DETAILED CORRESPONDANCE
Status of claims
This final office action on merits is in response to the communication received on 03/13/2026. Amendments to claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-16 are acknowledged and have been carefully considered. Claims 1-18 are pending and considered below.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “cause the controller further to.” should read “cause the controller further to:”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Under step 1, the analysis is based on MPEP 2106.03, and claims 1-8n and 17-18 are drawn to a wire system, claims 9-14 are drawn to an operational method, claim 15-16 are drawn to a tangible non-transitory computer readable storage medium. Thus, each claim, on its face, is directed to one of the statutory categories (i.e., useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) of 35 U.S.C. §101.
Step 2A Prong One
Claim 1 recites the limitation of detecting usage of the wire system when data are communicated. This limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, encompasses observations and evaluations of whether the wire system is being used based on detected activity, which can be conceptually performed in the human mind or with pen and paper. Alternatively, the claim constitutes monitoring or detecting activity. The claim encompasses a user observing whether data are being communicated though a wire system and determining that the wire system is in use. The recitation of a controller dedicated to the wire body and comprising a memory that stores instructions and a processor does not remove the limitation from the mental processes grouping. Thus, the claim recites a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Independent claims 9 and 15 recite identical or nearly identical steps with respect to claim 1 (and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this claim is therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
Under Step 2A Prong Two
The claimed limitations, as per claim 1, include:
a wire body by which data are communicated;
an interface configured to interface the wire system to a medical monitor; and
a controller dedicated to the wire body and comprising a memory that stores instructions and a processor that executes the instructions,
wherein, when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the controller to:
detect usage of the wire system when data are communicated.
Examiner Note: underlined elements indicate additional elements of the claimed invention identified as performing the steps of the claimed invention.
The judicial exception expressed in claim 1 is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole describes how to generally “apply” the concept of detecting usage of a system based on observed data communication in a computer environment. The claimed computer components (i.e., a controller dedicated to the wire body and comprising a memory that stores instructions and a processor that executes the instructions, wherein, when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the controller to) are recited at a high level of generality and are invoked as tools to perform an existing process of monitoring or detecting usage of a system. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The judicial exception expressed in claim 1 is not integrated into a practical application. The abstract idea is carried out in a technical environment or field (i.e., a wire system configured to communicate data and interface with a medical monitor), however fails to contain meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). The additional elements that are carried out in a technical environment includes a wire body by which data are communicated and an interface configured to interface the wire system to a medical monitor. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Therefore, under step 2A, the claims are directed to the abstract idea, and require further analysis under Step 2B.
Under step 2B
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of detecting usage of a system based on observed data communication in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea.
Claims 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the abstract idea is merely carried out in a technical environment or field, however fails to contain meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The wire body and interface merely link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 8, 11-14, and 17-18 recite no further additional elements, and only further narrow the abstract idea. The previously identified additional elements, individually and as a combination, do not integrate the narrowed abstract idea into a practical application for reasons similar to those explained above, and do not amount to significantly more than the narrowed abstract idea for reasons similar to those explained above.
Claims 2-7, 10, and 16 recite the additional element of by the processor (claims 2, and 4-7), with the medical monitor (claim 2), by the medical monitor (claim 2), to the medical monitor (claim 3), to a medical monitor (claim 16), by the controller (claim 10). However, these additional element amounts to implementing an abstract idea on a generic computing device mere linking to a particular environment. As such, these additional elements, when considered individually or in combination with the prior devices, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Thus, as the dependent claims remain directed to a judicial exception, and as the additional elements of the claims do not amount to significantly more, the dependent claims are not patent eligible.
Therefore, the claims here fail to contain any additional element(s) or combination of additional elements that can be considered as significantly more and the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for lacking eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corl (U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0276143 A1), referred to hereinafter as Corl, in view of Al-Ali et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0032029 A1), referred to hereinafter as Al-Ali.
Regarding claim 1, Corl teaches a wire system, comprising (Corl [0030] “Referring back to FIG. 2, the smart cable is illustrated as a simplified functional block 170. The smart cable 170 includes electrical circuitry implemented inside a portion of the smart cable 170 close to the pressure guidewire 152. The circuitry is preferably positional in close proximity to the pressure guidewire 152 so as to better receive (or preserve the integrity of) the pressure data collected by the pressure guidewire 152.”).
a wire body by which data are communicated (Corl [0056] “Similarly to the smart cable 400, the smart cable 500 serves as a “smart” interface between a diagnostic medical device and a medical measurement system while maintaining the appearance of a “dumb” cable. The circuitry 200 inside the smart cable 500 allows it to transfer the medical data captured by the diagnostic medical device to the medical measurement system in a format that is understood by the medical measurement system. The form factor of the smart cable 500 simplifies the tasks of the operator, since the operator needs merely to connect the smart cable 500 between the diagnostic medical device and the medical measurement system, as the smart cable 500 looks practically the same as a common extension cable.”);
an interface configured to interface the wire system (Corl [0029] “A cable 166 extends from rotary connector 164 to a connector 168. In some instances, connector 168 is configured to be plugged into an electronic interface device. However, according to the present disclosure, instead of plugging into the electronic interface device, the connector 168 will be plugged into a smart cable. The rotary connector 164, the cable 166, and the connector 168 may also be collectively referred to as a rotary cable assembly.”); and
a controller dedicated to the wire body and comprising a memory that stores instructions and a processor that executes the instructions (Corl [0030] “Referring back to FIG. 2, the smart cable is illustrated as a simplified functional block 170. The smart cable 170 includes electrical circuitry implemented inside a portion of the smart cable 170 close to the pressure guidewire 152. The circuitry is preferably positional in close proximity to the pressure guidewire 152 so as to better receive (or preserve the integrity of) the pressure data collected by the pressure guidewire 152. The electrical circuitry allows the smart cable 170 to serve as an electrical interface and communication pathway between the pressure guidewire 152 and a medical measurement system (such as a hemodynamic monitoring system). Among other things, the electrical circuitry of the smart cable 170 includes an energy harvesting component, a current sources component, an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) component, a microcontroller component, and a modulator component.”, Corl [0008] “One more aspect of the present disclosure involves a method. The method includes: coupling a distal end of an elongate cable to a diagnostic medical device through a distal connector of the cable, the diagnostic medical device being configured to sense biological data of a patient; and coupling a proximal end of the elongate cable to a medical measurement system through a proximal connector of the cable, the distal and proximal distal ends being opposite one another and being coupled together through a flexible elongate cable body; and causing the biological data to be processed by an electronic component located inside the distal connector or inside the housing associated with the distal connector, the electronic component including: an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configured to receive the biological data and convert the biological data into digital signals; and a microprocessor coupled to an output of the ADC and configured to process the digital signals into a format that is readable by the medical measurement system.”, Corl [0030] “The microcontroller component queries the calibration memory of the pressure guidewire, typically included inside or adjacent to the connector 168 of the rotary cable assembly, and it reads the calibration coefficients associated with the particular pressure guidewire sensor.”),
wherein, when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the controller to: detect usage of the wire system when data are communicated (Corl [0008] “One more aspect of the present disclosure involves a method. The method includes: coupling a distal end of an elongate cable to a diagnostic medical device through a distal connector of the cable, the diagnostic medical device being configured to sense biological data of a patient; and coupling a proximal end of the elongate cable to a medical measurement system through a proximal connector of the cable, the distal and proximal distal ends being opposite one another and being coupled together through a flexible elongate cable body; and causing the biological data to be processed by an electronic component located inside the distal connector or inside the housing associated with the distal connector, the electronic component including: an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configured to receive the biological data and convert the biological data into digital signals; and a microprocessor coupled to an output of the ADC and configured to process the digital signals into a format that is readable by the medical measurement system.”), and Corl [0040] “The microcontroller 225 continuously monitors the voltages on the SENSE-A and SENSE-B lines as well as other parameters of interest via low resolution analog-to-digital converters included in the microcontroller 225. From these measurements, the microcontroller 225 can detect various fault conditions, such as “guidewire not connected”, “guidewire shorted”, “guidewire open circuit”, etc. These fault conditions can be communicated to the operator via the status indication mechanism 248 or via signals sent to the hemodynamic monitoring system.”).
Corl fails to explicitly teach to a medical monitor.
Al-Ali teaches to a medical monitor (Al-Ali [0147] “Multiple sensors are often applied to a medical patient to provide physiological information about the patient to a physiological monitor. Some sensors, including certain optical and acoustic sensors, interface with the monitor using a cable having power, signal, and ground lines or wires. One or more these lines can pose an electric shock hazard when multiple sensors are attached to the patient. If an electrical potential exists in the ground line, for instance, a ground loop can form in the patient or in the ground line, allowing unwanted current to pass through the patient through the ground line. Power fluctuations or surges, such as from a defibrillator, can potentially harm the patient and damage the monitor or the sensors.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Corl and Al-Ali to arrive at the claimed wire system. Corl teaches a smart cable including a wire body configured to communicate medical data between a diagnostic medical device and a medical measurement system, and further teaches embedding electrical circuitry within the cable, including a microcontroller, memory, and signal processing components. Corl also teaches that the microcontroller monitors electrical signals within the cable and detects various operational conditions based on those signals. Thus, Corl provides a cable-based system with embedded processing and monitoring functionality.
Al-Ali teaches that cables are commonly used to interface sensors with physiological monitors in medical environments and emphasizes the importance of proper interfacing between cables and medical monitors to ensure safe and reliable signal transmission. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the smart cable of Corl, which facilitates communication between medical devices, would be suitably adapted to interface with a medical monitor as taught by Al-Ali, since both references address the use of cables to transmit physiological data in medical systems. Modifying Corl’s cable to interface with a medical monitor represents a predictable use of known cable interface structures in the same field of endeavor.
Also, it would have been obvious to configure the processor of Corl to detect usage of the wire system when data are communicated. Corl teaches that the microcontroller monitors signal lines and processes data transmitted through the cable. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to interpret the presence of data communication or signal activity as an indication that the cable is in use, as monitoring signal activity to determine operational status is a routine and well-understood practice in embedded systems. This modification involves using existing monitoring capabilities in Corl to identify when the cable is actively transmitting data, yielding predictable results without requiring inventive skill. Accordingly, the combination of Corl and Al-Ali represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions to improve integration and monitoring of cable usage in medical systems.
Regarding claim 2, Corl and Al-Ali teach the invention in claim 1, as discussed above, and further teach wherein, when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the controller further to check compatibility of the wire system with the medical monitor based on the detected usage of the wire system (Corl [0037] “Once the circuitry 200 is powered up, a microcontroller 205 initializes all of the components of the circuitry 200, and waits for a pressure guidewire 230 (implemented as the pressure guidewire 152 of FIGS. 2-3 in some embodiments) and including the associated rotary cable assembly 240, to be connected to a pressure guidewire interface connector 235. The microcontroller 225 detects the presence of a pressure guidewire rotary cable assembly 240 by attempting to read a pressure guidewire EEPROM 245. A successful read operation indicates the presence of the connector, and the microcontroller 225 then reads all of the guidewire calibration coefficients from the EEPROM 245 (which is programmed specifically for the associated guidewire pressure sensor.”, and
Al-Ali [0137] “In such systems, each of the information elements may include authentication information indicating that the corresponding component is compatible with the system. The authentication information may include predetermined data such as a key or other information capable of identifying the respective component as a compatible with the system.”, Al-Ali [0138] “The monitoring device can be configured to read the authentication information and verify that each of the attached components is authorized or otherwise compatible with the system. If the components are compatible, the monitoring device enables physiological monitoring. On the other hand, if one or more of the components do not have the appropriate authentication information, the monitoring device disables the monitoring function. Such authentication information may be stored in combination with the calibration information discussed above.”, and Al-Ali [0109] “Cable usage data 432 may include buyer or manufacturer information, cable type, serial number of the cable, date of purchase, time in use, and cable life monitoring functions (CLM), including near expiration percentage, update period, expiration limit, and an index of functions. In addition, the cable usage data 432 may include numerous read write parameters, such as the number of times the cable is connected to a monitoring system, the number of times the cable has been successfully calibrated, the total elapsed time connected to a monitor system, the number of times the cable has been connected to one or more sensors, the total time used to process patient vital parameters, the cumulative current, voltage, or power applied to the cable, the cumulative temperature of the cable, and the expiration status of the cable.”);
and indicate whether the wire system is suitable for a particular clinical use as defined by the medical monitor (Al-Ali [0043] “For example, in one scenario, a user first attaches a first sensor to a first cable connected to a first monitoring device. The monitoring device reads the behavioral characteristics of the components and adjusts the signal processing parameters accordingly, such as when new sensor path components are attached. The user then replaces the first sensor with a second sensor of the same type, but having different behavior characteristics, such as process variable characteristics. In another scenario, the user replaces the first sensor with a second sensor having a different type, such as a sensor tailored for a particular use, and having different design variable characteristics. In both scenarios, the monitoring device reads the behavioral characteristics of the second sensor and again performs multi-stage calibration so as to cooperate with the second sensor.” Al-Ali [0142] “At step 602, for example, the process 600 may electrically ping or otherwise communicate with the components in the sensor path (e.g., sensors, cables, etc.) to determine whether a compatible sensor path configuration is connected to the monitor. In one embodiment, the process 600 downloads and verifies quality control and/or authentication information from each of the stages in the sensor path at step 602 to determine if the sensor path configuration is compatible. Generally, any of the types of information described herein can be advantageously used in the compatibility determination (e.g., quality control information, cable management information, patient context information, and/or physiological information). If one or more of the sensor path stages are not compatible or are not appropriately connected, the process 600 waits.”, Al-Ali [0138] “The monitoring device can be configured to read the authentication information and verify that each of the attached components is authorized or otherwise compatible with the system. If the components are compatible, the monitoring device enables physiological monitoring. On the other hand, if one or more of the components do not have the appropriate authentication information, the monitoring device disables the monitoring function. Such authentication information may be stored in combination with the calibration information discussed above.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine compatibility of a wire system with a medical monitor and to indicate whether the system is suitable for a particular clinical use based on such compatibility determinations. Al-Ali teaches that different sensors are tailored for different clinical applications and that the monitoring device evaluates connected components to determine whether an appropriate configuration is present. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that compatibility determinations implicitly reflect whether a given configuration is suitable for a specific clinical use, since different clinical measurements require specific sensor and cable configurations. Furthermore, usage characteristics of the cable, such as wear, age, or operational history, would have been understood to affect compatibility and suitability, making it obvious to base compatibility determinations at least in part on detected usage. The combination represents a predictable application of known device authentication and configuration validation techniques to ensure proper operation in medical monitoring systems.
Regarding claim 3, Corl and Al-Ali teach the invention in claim 2, as discussed above, and further teach wherein the interface is configured to interface the controller to the medical monitor (Corl [0042] “The conditioned pressure values are transferred to a modulator circuit, for example, a multiplying digital-to-analog converter (MDAC) 270, to be converted into the proper format for compatibility with the pressure interface of the hemodynamic monitoring system 172 for analysis and display. Since the conditioned pressure samples are in a digital format, and the BP-22 excitation waveform is an analog signal, the MDAC 270 is used to modulate the pressure waveform and produce the required analog output. The microcontroller 225 delivers the pressure samples to the MDAC 270 via a serial data bus 280 (also shared with the 24-bit ADC 255). A differential amplifier 285 conditions and buffers the excitation waveform and delivers the signal to the analog input of the MDAC 270. The output from the MDAC 270 is attenuated to meet the ANSI/AAMI BP22:1994 Blood Pressure Transducer standard for sensitivity (5 uV/V/mmHg) and this modulated pressure waveform is returned to the hemodynamic monitoring system 172 inputs via connector 205.”)., and
Al-Ali [0147] “Multiple sensors are often applied to a medical patient to provide physiological information about the patient to a physiological monitor. Some sensors, including certain optical and acoustic sensors, interface with the monitor using a cable having power, signal, and ground lines or wires. One or more these lines can pose an electric shock hazard when multiple sensors are attached to the patient. If an electrical potential exists in the ground line, for instance, a ground loop can form in the patient or in the ground line, allowing unwanted current to pass through the patient through the ground line. Power fluctuations or surges, such as from a defibrillator, can potentially harm the patient and damage the monitor or the sensors.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the interface of Corl to interface the controller to a medical monitor. Corl teaches a smart cable including a microcontroller that processes physiological data and outputs conditioned signals to a hemodynamic monitoring system via a connector, which establish communication between the controller and the monitoring system. Al-Ali further teaches that cables are commonly used in medical systems to interface sensors and associated electronics with physiological monitors to transmit patient data. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that configuring the interface of Corl’s smart cable to directly interface the controller with a medical monitor is consistent with known practices in the field and represents a predictable use of known interface structures to transmit processed physiological data to monitoring systems, yielding expected results without requiring inventive skill.
Regarding claim 4, Corl and Al-Ali teach the invention in claim 1, as discussed above, and further teach wherein, when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the controller further to: detect information addressed to the controller (Corl [0037] “Once the circuitry 200 is powered up, a microcontroller 205 initializes all of the components of the circuitry 200, and waits for a pressure guidewire 230 (implemented as the pressure guidewire 152 of FIGS. 2-3 in some embodiments) and including the associated rotary cable assembly 240, to be connected to a pressure guidewire interface connector 235. The microcontroller 225 detects the presence of a pressure guidewire rotary cable assembly 240 by attempting to read a pressure guidewire EEPROM 245. A successful read operation indicates the presence of the connector, and the microcontroller 225 then reads all of the guidewire calibration coefficients from the EEPROM 245 (which is programmed specifically for the associated guidewire pressure sensor.” Corl [0040] “The microcontroller 225 continuously monitors the voltages on the SENSE-A and SENSE-B lines as well as other parameters of interest via low resolution analog-to-digital converters included in the microcontroller 225. From these measurements, the microcontroller 225 can detect various fault conditions, such as “guidewire not connected”, “guidewire shorted”, “guidewire open circuit”, etc. These fault conditions can be communicated to the operator via the status indication mechanism 248 or via signals sent to the hemodynamic monitoring system.”);
present current settings for the wire system (Corl [0038] “It is understood that the rotary cable assembly 240 may be considered to be separate from, and not a part of, the smart cable 170 (and thus separate from the circuitry 200). The rotary cable assembly 240 is illustrated herein for clarifying the electrical connections between the components of the circuitry 200 and the pressure guidewire. Also, in the embodiment shown in FIG. 4, the rotary cable assembly 240 includes a light-emitting diode (LED) mechanism 248. The status indication mechanism 248 includes differently colored LEDs to indicate the status of the smart cable 170, for example “pressure guidewire not connected,” “initializing,” and “ready-to-use.” It is understood, however, that a similar status indication mechanism may be implemented on the smart cable 170 itself in other embodiments.” and Corl [0040] “The microcontroller 225 continuously monitors the voltages on the SENSE-A and SENSE-B lines as well as other parameters of interest via low resolution analog-to-digital converters included in the microcontroller 225. From these measurements, the microcontroller 225 can detect various fault conditions, such as “guidewire not connected”, “guidewire shorted”, “guidewire open circuit”, etc. These fault conditions can be communicated to the operator via the status indication mechanism 248 or via signals sent to the hemodynamic monitoring system.”); and
accept updated settings for the wire system (Al-Ali [0043] “For example, in one scenario, a user first attaches a first sensor to a first cable connected to a first monitoring device. The monitoring device reads the behavioral characteristics of the components and adjusts the signal processing parameters accordingly, such as when new sensor path components are attached. The user then replaces the first sensor with a second sensor of the same type, but having different behavior characteristics, such as process variable characteristics. In another scenario, the user replaces the first sensor with a second sensor having a different type, such as a sensor tailored for a particular use, and having different design variable characteristics. In both scenarios, the monitoring device reads the behavioral characteristics of the second sensor and again performs multi-stage calibration so as to cooperate with the second sensor.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the additional functionality recited in claim 4 in view of Corl and Al-Ali. Corl teaches that the microcontroller retrieves device-specific data from an EEPROM associated with a connected component and continuously monitors signal lines to evaluate electrical conditions, which demonstrate that the controller actively examines and selectively processes incoming data and signals, which constitutes detecting information intended for the controller. Corl further teaches presenting operational information of the cable system via a status indication mechanism, such as LEDs indicating conditions including “not connected,” “initializing,” and “ready-to-use,” as well as communicating detected conditions to a monitoring system, which present current system state information. Al-Ali teaches that monitoring systems adjust signal processing parameters and recalibrate operation based on characteristics of connected components, which update the operational configuration of the system. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to treat such parameter adjustments as accepting updated settings, as modifying operational parameters in response to system inputs or changing components is a routine and well-understood function of embedded control systems. Accordingly, combining Corl and Al-Ali to include detecting relevant incoming information, presenting current system state, and updating operational parameters represents a predictable use of known techniques to improve system monitoring and adaptability, yielding expected results.
Regarding claim 5, Corl and Al-Ali teach the invention in claim 1, as discussed above, and further teach wherein, when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the controller further to: detect data being communicated via the wire system controller (Corl [0037] “Once the circuitry 200 is powered up, a microcontroller 205 initializes all of the components of the circuitry 200, and waits for a pressure guidewire 230 (implemented as the pressure guidewire 152 of FIGS. 2-3 in some embodiments) and including the associated rotary cable assembly 240, to be connected to a pressure guidewire interface connector 235. The microcontroller 225 detects the presence of a pressure guidewire rotary cable assembly 240 by attempting to read a pressure guidewire EEPROM 245. A successful read operation indicates the presence of the connector, and the microcontroller 225 then reads all of the guidewire calibration coefficients from the EEPROM 245 (which is programmed specifically for the associated guidewire pressure sensor.” Corl [0040] “The microcontroller 225 continuously monitors the voltages on the SENSE-A and SENSE-B lines as well as other parameters of interest via low resolution analog-to-digital converters included in the microcontroller 225. From these measurements, the microcontroller 225 can detect various fault conditions, such as “guidewire not connected”, “guidewire shorted”, “guidewire open circuit”, etc. These fault conditions can be communicated to the operator via the status indication mechanism 248 or via signals sent to the hemodynamic monitoring system.”);
identify a type of the data being communicated via the wire system controller (Corl [0037] “Once the circuitry 200 is powered up, a microcontroller 205 initializes all of the components of the circuitry 200, and waits for a pressure guidewire 230 (implemented as the pressure guidewire 152 of FIGS. 2-3 in some embodiments) and including the associated rotary cable assembly 240, to be connected to a pressure guidewire interface connector 235. The microcontroller 225 detects the presence of a pressure guidewire rotary cable assembly 240 by attempting to read a pressure guidewire EEPROM 245. A successful read operation indicates the presence of the connector, and the microcontroller 225 then reads all of the guidewire calibration coefficients from the EEPROM 245 (which is programmed specifically for the associated guidewire pressure sensor.” Corl [0040] “The microcontroller 225 continuously monitors the voltages on the SENSE-A and SENSE-B lines as well as other parameters of interest via low resolution analog-to-digital converters included in the microcontroller 225. From these measurements, the microcontroller 225 can detect various fault conditions, such as “guidewire not connected”, “guidewire shorted”, “guidewire open circuit”, etc. These fault conditions can be communicated to the operator via the status indication mechanism 248 or via signals sent to the hemodynamic monitoring system.”); and
update status information for the wire system stored in the memory to track usage of the wire system by updating a count of usage time of the wire system (Al-Ali [0084] As described, other types of information in addition to calibration information can be stored on one or more of the information elements. For example, cable management information that may be stored on the information element 360 may include information on cable usage, sensor usage, and/or monitor usage. Cable usage data may include, for example, information on the time the cable has been in use, enabling the physiological monitor 310 to determine when the sensor cable 312 is near the end of its life. Sensor usage data may include, for example, information on what sensors have been attached to the sensor cable 312, for how long, and the like. Similarly, monitor usage data may include, for example, information on what monitors have been attached to the sensor cable 312, for how long, and the like. More detailed examples of cable management information are described below, with respect to FIG. 4.” and Al-Ali [0109] “Cable usage data 432 may include buyer or manufacturer information, cable type, serial number of the cable, date of purchase, time in use, and cable life monitoring functions (CLM), including near expiration percentage, update period, expiration limit, and an index of functions. In addition, the cable usage data 432 may include numerous read write parameters, such as the number of times the cable is connected to a monitoring system, the number of times the cable has been successfully calibrated, the total elapsed time connected to a monitor system, the number of times the cable has been connected to one or more sensors, the total time used to process patient vital parameters, the cumulative current, voltage, or power applied to the cable, the cumulative temperature of the cable, and the expiration status of the cable.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to update status information for the wire system by tracking usage through a count of usage time as recited in the claim. Al-Ali teaches storing cable usage information, including the time the cable has been in use and total elapsed time connected to a monitoring system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that maintaining such total elapsed time necessarily involves updating a time-based count during operation, as this is a routine and well-understood implementation of usage tracking in electronic systems. Furthermore, where the base system (Corl’s smart cable) includes a microcontroller and memory capable of processing and storing operational data, it would have been an obvious design choice to incorporate known usage tracking techniques, such as those taught by Al-Ali, in order to monitor device usage, facilitate maintenance, and determine end of life conditions. This modification represents a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions and would have yielded expected results.
Regarding claim 6, Corl and Al-Ali teach the invention in claim 1, as discussed above, and further teach wherein, when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the controller further to detect an end of a usage cycle of the wire system (Corl [0037] “Once the circuitry 200 is powered up, a microcontroller 205 initializes all of the components of the circuitry 200, and waits for a pressure guidewire 230 (implemented as the pressure guidewire 152 of FIGS. 2-3 in some embodiments) and including the associated rotary cable assembly 240, to be connected to a pressure guidewire interface connector 235. The microcontroller 225 detects the presence of a pressure guidewire rotary cable assembly 240 by attempting to read a pressure guidewire EEPROM 245. A successful read operation indicates the presence of the connector, and the microcontroller 225 then reads all of the guidewire calibration coefficients from the EEPROM 245 (which is programmed specifically for the associated guidewire pressure sensor.”), and Al-Ali [0242] “The process 1900 may further continually or periodically perform step 1902 (e.g., during processing), thereby detecting sensor path disconnection or changes during use.”),
detect a start of a new usage cycle of the wire system, and (Al-Ali [0209] “The usage tracking method 1400 begins by obtaining sensor parameters from a sensor at block 1402. At block 1404, cable usage information stored in an information element is tracked. The cable usage information can be tracked by at the same time or substantially the same time as obtaining sensor parameters from the sensor. Alternatively, the cable usage information may be tracked by determining cable usage at the start or end of monitoring (e.g., obtaining sensor parameters), or periodically throughout monitoring. In addition, the cable usage information may be tracked even if the block 1402 were not performed, e.g., when the monitor is not currently obtaining parameters from the sensor.” and Al-Ali [0109] “Cable usage data 432 may include buyer or manufacturer information, cable type, serial number of the cable, date of purchase, time in use, and cable life monitoring functions (CLM), including near expiration percentage, update period, expiration limit, and an index of functions. In addition, the cable usage data 432 may include numerous read write parameters, such as the number of times the cable is connected to a monitoring system, the number of times the cable has been successfully calibrated, the total elapsed time connected to a monitor system, the number of times the cable has been connected to one or more sensors, the total time used to process patient vital parameters, the cumulative current, voltage, or power applied to the cable, the cumulative temperature of the cable, and the expiration status of the cable.”),
update status information for the wire system stored in the memory to track usage of the wire system by updating a cycle count of the wire system (Al-Ali [0109] “Cable usage data 432 may include buyer or manufacturer information, cable type, serial number of the cable, date of purchase, time in use, and cable life monitoring functions (CLM), including near expiration percentage, update period, expiration limit, and an index of functions. In addition, the cable usage data 432 may include numerous read write parameters, such as the number of times the cable is connected to a monitoring system, the number of times the cable has been successfully calibrated, the total elapsed time connected to a monitor system, the number of times the cable has been connected to one or more sensors, the total time used to process patient vital parameters, the cumulative current, voltage, or power applied to the cable, the cumulative temperature of the cable, and the expiration status of the cable.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the smart cable system of Corl to include the usage cycle detection and tracking features taught by Al-Ali. Corl teaches a cable having a microcontroller configured to detect the presence of a connected device by monitoring communication with a connected guidewire, which evidences monitoring of connection states. Al-Ali further teaches detecting disconnection of a sensor path during use, which corresponds to identifying the termination of a usage period, as well as tracking cable usage at the start of monitoring, which corresponds to detecting the beginning of a usage cycle. Additionally, Al-Ali teaches maintaining cable usage data including the number of times a cable is connected to a monitoring system, which corresponds to tracking and updating a cycle count of usage. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Al-Ali’s usage tracking techniques into Corl’s smart cable in order to monitor cable lifecycle, reliability, and operational status, since tracking connection and disconnection events as bounded usage cycles represents a predictable and routine implementation of known cable management and monitoring practices. The combination applies known techniques for detecting connection states and recording usage metrics to improve system functionality, yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, Corl and Al-Ali teach the invention in claim 1, as discussed above, and further teach wherein, when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the controller further to: detect a data usage of the wire system (Corl [0037] “Once the circuitry 200 is powered up, a microcontroller 205 initializes all of the components of the circuitry 200, and waits for a pressure guidewire 230 (implemented as the pressure guidewire 152 of FIGS. 2-3 in some embodiments) and including the associated rotary cable assembly 240, to be connected to a pressure guidewire interface connector 235. The microcontroller 225 detects the presence of a pressure guidewire rotary cable assembly 240 by attempting to read a pressure guidewire EEPROM 245. A successful read operation indicates the presence of the connector, and the microcontroller 225 then reads all of the guidewire calibration coefficients from the EEPROM 245 (which is programmed specifically for the associated guidewire pressure sensor.”, and Al-Ali [0109] “Cable usage data 432 may include buyer or manufacturer information, cable type, serial number of the cable, date of purchase, time in use, and cable life monitoring functions (CLM), including near expiration percentage, update period, expiration limit, and an index of functions. In addition, the cable usage data 432 may include numerous read write parameters, such as the number of times the cable is connected to a monitoring system, the number of times the cable has been successfully calibrated, the total elapsed time connected to a monitor system, the number of times the cable has been connected to one or more sensors, the total time used to process patient vital parameters, the cumulative current, voltage, or power applied to the cable, the cumulative temperature of the cable, and the expiration status of the cable. ;
start a timer (Al-Ali [0209] “The usage tracking method 1400 begins by obtaining sensor parameters from a sensor at block 1402. At block 1404, cable usage information stored in an information element is tracked. The cable usage information can be tracked by at the same time or substantially the same time as obtaining sensor parameters from the sensor. Alternatively, the cable usage information may be tracked by determining cable usage at the start or end of monitoring (e.g., obtaining sensor parameters), or periodically throughout monitoring. In addition, the cable usage information may be tracked even if the block 1402 were not performed, e.g., when the monitor is not currently obtaining parameters from the sensor.”);
detect an end of the data usage of the wire system (Corl [0037] “Once the circuitry 200 is powered up, a microcontroller 205 initializes all of the components of the circuitry 200, and waits for a pressure guidewire 230 (implemented as the pressure guidewire 152 of FIGS. 2-3 in some embodiments) and including the associated rotary cable assembly 240, to be connected to a pressure guidewire interface connector 235. The microcontroller 225 detects the presence of a pressure guidewire rotary cable assembly 240 by attempting to read a pressure guidewire EEPROM 245. A successful read operation indicates the presence of the connector, and the microcontroller 225 then reads all of the guidewire calibration coefficients from the EEPROM 245 (which is programmed specifically for the associated guidewire pressure sensor.”), and Al-Ali [0242] “The process 1900 may further continually or periodically perform step 1902 (e.g., during processing), thereby detecting sensor path disconnection or changes during use.”);
stop the timer (Al-Ali [0209] “The usage tracking method 1400 begins by obtaining sensor parameters from a sensor at block 1402. At block 1404, cable usage information stored in an information element is tracked. The cable usage information can be tracked by at the same time or substantially the same time as obtaining sensor parameters from the sensor. Alternatively, the cable usage information may be tracked by determining cable usage at the start or end of monitoring (e.g., obtaining sensor parameters), or periodically throughout monitoring. In addition, the cable usage information may be tracked even if the block 1402 were not performed, e.g., when the monitor is not currently obtaining parameters from the sensor.”); and
update status information for the wire system stored in the memory to track usage of the wire system by updating a count of usage time of the wire system (Al-Ali [0084] As described, other types of information in addition to calibration information can be stored on one or more of the information elements. For example, cable management information that may be stored on the information element 360 may include information on cable usage, sensor usage, and/or monitor usage. Cable usage data may include, for example, information on the time the cable has been in use, enabling the physiological monitor 310 to determine when the sensor cable 312 is near the end of its life. Sensor usage data may include, for example, information on what sensors have been attached to the sensor cable 312, for how long, and the like. Similarly, monitor usage data may include, for example, information on what monitors have been attached to the sensor cable 312, for how long, and the like. More detailed examples of cable management information are described below, with respect to FIG. 4.” and Al-Ali [0109] “Cable usage data 432 may include buyer or manufacturer information, cable type, serial number of the cable, date of purchase, time in use, and cable life monitoring functions (CLM), including near expiration percentage, update period, expiration limit, and an index of functions. In addition, the cable usage data 432 may include numerous read write parameters, such as the number of times the cable is connected to a monitoring system, the number of times the cable has been successfully calibrated, the total elapsed time connected to a monitor system, the number of times the cable has been connected to one or more sensors, the total time used to process patient vital parameters, the cumulative current, voltage, or power applied to the cable, the cumulative temperature of the cable, and the expiration status of the cable.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Corl in view of Al-Ali to detect data usage intervals and track the duration of such usage. Corl teaches monitoring connection states of a cable using a microcontroller, which indicates when a device is actively connected and capable of transmitting data. Al-Ali further teaches tracking cable usage over time, including determining when usage begins and ends and storing total time-in-use information, as well as detecting disconnection events during use. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that determining total usage time implicitly requires identifying the start and end of usage periods and measuring the elapsed time between those events, which is conventionally implemented using timer-based techniques. Implementing a timer that begins when usage is detected and stops when usage ends represent a routine and predictable approach to measuring duration in electronic systems. Accordingly, combining Corl’s connection monitoring with Al-Ali’s usage tracking would have yielded the claimed detection of data usage, timing of the usage interval, and updating of usage time, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Corl and Al-Ali teach the invention in claim 1, as discussed above, and further teach wherein the wire body and the controller are configured to be physically integrated (Corl [0030] “Referring back to FIG. 2, the smart cable is illustrated as a simplified functional block 170. The smart cable 170 includes electrical circuitry implemented inside a portion of the smart cable 170 close to the pressure guidewire 152. The circuitry is preferably positional in close proximity to the pressure guidewire 152 so as to better receive (or preserve the integrity of) the pressure data collected by the pressure guidewire 152. The electrical circuitry allows the smart cable 170 to serve as an electrical interface and communication pathway between the pressure guidewire 152 and a medical measurement system (such as a hemodynamic monitoring system). Among other things, the electrical circuitry of the smart cable 170 includes an energy harvesting component, a current sources component, an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) component, a microcontroller component, and a modulator component.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that the wire body and controller are physically integrated. Corl teaches a smart cable in which electrical circuitry, including a microcontroller and associated components, is implemented inside a portion of the cable, which embeds the controller within the cable structure. Integrating control circuitry within a cable to improve signal integrity, reduce external components, and enhance reliability of data transmission in medical systems represents a known and conventional design approach. Accordingly, configuring the wire body and controller to be physically integrated, as taught by Corl, constitutes a predictable use of known design techniques and would have been well within the ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 9 and 15 are analogous to claim 1, thus claims 9 and 15 are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 10 is analogous to claims 1 and 2, thus claim 10 is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of claims 1 and 2.
Claims 11-14 are analogous to claims 4-7, thus claims 11-14 are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of claims 4-7.
Claim 16 is analogous to claims 1 and 5, thus claim 16 is similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of claims 1 and 5.
Regarding claim 17, Corl and Al-Ali teach the invention in claim 1, as discussed above, and further teach wherein the wire system is configured to connect wirelessly to an external device (Corl [0030] “Referring back to FIG. 2, the smart cable is illustrated as a simplified functional block 170. The smart cable 170 includes electrical circuitry implemented inside a portion of the smart cable 170 close to the pressure guidewire 152. The circuitry is preferably positional in close proximity to the pressure guidewire 152 so as to better receive (or preserve the integrity of) the pressure data collected by the pressure guidewire 152. The electrical circuitry allows the smart cable 170 to serve as an electrical interface and communication pathway between the pressure guidewire 152 and a medical measurement system (such as a hemodynamic monitoring system). Among other things, the electrical circuitry of the smart cable 170 includes an energy harvesting component, a current sources component, an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) component, a microcontroller component, and a modulator component.”, and
Al-Ali [0199] “The physiological monitoring system 1300 of certain embodiments includes patient monitoring devices 1302. The patient monitoring devices 1302 of various embodiments include sensors 1350, one or more physiological monitors 1310, cables 1330 attaching the sensors 1350 to the monitors 1310, and a network interface module 1306 connected to one or more physiological monitors 1310. Each patient monitoring device 1302 in some embodiments is part of a network 1320 of patient monitoring devices 1302. As such, the patient monitoring devices 1302 in these embodiments can communicate physiological information and alarms over a hospital wireless network (WLAN) 1326 or the Internet 1350 to clinicians carrying end user devices 1328, 1352.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the wire system of Corl to connect wirelessly to an external device. Corl teaches a smart cable including embedded electronic circuitry, such as a microcontroller and associated components, which provides a platform capable of processing and communicating data. Al-Ali teaches that physiological monitoring systems include wireless communication modules that transmit physiological data to external devices over wireless networks such as WLAN or the Internet. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate such known wireless communication capability into Corl’s smart cable to enable communication with external devices without requiring physical connections, thereby improving flexibility, mobility, and ease of use in medical environments. Integrating known wireless communication modules into an existing electronic cable system represents a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions and would have yielded expected results.
Regarding claim 18, Corl and Al-Ali teach the invention in claim 17, as discussed above, and further teach wherein the interface is configured to connect wirelessly to the external device (Corl [0030] “Referring back to FIG. 2, the smart cable is illustrated as a simplified functional block 170. The smart cable 170 includes electrical circuitry implemented inside a portion of the smart cable 170 close to the pressure guidewire 152. The circuitry is preferably positional in close proximity to the pressure guidewire 152 so as to better receive (or preserve the integrity of) the pressure data collected by the pressure guidewire 152. The electrical circuitry allows the smart cable 170 to serve as an electrical interface and communication pathway between the pressure guidewire 152 and a medical measurement system (such as a hemodynamic monitoring system). Among other things, the electrical circuitry of the smart cable 170 includes an energy harvesting component, a current sources component, an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) component, a microcontroller component, and a modulator component.”, and
Al-Ali [0199] “The physiological monitoring system 1300 of certain embodiments includes patient monitoring devices 1302. The patient monitoring devices 1302 of various embodiments include sensors 1350, one or more physiological monitors 1310, cables 1330 attaching the sensors 1350 to the monitors 1310, and a network interface module 1306 connected to one or more physiological monitors 1310. Each patient monitoring device 1302 in some embodiments is part of a network 1320 of patient monitoring devices 1302. As such, the patient monitoring devices 1302 in these embodiments can communicate physiological information and alarms over a hospital wireless network (WLAN) 1326 or the Internet 1350 to clinicians carrying end user devices 1328, 1352.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the interface of Corl’s wire system to connect wirelessly to an external device. Corl teaches a smart cable including embedded electronic circuitry that provides an interface and communication pathway for transmitting physiological data. Al-Ali teaches that physiological monitoring systems include network interface modules that enable wireless communication of data to external devices over wireless networks such as WLAN or the Internet. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate such known wireless communication capability into the interface of Corl’s smart cable to enable wireless connectivity to external devices, which improves flexibility, mobility, and ease of use by eliminating the need for physical connections. Integrating a known wireless communication module into an existing electronic interface represents a routine design choice and a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions, yielding expected results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see Remarks/Amendments submitted on 03/13/2026 with respect to the rejection of the claims have been carefully considered and is addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s statement regarding the identification of technical problems in the Background are acknowledged. While the specification describes issues such as cable identification, degradation, and sensor validation, claim 1 does not recite any specific mechanism for addressing these problems. Instead, the claim recites detecting usage of a wire system when data are communicated. The claim does not recite how this detection improves signal quality, prevents incompatible sensor use, or enhances operation of a medical monitor. Therefore, the claimed subject matter is not directed to a specific technological improvement, but rather to the generalized concept of monitoring or detecting system usage.
Applicant further states that the claims provide a technical solution that ensures valid sensors and reliable data, however this argument is not commensurate in scope with the claims. The claims do not recite validating sensors, filtering signals, or controlling the operation of the monitor or sensor. Rather, the claims are limited to detecting usage, without any additional steps that apply the detected information in a meaningful way. Accordingly, the claims do not integrate the alleged technical solution into a practical application, as required under Step 2A, Prong 2 of the eligibility analysis.
With respect to Applicant’s statement that the claims are directed to a particular system, the Examiner agrees that the claims recite a physical wire system including a wire body, interface, and controller. However, reciting generic hardware components does not render the claim patent-eligible. The controller, processor, and memory perform their conventional functions of executing instructions and processing data, and the wire body and interface provide the environment in which the detection occurs. These elements therefore amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea using generic computer and limiting it to a particular field of use, respectively, which is insufficient to confer eligibility under Step 2A, Prong 2.
Applicant’s statement regarding SiRF Tech. Inc. v. ITC is also not persuasive. In SiRF, the claims were directed to specific improvements in GPS signal processing that enhanced the functioning of the GPS receiver itself. However, the present claims do not recite any comparable improvement to signal processing, or cable operation. Instead, the claims detect when data are communicated through a wire system, without modifying or improving the underlying technology. Therefore, the claims do not recite significantly more than the abstract idea and remain ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s statement that Corl does not disclose a “controller dedicated to the wire body” is not persuasive. Corl teaches a smart cable that incorporates electrical circuitry, including a microcontroller, ADC, and related components, positioned within the cable assembly and configured to process data communicated through the cable. The circuitry is physically integrated with and operates in conjunction with the cable to receive, process, and transmit data between a diagnostic device and a monitoring system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood such integrated circuitry as being functionally and structurally dedicated to the cable for purposes of signal processing and communication. The smart cable constitutes a wire system having a wire body, an interface, and an embedded controller.
With respect to “detect usage of the wire system when data are communicated,” Corl teaches monitoring connection and operational states of the cable via the microcontroller, including detecting when a guidewire assembly is connected and when signals are being processed. Detection of a connected and operational sensor path, along with ongoing signal processing and monitoring of electrical parameters, would have reasonably been understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art as indicating that the cable is in use and data are being communicated. The claim does not require any particular form of usage detection beyond detecting that data communication is occurring, and Corl’s continuous monitoring of signal conditions and device presence meets this limitation under a broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant’s statement that Corl does not disclose compatibility checking, purpose-specific use, or gating functionality is not pervasive, as the rejection does not rely on Corl alone for these features. Rather, Al-Ali is cited for teaching compatibility verification and enabling and disabling system operation based on that determination. Al-Ali further teaches that sensors may be tailored for particular uses and that the monitoring system evaluates connected components to determine whether an appropriate configuration is present. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such compatibility determinations implicitly indicate whether a given cable and sensor configuration is suitable for a particular clinical use, since different clinical measurements require specific compatible components. Incorporating Al-Ali’s compatibility and validation techniques into Corl’s smart cable system would have been a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Lastly, Applicant’s argument that Al-Ali requires compatibility checking to be performed by a monitor rather than a cable-side controller is not persuasive. The location of the compatibility determination (monitor-side versus cable-side) is a matter of design choice. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to implement compatibility checking within the cable-side controller of Corl, particularly given that Corl discloses a microcontroller within the cable capable of reading stored data (EEPROM) and processing signals. Implementing known compatibility verification logic at the cable level, rather than exclusively at the monitor, would have been a routine and predictable variation to improve modularity or system integration. Accordingly, when considering the combined teachings of Corl and Al-Ali, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0301791 A1) teaches an electronic device with a processor, memory, and communication unit that detects a connection event with an external device, identifies a corresponding function, and instructs a wearable device to execute that function.
Ikei et al. (International Publication No. WO2016195655A1) teaches a portable patient cable with built in memory that stores patient specific identifiers and physiological information so the data can move with the patient and be accessed by different monitoring devices.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3685
/KAMBIZ ABDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3685