DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10, as filed on 1/19/2024, are currently pending and considered below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1: “the gap” (no reference number; unclear in specification to which gap the claims are referring to, the one in the clamping block or door/different structure).
Claim 8 “pull device housing” (no reference numbers nor anything shown in the drawings what could be considered a pull device housing).
Claim Objections
Claims listed below are objected to because of the following informalities (appropriate correction is required):
Abstract is over 150 words.
Claim 1, line 4-5 amend: “the other end” to ---an other end---.
Claim 5-6 amend: “the thickness” to ---a thickness--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(1) The claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by CN 207323929 U (Yan et al; henceforth Yan).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Yan discloses a pull device fixing apparatus (“pull rope handle” --Figures 1-3), comprising:
a pull band (buckle mesh belt 8), wherein a fixed member is provided at an end of the pull band (cylindrical sponge body 3, Figure 1 shown at the left end side of belt 8);
and the fixed member enables the pull band to unidirectionally pass through a gap (“door gap” Page 3; said strap is configured to pass through a door gap) through which the fixed member is incapable of passing (said cylindrical sponge body 3 sized such that belt 8 is configured to pass through a gap that of which the body 3 cannot due to the size difference);
a connecting member (safety ring 11) for connection to a pull device (“pull rope” Page 4; said device is attached to a pull rope which in turn is attached to a door allowing for the user to pull on the handle) is provided at the other end of the pull band (Figure 1 shows the safety ring 11 located at a right end of the belt 8);
a clamping member (regulator with thickness strips 6) is provided on the pull band (Figure 1 shows the regulator located on the pull belt 8 in the middle), and the thickness of the clamping member is adaptively adjustable depending on the width of the gap, so as to keep the fixed member fixed (“The new design increases the adjuster for different widths of the door, increase the thickness of the different strips superimposed on the regulator for different Wide and narrow door seams prevent it from slipping during movement” Page 3; said regulator 6 is configured to change in thickness dependent on the gap size).
Regarding Claim 2, Yan further discloses the pull device fixing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the clamping member is movably provided on the pull band in a sleeving manner (said regulator 6 is configured to slide along belt 8 via holes 12, 13, and 16 therethrough).
Regarding Independent Claim 7, Yan discloses a pull device fixing apparatus (Figures 1-3), comprising a strip-shaped pull band (mesh belt 8), wherein a clamping member (regulator 6) capable of abutting on a wall (“door”) of a gap (“door gap”) is provided on the pull band (“The new design increases the adjuster for different widths of the door, increase the thickness of the different strips superimposed on the regulator for different Wide and narrow door seams prevent it from slipping during movement” Page 3; said regulator is configured to abut the door);
the clamping member is provided with at least one clamping block (“thickness strips”), and the clamping member is capable of being provided with different numbers of blocks depending on the width of the gap (“single thread hole 16 can be filled with thick and thin strips” Page 3 and “Pulling out inwards, if the door seam is too large, the single-bore hole 16 can be inserted into different thickness strips so that the adjuster 6 and the door seam just fit closely” Page 3; said regulator is configured to be used with a plurality of thickness strips dependent on the gap size; said hole 16 is within the regulator 6).
Regarding Claim 9, Yan further discloses the pull device fixing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the clamping block is an arc-shaped structure (see Figure 2 wherein the regulator 6 has an arced shaped top shown by the arced lines).
.
Regarding Independent Claim 10, Yan discloses a pull device (“pull rope handle” --Figures 1-3), comprising the pull device fixing apparatus according to claim 1 (said pull rope handle is a pull device comprised of said pull rope handle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 207323929 U (Yan et al; henceforth Yan) in view of US 11406863 B2 (Bonyai).
Regarding Claim 8, Yan further discloses the pull device fixing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein a fixed member (cylindrical sponge 4) capable of abutting on the wall of the gap (sponge 4 is capable of resting against the door) is provided at an end of the pull band (see Figure 1 wherein the sponge 4 is attached at a left end of the belt 8), and a connecting member (safety ring 11) for connecting to a pull device housing (ring 11 is openable and configured to be attachable; said ring 11 is capable of attaching to a pull device housing) is provided at the other end (Figure 1 shows ring 11 attached at a right end of the belt 8);
the volume of the fixed member is greater than the volume of the connecting member (see Figure 1 wherein the sponge 4 is larger than the safety ring 11);
the fixed member is a columnar structure (cylindrical sponge 4; cylindrical is column shaped) provided with a through hole (hole 5) for the pull band to pass through (Figure 1 shows the belt 8 passing through hole 5);
the connecting members a looped structure (ring is a loop structure) provided with a through hole (ring 9) for the pull band to pass through (ring 9 therethrough of which the belt 8 pass therethrough as shown in Figure 1);
the pull band passes through the through hole of the fixed member and extends into the through hole of the connecting member (see Figure 1), to form a looped winding structure (belt 8 passes through both holes such that it forms a looped winding structure);
the clamping block is provided on the pull band in a sleeving manner (regulator 6 comprises a hole therethrough that is configured to allow for the belt 8 to slide therethrough such that the regulator 6 is attached in a sleeved manner).
Yan does not disclose what the clamping block is made of and does not disclose the clamping block made of plastic, rubber, or wood.
Bonyai teaches an analogous exercise device in the same field of endeavor comprising:
A clamping block made of rubber (sleeve 30 formed of synthetic rubber 32). It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the clamping block to be made of rubber, as taught by Bonyai, in order to provide a malleable structure to prevent fracturing due to stress.
Figure 5: Bonyai
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record CN 207323929 U (Yan et al; henceforth Yan) fails to teach or render obvious the exercise device in combination with all of the elements and structural and functional relationships as claimed and further including:
wherein the clamping member comprises a first elastic clamping bloc and a second elastic clamping bloc that are capable of moving relative to each other.
The prior art of record teaches holes 12 and 13 that share a wall extending through the regulator 6, which are not considered equivalent to applicant’s invention as the holes are not blocs and do not move relative to each other. It would not have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the holes to be blocs that move relative to each other without improper hindsight.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY T MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3784