DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is the initial office action based on the 18/867,149 application filed November 19, 2024. Claims 1-24 are pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should Claim 8 be found allowable, Claim 15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Examiner believes this is a simple dependency issue and for examination purposes will be interpreting Claim 15 as depending from Claim 10 instead of Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the fuel source" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, Claim 1 (from which Claim 7 depends) recites “a hydrocarbon fuel source” in line 2 and “storing and/or using the generated green hydrogen as a fuel source for generating the first round of electricity” in lines 12-14. It is unclear to which fuel source the recitation in Claim 7 is referring and therefore Claim 7 is indefinite since it fails to set forth a claim that “clearly and precisely inform[s] persons skilled in the art of the boundaries of protected subject matter” (see MPEP § 2173).
Claims 14 and 21 are similarly rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamal et al. (U.S. Patent Publ’n No. 2013/0126038 (herein “Jamal”) in view of Severinsky U.S. Patent Publ’n No. 2011/0054044) and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 101215337 B1, herein “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 1, Jamal discloses a method of generating electricity (abstract) that includes generating a first round of electricity from a hydrocarbon fuel source (paragraph[ 0036], Jamal system (100) uses vaporized liquid hydrocarbons from a source outside of the system to provide hydrocarbons for manufacture of refined hydrogen, carbon dioxide suitable for EOR and electricity), dispatching the first round of electricity to an electric grid and/or a hydrogen production green electrolyzer (paragraph [0042], electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation).
Further, Jamal discloses the method step of recovering steam from the generation of the first round of electricity (paragraph [0036], hydrocarbon feed conduit (44) couples to pre-reformer (46) and introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons from the source exterior to system (100). Steam recycle conduit (48) also couples to the process side of pre-reformer (46) and introduces a portion of the anode off-gas [recovered steam], which includes steam, from solid oxide fuel cell (34) as a feed, and paragraph [0042], Electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation).
Jamal discloses the method step of generating a second round of electricity from the recovered steam (paragraph [0016], the steam reformer operates to manufacture hydrogen from the steam-driven catalytic conversion of the hydrocarbon-bearing material. The pre-reformer converts both new and recycled streams into methane to maximize the internal reforming capacity of the solid oxide fuel cell, which lowers its overall utility requirements and improves operational efficiency, for converting fuel into electricity [second round of electricity], and paragraph [0036], hydrocarbon feed conduit (44) couples to pre-reformer (46) and introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons from the source exterior to system (100). Steam recycle conduit (48) also couples to the process side of pre-reformer (46) and introduces a portion of the anode off-gas, which includes steam, from solid oxide fuel cell (34) as a feed [recovered steam].
Jamal discloses the method step of dispatching the second round of electricity to the electric grid and/or the hydrogen production green electrolyzer, wherein dispatch to the electrolyzer includes electrical energy (paragraph [0016], the steam reformer operates to manufacture hydrogen from the steam-driven catalytic conversion of the hydrocarbon-bearing material. The pre-reformer converts both new and recycled streams into methane to maximize the internal reforming capacity of the solid oxide fuel cell, which lowers its overall utility requirements and improves operational efficiency, for converting fuel into electricity (second round of electricity], and paragraph [0042], electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation).
Jamal discloses the method step of generating green hydrogen through electrolysis of water at the hydrogen production green electrolyzer (paragraph [0043], electrolysis water conduit (76) introduces water into electrolysis cell (40) from water handling exterior to system (100). Electrolysis cell (40) is operable to produce electrolysis hydrogen and electrolysis oxygen from electrically splitting water).
Jamal discloses the method step of storing and/or using the generated green hydrogen as a fuel source (paragraph [0031], hydrogen recycle feed conduit (6), which couples hydrotreater (4) to H2 compression train (8), introduces a portion of compressed hydrogen into hydrotreater (4) to supply the hydrogen for hydrotreatment, and paragraph [0035], hydrogen compression train (8) pressurizes both the refined hydrogen gas and electrolysis hydrogen into a compressed hydrogen product suitable for transport and use in HFCVs). Jamal fails to explicitly disclose the dispatch to the electrolyzer includes thermal energy, storing and/or using the generated green hydrogen as a fuel source for generating the first round of electricity.
Severinsky is in the field of producing hydrocarbons (Abstract) and teaches dispatch to the electrolyzer includes thermal energy (paragraph [0087], the electricity is provided to the hydrogen input step (400), which can include electrolyzing water in an electrolyzer (410) to form streams of hydrogen and oxygen. Heat, also called thermal energy, can be supplied either directly to heat water when required or through conversion to electricity to conduct electrolysis. .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Jamal to include an electrolyzer input as taught by Severinsky for the purpose of improving the efficiency of an electrolyzer (Severinsky, paragraph [0087]).
Lee is in the field of fuel cells (abstract) and teaches storing and/or using the generated green hydrogen as a fuel source for generating the first round of electricity (paragraph [0009], a first hydrogen transfer pipe that is connected to one side of the seawater electrolysis facility and transfers waste hydrogen generated in the electrolysis process; a fuel cell that is connected to the first hydrogen transfer pipe and generates electricity by using a portion of the waste hydrogen supplied therefrom as a fuel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jamal to include a hydrogen fuel source as taught by Lee for the purpose of getting more use out of excess or waste hydrogen for generating electricity within an electrical generation system (Lee, paragraph [0008]-[0009]).
Regarding Claim 2, Jamal discloses that the hydrocarbon fuel source is liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) or liquified natural gas (LNG) (paragraph [0048], examples of useful hydrocarbon fuels for use in the Jamal system include natural gas and its fractions and blends thereof, including liquefied natural gas (LNG)).
Regarding Claim 6, Jamal discloses storing the hydrocarbon fuel source in a hydrocarbon fuel storage tank (paragraph [0030], hydrocarbon feed conduit (2) introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons into system (100) for conversion into hydrogen suitable for HFCVs and EOR-quality carbon dioxide. Hydrocarbon feed conduit (2) couples to a liquid hydrocarbon feed storage facility that is outside of system (100), and paragraph [0096], the method of using the alternative fueling station to refuel an alternative fuel vehicle with alternative fuels includes the steps of introducing hydrocarbon fuel into the system and operating the system to produce the alternative fuels...An alternative fuel vehicle includes a HFCV having a hydrogen fuel tank as an alternative fuel' storage device), and storing the generated green hydrogen in a green hydrogen storage tank (paragraph [0035], compressed hydrogen product conduit (42) directs the compressed hydrogen not used for recycle to hydrotreater (4) into a compressed hydrogen product storage facility outside of system (100), further it is well known that compressed hydrogen requires a tank to be stored effectively).
Regarding Claim 8, Jamal discloses the hydrogen production green electrolyzer is an alkaline electrolyzer, a proton exchange membrane (PEM) electrolyzer (paragraph [0089], an example of such an electrolysis cell is a proton electrolyte membrane (PEM) electrolysis cell), or a solid oxide electrolysis cell (SOEC).
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamal in view of Severinsky and Lee and further in view of Kuehn (U.S. Patent Publ’n No. 2015/0089919).
Regarding Claim 3, Jamal discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including combusting the hydrocarbon fuel source in a combustion device (paragraph [0046], hydrocarbon feed conduit (82) introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons into combustion chamber (16) of steam reformer (12). Combustion chamber (16) is operable to form a flue gas from the combustion of the vaporized liquid hydrocarbons and anode off-gas with the electrolysis oxygen). Jamal fails to explicitly disclose generating the first round of electricity comprises combusting the hydrocarbon fuel source.
Kuehn is in the field of regenerative power (abstract) and teaches generating the first round of electricity comprises combusting the hydrocarbon fuel source (paragraphs [0032]-[0037], subject matter of the present invention is also a process with which the following steps are performed...b) Combustion of the hydrocarbons produced in step a) with the release of carbon dioxide...Preferred is a process whereby the energy released in step b) is used to produce electricity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jamal to include electricity production processes as taught by Kuehn for the purpose of providing a tightly-coupled process for the production of power and the storage of by-products such as CO2 which is both environment-friendly and efficient and from which the atmosphere is polluted as little as possible by the carbon dioxide that is released (Kuehn paragraph [0017]).
Claims 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamal in view of Severinsky, Lee, and Kuehn, and further in view of John et al. (U.S. Patent Publ’n No. 2014/0110092, herein “John”).
Regarding Claim 4, Jamal discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including recovering steam from generating the first round of electricity comprises dispatching stack emissions (paragraph [0036], hydrocarbon feed conduit (44) couples to pre-reformer (46) and introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons from the source exterior to system (100). Steam recycle conduit (48) also couples to the process side of pre-reformer (46) and introduces a portion of the anode off-gas [stack emissions, see paragraph [0037] of the instant application for definition], which includes steam, from solid oxide fuel cell (34) as a feed, and paragraph [0042], electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation). Jamal fails to explicitly disclose dispatching emissions and heat generated from the combustion device to a heat recovery steam generator.
However, John is in the field of steam turbines (abstract) and teaches dispatching emissions and heat generated from the combustion device to a heat recovery steam generator (paragraph [0010], hot gases of combustion from the gas turbine (10) exhaust into a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) (121) in which water is converted to steam which drives the steam turbine (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jamal to include a heat recovery steam generator as taught by John for the purpose of efficiently using and controlling the temperature of rejected heat of an energy system to drive a turbine (John, paragraphs [0003], [0009] - [0011]).
Regarding Claim 5, Jamal discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including generating the second round of electricity from the recovered steam comprises dispatching the recovered steam (paragraph [0016], the steam reformer operates to manufacture hydrogen from the steam-driven catalytic conversion of the hydrocarbon-bearing material. The pre-reformer converts both new and recycled streams [recovered steam] into methane to maximize the internal reforming capacity of the solid oxide fuel cell, which lowers its overall utility requirements and improves operational efficiency, for converting fuel into electricity [second round of electricity]). Jamal fails to explicitly disclose dispatching the recovered steam from the heat recovery steam generator to a steam turbine generator.
However, John discloses dispatching the recovered steam from the heat recovery steam generator to a steam turbine generator (paragraph [0010], hot gases of combustion from the gas turbine (10) exhaust into a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) (121) in which water is converted to steam which drives the steam turbine (12)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jamal to include a heat and steam recovery methods as taught by John for the purpose of efficiently using and controlling the temperature of rejected heat of an energy system to drive a turbine (John, paragraphs [0003], [0009] - [0011]).
Claims 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamal in view of Severinsky and Lee, and further in view of Rich, Sr. (U.S. Patent Publ’n No. 2002/0102446, herein “Rich”).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Jamal, Severinsky, and Lee discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but fails to explicitly disclose regulating the fuel source between the stored hydrocarbon fuel storage tank and the generated green hydrogen using a valve.
Rich is in the field of fuel cells (abstract) and teaches regulating the fuel source between the stored hydrocarbon fuel storage tank and the generated green hydrogen using a valve (paragraph [0028], the first storage tank (11) is operatively engaged to the fuel cell portion (20) in a manner that allows for the hydrogen-based fuel to flow from the first storage tank (11) into a hydrogen storage section (21A) of the fuel cell portion (20). Further, the first storage tank (11) has a pressure valve (13) to regulate fuel pressure within the first storage tank (11) and a flow control valve (14) to regulate fuel flow from the first storage tank (11) to the hydrogen storage section (21A) of fuel cell portion (20). The hydrogen-based fuel can consist of...hydrocarbons, and paragraph [0035], the electrolysis portion (30) functions to split the waste water into hydrogen [green hydrogen production] and oxygen)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jamal to include fuel regulation as taught by Rich for the purpose of controlling the flow of fuel into a chamber for improved control over an electrolysis process within said chamber (Rich, paragraphs [0028]-[0035]).
Claims 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamal in view of John and Kuehn.
Regarding Claim 10, Jamal discloses a system for generating electricity (abstract) that includes a hydrocarbon fuel storage tank for storing a hydrocarbon fuel source (paragraph [0030], hydrocarbon feed conduit (2) introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons into system (100) for conversion into hydrogen suitable for HFCVs and EOR-quality carbon dioxide. Hydrocarbon feed conduit (2) couples to a liquid hydrocarbon feed storage facility that is outside of system (100), and paragraph [0096], the method of using the alternative fueling station to refuel an alternative fuel vehicle with alternative fuels includes the steps of introducing hydrocarbon fuel into the system and operating the system to produce the alternative fuels...An alternative fuel vehicle includes a HFCV having a hydrogen fuel tank as an alternative fuel storage device).
Jamal discloses that the system includes a combustion device (steam reformer (14) receives heat transferred from combustion chamber (16), which is the main thermal driver for the reformation process occurring in catalytic reactor tubes (14)) and generating a first round of electricity from the hydrocarbon fuel source.
Jamal discloses a grid for dispatching the first round of electricity (paragraph [0042], electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation), recovering steam after the generation of the first round of electricity (paragraph [0036], hydrocarbon feed conduit (44) couples to pre-reformer (46) and introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons from the source exterior to system (100). Steam recycle conduit (48) also couples to the process side of pre-reformer (46) and introduces a portion of the anode off-gas [recovered steam], which includes steam, from solid oxide fuel cell (34) as a feed, and paragraph [0042], electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation).
Jamal discloses generating a second round of electricity from the recovered steam (paragraph [0016], the steam reformer operates to manufacture hydrogen from the steam-driven catalytic conversion of the hydrocarbon-bearing material. The pre-reformer converts both new and recycled streams into methane to maximize the internal reforming capacity of the solid oxide fuel cell, which lowers its overall utility requirements and improves operational efficiency, for converting fuel into electricity [second round of electricity], and paragraph [0036], hydrocarbon feed conduit (44) couples to pre-reformer (46) and introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons from the source exterior to system (100). Steam recycle conduit (48) also couples to the process side of pre-reformer (460 and introduces a portion of the anode off-gas, which includes steam, from solid oxide fuel cell 34 as a feed [recovered steam]).
Jamal discloses a green hydrogen electrolyzer for generating green hydrogen from the electrolysis of water using electricity (paragraphs [0042]-[0043], electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation...Electrolysis water conduit (76) introduces water into electrolysis cell (40) from water handling exterior to system (100). Electrolysis cell (40) is operable to produce electrolysis hydrogen and electrolysis oxygen from electrically splitting water).
Jamal discloses a green hydrogen storage tank for storing the generated green hydrogen (paragraph [0035], compressed hydrogen product conduit (42) directs the compressed hydrogen not used for recycle to hydrotreater (4) into a compressed hydrogen product storage facility outside of system (100). Moreover, it is well known that compressed hydrogen requires a tank to be stored effectively. Jamal fails to explicitly disclose a combustion device for generating electricity, a heat recovery steam generator for recovering steam from the combustion device; a steam turbine generator for generating electricity, and electricity generated from the combustion device and electrical and thermal energy generated from the steam turbine generator.
However, John teaches a combustion device for generating electricity (paragraph [0002], steam thus produced drives a steam turbine, typically comprising high, intermediate and low pressure turbines, in which additional work is extracted to drive a further load such as a second generator for producing additional electric power, and paragraph [0010], hot gases of combustion from the gas turbine (10) exhaust into a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) (121) in which water is converted to steam which drives the steam turbine (12) [for generating electricity].
John discloses a heat recovery steam generator for recovering steam from the combustion device (paragraph [0010]), hot gases of combustion from the gas turbine (10) exhaust into a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) (121) in which water is converted to steam which drives the steam turbine (12)).
John discloses a steam turbine generator for generating electricity (paragraph [0002]), steam thus produced drives a steam turbine, typically comprising high, intermediate and low pressure turbines, in which additional work is extracted io drive a further load such as a second generator for producing additional electric power, and paragraph [0010], hot gases of combustion from the gas turbine (10) exhaust into a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) (121) in which water is converted to steam which drives the steam turbine (12) [for generating electricity]).
John discloses that electrical and thermal energy are generated from the steam turbine generator (paragraph [0002], steam thus produced drives a steam turbine, typically comprising high, intermediate and low pressure turbines, in which additional work is extracted to drive a further load such as a second generator for producing additional electric power, and paragraph [0010], hot gases of combustion from the gas turbine (10) exhaust [thermal energy] into a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) (121) in which water is converted to steam which drives the steam turbine (12) [for generating electricity]...steam via the high pressure superheater (125) drives the steam turbine and is exhausted via a condenser (127) [thermal energy]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jamal to include a heat recovery steam generator as taught by John for the purpose of efficiently using and controlling the temperature of rejected heat of an energy system to drive a turbine (John, paragraphs [0003] and [0009]-[0011]).
Kuehn teaches electricity generated from the combustion device (paragraphs [0032]-[0037], subject matter of the instant invention is also a process with which the following steps are performed...b) Combustion of the hydrocarbons produced in step a) with the release of carbon dioxide...Preferred is a process whereby the energy released in step b) is used to produce electricity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jamal to include electricity production processes as taught by Kuehn for the purpose of providing a tightly-coupled process for the production of power and the storage of by-products such as CO2 which is both environment-friendly and efficient and from which the atmosphere is polluted as little as possible by the carbon dioxide that is released (Kuehn, paragraph [0017]).
Regarding Claim 11, Jamal discloses the hydrocarbon fuel source is liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) or liquified natural gas (LNG) (paragraph [0048], examples of useful hydrocarbon fuels for use in the system include natural gas and its fractions and blends thereof, including...liquefied natural gas (LNG)).
Regarding Claim 12, Jamal discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including the combustion device combusts the hydrocarbon fuel source (paragraph [0046], hydrocarbon feed conduit (82) introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons into combustion chamber (16) of steam reformer (12). Combustion chamber (16) is operable to form a flue gas from the combustion of the vaporized liquid hydrocarbons and anode off-gas with the electrolysis oxygen).
Regarding Claim 13, Jamal discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including that the generator recovers steam from stack emissions (paragraph [0036], hydrocarbon feed conduit (44) couples to pre-reformer (46) and introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons from the source exterior to system (100). Steam recycle conduit (48) also couples to the process side of pre-reformer (46) and introduces a portion of the anode off-gas [stack emissions, see instant application, paragraph [0037] for definition], which includes steam, from solid oxide fuel cell (34) as a feed, and paragraph [0042], electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation). Jamal fails to explicitly disclose the heat recovery steam generator recovers steam from emissions and heat generated from the combustion device.
John teaches the heat recovery steam generator recovers steam from emissions and heat generated from the combustion device (paragraph [0010], hot gases of combustion from the gas turbine (10) exhaust into a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) (121) in which water is converted to steam which drives the steam turbine (12)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Jamal to include a heat recovery steam generator as taught by John for the purpose of efficiently using and controlling the temperature of rejected heat of an energy system to drive a turbine (John, paragraphs [0003] and [0009]-[0011]).
Regarding Claim 15, Jamal discloses the hydrogen production green electrolyzer is an alkaline electrolyzer, a proton exchange membrane (PEM) electrolyzer (paragraph [0089], an example of such an electrolysis cell is a proton electrolyte membrane (PEM) electrolysis cell), or a solid oxide electrolysis cell (SOEC).
Claims 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamal in view of John and Kuehn, and further in view of Rich, Sr. (U.S. Patent Publ’n No. 2002/0102446, herein “Rich”).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Jamal, John, and Kuehn discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but fails to explicitly disclose regulating the fuel source between the stored hydrocarbon fuel storage tank and the generated green hydrogen using a valve.
Rich is in the field of fuel cells (abstract) and teaches regulating the fuel source between the stored hydrocarbon fuel storage tank and the generated green hydrogen using a valve (paragraph [0028], the first storage tank (11) is operatively engaged to the fuel cell portion (20) in a manner that allows for the hydrogen-based fuel to flow from the first storage tank (11) into a hydrogen storage section (21A) of the fuel cell portion (20). Further, the first storage tank (11) has a pressure valve (13) to regulate fuel pressure within the first storage tank (11) and a flow control valve (14) to regulate fuel flow from the first storage tank (11) to the hydrogen storage section (21A) of fuel cell portion (20). The hydrogen-based fuel can consist of...hydrocarbons, and paragraph [0035], the electrolysis portion (30) functions to split the waste water into hydrogen [green hydrogen production] and oxygen)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jamal to include fuel regulation as taught by Rich for the purpose of controlling the flow of fuel into a chamber for improved control over an electrolysis process within said chamber (Rich, paragraphs [0028]-[0035]).
Claims 16, 17, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamal in view of Gibson et al. (U.S. Patent Publ’n No. 2008/0236647, herein Gibson) and Severinsky and further in view of Lee.
Regarding Claim 16, Jamal discloses a method for producing green hydrogen (abstract), that includes generating electricity from a hydrocarbon fuel source (paragraph [0036], system (100) uses vaporized liquid hydrocarbons from a source outside of the system to provide hydrocarbons for manufacture of refined hydrogen, carbon dioxide suitable for EOR and electricity), and dispatching the electricity to an electric grid and a hydrogen production green electrolyzer (paragraph [0042], electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation), wherein dispatch to the electrolyzer includes electrical energy (paragraph [0042] electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation).
Further, Jamal discloses generating green hydrogen through electrolysis of water at the hydrogen production green electrolyzer (paragraph [0043], electrolysis water conduit (76) introduces water into electrolysis cell (40) from water handling exterior to system (100). Electrolysis cell (40) is operable to produce electrolysis hydrogen and electrolysis oxygen from electrically splitting water), and storing and/or using the generated green hydrogen as a fuel source (paragraph [0031]), hydrogen recycle feed conduit (6), which couples hydrotreater (4) to H2 compression train (8), introduces a portion of compressed hydrogen into hydrotreater (4) to supply the hydrogen for hydrotreatment, and paragraph [0035], hydrogen compression train (8) pressurizes both the refined hydrogen gas and electrolysis hydrogen into a compressed hydrogen product suitable for transport and use in HFCVs). Jamal fails to explicitly disclose a method of reducing the cost of producing green hydrogen, wherein dispatch to the electrolyzer includes thermal energy, and storing and/or using the generated green hydrogen as a fuel source for generating electricity.
However, Gibson is in the field of teaches a method of reducing the cost of producing green hydrogen (paragraph [0014], the hydrogen output (34) of the electrolyzer (18) is collected and stored at an appropriate pressure and used as a fuel. By combining the solar power with another source of electricity, such as grid electricity from utilities, the electrolyzer (18) can be operated 24 hours a day if desired, and solar powered electrolytic hydrogen production can be economically viable, because the cost to produce a desired amount of hydrogen fuel is reduced).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Jamal to include hydrogen production as taught by Gibson for the purpose of providing renewable/green electricity sources capable of operating an electrolyzer 24 hours a day, providing cost reductions in producing hydrogen (Gibson, paragraph [0020]).
Severinsky teaches dispatch to the electrolyzer includes thermal energy (paragraph [0087], the electricity is provided to the hydrogen input step (400), which can include electrolyzing water in an electrolyzer (410) to form streams of hydrogen and oxygen. Heat, also called thermal energy, from other subsystems of the process of the present invention (100) can be supplied to this step...lt can be supplied either directly to heat water when required or through conversion to electricity to conduct electrolysis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Jamal to include an electrolyzer input as taught by Severinsky for the purpose of improving the efficiency of an electrolyzer (Severinsky, paragraph [0087]).
Moreover, Lee teaches storing and/or using the generated green hydrogen as a fuel source for generating electricity (paragraph [0009], a first hydrogen transfer pipe that is connected to one side of the seawater electrolysis facility and transfers waste hydrogen generated in the electrolysis process; a fuel cell that is connected to the first hydrogen transfer pipe and generates electricity by using a portion of the waste hydrogen supplied therefrom as a fuel)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Jamal to include a hydrogen fuel source as taught by Lee for the purpose of getting more use out of excess or waste hydrogen for generating electricity within a electrical generation system (Lee, paragraphs [0008]-[0010]).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Jamal, Gibson Severinsky, and Lee discloses the method substantially as claimed, including wherein Jamal discloses recovering steam from the generation of electricity (paragraph [0036], hydrocarbon feed conduit (44) couples to pre-reformer (46) and introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons from the source exterior to system (100). Steam recycle conduit (48) also couples to the process side of pre-reformer 46 and introduces a portion of the anode off-gas [recovered steam], which includes steam, from solid oxide fuel cell (34) as a feed, and paragraph [0042], electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation), and generating additional electricity from the recovered steam (paragraph [0016], the steam reformer operates to manufacture hydrogen from the steam-driven catalytic conversion of the hydrocarbon-bearing material. The pre-reformer converts both new and recycled streams into methane to maximize the internal reforming capacity of the solid oxide fuel cell, which lowers its overall utility requirements and improves operational efficiency, for converting fuel into electricity [additional electricity]; and paragraph [0036], hydrocarbon feed conduit (44) couples to pre-reformer (46) an introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons from the source exterior to system (100). Steam recycle conduit 48 also couples to the process side of pre-reformer 46 and introduces a portion of the anode off-gas, which includes steam, from solid oxide fuel cell 34 as a feed [recovered steam]), and dispatching the additional electricity to the electric grid and the hydrogen production green electrolyzer, wherein dispatch to the electrolyzer includes both electrical energy (paragraph [0016], the steam reformer operates to manufacture hydrogen from the steam-driven catalytic conversion of the hydrocarbon-bearing material. The pre-reformer converts both new and recycled streams into· methane to maximize the internal reforming capacity of the solid oxide fuel cell, which lowers its overall utility requirements and improves operational efficiency·, for converting fuel into electricity [second round of electricity], and paragraph [0042] electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation). Jamal fails to explicitly disclose dispatch to the electrolyzer includes thermal energy.
Severinsky teaches dispatch to the electrolyzer includes thermal energy (paragraph [0087], the electricity is provided to the hydrogen input step (400), which can include electrolyzing water in an electrolyzer (410) to form streams of hydrogen and oxygen. Heat, also called thermal energy, from other subsystems of the process of the present invention (100) can be supplied to this step...lt can be supplied either directly to heat water when required or through conversion to electricity to conduct electrolysis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Jamal to include an electrolyzer input as taught by Severinsky for the purpose of improving the efficiency of an electrolyzer (Severinsky, paragraph [0087]).
Regarding Claim 20, Jamal discloses that the hydrocarbon fuel source is liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) or liquified natural gas (LNG) (paragraph [0048], examples of useful hydrocarbon fuels for use in the Jamal system include natural gas and its fractions and blends thereof, including liquefied natural gas (LNG)).
Regarding Claim 22, Jamal discloses the hydrogen production green electrolyzer is an alkaline electrolyzer, a proton exchange membrane (PEM) electrolyzer (paragraph [0089], an example of such an electrolysis cell is a proton electrolyte membrane (PEM) electrolysis cell), or a solid oxide electrolysis cell (SOEC).
Claims 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamal in view of Gibson and Severinsky and further in view of Lee and John.
Regarding Claim 18, Jamal discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including recovering steam from generating the first round of electricity comprises dispatching stack emissions (paragraph [0036], hydrocarbon feed conduit (44) couples to pre-reformer (46) and introduces vaporized liquid hydrocarbons from the source exterior to system (100). Steam recycle conduit (48) also couples to the process side of pre-reformer (46) and introduces a portion of the anode off-gas [stack emissions, see paragraph [0037] of the instant application for definition], which includes steam, from solid oxide fuel cell (34) as a feed, and paragraph [0042], electrical conduit (68) couples to solid oxide fuel cell (38) and directs the excess electricity produced by solid oxide fuel cell (34) to power grid conduit (70) and electrolysis electrical conduit (72). Power grid conduit (70) directs a portion of the electricity to electrical distribution exterior to system (100) while electrolysis electrical conduit (72) directs electrical current to electrolysis cell (40) for oxygen and hydrogen generation). Jamal fails to explicitly disclose dispatching emissions and heat generated from the combustion device to a heat recovery steam generator.
However, John is in the field of steam turbines (abstract) and teaches dispatching emissions and heat generated from the combustion device to a heat recovery steam generator (paragraph [0010], hot gases of combustion from the gas turbine (10) exhaust into a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) (121) in which water is converted to steam which drives the steam turbine (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jamal to include a heat recovery steam generator as taught by John for the purpose of efficiently using and controlling the temperature of rejected heat of an energy system to drive a turbine (John, paragraphs [0003], [0009] - [0011]).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Jamal, Gibson Severinsky, and Lee discloses the method substantially as claimed, wherein Jamal discloses that the generation of the additional electricity from the recovered steam comprises dispatching the recovered steam (paragraph [0016], the steam reformer operates to manufacture hydrogen from the steam-driven catalytic conversion of the hydrocarbon-bearing material. The pre-reformer converts both new and recycled streams [recovered steam] into methane to maximize the internal reforming capacity of the solid oxide fuel cell, which lowers its overall utility requirements and improves operational efficiency, for converting fuel into electricity [additional electricity]). Jamal fails to explicitly disclose dispatching the recovered steam from the heat recovery steam generator to a steam turbine generator.
John teaches dispatching the recovered steam from the heat recovery steam generator to a steam turbine generator (Para. 001O: Hot gases of combustion from the gas turbine 10 exhaust into a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) 121 in which water is converted to steam which drives the steam turbine 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Jamal to include a heat and steam recovery methods as taught by John for the purpose of efficiently using and controlling the temperature of rejected heat of an energy system to drive a turbine (John paragraphs [0003] and [0009]-[0011]).
Claims 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamal in view of Gibson, Severinsky, and Lee, and further in view of Rich, Sr. (U.S. Patent Publ’n No. 2002/0102446, herein “Rich”).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Jamal, Gibson, Severinsky, and Lee discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but fails to explicitly disclose regulating the fuel source between the stored hydrocarbon fuel storage tank and the generated green hydrogen using a valve.
Rich is in the field of fuel cells (abstract) and teaches regulating the fuel source between the stored hydrocarbon fuel storage tank and the generated green hydrogen using a valve (paragraph [0028], the first storage tank (11) is operatively engaged to the fuel cell portion (20) in a manner that allows for the hydrogen-based fuel to flow from the first storage tank (11) into a hydrogen storage section (21A) of the fuel cell portion (20). Further, the first storage tank (11) has a pressure valve (13) to regulate fuel pressure within the first storage tank (11) and a flow control valve (14) to regulate fuel flow from the first storage tank (11) to the hydrogen storage section (21A) of fuel cell portion (20). The hydrogen-based fuel can consist of...hydrocarbons, and paragraph [0035], the electrolysis portion (30) functions to split the waste water into hydrogen [green hydrogen production] and oxygen)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jamal to include fuel regulation as taught by Rich for the purpose of controlling the flow of fuel into a chamber for improved control over an electrolysis process within said chamber (Rich, paragraphs [0028]-[0035]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Specifically, various references are cited that provide detail of relevant methods and systems for electricity generation.