DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/9/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a), Scope of Enablement
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of administering the requisite components in a treatment method, does not reasonably provide enablement for (1) identifying side effects referenced in the preamble of claim 8 for comparison purposes and (2) treatment of cancer or senescence induction across a population of cells as broad as claimed as in claims 9, 10, and 12. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to identify side effects or cells in particular to be considered met from the administration of VS in co-administration methods, nor does the specification enable one to identify a cell population or cancer population commensurate in scope with these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the disease" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 9-11 require all limitations of claim 8 and are also rejected here.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0001014A1 (“Ghaderi”).
The instant claims are drawn to methods of administering vanadyl sulfate to a subject in need thereof, as further specified in the claims.
Ghaderi teaches methods of treating a health condition comprising administering vanadyl sulfate to a subject in need thereof to a mammal, preferably a human being (see [0076], [0650], [0651]). Ghaderi teaches health conditions which may be cellular senescence ([0156], [0537]) among conditions which may be treated and further specifies age-related senescent cell treatment (see [0156])(limitations of claims 2, 5, and 9) as well as administration of active agents in combination with therapeutic medicinal treatments, reasonably suggesting treatment of senescent cells made to be senescent by the same or another process as age (limitation of claim 3) as well as explicitly teaching an additional therapy (limitation of claim 8). Cancer is among the health conditions which may be treated (see [0142])(limitation of claims 10 and 12). Senescent associated secretory phenotype (SASP) are among physiological conditions treated (see [1503])(limitation of claim 4). Regarding claim 6, Ghaderi teaches cardiovascular disease among conditions to be treated (see [0156]). Regarding claim 7, the steps of the claimed method are addressed above in regard to claim 1, and where claim 7 describes effects of performing the claimed steps, it is the examiner’s position that the effects of performing these steps are inseparable from the claimed process such that Ghaderi renders obvious the content of claim 7. Regarding claims 11 and 13, Ghader teaches radiation damage among conditions which may be treated (see [0411]) and generally teaches chemotherapeutic and/or immunotherapeutic scope (see [0336]).
Ghaderi teaches methods for inducing biological mimicry in a mammal for the prevention of various diseases and in so doing teaches a method comprising the stepwise administration of administering vanadyl sulfate to a subject in need thereof. Ghaderi specifies cancer treatments and/or treatment of senescent cells. While Ghaderi appears to teach this process to meet the effects recited in the preamble of each of claims 1, 8, and 12, because Ghaderi does not explicitly link the claimed purposes and/or effects to the claimed method steps, this rejection is made using obviousness rationale. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to administer vanadyl sulfate to a patient having senescent cells and/or cancer cells, and to do so in combination and/or conjunction with additional therapies specified by Ghaderi in a treatment method. One would have been motivated to do so based on Ghaderi’s disclosure as a whole considered for what it reasonably would have suggested to the ordinary artisan since Ghaderi specifies that the claimed method steps provide favorable physiological advantages (e.g., immune, genetic, and cellular) (see [0002]) and wherein Ghader specifies vanadyl sulfate among active agents for inhibiting certain cathepsins and specifically cathepsin S (see [0698]).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/AUDREA B CONIGLIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617