Col. 4, Ln. 2-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8, 10, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Closest prior art – Hierzer (cited above) – teaches a majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the closest prior art does not teach: at least one reinforcing rib extending between said internal wall and said skirt, wherein said at least one torque rib extends transversely from said reinforcing rib (claim 3), said at least one torque rib defines a laterally outward side facing away from said central axis and a laterally inward side facing toward said central axis, and said laterally outward side includes a first triangular projection (claim 8); or said at least one torque rib defines a laterally outward side facing away from said central axis and a laterally inward side facing toward said central axis, said laterally outward side includes a first triangular projection, and said laterally inward side includes a second triangular projection oppositely facing relative to said first triangular projection (claim 10). Claims 4 and 5 depend from claim 3; and claim 11 depends from claim 10, and as such would be allowed.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Closest prior art – Hierzer (cited above) – teaches a majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the closest prior art does not teach: said at least one torque rib defines a laterally outward side facing away from said central axis and a laterally inward side facing toward said central axis, and said laterally inward side includes a triangular projection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 24 June 2026