DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed November 19, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-17 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 19, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 17, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 24, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 10, 12-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 5, the limitation “the outlet” is recited in line 4. It is unclear whether this limitation is the same limitation as “the machine outlet” recited in line 3, or a separate limitation. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as reading “the machine outlet”.
Regarding Claim 10, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation “a first cooling fluid to cool the rotary magnetic assembly”, and the claim also recites “and possibly also the stationary magnetic assembly” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 12 is rejected due to dependence on claim 10.
Regarding Claim 13, the limitation “the inlet” is recited in line 2. It is unclear whether this limitation is the same limitation as “the machine inlet” recited in claim 1, or a separate limitation. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as reading “the machine inlet”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the gap" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saban et al. (US 20080224551 A1, hereafter referred to as Saban) in view of Agrawal et al. (US 20080246281 A1, hereafter referred to as Agrawal).
Regarding Claim 1, Saban discloses a machine (100, ¶ [0016]) having a machine inlet (182a/b, ¶ [0021]) and a machine outlet (230, ¶ [0021]) and comprising:
an impeller (130, ¶ [0033]),
an electric generator (¶ [0019]: “During operation, either as a motor or as a generator, various components in the electrical machine 100 produce heat energy.”) configured to generate electrical energy and comprising a rotary hub (170, ¶ [0033]), a rotary magnetic assembly (40, ¶ [0033]) mechanically coupled to the rotary hub (170, ¶ [0033]) (¶ [0029]: “In FIG. 1A, the shafts 170 and 172 are integrally formed to the rotor 40.”) and a stationary magnetic assembly (30, ¶ [0029]) arranged around the rotary magnetic assembly (40, ¶ [0033]),
at least one magnetic bearing (45, ¶ [0017]) acting on the rotary hub (170, ¶ [0033]),
a casing (20, ¶ [0029]), the electric generator (100, ¶ [0016]) and the at least one magnetic bearing (45, ¶ [0017]),
wherein the at least one magnetic bearing (45, ¶ [0017]) is fluidly coupled to the inlet (182a/b, ¶ [0021]), and is configured to be cooled by a flow of hydrogen (¶ [0033]: “Examples of cooling fluid include air, hydrogen, vapor, nitrogen, methane, and any combination of these and/or other fluids.”) from the machine inlet (182a/b, ¶ [0021]) (¶ [0033]: “For example, the cooling fluid may cool various components of the rotor 40, the stator 30, the bearings 45, the housing 20, and other components not explicitly named.”).
Saban does not explicitly disclose that the machine is an expander generator machine, the impeller is configured to receive compressed hydrogen from the machine inlet, expand the compressed hydrogen through impeller vanes and discharge expanded hydrogen at the machine outlet, that the casing houses the impeller, and that the impeller is mechanically connected to the rotary hub.
However, Agrawal, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 7) that the machine is an expander generator machine (10, ¶ [0043]) (¶ [0045]: “Upon rotation of the turbine wheel 18, the turbine 12 converts mechanical energy to shaft work, which, in turn, is converted to electric power by the generator 14 of the turboalternator 10.”), the impeller (18, ¶ [0044]) is configured to receive compressed gas from the machine inlet (¶ [0045]: “Upon rotation of the turbine wheel 18, the turbine 12 converts mechanical energy to shaft work, which, in turn, is converted to electric power by the generator 14 of the turboalternator 10.”), expand the compressed gas through impeller vanes and discharge expanded gas at the machine outlet (92, ¶ [0058]) (¶ [0024]: “Turboexpanders are very widely used as sources of refrigeration in industrial processes such as: the extraction of ethane as well as natural gas liquids (NGLs) from natural gas; the liquefaction of gases; and other low-temperature processes.”) (¶ [0017]: “The present invention provides a turbine-driven alternator, namely a turboalternator, that can be used in various applications, such as for compressed air energy storage,”), that the casing (16, ¶ [0044]) houses the impeller (18, ¶ [0044]), and that the impeller (18, ¶ [0044]) is mechanically connected to the rotary hub (36, ¶ [0048]) (¶ [0048]: “A rotating shaft 36 is fixed to the turbine wheel 18 and generally extends the length of the generator housing 28.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Saban such that the machine is an expander generator machine, the impeller is configured to receive compressed hydrogen from the machine inlet, expand the compressed hydrogen through impeller vanes and discharge expanded hydrogen at the machine outlet, that the casing houses the impeller, and that the impeller is mechanically connected to the rotary hub, as disclosed by Agwaral, in order to recover energy stored in a compressed gas to assist in driving the motor (¶ [0018]: “In one aspect of the present invention, a turboalternator for recovering energy stored in a process gas comprises a turbine and a generating device.”)
Regarding Claim 2/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses (see Figure 1 above) that at least one magnetic bearing (45, ¶ [0017]) is located between the impeller (130, ¶ [0033]) and the electric generator (100, ¶ [0016]), (30, 40, ¶ [0018]).
Regarding Claim 3/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses that, during operation of the machine (100, ¶ [0016]), pressure of an environment inside the casing (20, ¶ [0029]) is higher than pressure of an environment outside the casing (20, ¶ [0029]) (¶ [0022]: “A pressure differential between the inlet 182a and the outlet 184a can generate a flow of cooling fluid substantially transverse across the exterior of the non-drive end of the stator.”) (¶ [0021]: “From both outlets 184a and 184b, the cooling fluid is directed into an exhaust manifold to a common exhaust conduit 230 and exits the machine 100.”).
Regarding Claim 4/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses that an environment inside the casing (20, ¶ [0029]) is oxygen free (¶ [0024]: “The liquid cooling jackets 210 are part of a closed-loop cooling system, wherein liquid cooling fluid is cyclically heated and cooled as the fluid absorbs heat from the stator 30 and transfers heat to a cooling source outside of the housing 20.”).
Regarding Claim 5/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses (see Figure 1 above) that the at least one magnetic bearing (45, ¶ [0017]) is fluidly coupled to the machine outlet (230, ¶ [0021]), and is configured to discharge a flow of heated hydrogen at the outlet (230, ¶ [0021]) (¶ [0033]: “Furthermore, the fluid flow may cool various components and/or parts of the electrical machine not explicitly named herein. For example, the cooling fluid may cool various components of the rotor 40, the stator 30, the bearings 45, the housing 20, and other components not explicitly named.”).
Regarding Claim 6/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses (see Figure 1 above) a fluid conduit (180, ¶ [0020]) which fluidly couples the machine inlet (182a/b, ¶ [0021]) and the at least one magnetic bearing (45, ¶ [0017]) (¶ [0033]: “Furthermore, the fluid flow may cool various components and/or parts of the electrical machine not explicitly named herein. For example, the cooling fluid may cool various components of the rotor 40, the stator 30, the bearings 45, the housing 20, and other components not explicitly named.”), wherein the fluid conduit (180, ¶ [0020]) is at least partially defined by a rear surface of the impeller (130, ¶ [0033]) (¶ [0020]: “The cooling system includes two cooling fluid sources 130a and 130b in fluid communication with multiple cooling fluid conduits 180.”).
Regarding Claim 8/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses (see Figure 1 above) a cooling system (180a/b, ¶ [0021]) configured to circulate a cooling fluid to cool the rotary magnetic assembly (40, ¶ [0033]) and/or the stationary magnetic assembly (30, ¶ [0029]) (¶ [0020]: “The cooling fluid from the source 130a cools the stator while flowing along the air gap 60 from the axial center of the stator 30 toward both ends of the stator.”).
Regarding Claim 9/8/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses (see Figure 1 above) that a gap (60, ¶ [0017]) is defined between the rotary magnetic assembly (40, ¶ [0033]) and the stationary magnetic assembly (30, ¶ [0029]), and wherein the cooling fluid is arranged to circulate in the gap (60, ¶ [0017]) (¶ [0020]: “The cooling fluid from the source 130a cools the stator while flowing along the air gap 60 from the axial center of the stator 30 toward both ends of the stator.”).
Regarding Claim 10/8/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses (see Figure 1 above) a first cooling system (180a, ¶ [0021]) configured to circulate a first cooling fluid to cool the rotary magnetic assembly (40, ¶ [0033]) and possibly also the stationary magnetic assembly (30, ¶ [0029]) (¶ [0020]: “The cooling fluid from the source 130a cools the stator while flowing along the air gap 60 from the axial center of the stator 30 toward both ends of the stator.”) and a second cooling system (180b, ¶ [0021]) configured to circulate a second cooling fluid to cool the stationary magnetic assembly (30, ¶ [0029]).
Regarding Claim 11/8/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses that the cooling fluid is hydrogen (¶ [0033]: “Examples of cooling fluid include air, hydrogen, vapor, nitrogen, methane, and any combination of these and/or other fluids.”).
Regarding Claim 12/10/8/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses that both the first cooling fluid and the second cooling fluid are hydrogen (¶ [0033]: “Examples of cooling fluid include air, hydrogen, vapor, nitrogen, methane, and any combination of these and/or other fluids.”).
Regarding Claim 13/8/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses (see Figure 1 above) that the cooling system (180a/b, ¶ [0021]) is fluidly coupled to the inlet (182a/b, ¶ [0021]) and is configured to circulate a flow of hydrogen from the machine inlet (182a/b, ¶ [0021]).
Regarding Claim 14/8/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses (see Figure 1 above) that the cooling system (180a/b, ¶ [0021]) is fluidly coupled to the machine outlet (230, ¶ [0021]) and is configured to discharge a flow of heated hydrogen at the machine outlet (230, ¶ [0021]).
Regarding Claim 15/14/8/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses (see Figure 1 above) that the cooling system (180a/b, ¶ [0021]) is fluidly coupled to the at least one magnetic bearing (45, ¶ [0017]) (¶ [0033]: “Furthermore, the fluid flow may cool various components and/or parts of the electrical machine not explicitly named herein. For example, the cooling fluid may cool various components of the rotor 40, the stator 30, the bearings 45, the housing 20, and other components not explicitly named.”).
Regarding Claim 16/14/8/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses (see Figure 1 above) being configured to discharge a flow of heated hydrogen from the gap (60, ¶ [0017]) (¶ [0020]: “The cooling fluid from the source 130a cools the stator while flowing along the air gap 60 from the axial center of the stator 30 toward both ends of the stator.”) and a flow of heated hydrogen from the at least one magnetic bearing (45, ¶ [0017]) to the machine outlet (230, ¶ [0021]) (¶ [0033]: “Furthermore, the fluid flow may cool various components and/or parts of the electrical machine not explicitly named herein. For example, the cooling fluid may cool various components of the rotor 40, the stator 30, the bearings 45, the housing 20, and other components not explicitly named.”).
Regarding Claim 17/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Additionally, Saban discloses (see Figure 1 above) that the at least one magnetic bearing (45, ¶ [0017]) is a first radial magnetic bearing, a thrust magnetic bearing and a second radial magnetic bearing (¶ [0017]: “Some examples of bearings include magnetic bearings, magnetic hybrid bearings, roller bearings, dynamic bearings, journal bearings, thrust bearings, and other types of bearings. The rotor 40 may be supported by any combination of bearings or by bearings of uniform type.”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saban in view of Agrawal as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kane et al. (US 2511854 A, hereafter referred to as Kane).
Regarding Claim 7/6/1, Saban in view of Agrawal has been discussed above.
Saban in view of Agrawal does not explicitly disclose that the impeller comprises at least one inner channel fluidly coupling the fluid conduit and the impeller vanes.
However, Kane, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 1) that the impeller (29, C3L21) comprises at least one inner channel (see Figure 1, channels visible between blades) fluidly coupling the fluid conduit and the impeller vanes (22, C3L22).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Saban in view of Agrawal such that the impeller comprises at least one inner channel fluidly coupling the fluid conduit and the impeller vanes, as disclosed by Kane, in order to improve cooling in the generator during operation (C4L24-30: “Thus the desired cooling effect for the generator is obtained by the passage, through the generator, of the low temperature low pressure exhaust steam from the turbine.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xu et al. (US 9024460 B2) discloses relevant prior art in Figure 4.
Huang et al. (US 10374486 B2) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 3 and 5.
Earl et al. (US 11619140 B1) discloses relevant prior art in Figure 1.
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834